Mr. Sandless - No Longer In Business

Floor Laying & Refinishing
Hamilton ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Floor Laying & Refinishing
Mr. Sandless - No Longer In Business
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

27%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Mr. Sandless - No Longer In Business

Average customer rating:
3.7 10 (6 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Hamilton, ON
0/10

Refinish hardwood floors

Floors are only 7 yrs old. Wanted them redone. Said it could be done without stripping. Said it probably wouldn't take all scratches out but the floors look worse now then before. Called and said they would have someone come out to look but never came.

Was this review helpful?
Amber from Winnipeg
Amber from Winnipeg
1 review Winnipeg, MB
10/10

Service

Winnipeg, Manitoba Location: Francisco and his family did an excellent job at repairing and refinishing the hardwoods in my kitchen and dining room. I hired a company to take care of my kitchen renovations and I've had so many contractors in and out of my house for the last 4 months and their work has been very underwhelming. The company I hired was unable to get us a timely quote on refinishing and repairing our floors, so I had to find a contractor myself to take care of this. I had multiple companies come in to give me estimates and told me that they could not make the floor look the way I wanted. (We took down a wall between our kitchen and dining room and wanted the floor repaired where there were no hardwoods before to make it look seamless). Francisco and his team were able to make my floors look seamless and they are exactly the way I had envisioned them. I also really appreciated their customer service; after all the contractors I've had in my home that were rude and impersonal I had grown quite irritated with the service I had come to expect. Mr. Sandless met and exceeded my expectations. They were professional, personable, and paid attention to all the details. I will absolutely be using them again in the future and I've already told many people about them. Good luck and I hope your business flourishes - you guys deserve it!

Was this review helpful?
Jan from Winnipeg
Jan from Winnipeg
1 review Winnipeg, MB
10/10

hardwood floor refinishing

This past winter our house sitters decided to clean the L/R and D/R traffic area of our dark hardwood floors. They sprayed a product on the floor and then swiffer/cleaned it. The areas that the product was used on were left with a very dull finish - a stark contrast from the rest of the floor. We saw an ad in a flyer for Mr. Sandless (Winnipeg location) and decided to give it a try. Michael from the company came over to give us a consult and an estimate. He said he was *fairly confident* that their process would correct the problem. He never promised anything that he felt he couldn't accomplish. They came to do the work about 2 weeks later. The process took almost a whole day. They first vacuumed and deep cleaned the complete L/R and D/R and then applied 4 coats of a sealant on it, allowing it to dry between each coat. As soon as the last coat was dry we were able to immediately see the results - our entire floor now had the same sheen from one end of the room to the other - the dulled surface now had the same sheen as the rest of the room. We also did, however, notice that the surface had a different took to it than the original sheen - it had a little bit more of a glossy look it to, but nothing that would jump out at you. Anyone coming to our house would never notice unless we pointed it out. But once again, never did Michael promise that it would look like the original. He said he could provide an even sheen and he accomplished that. We are very very pleased with the job that was done. The staff was very punctual, pleasant and professional. The cost was about $700.00 - a drop in the bucket compared to new floors or a complete sand-down refinish. We would definitely refer/recommend this company to our family and friends. Thankyou Michael for the great work and service.
Jan from Winnipeg Canada

Was this review helpful?
lynne templeton
lynne templeton
4 reviews Hamilton, ON
1/10

we got our main floor harwood floors refinshed by mr sandless

i wish i had kept our floors the way they were, once they put the finish on it is to soft and shows every scrape and mark, i hate it!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

According to our records, this job was done in March 2009. At the time of completion, which was 18 months ago, there was no complaint and we have no record of a complaint from this customer since then to let us know that there was a problem.

If you had contacted us and told us about the problems, we would have been happy to work with you to come to an equitable solution. Posting a complaint over a year later on a public forum before giving us a chance to fix the problem is unfair.

That being said, if you'd like to contact us and make an appointment for us to stop by and inspect the damage, we'd be happy to do so. Once we determine the cause of the damage, then we'll be able to offer you a solution to the problem, whether caused by improper floor care or something that we may have done.

C. Bohemier in Winnipeg
C. Bohemier in Winnipeg
1 review Winnipeg, MB
0/10

3 bedrooms and a small living room previously covered with carpet

We only had a two week turnaround as we bought a house and sold our old one this quickly. Before moving in, we decided it would be a great time to get our floors redone since there wasn't any furniture in yet. We took out the old carpet and decided that as our last home, we'd get the floors done. We discovered Mr.Sandless who promised that they'd be working in there 1 day and we could basically move in the next with no cleaning to be done as it was suppose to be SANDLESS. Having kids with extreme allergies, it sounded too good to be true. Well, they came, worked, sanded a bit here and there and now, it looks terrible!..like our floor literally has stripes on it. It's all patchy, uneven, bare in some spots. The parts that they did sand are about 10 shades lighter than the rest. These parts include all around the rooms by the baseboards. Now, there is sand dust everywhere, we're still living out of boxes, our children are at their grandparents because of their allergies, we lost our deposit with the painters as it took the Sandless guys 4 days to finish it, they scratched our newly reglazed bathtub cleaning their tools I believe, etc. The floor looked good before and we just wanted to spruce them up but now it's unbelievable. They sanded so unevenly by the baseboards that we can't put the new quarter round on. We've called to see if they're coming back but won't return our calls. We have before and after pics and are getting legal advice. Literally, our floor has waves of 4 different colours on it, no holes were filled. They told us to just put area rugs around the worse parts! THAT'S WHAT WE DIDN'T WANT, FRIGGIN CARPET!Anybody who comes over asks us why we didn't get our floors done before moving in! My wife is in tears, no other company wants to touch their mess because of the uneveness of the wood, we've lost our deposits with the painters, the window replacement guys, the decorator and the list continues. We should have gone with the real guys who do it right the first time. Unfortunately, I hate to complain so much about this company because the guys were really nice and apologetic but geez, now we have to get carpetting to hide the hardwoods......how ironic.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This review has been mistakenly posted to the entry for the Mr. Sandless in Hamilton, Ontario. Each Mr. Sandless location is independantly owned and operated and we don't service Winnipeg. Please remove this from our account.

Mr. Sandless Hamilton.

Natalie in Toronto
Natalie in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON

First Review

1/10

Sanding 4 rooms and hall

Is the notion of Mr. Sandless too good to be true?...you bet it is. We decided to try the no mess option as we have a baby on the way. I did not expect old dark stains to come out, but after the job, there was virtually no difference in our floors except tat they were shinier. The promise to fill in cracks was not met (except for one area that looked like silly putty was used).
We were told by the owner that our floors were coated with urethane over top of the markings by the previous owner, therefore, they could not accessed to buff. So given this...the job should have been stopped (or at least we should have been called to ask if we wanted to proceed or not). They completed the rest of the house and we had to haggle to get some of our money back. We got some...but no where near enough.
Don't waste your money...either sand your floors if possible, or have them replaced!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

There was no way to know that the dirt was trapped under the previous urethane as a result of improper refinishing from the previous homeowner. The area with the most contamination (dining room) was covered with furniture when we arrived (it was supposed to be removed by the customer before we started the job), so we had no idea of the extent of the contamination in the affected areas. If we had been able to properly inspect the condition of the floors, there might have been a different outcome to this matter (we would have refused the job).

We started by refinishing the upstairs areas first, as dictated by company procedure, and then began work on the downstairs where the problem areas were located. At that point, most of the job was completed.

This is the first mention we've heard about the wood filler. If we had heard about it before, we would have fixed it for them.

We too were disappointed with the outcome of the refinishing either and agreed with the customer that it did not turn out as expected. We renegotiated the price with customer's spouse the next day, and only charged them for the areas where he said they were satisfied with the refinishing (this worked out to $500 off the original price). We took it on good faith that this arrangement was a satisfactory and the matter was closed.

As I said, we were not happy with the results of the job either, and tried to reach an equitable solution with the customer. We take our reputation seriously and did our best to accomodate their concerns. To receive a negative review a month after we were lead to believe that the matter was closed in a satisfactory way is dissapointing.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Floor Laying & Refinishing pros in Hamilton?