AC Concrete

Concrete Contractors
Calgary AB T2R0L2
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.
80%
This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
0
0
1

Reviews for AC Concrete

Average customer rating:
8.4 10 (27 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
2 reviews Calgary, AB
3/10

Was not happy with my sidewalk and service from this company.

When the project was completed and we needed some touch up work completed the owner couldn't be bothered to come back and did not return calls and didn't care to return. That's unfortunate because everyone who sees the job knows who did it and word travels quickly.

If I knew it was going to be such a negative experience working with this company I would have passed on getting this project done.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Who's this ?

Terry from Carstairs in Calgary
1 review Carstairs, AB
10/10

In the summer of 2013 we contacted AC Concrete to replace our sidewalks and build a patio. The perimeter of the sidewalks and patio was done in exposed aggregate. The remainder of the area was stamped and colored. This was a fairly large project that took a few days to complete. We are very pleased with how it turned out. The quality of work was excellent, the cement still looks good after three years and there are no cracks. The only issue we had with the project is the color is coming off in some areas. It is our understanding that this is do to problem with the stain. Adrian (the owner) has come back a couple of times to make repairs. Adrian is honest and very hard working. AC concrete provides quality work at a fair price and I would highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Gerhard from Okotoks
2 reviews Okotoks, AB
10/10

Adrienne did an amazing job of transforming our walkout basement. He was on time, on budget, gave us fabulous help in choosing the stamp and colour and he was on site during it all. I have worked with many contractors over the years and found him to be one of the best. His work has stood the test of time and I have not had any issues. I would highly recommend AC Concrete.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Brent Collins in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Adrien and his team did an excellent job preparing and pouring concrete at our new walk-out bungalow. They utilized a stamp concrete finish with a color tone that matched the stucco color on the house. His staff was very courteous and polite throughout the project. The initial quote matched the final price. I would highly recommend AC Concrete to anyone.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Nancy Hewlett  in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

This is the second time we have used AC concrete for concrete work. The later time AC concrete poured a 5300 square foot concrete pad for our veterinary clinic. Our rubber flooring guy stated "I have never seen such incredible precision and leveling in a concrete floor". The owner was incredibly personable and was very quick to meet all of our deadlines/needs. Highly recommended! We will use them again in the near future!

Was this review helpful?
Unhappy Concrete Customers
2 reviews Calgary, AB
1/10

We had over 1000 sq ft of stamped concrete installed in June of 2014 costing us $33,000 by Adrien C. of AC Concrete. We were satisfied with the original product but had a terrible experience with follow up and aftercare of the concrete as it started to deteriorate and sealant peel.

We contacted Adrien to inform him about the peeling sealant in the spring of 2015 where he committed to us that he would come back and fix the issue. At his request, we contacted him regularly throughout the summer and he kept promising he would come and fix the issue. Every week throughout the summer Adrien asked us to follow up with him about setting up a time for him to come over and when we did he became very angry and annoyed for calling. During this time, he had told us to have the concrete ready by power washing it so it would be ready to be resealed, so we hired someone to have it power washed while Adrien never committed to coming back. He also never came back to the house to inspect the problem and only saw the issues by the photos we sent him. This continued through the summer and kept pushing us off and would not commit to a date as he was too busy with his “new customers” . Finally in the fall he said it was too late for him to come over and we would have to rebook next spring 2016. The condition of the concrete deteriorated even further during this time .

In February 2016 we were at the home show and stopped by his booth to inquire again when he was to going to commit to coming back. He has not happy to see us at his booth and was even confrontational and aggressive asking us to move our conversation outside as he did not want potential customers seeing that we were unhappy customers at his booth. He told us again that he would book us for the 2016 season and to contact him in May. Adrien claimed it was an issue with the sealant and a coat of xylene would do the trick.

After contacting him in May, we did the same back and forth with him a few times but he actually committed to a time in early June to come and fix the concrete.

During the spring of 2016, we have several concrete contractors come to the house to gives us quotes and evaluate what was needed to fix the concrete. It was determined by all 8 contractors that the concrete was sealed prematurely not allowing the concrete to dry and cure properly therefore causing bubbling and patchy discoloration which is now permanent.

We could not believe that Adrien strung us along this whole time after spending $33,000 when he really had no intention or wanting to coming back. We finally came to an agreement with him in June but after considering all the conversations we had with him for the past 2 years, we decided it would be best to go with another contractor that would provide us the after care and customer service once the job was complete.

We ended up using Complete Concrete Care and were happy with the service and provided us with a guarantee for the work. They resealed the concrete but some of the blotchy spots could not be repaired because we waited too long for Adrien to get it resealed.

We would NOT recommend AC Concrete as we had a poor experience and now are concrete looks terrible as a result after only having it for two years.

Make sure you get a written contract in place with warranty and guarantee to ensure AC Concrete stands behind the guarantee they claim on their webpage.

I was unable to attach pictures on this site but can share them upon request at: [email protected]

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Dave  Guichon in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

From the first time we contacted Adrien we found him to be very professional. As we were not certain as to what we wanted we got ideas and quotes from 3 contractors. We settled on ac concrete.His web site was very helpful and we reviewed some previous jobs done.His price was very competive.With help from Adrien(His great experience)we made many changes on the fly.The results were excellent and we got a wonderful final product. His workers were friendly and very competent.The job was done on time and on schedule. I would absolutely recommend Adrien And AC Concrete!

Was this review helpful?
Private User
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Poor quality and poor service. Adrienne was good at the beginning but turned out to be a nightmare at the end of the job and for any follow up afterwards.

I do not recommend this company.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Who's this ?

lowen pawliw from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

We originally contracted another company to do our patio, he said he could start in 2 weeks. After a month and endless excuses he said it would be another 6-8 weeks. We contact Adrien at AC concrete and he started exactly when he said he would and did a fantastic job! The crew was professional and genuinely wanted to do the best job possible. Thick layer of gravel and a thick layer of concrete with a perfect finish. We have had several other trades and GC's come by who also said they did a great job. Make sure you give Adrien a call!

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about AC Concrete

AC Concrete has been providing excellence in service and workmanship since 2001. We specialize in decorative residential flatwork in exposed aggregate, stamped or patterned, and broom textured finishes in a variety of colours and combinations. We custom design and create unique, decorative concrete sidewalks, patios, driveways, and steps in limitless ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.