TMC Restoration

Furniture Refinish & Repair
3 Brewster Rd. Unit #5 Brampton ON L6T 5G9
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars  >  Furniture Refinish & Repair in Whitby  >  TMC Restoration  >  antique tables refinished
1 review Brampton, ON

antique tables refinished

My daughter-in-law had used the services of this company to refinish a huge antique oak dining room table. She was very pleased with the end result and so I proceeded with no further research.
In June, 2020, I was visited by Brian, the sales rep for TMC, to obtain an estimate on refinishing four antique cherry tables including a Duncan Phyfe dining table.
We were downsizing to a new home and I thought that I could have a hardier finish on them and get more relaxed use from them. Included was a beautiful oval Italian Provincial coffee table for which we had a protective glass made 57 years ago. I thought that I could dispense with the heavy glass.
As told by the other reviewers here, Brian pulled the same act quoting very high and pretending to call the office with the same story line of business being slow because of COVID, etc.
Because these tables mean so much to me, I agreed to pay $8,500.00. Yes, I know this sounds crazy.
When the refinished tables were returned to us they looked wonderful. Within about eight months, the varnish rippled and we were told they had applied too much and we sent the dining table, coffee table and end table back. Only the drum table was unaffected.
When they were returned the second time, the finishes did not match. The end table and coffee table were left with the wood unsealed and rough looking. The coffee table was so bad that we refused to accept it. There were even large dents in the wood. Back it went.
After a GREAT DEAL OF ARGUMENT, TMC agreed to try and repair the damage.
We have been without it since last October. It is March 2022 now.
It was returned a week ago and is a mess. The damage is irreparable and the table irreplaceable.
A call to TMC has gone unanswered as has an email.
DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS COMPANY! “31 years in business” and not a member of BBB tells you a lot.

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

To Mrs. Keaney-

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. We are well acquainted with your file.

As you have noted, you were referred to us a by a close relative who was a satisfied customer and your tables looked “wonderful” upon completion. Later, you raised the issue of lacquer instability caused by environmental factors which we willingly corrected at no charge. Please remember that we were closed for several lengthy periods throughout 2020-21 due to pandemic mandates so ALL company functions were suspended. In the end, we fully honoured our warranty and took additional steps (not mentioned here) to satisfy you.

The pricing for our comprehensive range of services varies according to the number of pieces, labour and materials required. We always communicate the fact that the cost of quality furniture restoration is comparable to purchasing new at a high-end retailer. This comes as a surprise to some. Please be assured that our rigorous hiring practice has resulted in a team of long-term, conscientious, customer-focused professionals who each play a part in earning TMC Restoration the high service ratings we enjoy based on hundreds of customer reviews: