Avalon Granite & Marble - No Longer In Business

Countertops
920 Dennison St., Unit 5 Markham ON L3R 3K5
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Countertops
Avalon Granite & Marble - No Longer In Business
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

65%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Avalon Granite & Marble - No Longer In Business

Average customer rating:
7.8 10 (40 reviews)

Sort by

Ellen from Markham
Ellen from Markham
1 review Markham, ON
10/10

Kitchen renovation

We replaced our laminate counters with quartz. We shopped around in Markham and ended up choosing to have it done at Avalon Granite & Marble. Fernando took his time to show us different kinds of stone we could choose from with reasonable pricing. He came to our house and obtained the measurements. His calculations were detailed and there was no hidden charges. When it was time to install the new counters, the employees arrived at our house on time and were very nice and professional. The installation was fast. We especially appreciated their care in transporting the stone to our second floor kitchen without damaging the walls and the stairs of our house. We are so pleased and would recommend this company to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Rick from Markham
Rick from Markham
1 review Markham, ON
2/10

Countertop

The new owners seem to be made of a team that really does not know much about installation. I was quite dissatisfied with the installation. Realized they use third party contractors - which is ok as long as quality checks can be done by principals. Their contractor disappeared mid-way, and then I heard them chasing any contractor who was ready to come. This is quite unprofessional. In the end, one whole section was left on the cabinet without securing it, the dishwasher was left unattached to the bottom of the slab. The main person (owner) was decent, but his team left a lot wanting in terms of professionalism. I wouldn't recommend them to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes No
joe from Markham
joe from Markham
4 reviews Markham, ON
1/10

Bathroom countertops

I have done business with Avalon twice prior to this last project. However, since spring 2014, they have been under new ownership. I thought I'd give the new owners a try. The job was fairly simple, 3 Bathroom countertops for some standard vanities. After agreeing to the material, they scheduled a date to come and take measurements. Then they postponed it twice. After coming to take measurements, we agreed on a date for the installation and I gave them a 30% deposit. They postponed the installation date twice, then they didn't show up and I had to call them. No answer at the office or the mobile. Had to leave several messages and wait days before getting a response back. Then I was told to call another cellphone number to arrange an appointment. When they came, they started the installation but then forgot one sink. Then it was the same routine all over again for the installation of the final sink. At some times, I actually felt they were just going to take off with the money. The work itself was satisfactory and the technician was very good but I felt like he was overworked and that may have been the reason for all the delays and excuses. I hope the moderator does not take this as a personal attack because it isn't, but I can't in good conscience recommend this company to any of my friends. I've dealt with many contractors before for many jobs and I don't remember being given the runaround like this before.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
randy from Thornhill
randy from Thornhill
1 review Thornhill, ON
9/10

kitchen washrooms

They did an awesome job can't really complain about anything. Just it gets a little dusty in the kitchen. I was also informed that the company has new owners and management. Giving them 2 thumbs up for work and price.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
ppuri
ppuri
1 review Maple, ON
0/10

Counter top in the Laundry room

I am very unsatisfied with this company's service. I placed an order for Counter Top for my Laudry Room, which was a big mistake. I paid in advance as requested but it was nightmare dealing with have these guys come in for measurement and then install. After initial measurement; guy came in again and measure again & told me the counter top is almost ready and will be install in 5 days. I called them regularly and was advised that installers in on the way but no one showed up till late night. This happened 3 days in the row. On the top; Counter Top was measure & cut wrong. Installer did not care about what I was saying and tried to justified with foolish comments as if I was illitrate. Now the doors are sticky out and Sink doors are in not in center. It was big waste of time and I will NOT recommend these guys to anyway... even if they do work fee!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hello,

I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the service and installation, we would be happy to redo the installation and correct any issues that you have had. We at Avalon strive for 100% customer service satisfaction, and we are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied.

We are willing to offer you a 20% discount for any future projects you have.

Please contact us directly at 1-866-919-0516 to help correct the issue as we are committed to your satisfaction.

Amy  from Vaughan
Amy from Vaughan
1 review Vaughan, ON
2/10

Granite countertops installed

I had granite countertops installed in my kitchen in December 2012. I chose Avalon because of the price and colour selection. The countertop was installed so poorly that I could not open my lower cabinets! When I called and asked for it to be fixed, the company refused to fix it so I had to pay to have my cabinet doors moved. I believe this was caused by a language barrier by the staff, which could be improved by written communication/confirmation or a checklist to fill out at the end of the installation. About a month later, a huge chip fell off the edge of the granite (which is just a 1 inch nub glued onto the top piece). No one would return my phone calls or emails! I am extremely disappointed at the lack of communication by the staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Dear Amy,

I am very sorry to hear about your bad experience with Avalon Granite In December of 2012,

The company changed ownership in March 2013 and therefore we do not know much about the issues, however we would be happy to come to your place and fix it for no charge.

We would also like to offer you as a customer service gesture 15% off any other Service Avalon has to offer.

Thanks,

Avalon Granite Team.

adam in Thornhill
adam in Thornhill
4 reviews THORNHILL, ON
8/10

countertops

I made a kitchen in my basement and used caesarstone countertops. They were professional and lived up to their word. They finished the job on time and did a great job for a great price. They were also very flexible with payment. I would use them for my main kitchen.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hello Adam,

Thank you very much for your positive review, Please feel free to spread the word.

I you need anything else please don't hesitate to give us a call.

Thank you once again.

ryan huynh from Markham
ryan huynh from Markham
1 review Markham, ON
0/10

granite countertop

The counter top was cut and sand inside my house. The vacuum was used but it did not have a filter so dust was blown all over my house.

Three of the drawers could not be closed very easily. They were touching the new counter top hanging edge. I spent several hours the next day to fix it myself.

I also bought the faucet from Avalon and was expecting them to install it for me. However, I was only told after they have finished installing the counter top they don't do plumbing. It would have been nice if I was told up front so that I can make necessary preparation. Anyway, my kitchen water shut off was not working so I had to shut off from the water main. By the time the job was finished all of the stores were closed and still I could not turn on the water. My wife and I could not shower or use the bathroom until the next day.

I choose Avalon because of the good reviews. But apparently, the company is now under new ownership.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hello Ryan,

We are very Sorry to hear that your experience was not satisfactory, There must have been a mis-communication with the Project Manage, However this is clearly indicated on all our agreements and Order Forms.

As you are aware, Granite Counter-top Installers are not Plumbers, therefore they are not certified or insured to connect the water and pipes back together after a Granite Counter top is installed.

if there is anything else we can do please let us know.

We would like to offer you a 10% discount for any other Granite Counter top Project as a Customer Service Gesture.

V & J from Richmond Hill
V & J from Richmond Hill
1 review Richmond Hill, ON
10/10

Kitchen Countertop

We are very pleased with the entire experience. We had been postponing the upgrade of the countertop but we are very happy with the professionalism and courteous service we received. We are extremely happy and will most definitely recommend Avalon to our friends and families. Thank YOU!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Harold in T.O.
Harold in T.O.
5 reviews Scarborough, ON
6/10

Granite Countertop

My wife and checked out several companies before choosing Avalon mainly because of price (approx. 20% cheaper than the companies on the top of Homestars list) and reading some of the reviews on Homestars. Also what helped us with choosing Avalon was the receptiveness when obtaining a quote. Sue and Martin are very nice to deal with but there were some communication issues along the way. Being satisfied with the quote, we went to one of Avalon's suppliers and chose a granite slab then set up a date for the templating of the kitchen. Prior to install, there was a small hiccup in the plans as we were told to pick another slab as the one we chose had a crack in it. So back my wife went to go through the process of picking out another slab. I had one major concern of the install and that was in regards to a seam that had to be put in. I was concerned that the veining in the stone was not going to match up at the seam. I feel the communication was lacking and I had to initiate most of the communication to be put at ease. For example, one of the things I did was obtain the measurements of the slab and I drew to scale the countertop pieces within the slab on a piece of graph paper. This way, I had an idea where each piece of the countertop came from on the slab. They ended up using the template I designed to cut out the pieces on the slab. I wish they could have provided this detail and given us the homeowner some input. When in came to install, the installers worked their butts off bringing up the heavy slabs up a flight of stairs. The installers did a great job putting it together. However, if you're looking for attention to detail, this is not Avalon's forte. One part of the countertop was cut too short leaving a half inch gap from the wall. They blame it on an uneven wall however, you can see clearly that it was cut too short. They kept asking me if I was going to install backsplash because then it would 'hide' their mistake. One thing I wanted when researching companies was to go with one with a CNC fabricating machine (for precision cuts and edging) and for some reason I thought Avalon had one of these machines but they don't. The other thing that was not done to my satisfaction was that there were three chips on one edge of the island that was filled with resin with a colour that did not match that part of the stone. The installer said that the colour was in other parts of the granite so it was acceptable. He then changed the excuse to that the resin colour changed after filling the chip possibly due to the cold outside. I agreed to have them return and recut the edge to get rid of the chips. The installers tried to do a quick fix outside then came to terms with having to take the island back to the shop to have it cut PROPERLY. Now, with the island an inch shorter, there still ended up being a chip in it but it was filled with a better colour matched resin. Finally, another mistake I accepted but want to note is they brought in a different sink than the one I had ordered (same model, different depth). The whole project started out nice but ended up with me pondering if I should have spent the extra money and went with one of the companies on the top of Homestars list. There must be a reason those companies have a perfect 10. When you spend so much money, you expect companies to care about their workmanship or even take responsibility for their shortcomings. All I expected was a job done right, not somewhat right.

Review has 1 previous version
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Avalon Granite & Marble - No Longer In Business

NOTE: Under new ownership since April 10th 2013. Avalon Granite and Marble is a family owned and run business with over 20 years of combined experience in the Toronto granite kitchen countertop field. This is what sets us apart from our competition. When you come through the doors of our ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Countertops pros in Markham?