Next Rain Irrigation Ltd.

Sprinkler Systems
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Sprinkler Systems
Next Rain Irrigation Ltd.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

79%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Next Rain Irrigation Ltd.

Average customer rating:
8.8 10 (41 reviews)

Sort by

Linda Williams in Calgary
Linda Williams in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Upgrading our sprinkler system

I called next rain after my husband was tired of moving manual sprinklers around the yard. We always had the underground sprinklers. But, it needed work. I called next rain. They started the sprinkler system, then they checked all of the sprinkler heads. Some were broken, others were not performing to capacity. Next rain , replaced the heads, dug skinny, small trenches to replace a couple pipes. They did all of this in a timely manner at a very reasonable price. We had a couple things in our system go wrong, due to the age of our system, I called next rain and they came within the week and it was all fixed. If you want a company that stands by commitment and has a high ethical standard, next rain is the company for you. They will be doing my system blow out in the fall.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you Linda.

Sometimes we don`t get things fixed right the first time and we have to come back and fix our own work. It happens, we are far from perfect. We appreciate your patience and allowing us to work on your underground sprinkler system.

Todd
Next Rain Irrigation Ltd.
Calgary

rymek
rymek
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Sprinkler line repair

Repair did on time and to complete satisfaction, technician was courteous, knowledgable and professional, would highly reccomend this firm

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your business.

Chris in Calgary
Chris in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Hidden Costs

  Next Rain Irrigation Ltd.
403-613-0552
#9 - 141 Commercial Dr
Calgary
AB
T3Z 2A7
CANADA

We've used Next Rain Irrigation for a number of years for Spring startup and Fall blowouts and have never had a issue. We scheduled an appointment to fix two solenoid valves, the date was selected by Next Rain Irrigation because they were in the area. The technician was at our property a total of 30 minutes. However we were charged a Call Out Fee ($90.00) + a minimum hour of labor ($110.00) and parts. When the appointment was booked no mention of these charges (most notably the Call Out Fee) were discussed or mentioned - nor was a quote provided. We tried to contact the owner on a number of occassions to discuss the excessive charges (notably the Call Out Fee) he declined to speak with us. Later his receptionist left a message that "nothing can be done". In the past we have never been charged for a Call Out Fee and knew beforehand the cost of service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

** Same response as on his Google review
Hi Chris M.

I have your invoice in front of me, Invoice #2226. The call out fee we charged you was $83.50, not $90. We charge $110 per hour billed in 30 minute increments for a senior service technician. Our service technician showed up at just after 8:00am on May 3, 2016. Between 8:05am and 8:08am as per our GPS records. GPS records for your house can be viewed at our office, if you would like. Again, you Chris M. where not on site at the time of repairs, your wife or another lady was. Most of our complaints stem from people who are not at the property at the time of repairs.

Our service technician showed up at your house, rang the door bell and then proceeded to wait approximately 13-18 minutes at the door for your wife or the lady at the house to come to the door. He waited, rang the door bell again and once again a child came to the door. The child said his mother was coming. If this was not a good time for us to show up, an appointment should have been booked at a better time. Our service technician then called our office as he could not wait any longer, as our service techs work between 12 and 14 hrs a day, during this time of year and his salary is based on how much he bills in a day. He has a wife and two kids at home, if you are making him wait, and taking the largest percentage of money out of his pocket, not my business. The lady at the house, we assume is your wife finally came to the door as he was talking on the phone with our office. He waited at least 15 minutes.

Our service tech was on your property for over 1 hour. Again, GPS records can confirm this. The work might have taken only 35 or 40 minutes to complete, a few minutes to test the system is working correct, that our work has been done properly, time to bill and answer any customer questions. Our time is money, in this world, and we believe respecting others time is important, that is why we work so hard to show up on time, to each service call.

Our prices, unlike a lot of companies, are straight up and forward on our website. All service repair businesses that come to your home either have a minimum service charge, a call out charge, or a first hour bill charge that is significantly higher then the hourly rate.

We also returned $28.75 to the credit card that this was billed too, as a show of good spirit.

BlueFox Tracking GPS Records: Accurate to about 50 meters *** Edited to allow for privacy.

16 07 GMC Cube #03 26 Went***** **** Southwest, Calgary, Alberta, Canada, T3H *C* 0 km/h - -114.**** 51.** 2016-05-03 09:28:37
17 07 GMC Cube #03 24-26 Went **** *** Southwest, Calgary, Alberta, Canada, T3H *C* 0 km/h - -114.**** 51.** 2016-05-03 08:10:17
18 07 GMC Cube #03 35 Went **** *** Southwest, Calgary, Alberta, Canada, T3H *C* 0 km/h - -114.**** 51.** 2016-05-03 08:08:04

We feel like you are trying to damage our business reputation by making false claims on the internet. We understand that you are upset with the bill, but lying on the internet is a serious offence that we can't take lightly..

Yours truly,

Todd Mansfield, BSc. , Certified Irrigation Designer, Certified Irrigation Contractor.

Todd Anderson in Airdrie Ab
Todd Anderson in Airdrie Ab
1 review Airdrie, AB
0/10

Horrible project and service

I had these guys replace my valves on my sprinkler system. They did a horrible job. They tore up the sprinkler valve box, replaced it crooked and uneven with the ground. They left pipe cut offs on the ground . I asked them to come back to fix this mess, they did some what, at that time I asked them to blow down my lines for the winter. I turned on the water this spring, the new valves were leaking. I paid over $700.00 for this and got a horrible job. Do not use these people.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

** Update: Next Rain performed the Spring Startup for the customer in 2018.

**Update: Customer booked fall irrigation shut down / sprinkler winterizing with us in October 2016. We can only conclude that he is happy with our services.

Hi Todd,

** On April 15, 2016 we returned to your house and placed your valve box at the correct angle for you and closed your valves for you and cleaned out your valve box in the ground. **

Key Points:
1) Customer was not on site at time of repairs in May 2015.
2) Next Rain bills per hour, not per job.
3) Cost was an issue, Next Rain tried to keep the cost as low as possible.
4) Repair site was very muddy and wet due to water in the sprinkler system at time of repair.
5) Customer waited 5 months to complain that his valve box was not at the angle of his liking.

Here is our original response to your BBB Complaint:

May 9, 2015 We arrived at your house to fix your sprinkler system. We determined that you had 5 leaking electric valve assemblies.

We dug up the valve box, which was in a dog run, with dog crap in the area. We replaced the five electric valves, tested the system and back filled the box, programmed the controller, and replaced a sprinkler part. Yes we agree the box where the valves go was not put back perfect, however we charge you by the HOUR to do the repairs. The box had to be dug up to do the repairs as the valves could not be replaced with out doing so. We do not charge you per job. Our rate is $115 per hour. 99% of our customers, even those living in 1 or 2 million dollar homes, are very happy to do the little bit of extra clean up to avoid the added cost. The bill total came to $725.40 and included GST. There was over 3 hrs of repairs. Digging up the valve box, replace one valve, check valve, replace next leaking valve, until we had replaced all the valves.

You where NOT on site for the repairs, you had another lady at the house looking after the repair for you. We always request that the customer is on site when booking, as this allows them to understand the amount of hard work that is involved in repairing irrigation systems and the time that it takes. That way we have no issues with billing and minimizes if not eliminates complaints. A lot of our customers will work with our service technicians to finish the job quicker and in more timely fashion.

We provide a 30 day warranty on all service repairs. Longer if we believe it is our fault.

In September, you called and complained about the mess around the valve box that we had left. This is a total of 5 months after the work was done.

We booked you in for winterizing and winterized your sprinkler system. We also agreed after being told by you that you wanted us to come out and tidy up for FREE. Again, we charge by the hour, so this is a totally free service we offered you and had to be done on our time, not your time. We got a very good impression from the lady at the house, the day of the repair, that money was an issue and we did not want to spend more of your money then we needed to. Either way we agreed to come out and see what we could do to fix your situation. Our goal is to maintain a relationship with our customers. On the winterizing day, We did not do the tidying up on the valve box as promised, but we did send a service technician back within two weeks to tidy up. He said that it looked reasonable and spent 25 minutes trying to organize the rocks and repair around the box the best he could.

Please realize that the irrigation valve box is in the ground, in the dirt and mud. When we repaired the valves, the area around the box gets very wet from the water that runs back into the box from the lines.

Now, we have you booked you in for Friday, April 15, 2015 to further fix your issue, however you have posted this complaint after we had booked you in to solve the problem.

We also did not appreciate the tone of your email this spring, nor the phone conversations that you had with us last year fall.

It is very demanding and could have been worded in a more correct way for better results with both me, my service technicians and our office manager.

"Todd

I need you to come out and look at my system, last year you did a bunch of work on my system.
The box and internal clean up in the box is horrible. Then you blew down my system, I turned the water on
Tonight and the valves are leaking inside the control box.

I would hope you have some kind of warranty and better yet more pride in the work you perform.

Please let me know when you can come and meet me to fix this.

I live in Airdrie at (CUSTOMERS ADDRESS)

Regards

Todd XXXXXXXXX

Regardless, we feel like we have tried very hard to satisfy your needs, however we are an HOURLY service business and charge per hour for our work.

Please tell me what it will take to satisfy you.

Thank you

**AGAIN, at this time, it appears we have solved your issues **

** Customers, we require you to be home when irrigation servicing is being performed, it is time consuming and the communication channels are open and we can make everything perfect for you the first time. It also allows you to see how hard our staff are working to solve your problems. **

Have a great summer!

Todd Mansfield

Trevor from Calgary
Trevor from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

System Opening and Closing

Bought a 2008 house with sprinklerr system that had not been operated since it was installed. Next Rain got me scheduled after several postponements on my end owing to a landscaping project and had the system operating within hour. They aslo returned to adjust a sprinkler head path that wasn't quite right without grumbling. When I closed my system it was easy to schedule an appointment and there were appropriate electronic remnders sent out. Post-visit they left me a nice simple letter of instruction to follow after the winterization was done as well as installing a free hose bib in order to get the job done. Overall - good service, easy to book, fair price.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thanks Trevor.

We want to make sure that the sprinkler system is easy to winterize in the future, so a free hose bib makes next years fall visit that much easier for us.

Todd
Next Rain Irrigation Ltd.
Calgary

Debbie Anderson from Calgary
Debbie Anderson from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

underground irrigation service

Next Rain Irrigation Ltd. Reliable. Dependable. Knowledgeable. Polite. Professional. Can't ask for anything more. We use Next Rain to set up our commercial office irrigation system. Its a worry free process.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Debbie for your review. We appreciate the business.

Jeff
Jeff
2 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Irrigation Systems

We first started using Next Rain Irrigation in 2008, the service provided is excellent year and year out. Great recommendations for the whole irrigation system and prompt response when needed. Thank you! Condos in the Marda Loop Area.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Jeff.

Todd
Next Rain Irrigation Ltd.
Calgary

Lea from Calgary
Lea from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Irrigation system

We moved into this house a couple of years ago and the irrigation system had not been kept in good workable condition. I called Next Rain and they came out within a couple of days and got everything up and running. Last year we had some problems and again with underground leakage. They sent a tech out but he was unable to find the problem so he did a temporary fix and a more experienced tech came a couple of weeks later and fixed the problem.
The technicians are always pleasant and easy to work with.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thanks Lea.

Some leaks are really hard to find. It usually takes being persistent and never giving up.

Glad we got everything sorted out.

Todd
Next Rain Irrigation Ltd.
Calgary, Alberta

sblc from Calgary
sblc from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Irrigation service

Been using Todd's company for about 5 years now. They are great! Prompt, Professional and Reasonable. Keep up the great work! We call Todd to schedule appointments every summer, he is super friendly. Their techs are professional.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks SBLC Calgary.

We appreciate your feedback. We have also used your business for a commercial real estate transaction and your staff where great to deal with too.

Todd
Next Rain Irrigation Ltd.
Calgary

Jim France from Calgary
Jim France from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
8/10

Yearly Irrigation Maintenance

Assisted Review

An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our review guidelines.

I first started using Next Rain Irrigation in 2009 when I needed someone to blowout my sprinkler system. It was turning cold quickly so I called and one of their trucks showed up a few hours later. The snow was sticking to the road for the first time of year and it was at least -10 C. They got the job done and I have been using them ever since for the start up in the spring, the repairs and the shut down in the fall.

Thank you.

Jim France.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you Jim for all your advice over the years. Enjoy the new home in BC.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Next Rain Irrigation Ltd.

403-613-0552 - Underground Sprinkler Systems Calgary - Irrigation Systems Calgary

Next Rain Irrigation Ltd. services & repairs, winterizes and installs irrigation systems in the Calgary area. Next Rain works with both residential and commercial customers. We warranty our fall blowouts and take pride in being a reliable organization. Our crews will keep your landscaping looking awesome this year.

Website: next-rain.com

Next Rain Irrigation Ltd.

Mail:
PO Box 71131 RPO Silver Springs
Calgary, AB T3B5K2

Retail/Office/Shop:
Unit 9, 141 Commercial Dr
Calgary, AB

CATEGORIES
Sprinkler Systems
PRODUCTS
Irrigation
SERVICES
Service, Irrigation Winterization, Fall Sprinkler Blowouts, Installation, Designs, Residential, Commercial, Back Flow Testing, Cross Connections
BRANDS
Hunter, Toro, Rain Bird, Irritrol, Orbit, etc.
SPECIALITIES
Irrigation Service Design and Build Commercial Irrigation Installation
WEBSITE
http://next-rain.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2008
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
8
PAYMENT METHOD
Visa, Mastercard, Cheque, Cash
LICENSES
WCB, Liability Insurance, Business Licenses
MEMBERSHIPS
BBB, Irrigation Association
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
Certified Irrigation Designer, Certified Irrigation Contractor, Certified Landscape Irrigation Audit
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.