HOMEGIRL Renovation Management + Design

Design/Project Management
Toronto ON M4L 1M7
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Design/Project Management
HOMEGIRL Renovation Management + Design
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

65%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for HOMEGIRL Renovation Management + Design

Average customer rating:
8.1 10 (10 reviews)

Sort by

Lori from Leslieville
Lori from Leslieville
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Kitchen Renovation

Tammy did an excellent job designing and acting as the contractor for our kitchen renovation. We have a small, older home and there were a few surprises along the way - but Tammy managed to keep her part of the project on time and within our established budget. Tammy has a great eye for design and colour - beautiful selection of finishes - and went out of her way to ensure we were happy with all of the details. She "runs a tight ship" - we had painters, plumbers and electricians working late and on holidays to ensure the job was done in time for the arrival of our first child (4 days post-project wrap up!). She has a great crew of workers and they clearly respect her.

Was this review helpful?
lola  Riverdale
lola Riverdale
1 review Etobicoke, ON
2/10

home reno

I've have been in a house that HomeGirl has flipped. I couldn't believe the horrible workmanship.
Your first impression is, " very nice, pretty " but when you look closer you realize it's all smoke and mirrors. I realize the house was a flip, but if this is any indication how this company works, stay away from them.
Some examples; none of the floors were levelled before installing a new laminate floor. As I was walking around the floor made a big cracking sound. That part of the laminate was not even touching the sub floor! It was like a bubble. I found this in many spots throughout the main floor. My advice to the new owners is not to serve soup to your family or your guests!
The grouting of the kitchen backsplash is completely cracking, and was never sealed. The dry wall work is beyond bad. My opinion is the work done in this house is the work of hacks.
My advice is stay away from this company.

Just to let you know, HOMEGIRL Renovation Management & Design, I do know a little bit about construction,and your company falls short.
You are extremely defensive, and yet you failed to address the biggest issue I had........Why wouldn't a home renovation company LEVEL floors before installing a FLOATING floor system????????

P.S. the tiles that I saw were NOT sealed. By the way care, to explain the 1/8 inch gap where the kitchen countertop was joined and filled with silicone? Quite a unique technique. I Can honestly say I've never seen it done before. I stick to what I said before, stay away.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hey Lulu, great feedback! Next time we install a 'floating floor system' I will absolutely insist on nailing it to the subfloor, those crazy installers - what were they thinking? Bubbles indeed! 'Big cracking sound?' that would take a large amount of weight to accomplish on a basically plastic 'floating floor system'. It almost sounds like you did serve soup to your family or guests there, such an oddly specific comment . . . hmmmm.

Are you one of those BIG ol RSI's?? You know 'Renovation Scene Investigators? Did you take a forensics kit in with you? No? If you had you would have found the backsplash was indeed sealed, but the naked eye can fail us:) Grout cracks, welcome to the real 'humid' world. I live in a 2 year old home, and there is cracked grout, funny I never thought of publicly attacking the builder over it though, thats certainly one way to spend your precious 'enlightened' time.

Drywall? Perhaps you were looking at the original plaster and do not know the difference, not all walls were replaced. We spent over $90,000 for that renovation (a 'flip' is considerably less)next time you do one I'd love to see your work, obviously I could learn from your expertise, like nailing down that pesky 'floating floor system'.

Thanks again Lulu Riverbarrel . . . more SOUP please!!

BG in Markham
BG in Markham
2 reviews Markham, ON
1/10

Kitchen Renovation, main floor update

Process started off smoothly with budget a little more than we wanted to spend (especially since we got ikea cabinets) but was willing to pay the money to get the job done right. Initially Tammy was great, very reponsive to all of our questions and concerns. 2 days into demo started getting worried about budget as we were over on almost every line item. I know that we picked some higher end stuff so I went along with it. Then we started getting bumped up on trades. Electriction was close to double the quote, plumber 3x the quote (she forgot we needed a gas line for a gas stove, and carpenter crew was 50% more). Like I said I knew that things can get over budget so I still did not complain, but the issues started when we saw the quality of work and the lack of professionalism from Tammy.

Everything we mentioned that we wanted to get fixed Tammy answered with "the house was old" or "the carpenter is not a tile guy, and he is not a trim guy, or he is not a hardwood guy", but the try very hard and have alot of heart. I know that everyone worked hard but I am not paying people to work hard, I am paying people to get the job done right.

They tried to fixed the stuff (flooring, wallpaper, drywall, etc) but most ended up in the same state as the carpenter obiously can't drywall either (gashes and uneven almost everywhere)

To top things off Tammy decided that she did not want to have anything to do with the project after we asked to have things fixed so she did not talk to me or come to the house for the last 2 weeks of the job. She had her husband finish things up (who is a very nice man) but we were then left shopping for lights, tiles, kitchen finishes and other things(so we ended up doing her job and still paying her for it)

All in all we ended up getting close to what we wanted but feel somewhat ripped off given the amount of work we had to do and the quality of the finished product. For the money we spent after the fact we would definately go with a more established company next time who knows what it's doing and does not run away as soon as people start questioning.

I think that Tammy leaves much to be desired in terms of project management and overall knowledge of basic construction. It seemed like she viewed the job as a quick flip that she can do on a part-time basis.

As you can see by Tammy's response this is what I had to deal with through the entire process. It's funny also how she mentioned throughout her response that she "paid" for a bunch of things. I sure you Tammy did not pay for anything at the end as I reimbursed her for everything.

Anyways, nice to see that someone else spoke us as well and hopefully no one else gets burned by homegirl again. BTW, if anyone want her to stop working on your job as soon as you see the poor quality simply start asking questions and she will be out of sight in no time. Huge waste of time and money.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

As we all know there are 2 sides to every story, I feel the need to respond to Bernard as there are many inaccuracies in his account of what happened. I am rather surprised after the excellent service we gave him, to completion, that he still feels the need to attack. I did send in my partner to complete this job, who went over and above to try to make this customer happy. According to my partner, Bernard was very happy with everything, and even invited us out to enjoy the ‘finished product’ over a drink (I assume that offer is null and void:).

The cost of the plumber went up from the original estimate because we added a gas line to the cooktop, installed washer and dryer, new faucet in the laundry room and then had to move a water pipe which was exposed when moving a small wall. These were all additional. The decision to move this wall was made mid-project.

The electrician went up because he did double the work in the owner’s basement (not part of this project) he changed all aluminum wiring and basically rewired the basement as there were a number of issues – this was at the owner’s request. The electrician then added on another $800.00 for things he claims were not on original order (3 way switches, insulated pots etc). I immediately took responsibility for part of this and split the cost with the owner (he failed to mention this).

The carpenter didnt go up 50% or even close to that - but the homeowner knows this.

I sourced and bought all lighting, tile and everything for the kitchen to the smallest detail including cutlery inserts and tray dividers (I was not paid to do this and did this even after I was being treated most unkindly). The owner chose the fireplace surround tile, we cut it and were ready to install then they changed their mind and wanted us to return it. Obviously not an option at this point, they then said they would find their own and use the other, later, on another project. At this point I had paid for about $5000.00 in tile. I spent a full day shopping with the client for lighting, the client approved 2 lights which I then went and purchased, then the client went away for 10 days and asked me to choose and install the remaining 2 lights, they didn’t like these or one that they had approved (which had taken 4 hours to install). They asked me to go back and purchase another light for $699.00, at this point I was feeling less than confident in their intentions (Bernard had begun to send belligerent emails several times a day) and having spent an additional $3000.00 to pay for their washer and dryer which were delivered while they were out of town, I felt it was better for them to purchase any additional fixtures (we uninstalled the rejected ones and installed their new choices ).

I chose not to return to this job and to have my partner complete it as the attitude of the homeowner had shifted after they returned from vacation. It became increasingly obvious by the owners ‘nasty’ emails and my several attempts to explain our side (which were always answered from an attack stance) that a change was in order. As a business owner I made a decision to try to salvage the project/relationship by sending in another representative, at this point more than 90% of the work was completed. My partner went ‘over and above’ while managing the completion of the project. He worked along side the team cleaning out the owner’s garage beyond anything we were responsible for (while the owner stood and watched), he vacuumed out drawers and cupboards and washed floors in areas in which we were not working.

Overall it is an absolutely beautiful transformation, I am very proud of the work that my team and I did. There were issues of course, this was a large project, but we addressed them and assured the client we would give 100% until the job was complete. At no time did we ever imply that we were not there to address issues and finish the job.
I tried to explain the reasons for many of the decisions we had to make while the client was away - I felt inclined to explain, as honestly as possible, why some things came out the way they did. He seemed to resent this and saw it as excuses rather than a basic communication of ideas and opinions.

My costs, besides the personal ones like being hugely disappointed (I really liked this couple and took on this project like it was my own home, I really felt connected and put my heart into it), also included paying for the install of wallpaper chosen by the homeowner which turned out to be defective, I bought and paid for paper, installer and removal. All of these things were done in good faith, all for naught it turns out.

When the homeowner’s demeanor changed (immediately upon his return from a 10 day vacation) and he began treating me with distrust and insulting my integrity and intentions by email I was at first pretty disheartened, I didn’t start my dream business to do anything but enjoy the process and really help my clients realize their dream (homes). I painstakingly tried to get the project back on track by staying positive and solution oriented. To the team nothing had changed we were still moving forward doing our jobs, but on the other side it felt like we were dealing with a different person. I continued to try to rationalize with him and to try to get back to a place of trust and respect, but the ‘attack’ emails just kept coming. It began to take on all the characteristics of bullying, the situation became inappropriate and unacceptable. Finally after the 5th insulting email of yet another demoralizing day, I ‘reassigned’ this project to one of the most capable men I know, my partner Mario. He is a man with great integrity and character; he is the standard by which I measure other men. I am so proud to know he would never behave in this manner to anyone.

I am disappointed to note that when dealing with this particular homeowner, in what is a professional capacity, he failed to maintain a modicum of fairness and good business practice. In more than one way my partner towers over this ‘man’. . . OK I had to lighten the mood a little, we have a great life and I have had some of the most memorable experiences working on these projects, this one has to be chalked up to a very good lesson. Thanks for that Bernard, now I know it is not always the trades in the wrong - two sides to every renovation!

One last thing, this homeowner asked me several times if I had any nightmare clients, at that point I didn’t, but now I am happy to present him with that honor (your plaque is in the mail Bernard) it goes something like this: Homegirl’s Worst Client of the Year Award. Presented to Bernard (last name removed) in the spirit of ‘Never Again’. Good luck to you Bernard and remember in the big scheme of things ‘every little thing is going to be alright’. You have a beautiful home, life is good, enjoy.

Pabon is Leslieville
Pabon is Leslieville
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Gut Reno!

I’ve seen Tammy manage two of her most recent gut renovations projects in the Leslieville area. They were both old run down homes in need of serious repair. Tammy has a real talent with regards to the overall design and colour coordination. She does not get intimidated by the magnitude of the project and remains composed when those troublesome unforeseen renovation problems arise. She is capable of managing multiple tradesmen and keeps the project on time. I would highly recommend Tammy to manage your renovation project.

Was this review helpful?
jaynealton
jaynealton
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

We Bought Homegirl's First Entire Home Renovation

We bought Homegirl's first renovated home in Leslieville; it was the first home out of many that I fell in love with.
The detail, esthetic and flow of each room is well planned and executed. Tammy is very gifted regarding overall design and clean esthetic. I feel so lucky to have found this gem of a house. Highly recommended for beautiful, modern design.

Was this review helpful?
P. in Leslieville
P. in Leslieville
1 review Toronto, ON
9/10

home renovation and sale

Homegirl renovated and sold the ~100-year-old house we live in. The colours and finishes of the house are now fresh and stylishly modern, yet simple enough to accommodate our eclectic tastes. Out of the ~100 houses we looked at, the house that Homegirl renovated was the only one that we really liked aesthetically, and we always get compliments on it when we have guests. If you're looking for great, modern design, Homegirl can get the job done.

Was this review helpful?
Pat in Ashbridges Bay
Pat in Ashbridges Bay
1 review Toronto, ON
9/10

renovation of anumber of rooms in an old house

Ours was a project that had gone astray. The contractor lacked direction and as a result we were headed for an over budget and over projected timeline situation. Tammy from Homegirl came in, took over, added some well thought out and creative design ideas, got things back on track and saved us from a really bad situation. I can't thank her enough and would highly recommend her service to anyone who doesn't have the time,knowledge or vision to properly oversee a reno project themsleves. Homegirl is the best!

Was this review helpful?
Alisha, Riverdale in Toronto
Alisha, Riverdale in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Overall House Renovation

When we saw the photos of the renovated house online, my partner and I initially thought it was too good to be true. But when we went in and actually saw the place, we were shocked- it was better than the photos!

At the time we were a bit iffy about moving, we had a nice condo that was a bit small, but we were comfortable in. But seeing how great the Homegirl house looked, we couldn't really pass it up!

Everyone that comes into the house is impressed by how modern and cool it is. I've lived in a few Toronto houses, and it seems like a lot of them have a very similar layout. The way Homegirl has designed the house though, is totally different than any other Toronto house I've seen- it's open and spacious, and it feels like the layout has been completely updated. People have commented on how the space seems larger than other similar houses.

I love a lot of the cool little features, like the bowl sink in the basement bathroom, the large windows in the sun room add-on, the built in wine rack, and the huge amount of storage space in the kitchen (my favourite room in the house!).

My partner and I love the house and we've never been happier!

Was this review helpful?
Margaret & David in Leslieville
Margaret & David in Leslieville
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

renovation management

We had been planning to reno our almost 100+ home for years. Everything about renovating was daunting until we saw the sign for Homegirl in the 'hood in front a beautifully renovated house. Within a week she created a visionary kitchen design and had contractors in to determine if the plan was possible. She accompanied me on many shopping trips after that, skillfully guiding me through the many decisions from kitchen cupboards to paint colours to appliances. She patiently helped source environmentally friendly products such as flooring and countertops. She brought in excellent contractors and we completely renovated an open concept first floor including kitchen, front and back foyer, and a 3rd floor. During the renovation, she was a calming presence always with a big smile. The renovation finished exactly on time, for which our large family was extremely grateful for and completely due to Homegirl's competent management of the project. I would highly reccomend her for her knowledge of the renovation process, her contacts with contractors, her impeccable sense of design and for bring fun to a stressful endeavor.

Was this review helpful?
CONSTRUCTION Worker Wanna Be
CONSTRUCTION Worker Wanna Be
1 review Toronto, ON

First Review

10/10

Drywall / kitchen design / Hardwood installation

I had been living in construction forever, until Tammy the HOMEgirl helped me manage the inner construction worker in me (politely told me to take a step back and relax) and finished my lifelong project. Her kitchen design and innovative use of Ikea's Kitchens easily saved me $40,000 and I got the same Italian Design Dream kitchen without the ass-busting price!!! Amazing...and it all started with a coffee with Tammy at Starbucks! I'm actually going to have time to sail this summer !

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about HOMEGIRL Renovation Management + Design

HOMEGIRL Renovation Management + Design ofers a unique & afordable project management aproach to the renovation of clasic Toronto homes. Avoid expensive mistakes, work with our trusted trades, pay direct with no mark-ups on labour or materials. We transform homes into fun, designer inspired, modern living spaces. Visit w. homegirl. ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Design/Project Management pros in East York?