G&E Landscaping

Interlocking Stone
Toronto ON M5R 2E2
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Interlocking Stone in Mississauga  >  G&E Landscaping
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

80%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for G&E Landscaping

Average customer rating:
9 10 (34 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
1 review Toronto, ON
8/10

Landscaping, stonework to front of property

After some research, we hired G and E Landscaping to do work on the front of our house...stone steps and sidewalk, stone curb around perimeter and planting in the lawn area. George struck us as friendly and straight forward and someone with plenty of experience. His approach seemed efficient and we appreciated he would stay on one job at a time until finished. He listened quite well to what we wanted, had good suggestions and was eager to get going. Apart from some minor communication issues, things went fairly well. His price seemed reasonable.

The work started on schedule and took about a week to complete as estimated. George had a good crew of experienced guys who seemed to know what they were doing. The only problems were that they went ahead with finishing a stone curb in a certain way that we did not get a chance to approve. We had them redo that which they did without a problem. We also noticed that the stone slab stairs should have been about 1 - 2" higher but we let that go, realizing it would be unreasonable to redo them but it is a noticeable error.

A related problem to the work had to do with a wrought iron railing we put around the property. George recommended we work with Nelson at BTL Railings. Apart from some slowness in Nelson responding to our communication needs and a slow job start, things did get done and the entire job was about 90% satisfying in the end.

The problem with BTL Railings became apparent after we realized there was some damage done to the stone step from the railing install. After repeated attempts to call Nelson, he made no attempt to call us to assess the issue even though he promised us several times that he'd deal with any problems that might arise. I have reviewed BTL Railings on this website and would caution people not to work with them given our experience. I include this caution in my review of G and E Landscaping because if I were George, I would discontinue using BTL Railings and never recommend them to customers.
In our experience, they are obviously an untrustworthy company.

George on the other hand showed more responsiveness to dealing with problems and thus seemed to be trustworthy and professional with regard to customer service. Overall, I'd say the chances are quite good that you would have a positive experience with G and E Landscaping should you choose to use them.

Was this review helpful?
Louise Turgeon in Mississauga
Louise Turgeon in Mississauga
3 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Backyard redo

George was recommended by the deck construction company. After visiting properties where George had done similar work in the past and talking with the owners who were more than happy to share their positive experience with him, we were convinced that he was the right contractor for us. We were not disappointed. George and his team were on the site working non-stop for 2 weeks starting at 7:30 a.m. until 6 p.m. and sometimes later. Always in a good mood even though it meant that they had to break 6 inch of concrete. They called it just a normal day at the gym. Daniela coordinated all the work with the pool, fence, gas and electrical companies and she was always available to respond to my questions. I wish that all contractors would be like George and his team.

Was this review helpful?
Terry from Toronto
Terry from Toronto
1 review Etobicoke, ON
10/10

backyard patio

G & E was great, from the initial quote to the finished product. George and Daniela were very responsive to our constant questions regarding the project. Crew was always punctual and very hard working during the entire 12-hour work day. They took care of arranging EVERYTHING: delivery of bins for garbage, delivery of all materials, pick up of bins, cleaned up the work site everyday. Would highly recommend G & E to everyone. Was a joy to have the work done by such professionals. They did the job in three days - in and out - loved it!

Was this review helpful?
Brian Parsons from Toronto
Brian Parsons from Toronto
1 review Etobicoke, ON
0/10

Interlocking Brick Walkway

Very unhappy with customer service post installation. Within less than a year the sidewalk is seperating due to the lack of a suporting edge. Biz owner simply will not honour his workmanship. Very disappointed. He offered to touch up ploymetric sand after my 3rd email, but that does not address the incorrect installation which will cause future problem every year. Plants/Cedars had similar "pass the buck" attitude. When I challanged owner on these matters he simply got angry and hung up on the phone after he continuously side stepped my email concerns. Be very carefull about spending money with this company. He will site how long he has been in business but i doubt my experience is unique. I sympathize with the customer from Vaughan. Owner will probably reply about how he replaced $1,000 of cedars which died prematurely. He actually had me dig them out and replace them myself after i paid him to plant the orginals. My neighbour just asked us while we were walking the dog who did our front walk, and we said we woudl not recommend this company.People are shocked when i tell them that he hung up on a concerned customer. I even emailed an apology in case i came across too angry as I feallt maybe i pushed him to hard, he never responded.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Mr Parsons,
We consider all our customers as valued customers and G&E stands by there workmanship. Once a job is completed G&E will re visit your home the following year at no charge to ensure everything is upstanding within the quality of our work. We replaced your trees last year at a cost to G&E aprox 1000.00. No nursery will replace trees if they are not wrapped or watered properly. Again you request us to replace your trees, unfortunately this is not under warranty no nursery will warrant if nursery instructions are not followed . We offered for the trees to be paid at cost and you declined. The sidewalk does not require a brick stop however it was offered during the time of installation you declined as this option was more expensive. Due to the frost it lifted, it will settle and it requires some polymeric, but you declined that service as well. No one should be bullied into providing a free service. G&E is a very reputable company and very Fair we stand by our work and have been in the business for over 20 years. Unfortunately if a company can continue to provide FREE services to there clients the customers are not happy but this should not result in the Representation of the company. We stand by our work. If the nursery , manufacturer or suppliers can not warrant there product we can not continue to replace it at our cost. Should you wish to discuss this matter further or would like to purchase the trees at cost and have the polymeric touched up we will be happy to do so.

Dissapointed Customer from Vaughan
Dissapointed Customer from Vaughan
1 review Vaughan, ON
0/10

Backyard Patio and Landscaping

Mediocre work and quality, especially given what I paid
I am writing this review in the hopes that anyone considering hiring G&E Landscaping is aware of the quality of workmanship and incredible lack of aftercare customer support.
I had multiple issues aligned with their lack of attention to detail, below are just a few of the issues:
1) Pergola - DO NOT have G&E build your pergola. I spent $5K only to have warped boards installed AND have the structure start falling apart less than a month after the work was completed. When I called the owner/operator - to inform him the boards were caving in, he told me he wanted $200 to fix the pergola (I had to cover his employee’s labor costs).
2) Landscaping: G&E will charge you a significant amount for "softscape" and claim that they are providing you with the highest quality plants, shrubs, and trees. Don't believe the sales pitch, most of my plants died shortly after they were planted (despite continuous watering). I spent almost $7K on a few shrubs and small trees. When I informed the owner/operator - NOTHING was done.
3) Finishing: I was told before the project began, that my property would be "like we were never here". Unfortunately this is nowhere near true. My front lawn was left a mess (I paid close to $40K on this job - and they couldn't spend an extra $50 for an extra couple of grass rolls). They also put the disposal bin on my driveway. The result of doing so is a driveway that was left with dents and divots. Again, when we called to complain, we got stonewalled.
4) Luckily we had some issues addressed before we paid for the project in full. While the issues were resolved - we had to hear constantly how fixing issues caused by G&E's STAFF was impacting his costs and profit on the job.
5) Bylaws & Compliance: I urge ANYONE CONSIDERING G&E TO READ THIS CAREFULLY. Do your own due diligence on bylaws. The owner/operator will essentially tell you whatever you want to hear to appease your concerns. I had asked them to confirm all bylaws before they started the job. I am currently in the process of spending an additional $1K on a "Variance Adjustment" with the City of Vaughan. When I called to confront the owner/operator I was told I was on my own and to call his lawyer. I’ve leveraged other vendor for various projects – this was definitely a first.
Overall I am very disappointed with the overall quality of work and lack of customer follow up. You will hear a great sales pitch on how “G&E is about the awards, not the money”. Don’t believe a word of it. It’s about the money – and after you’ve paid it – you can forget about any follow up or customer service.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review, I understand you are disappointed due to a bylaw issue, however this should not impact the quality of work G&E has provided to you.
G&E took all proper measures prior to commencing the work at your home and constructing your pergola.
We called the city and followed all proper measures in building your pergola, no permit was required. After your review we took initiative and followed up with the city again and they have confirmed a pergola is a structure in which rain and sun can shine through.
We have built many pergolas and have not had an issue. We constructed your project together with a neighbor who had similar work done we have assisted you in all issues and these issues have passed with the city. I do apologize for your frustration however the city has been called on you on several occasions due to some neighbor issues. G&E has taken all measures to ensure our job was done correctly and efficiently.
G&E is an award winning company, and your home and your neighbor’s home is eligible for this year’s award.
We strive to please all our customers, and provide the best service and quality work.
We out line detail by detail on your work order, prior to commencement and follow through on our job.
G&E always goes the extra mile to ensure all customers are satisfied. We ensure each property is left very tidy by removing all debris and power washing the property. As for the disposal it was placed on your drive way due to city by laws and not leaving it on the road, the bin did damage your driveway however G&E came back and took the responsibility and paid for your drive way to be fixed and re sealed this was a follow up. We understand your frustration with the city but it’s unfair to say G&E didn’t do a good job, on several occasions you praised our staff and that the job looked amazing, we received a referral from your friend and completed the job for them just weeks after your project who was extremely happy.
We do wish to continue to serve all our customers and provide the best customer care, we would be happy to assist you in any way.

JLO from Etobicoke
JLO from Etobicoke
1 review Etobicoke, ON
10/10

Backyard Interlock Patio

From the initial consult through to the finished product, G&E Landscaping was on-time, on-budget and did an incredible job with our backyard interlock patio. George and his crew pay particular attention to detail and to cleaning up as well. Thanks for amazing work.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Sonia
Sonia
3 reviews MAPLE, ON
10/10

Brickwork

The guys always do a great job. Last year I had a lot of brickwork done around my backyard gardens & it looked great so I decided to do the front of my house this year. They show up on time, with a large crew & get the job done beautifully & efficiently & always clean up. The brickwork they did in my front yard recently, looks fantastic and I’ve had lots of compliments from neighbours.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
susan o'shea from Old Toronto
susan o'shea from Old Toronto
1 review Old Toronto, ON
10/10

landscaping

our experience with G&E Landscaping was such a positive one. George was very patient with us until deciding which route to take.The team showed up on the date they said they would and worked hard,non stop until completion. Meticulous in grading away from house, cleaned job site, and always smiling. Definately would recommend them!! We now get so many complements on our front stone work. Thank you team!
S.O'Shea

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about G&E Landscaping

We have been a family operated business for over 15 years. We built a strong long lasting relationship with all the customers we work for. We are experts in, Interlocking: Driveways, walkways, Patio's. We specialize in flagstone patio's, walkways front porches, steps, retaining walls. All natural stonework, makes us the ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.