Ontario Energy Source

Heating & Air Conditioning
399 Applewood Cres Concord ON l4k4j3
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Heating & Air Conditioning in Concord  >  Ontario Energy Source
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

32%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Ontario Energy Source

Average customer rating:
6 10 (20 reviews)

Sort by

Rojan from Brampton
Rojan from Brampton
1 review Brampton, ON
0/10

Rinnai

I purchased a Rinnai 94i water heater from Ontario Energy Source which was installed in December 2013. During that winter, the unit kept generating an error code 10 and shutting down. This unit was not installed according to the manufacturer’s guidelines.
The air intake for the water heater was placed too close to the existing furnace air exhaust. This was confirmed by the manufacturer Rinnai, the air intake for the water heater should have been no less than 12 inches apart from the furnace air exhaust and the Ontario Energy Source had installed only 2 inches apart. The warm moist air from the furnace exhaust would condense in the air intake for the water heater and the resulting ice build- up would cause the unit to malfunction. That winter I had to make numerous trips outside to manually remove the ice in order to get the unit to work otherwise my family would have no hot water. I forwarded my correspondence with Rinnai to Ontario Energy Source and Ray agreed to separate the pipes from one another. In August 2014, he directed his technician to put an extension and elbow on the air exhaust and direct it away from the air intake of the water heater. The air flow from the furnace exhaust was directed towards my brick wall. I told him that this was not to my expectation and the job was unsatisfactory. Ray said that the company was not going to spend any more time on the matter and he had followed the manufacturer’s protocol.
Last winter, the warm moist air from the furnace pipe that Ontario Energy Source moved to face the brick wall caused it to freeze and this resulted in damage to my bricks. I have forwarded pictures and called Ontario Energy Source on several occasions and have yet to receive a response. Does anybody know what other steps I can take to have Ontario Energy Source acknowledge their faulty workmanship and resolve this issue before further damage occurs?
Respectfully,
Rojan

Was this review helpful?
Disappointed from Toronto
Disappointed from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
1/10

Navien ch240a

We had this unit installed to replace a previous piece of Navien garbage - a heatbox - which was only a few years old. The installation cost much more than expected, there was no meaningful warranty service (the technicians seemed overworked and stumped); Ray blamed our issues on our existing piping and we had to involve many others.
my advice: stay away from that company and from Navien entirely and be careful about other tankless claims.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Jennifer in York
Jennifer in York
6 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Poor service again

This is my second review for this company my frist is "wouldnt recommend this company" Mar 2 2012 which was for the initial install of the unit and though Ray seems to write only to provide excuses to the technicians workmanship. The pipes in my home had absolutely nothing to do with the poor quality of the job. They didn't even install a valve to drain out the rads. Which leads me to the service of today which lasted about 4 hours. The unit was providing hot water to taps but not heating the rads. The tech told us it was some kind of sensor inside the unit which broke due to a power outage that happened Saturday (though the big power outages we had over Christmas and several during the summer had no effect) and my paperwork says they changed a 3 way valve. Secondly the technician scribbled a bunch of numbers in peppermint marker over the large plywood that runs along the wall where the unit is located (the writing matches the paperwork as a side note). I don't care if these were the winning lottery numbers, you do not write on someone else's property... but I'm sure there will be a response of excuse to this review as I can see there's one to all the negative reviews.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear customer,

The unit that you purchased from us has been working for the past year. As soon as we got a phone call from you, we sent out one of our tech guys to take a look at your unit. As per as the Navien support line, we changed one of the parts that was not working in your unit. We have been giving you good service from the first day of the purchase. We just wanted to let you know that as a company, we provide best customer service for our customers. We provide the part that we changed in your unit from our own stock, usually it takes about 3 business day for that part to be sent out from States. Because you are our valued customer, we used our own part in order to have your unit back on as soon as possible.

I believe as a company we do our best to take care of our customers. If you have further questions or concerns please contact our head office, we will be more than happy to take care of you.

Regards,
Ray

5fourty from Vaughan
5fourty from Vaughan
5 reviews Vaughan, ON

First Review

1/10

Lennox air conditioning and Furnace replacement

I called Ray to provide a quote for a house I own in Hamilton. We agreed on the price and repairs were reluctantly paid for, because we are people that don't like a fight or to withhold a debt. After the repairs were done, I was in awe at the rediculous workmanship on the ductwork fittings of the furnace which was amateurish at best. We had to call Ray to view the air conditioning line in front of a window... No pride in their work. Whether it was a subtrade or not I will NEVER call them again, not even for warranty work. I want nothing to do with these guys. Don't try to explain Ray, your company is bush-league!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear customer,

I apologize for the experience you had with us. On your first consultation, I recommended to install new duck work. As I remember correctly, you did not agree with my recommendation. As of the result, you asked the installer to install the AC unit in front of your basement window. After the job was finish, as always we do a inspection and I did not agree with having your unit in front of the window but you were still trying to connivence me that you prefer it there. As I remember correctly that I even told you that the next person that will live here might want to use the window. After that visit, I booked the installer to come back and remove the unit to the side of the window free of charge although it was not our decision and it was yours. I recall getting a phone call from you to say how happy you were with the service.

I believe we did our best to walk you though the whole path and if there is anything else we could do to make your experience better please contact our office.

Best regards,
Ray Toghraee

Fausto Natarelli from Vaughan
Fausto Natarelli from Vaughan
1 review Vaughan, ON
10/10

Service

Had a Navien tankless water heater that was leaking. Ray, the technician was very courteous, new his stuff and repaired the unit quickly - no fuss, no muss. The overall experience, from the initial point of contact to problem resolution was a pleasant experience. Hope I don't need to make another call, but I know now who I will call.

Was this review helpful?
wilson in Toronto
wilson in Toronto
2 reviews TORONTO, ON
10/10

Tankless Water Heater

We needed a service for our tankless water heater. Ontario Energy Source were very quick to set up a date, next day and the service was carried out in an efficient manner. Vahid was very knowledgeable and answered any questions I had. We had not been left an instruction manual for as we were the second owners of the home, Vahid had one in his van and was more than happy to let us have it.

Was this review helpful?
shila in Richmond hill
shila in Richmond hill
1 review RICHMOND HILL, ON
10/10

furnace and ac

We've had a Goodman furnace and ac installed by ontario energy source two years ago. Every year they inspect and clean the furnace. We purchase new filters from them every time. They are in line with purchasing them from the manufacturer, but they deliver. Ray also came back to adjust the blower motor to meet our needs. Great service and great people. I also recommended them to my co-worker who had a humidifier installed. All is good.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Ontario Energy Source

Ontario Energy Source specializes on importing leading edge HVAC equipments from all around the world. It is our commitment to provide our clients with the highest quality of equipment and service. Our energy advisors are trained and tested on ways they could decrease our customer's energy consumption rates therefore saving ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Heating & Air Conditioning pros in Concord?