Metro Pavers

Landscape Contractors & Designers
500 Lawrence Ave W Toronto ON M6A 3B7
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

52%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Metro Pavers

Average customer rating:
6.5 10 (15 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Interlock walkway

Metro Pavers
647-352-2012
500 Lawrence Ave W
Toronto
ON
M6A 3B7
CANADA

Deceiving and unreliable company. The contract was signed early spring with clear price, payment terms, scope of work and materials, with the promise that the work would start early May. After 4 months and repeated phone calls, the owner decided all of a sudden to change the terms of payment despite of no change of scope of work or materials.
The first flag came when we were called with a less than 24hrs notice that they were "ready to start and they will re-quote the job".
The second flag came when the owner asked for more money upfront for the apparent reason that "he didn't have enough money to buy materials", despite the fact a contract was signed. That demand would have amounted to 75% of payment to be at the front end of the job for a job that was estimated to take 5 days to complete. When we asked further questions about why this sudden surge for upfront payment before the shovel hits the ground, the owner's argument was personal and unprofessional (he didn't like the fact that we held him responsible for the 4 months delay or return the significant deposit he had cashed and then no sign).
That said, we were trying to reach an agreement and move things forward and just get the job done. However, the owner insisted he wanted more money at the front end.
Third flag was raised when he wouldn't provide the company's real address. A previous customer's review pointed out that the company only uses a PO Box address or an older mall address (where there's no office).
For a company that charges a fair amount for your project, has your property on its hands, it's fair and reasonable that they provide you with a real street address.
The owner cancelled the job and no deposit has been refunded. Even worse, the owner bullied us saying he'll charge for his time spent negotiating. The owner went further and retaliated when being asked for the deposit back and made up an "inconvenience fee" that is half the value of the contract.
There was absolutely no change of scope. No owner is obliged to provide the contractor with drawings. It's the contractor's job to do the drawings. We only did it for clarity for all parties, thus eliminating any further questions.

Please inform yourself about your rights about the Consumer Protection Act. You have 10 days to change your mind (if you do) after signing a contract ("cool off period") and you are entitled to a full refund. You have 1 year to ask for your full refund if a company's information, services etc. are misleading and misrepresented.

The company did some decent work in the neighbourhood, which is why we signed a contract, however, it seems like the service is unreliable and you are at the mercy of the owner on how you are treated.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It is unfortunate these remarks were made. They are completely untrue and misleading.

As the writer states, we have done (significant) work in this person's area, but she was in fact referred to us which shows that we are in fact professional and reliable. The writer refers to another comment whereby another person played tricks as well (despite our efforts to be clear and transparent). It would be wonderful if even 50% of our completely satisfied clients wrote a review, it would be evident how we have cared about our work, our clients, their neighbours and our reputation for the past 26 years and it would speak to the lengths we go to to please everyone if ever possible.

This client is an architect who contacted us in the fall of 2016 after being highly recommended. We quoted several of her designs and on various materials (last year) and eventually agreed to move forward with the work. The client subsequently instructed us not to start until she presented a “final” design. This spring we requested the final design which only came to us a few weeks ago (late August). Notwithstanding the record rain fall we encountered, we were waiting on the client for this final design to schedule and commence work. We waited since spring for these drawings. Once we received the final design, we reviewed the changes and still stuck to our price. We again organized the work which included locates, more visits to the site and so on. After 88 emails – most as lengthy as the review, countless phone calls, texts and visits to her home she then made numerous requests for information which we provided but had to stop when we were asked for personal information (including the owners home address, OHIP and SIN numbers). This made it clear the client was causing more delays than reasonable and was preventing us from starting the job.

Last year we made our first and only address change in 25 years. There are several internet sites that needed to be updated, most were but a few still had our old address of 25 years. We also had to change our phone number for the first time in 25 years - because Bell Canada refuses to port the old number to a landline (from old technology).
The original terms stated 25% upon signing, 25% upon start & balance upon completion. The client did not provide us the proper deposit and we are still prepared to call it a day even though she has cost us several thousands of dollars more than we received. We were more than reasonable and patient but there comes a time when limitations need to be placed.

This client in fact still owes an outstanding balance which we are prepared to forgive at this time or commence work provided we have a guarantee of being paid in full. Anyone honest person would agree to that.

DMH
DMH
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

New patio deck

We heard Metro Pavers was a great company and they provided us with a very fair estimate for the deck we wnated. They were very easy going and went with the flow whatever hiccup arose. We love our new deck and very happy with their work. We would definitely recommend Metro Pavers for all contract work!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Wow!
We love this review and that you love your new deck!!
Enjoy your beautiful new deck for years to come.
Thank-you for your business and referrals.
From the team at METRO PAVERS

Johanna Morgan in Toronto
Johanna Morgan in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

waterproofing and driveway paving

Summer of 2015 waterproofing and driveway paving was done by Metro Pavers. Mathew was to come and check on previous work and why water is getting into basement wall. Matter has been resolved . J Morgan

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Updated reply:
We met the client today. There was a miscommunication regarding only the original appointment created to meet last week/today.
The client was/is satisfied with the driveway and waterproofing we did for her. We thank her for the updated review and wish her all the best.

kjohnson
kjohnson
1 review Markham, ON
10/10

Driveway Replacement

Metro Pavers responded quickly with quote. Did Great work, fast, reasonable price, highly recommend them!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Mr. Just for your great review. We appreciate your business and wish you many years of enjoyment at your home. We also look forward to seeing you next year to discuss your next project.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Sodding and interlocking

We are seniors embroiled in a dispute with Matthew the owner. He has taken a $3800.00 deposit from us and then unilaterally changed the scope of work after agreeing to it in conversation and by e-mail. The quote form is vague and very confusing. He told us verbally that the meaning is exactly what we asked him to do. He told us not to worry about the confusing 'measurement numbers'. He said he is the owner and we can trust him. He promised to send us by e-mail a better written quote. That quote never came.

A week later I sent him an e-mail detailing the work he had promised he would do and he responded 'that sounds about right'. I suspect he agreed so I would continue to trust him because in a few more days our deposit cheque would clear and he would have the money in his hands. Now that he has our deposit, he wants us to pay thousands more to do as he promised.

Metro Pavers uses the addresses of malls as their business address. Once Matthew cashes your deposit cheque he can disappear into thin air if he chooses. If you refuse to give him a few thousand dollars more, he stops returning phone calls and e-mails and poof like smoke he's gone. He has no store presence in these malls.

Matthew is shrewd and well practiced in this type of behaviour. His customers, like us, do not expect to be ambushed so we gave him a deposit cheque. BIG MISTAKE. I may have to take him to court to get my deposit back. I suspect Matthew counts on us being unable to locate him in order to sue him.

We have fallen into this trap. I don't want other trusting people, especially seniors like us, getting snared. Once Matthew has your money, I suspect he will squeeze you for more money and if you say 'enough' and take a stand, he will just disappear into thin air with the $3800 he took from you as a deposit. Don't let that happen to you.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It is unfortunate this deceptive note was written. According to the (type written) facts, Mr. P’s version of events are false and misleading. The writer says we made comments and/or promises our company never made.
Approximately one week after both Mr. and Mrs. P closely scrutinized and signing both sides of our clearly typed, one page agreement, much work had already begun to organize all the work they requested and agreed to, after which we received a barrage of long emails with changes to the scope of work. The agreement shows we agreed to provide 120Sq.Ft. of sod free but now they are demanding we replace the entire lawn and soil in his (approx. 1400s.f.) back yard... for FREE. Mr. P conveniently omitted that we offered to do the extra work he is now demanding - at our cost to appease him. He also omits that he subsequently accepted our generous offer and that he then placed a condition that we don’t get paid another penny until the entire project is complete after which he will decide to pay (or not). Mr. and Mrs. P are very shrewd people. If they are seniors, they don’t look or come across as they wish to be portrayed here. They are both young, vibrant, healthy and very astute.
As a goodwill gesture, we offered to do the extra work at our cost. The only thing we are asking for is a payment schedule so nobody feels or gets cheated in the end. I think that’s fair. We await their reply.

Subsequent to this review, we received a call advising this is not the first time they have tried to take someone in this manner.

Everyone deserves to be treated fairly, customers and company's alike.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Front Porch and walkway

Dear Matthew,

My wife Dianne and I would like to thank you for an excellent and professional job that your men did for us as they worked on renovating our new porch, steps and walkway. All of our neighbors who have walked by our home like the curb appeal that the new porch and walkway has brought to our home. Also the way your men replanted our bushes along the walkway, straightened the curb and used our stones to do the final touches along the driveway looks very nice. Obviously when the new railings will be put on it will even look better.

My wife has also asked me for you to give special thanks to your men, Frank, Mike and Kiwi for doing a top professional job and for going out of their way to do the little things that needed to be done.

With regards
Mr. & Mrs. Joao and Dianne

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the kind words!
We work hard to please our clients and try to think of each project as if they were our own.
Best wishes,
Matthew (owner)

Gillian in Toronto
Gillian in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
1/10

Driveway repaving

We hired Metro Pavers to redo our driveway. The work was not completed to our satisfaction. To be specific, the grading was not completed correctly and we now have water pooling at the side of our house - an issue we did not previously have. We have been leaving messages and emails for Matthew since last year when he completed the job and he has not honoured him commitment to come back and fix it despite the fact that it is still under warranty.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Metro Pavers

Established since 1991, METRO PAVERS has been providing quality work in the construction of landscapes and roadways. Our equipment is up to date to provide reliability, and our employees are all experienced trades with specialties in their own specific field. We cater to Industrial, Commercial and Residential markets, ranging in ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Landscape Contractors & Designers pros in Toronto?