Durham Family Contracting Ltd.

General Contractors
Whitby ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
General Contractors
Durham Family Contracting Ltd.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Durham Family Contracting Ltd.

Average customer rating:
3 10 (3 reviews)

Sort by

Phrancis in Ajax
Phrancis in Ajax
1 review Ajax, ON

Whole house painted; laminate floors laid kitchen, family room and front hall; kitchen roof reshingled and new drywall due to existing leaks.

I do have pictures that I am willing to share.

Would caution anyone, and especially a female if this is the same contractor I hired. He was very sweet and likeable upon first inspection.... called a reference. The gentlemen said the painter and guys laying the floor were good, polite, on time and did a nice job. Never once referring to Durham Family Contracting. Should have paid more attention!

Just after I demanded he leave the premises, his website went down. Today is the first time I have seen it back up. Based on a cell phone call I overheard while he was in my home; think another woman was having her day in court with him.

BEWARE of this Company. The owner, who was Danny Dillon, was a Bully to me, a Single FEMALE.

Things may have changed as they frequently can. He gave me poor advice. Told him I intended to sell. So his solution, not consulting me was cheap - and I am still here, living the non dream.Believe they way overcharged me. Would never have them back in any home again.

I do have photos... of the cracked & chipped marble, October 2006 drywall ceiling that is now water damaged, because they did not properly re shingle and seal the outside little roof over the kitchen, which while included in the total budget above, to me was about $2,500 over their original quotation.

Do not hesitate to leave me a message, if you are inclined to hire this company.


1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

whatever francis your a weirdo, the place looks great you should post your pics your boss even came over and said how great the place looked and for you to pay us and you did show your photos weirdo of the place to the people i have well over a hundred happy customers but some freaks like you have no life and nothing better to do then to sit on computer all day god knows what you look at. anyways anyone want some references i have them or go to her house on rotherglenn and you decide you will see that she is a weirdo. post photos weirdo and make sure there real stuff i did not the rest of your discussting house. you should clean more too instead of writing reviews all day. Sorry folks to be nasty but 99 percent of us are normal then theres freaks out there like her making stories and no, no lady is in court with me like she made up and in regards to the cheryl review mrs homes on homes( so she thinks) she forgot to mention she went to the BBB against me and lost they thought she was in the wrong but she didnt want to mention that... anyways hundreds happy 2FREAKS not. cant please them all i guess.
Dan Dillon
DFC see pics on web of normal peoples homes! Thanks

J - Oshawa
J - Oshawa
1 review Toronto, ON

kitchen renovations

I had my kitchen renovated last year and this contractors professionalism showed through to the detailed workship he provided. His crew was pleasent and the job was completed on schedule. THe only complaint I would have is...some garbage was left behind, but that is minimal to the exceptional job...that was provided. I would hightly recommend him (Danny?) and his crew to anyone.

Was this review helpful?
Cheryl in Oshawa
Cheryl in Oshawa
1 review Oshawa, ON

First Review


2 Bathrooms Renovated

I had my ensuite and main bath worked on by this contractor Nov. 2006 just after the birth of my son. I stayed at my mother's house for the 3 months it took (way too long to complete 2 small bathrooms). Before he was finished he wanted all the money left to pay him (Danny) which I didn't. This made him angry. No more Mr. Nice Guy. He no longer spoke or cooperated with me. He swore in my house, yelled and carried on very badly with no respect for my 4 yr old or myself (female). I did not allow him to finish the work because I began to notice the workmanship to be very poor and he would not fix it. It is more than a year later and I have had to redo my ensuite deluxe shower and will start to retile the main bathroom. Danny was pleasant at first but when I started to question some of the work he got angry and demanded the rest of the money upfront to finish the work. I work as a consultant in construction this is how I caught the quality of work so quickly. Don't get taken.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for General Contractors pros in Whitby?