Clawsie Contracting-

Basement Renovation
Mississauga ON L5C 2K8
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Basement Renovation in Erindale  >  Clawsie Contracting-
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

77%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Clawsie Contracting-

Average customer rating:
8.6 10 (18 reviews)

Sort by

Ryan from Milton
Ryan from Milton
1 review Milton, ON
9/10

Kitchen Tiling

We recently purchased a home which had an old, peeling, linoleum kitchen floor. We shopped around for some estimates and Bill provided a very reasonable estimate and timeline. While explaining his timeline, Bill also went over any foreseeable issues and provided multiple alternatives; this allowed us to discuss and think about what was best for our new home. The final product is fantastic and we have received multiple compliments from our friends and family. We are going to have Clawsie contracting come in to look at re-doing our bathroom floor now too!

Was this review helpful?
Elaine Sutton in Mississauga
Elaine Sutton in Mississauga
1 review MISSISSAUGA, ON
1/10

2 Bathroom Tiling Renovation

Clawsie Contracting recently completed 2 bathroom tiling renovations in my home. There are some things that I am not satisfied with.

There is a tile, directly in front of one of the vanities that has been cut short. The contractor returned and filled the gap with additional grout. This has somewhat improved the error but of course the tile cannot be un-cut. I’m not happy but I can live with it.

There is a noticeable gap along one wall where the new baseboard does not meet the tiles. The contractor returned to the house to view this and has suggested a fix. All things considered, I have opted to undertake a solution myself.

Both bathrooms have some tiles that are uneven and this can actually be felt underfoot. The correct term for this is “lippage”. The contractor has been apprised and has seen the lippage. This is the part of the reno that I am most annoyed and disappointed with and which falls so very short of my expectations. This is particularly disturbing.

I am, however, an eternal optimist and have looked for the positive in all of this. Well Dear Reader, I’ve gained some valuable learning from this bump in the road. When I approach my next reno I will be sure to do my due diligence, taking absolutely nothing for granted. Also, I will be sure to get that service agreement and warranty in advance to allow plenty of time to read them, fully digest the contents and ensure that all documents address and reflect my specific needs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Kelly & Tom in Milton
Kelly & Tom in Milton
2 reviews Milton, ON
10/10

Basement Renovation

This past summer, we hired Clawsie Contracting to create seperate living space for my mom in our unfinished basement. Bill & Jeff were awesome to work with; very professional and courteous. We were very pleased with the end result: which was beyond our expectations. My mom is loving her space and only wishes she had given Bill a few more projects.

My only advice to future customers, which was a huge learning curve for us and hopefully was a learning for Bill as well. If you've never done an extensive home project like a basement reno, make sure you go through your contract thoroughly with a fine tooth comb to make sure all your needs or expectations are covered. Otherwise you could face hurdles of disappointment along the way assuming certain tasks were included.

My advice to you Bill, you're the professional and customers like me may not think of things that go into a basement reno... things or details that we assume are covered. Your customer service could be greatly improved by doing two things... 1. Keeping a log of requests that you get from your customers that were not covered by their contract to help you create a checklist when quoting new customers. If you gave new customers a checklist of things that often get missed in a contract that they may not think of, this may help trigger addtional tasks and cashflow for you and eliminate disappointing hurdles. It's a learning curve for both parties.

Regardless of the hurdles we encountered, we are extremely pleased with the end result. Very professional & tastefully done. We've had nothing but positive feedback from friends & family who saw the before & after. Still waiting for some pics Bill.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Lawrence in North york
Lawrence in North york
2 reviews North York, ON
10/10

2 Bathroom renos

We had a subfloor problem in one of our bathrooms which resulted in a toilet that leaked into the ceiling below. We called Bill, who was prompt and courteous and gave us a very good estimate of the work. His estimate and workmanship was consistent and timely. With his colleague Jeff, they completed a job beyond our expectation. He even installed a few small accessories @ our request without any problems.

I'll definitely call him for future works. Awesome job Bill. We love our bathrooms!!!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Working in your home was a pleasure. I am so pleased that we could come in and fix your bathroom issues. Along with your ideas Lawrence, and Bonnies, we had no problem visualizing what you guys wanted and working within your budget to help create two wonderful bathrooms.
Thank you again for allowing us to come into your home and for the great review. If there is anything we can help you with in the future, please don't hesitate to call. I look forward to working for you again. Have a great summer!

Chris and Amy in Oakville
Chris and Amy in Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
10/10

Basement renovation

Bill and his team completed our basement renovation this fall ~ everything turned out beautifully. It was done on time, working within our timelines and schedules as the renovation was done in stages. The quality of work was excellent and we were very relieved that everything was done to our expectation. The basement and bathroom look great and the family is really enjoying the extra space!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the wonderful words in your review Chris and Amy. Jeff and I, as well as the others I had working at your home were very pleased with the completed basement and we are pleaased that you are enjoying it now.

Mr & Mrs. Paterson in Mississauga
Mr & Mrs. Paterson in Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

Brand New Kitchen & Flooring Throughout

We are so happy that we found Bill of Clawsie Contracting!!
The kitchen he did was amazing. Everything looks great!! Bill & Jeff did a great job! The finished kitchen exceeded our expectations. How rare it is to find someone who does such a great job ... and actually CARES about the work he does!
Before finding Clawsie Contracting we had hired another contractor who made a mess of one of our bathrooms ... and when Bill was on site doing our kitchen, he also came to the rescue and fixed up the washroom too, as if it never happened!
Needless to say we are grateful & will be recommending him to friends and family. He is someone who they can trust and who really knows what they are doing! Mike Holmes watch out !!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for such a nice review. Jeff and I had a great time working on your kitchen(and bathrooms). I am so pleased with how the kitchen has been transformed to what you had hoped for. We were also glad we could help get the other bathroom issues you had resolved. I hope you enjoy your new living areas within your home and look forward to any future meetings we may have.

H in Mississauga
H in Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
4/10

Basement renovation

After all the emails and a couple of really rude comments that Bill so conveniently left out of his responses, I'm really offended and disappointed.

His work is good, but customer focus and service is extremely poor.
from one of bill's many email today:
"giving you a discounted price after you told me you simply couldn't afford my initial quotes(then going out and buying a large flat screen TV with all of the money you didn't have)"

WOW, who are you to judge me after I paid you $16000. Was that not enough for your work. Really, was comment like that really necessary.

Review has 2 previous versions
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Heston,
Please let me respond to your comment that I have poor customer service. I had offered on two occasions to come over and "try to run" a cable for you through your ceiling if you would supply the cable. You refused both of these offers stating that you "will hire someone else to do this" in a recent e-mail you sent to me. I was willing to help you, even though it is not my responsibility to try and run a cable for your Bell satellite, but I was not willing to hook it up when you told me you couldn't call Bell to do this because you were receiving the signal illegally. I simply cannot have my business put in the situation of willingly doing something for you to provide you with an illegal service. I have sent e-mails to you defending my company, yet you still come onto Homestars and change your score from a 10 to a 7 to a 4.
Your original response to the work done on your basement was that we were honest, trustworthy and on time. A perfect 10 out of 10.
Then when I wouldn't agree to offer a warranty on the existing cable that we didn't install in you home and come over to do the work you wanted me to do, you changed your tune and changed your score to a 7 and said "I showed poor customer support". If you call customer support, enabling you to break the law, then yes, I can't do that.
Soon after, you came back onto Homestars and once again changed you score to a 4 this time, and even posted that people should "avoid my business". It's a shame that in your efforts to get me to hook up your illegal satellite cable for you for free, you feel like you have to attack my business on this website and try to persuade others to not use Clawsie Contracting.
I can only point out that every other score is a 10 for me, as was yours before you decided to change it twice in the span of 3 days. Up until 50 days after the renovation was complete, you never had a problem and your advice to others was to "use Clawsie Contracting", and now you are using this website to hurt my business in your attempts to get back at me for not helping you receive an illegal service. I am sorry that it has ended up this way, as your basement really did turn out beautifully.

mrobb76
mrobb76
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

Re-tile shower

Clawsie contracting came into my home over the summer to re-tile my shower stall. Throughout the entire process Bill was upfront with costs and took the time to explain any complications that may arise. If any problems did arise he pointed them out to me and explained how the problem would be resolved.

The service was excellent! We were very happy with the work and would be glad to hire Bill again.

Thanks for your hard work Bill.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Denise Edwards in Mississauga
Denise Edwards in Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

Bathroom renovation/Tiles

My husband and I were referred to Bill through our in laws who were very happy with their tile job Bill did. My husband had started the tear out of the shower and toilet and became ill. We called Clawsie Contracting. Bill came over and assessed the job. He advised us to remove the old floor(which was old, moldy and rotting). Bill was able to do this for us as well as rebuild the shower stall. He helped us choose beautiful black and white tiles with grey colored grout to compliment them. He showed us different patterns to choose from. We chose an awesome diamond design with regular tiles which saved us a lot of money not having to purchase expensive boarder tiles. The tiles wrap from the shower stall around the bathroom and create a backsplash behind the vanity and sink. We are extremely pleased with the outcome of our bathroom and the quality workmanship we received from Clawsie Contracting. Thank you Bill. The Edwards

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Barb in Erin Mills
Barb in Erin Mills
2 reviews Mississauga, ON
1/10

Home renovation including flooring, painting

I had hired these folks in the past for a few small jobs in my home and they were great. However, I could not recommend them for a medium to large job. This renovation including a lot of painting and I initially thought to hire a separate painter, which I should have. While they can wield a paintbrush and roller, they don't fix any wall blemishes and the taping they did left me with lots of old colour edges. We had a disagreement about painting of the kitchen since I thought ceiling was included and they did not paint it - not willing to even split the difference - so make sure any contracts are extremely specific with your expectations. I wouldn't hire them again for my home.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Barb,
After a long time thinking about your job, I feel that I must reply to some of your accusations about my business and the work we completed at your condo. I realise you had a concern about the ceiling NOT being included in the initial job. None of the other ceilings in your condo were painted, and you didn't have a problem with that, and the Service Agreement stated that we were painting the walls only. You purchased the paint for this, and you never purchased any ceiling paint, nor did you ever outline to us that you wanted ONLY the kitchen ceiling to be painted. It took you over a week to even realise the ceiling wasn't painted, and if it was the only ceiling to be painted, you would think it would be the first thing you would look for.
You also state that I was not even willing to meet you halfway on this, when in fact I offered to come in and paint the ceiling for an additional charge and you refused, stating to me that I should have included it in the original job.
You also never pointed out any of the concerns over the painted edges or any blemishes, and in fact told me everything was fine in regards to the painting of the walls. How am I to know that problems exist if you don't tell me about them until after you post a review.
Lastly, you failed to post all of the extras that my business gave to you during the renovation(taking your moving boxes down to the garbage bin, removing wire shelving and disposing of them, filling the holes in the walls where the shelving was and installing a new light fixture for you).
You also failed to mention that you gave my business 2 weeks to do the job before you were going to move in, and then proceeded to move in at the start of the second week, leaving us to rush to complete a 2 week job in just over 1 week. We came in over a weekend to accomodate you and try and get the job completed as soon as possible.
In your comments, you tell everyone to "make sure any contracts are extremely specific", and ours is, especially about the walls being painted, and not the ceilings, but you still took offense to that.
I am sorry that we couldn't maintain a working relationship after this latest renovation, as you have used my business numerous times before and been extremely happy with us and called us back for many other jobs.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Clawsie Contracting-

Clawsie Contracting offers an honest, hard-working, affordable approach to residential renovations. Basements, bathrooms, kitchens, tiling, and decks are our specialties. We offer a full service solution to your renovation needs, from planning and development right through to completion. Please call us for a free written quote on your next home ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Basement Renovation pros in Erindale?