Custom Aluminum Windows & Siding Limited

Gutters & Eavestroughs
3495 Laird Rd Unit 1 Mississauga ON L5L 5Y4
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Gutters & Eavestroughs
Custom Aluminum Windows & Siding Limited
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

89%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Custom Aluminum Windows & Siding Limited

Average customer rating:
9.2 10 (51 reviews)

Sort by

Eva
Eva
1 review Mississauga, ON
9/10

Vinyl siding

We received a competitive quote from Bruce for vinyl siding for the rear of our house. He was friendly, helpful and the installers was efficient and professional. We are happy and pleased with the results. Happy to recommend them!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much and it was a great pleasure working with you.

David in Toronto
David in Toronto
1 review Mississauga, ON
10/10

Siding replacement

These guys are great! Made the call for a siding replacement and Bruce got back to me the same day. Bruce was very accommodating and gave us a great price. Even with all the shortages in products the turnaround was great. Quality service at a reasonable price.
Thanks guys and thank you Bruce.
David V

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi David, it was a great pleasure working with you.

Eva in Ottawa
Eva in Ottawa
2 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Eavestrough replacement for 2 homes (including leaf guard for 1)

We were very pleased with this company from start to finish. I would recommend them with pleasure. Bruce was very helpful and the installers were polite, efficient and cleaned up nicely at the end.

Eva M.
Mississauga

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Eva, it was a great pleasure doing work for you. Let us know if you ever need anything else.

Danny

Mervyn in Oakville
Mervyn in Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
10/10

Siding, eaves, soffit and patio door

We had a great experience with Custom Aluminum from start to finish. After meeting with Dave to get a quote he was always responsive to my questions as we took our time to come to a decision and decide between various quotes, some cheaper and some more expensive. Dave also kept us well informed as to when we could expect the work to start. We were in no rush and knew that with winter it could be some time but the job started probably a month earlier than I thought which was a nice surprise.

The siding team of Jim and his son Ben were very good and we were impressed with not only their workmanship but also how polite and considerate they were. We had a couple of bad weather days and they made sure to come over and just make sure that everything was covered so it would not blow all over the place. The finished job looked really sharp and I think they left our yard cleaner than it was before they arrived. I can't say enough good things about them.

The eavestrough team were very efficient and they even suggested moving a downspout to another location for better drainage. I appreciated this as it shows they didn't just show up to replace what was there. It only took a few hours to complete the entire house, I thought they must have forgot something but no everything was done perfectly, even including the leaf guard.

The patio door team again were very efficient and a pleasure to deal with. They got the job done in no time and I was expecting to have a few touch up jobs but everything was neat and tidy and I didn't have to lift a finger.

Dave kept in touch throughout the job and checked in a few days to make sure that the job was getting done as we had agreed upon. Overall we were so happy with the work and would recommend Custom Aluminum.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The me you very much for the business.
Anything you need in the future we will be more then happy to help.

Kim i.
Kim i.
8 reviews Hamilton, ON
10/10

Excellent workmanship on siding job

So very impressed with the quality of work and attention to detail in our siding job.
The company was generally good to deal with, sales rep Dave was responsive to questions and calls, but the actual siding crew was amazing. Whenever they ran into an issue -- which is always the case working on a 75 year old house -- they took the time to find a quality solution. An obvious pride in workmanship, with even the smallest details managed expertly.
We also hired this company to install new windows in a different contract and they did a good job. Not the same rave review that the siding guys get, but professional and as expected.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your business.
It was a great pleasure. Anything you need in the future please feel free to contact us anytime.

Danny

GMK
GMK
2 reviews Oakville, ON
4/10

Eavestrough Install

Below is an excerpt from an email I sent to Brian the salesperson about a month after the install. It's worth noting that he never responded.

I noticed a couple of things around the house. One of my exterior lights by the garage was damaged during the install. The fixture was almost entirely pulled out from the base and the securing screws were bent. I had to remove a climbing Hydrangea plant as the trellis and the plant were damaged during the install. As the downspout was moved during the install the plant has nothing to secure itself to. Initially, I tried to save the plant but as it was unsecured I had to take all of it down. I had suggested not replacing the downspout if it was going effect the health of the plant. Also, while raking and cleaning up we found some nails and metal scraps around the house.

My other comment pertains to the level of customer service we received. For over a week I had my installs delayed and had to pester the office to finally get them to come out. Yes we had some rain days but there were other days the install could have been completed but were not. I also had to reach out to both the office and Brian in order to get things going. A couple of weeks after the install the office called me and left a message stating that I needed to pay my bill but I had already paid it on the day of the install. Not a big deal, but I did find it annoying. It also would have been nice if Brian or someone from the office had followed up after the install to confirm that I was happy with the install.

Although I’m relatively satisfied with the end product I’m not sure that I would ever be a repeat customer nor be in a position to recommend their services.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback which is important to us and used as part of our efforts to continually improve our services. This past year has been especially difficult with closures and restrictions due to the pandemic. Please accept our apologies for the lack of communication. Our sales rep was not available for several weeks due to a medical issue. We do our best to ensure we work around plants, shrubs, trees, and other obstacles, however, in certain situations access or weather can affect our ability to avoid contact with existing plants. With regards to the damaged light fixture, we would be happy to replace the damaged fixture. Our crews do a clean up at the end of every job however smaller debris such as screws may not be easy to spot. Fall season installs due to changes in weather can lead to frequent scheduling changes which is one of the reasons why we did not take any deposit to confirm your project.

Thank you again for your business and taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback.

monika
monika
2 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

entry door, garage door and MDF

Dave, the sales person,is amazing. He is knowledgeable, polite and responsible. He gave me many advices and great customer service. I am happy with their work done. This company has showroom. You get good ideas from their many selections.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was a great pleasure doing business with you.
If there is anything else you need please feel free to contact us anytime.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Brampton, ON
1/10

Siding, soffit & fascia

Substandard workmanship. Did not meet verbal confirmations at time of agreement signing that only Custom Aluminum employees would be used. Subcontractor who owns his own separate business was used. His workers explained they didn't even work for him but were colleagues from other businesses helping him out. As the job schedule approached sales rep indicated the contracted Gentek material might be difficult to get & if so we would meet to confirm new colours of different material prior to job commencement. Old material removed (i.e. no eaves, soffit, fascia. siding left on the house & all of a sudden a different material arrives without the promised discussion. Option given by subcontractor. hat 'if you don't like it you can wait 2-3 months for Gentek'. Removal of old material caused complaints from neighbours re material flying onto their lawns & gardens. Similarly onto my shrubs, pool cover, etc. Sent photos to sales rep. Said mgmnt would contact me. Never called. Asked sub contractor to let me know when his crew would come to work daily so I could move cars out of the driveway for them each day. No calls. Complained to sales rep who referred me to company scheduler who seemed bothered by my request. Received calls for a couple of days & then nothing. Waited daily for crews to come. Told usual time was around 8:00am. Never happened. Missed medical appt. one day when complete no show on a sunny bright day & no call. Was actually asked if the crew could come at 7:00am on two occasions. Got up early, moved cars & no show until 8:30-9:00ish. One wall was 1/3 done with siding installed when I noticed no Tyvek insulation was used. When sking why, was told they forgot. Hard to believe considering all material was in my garage but no Tyvek? Subcontractor had to leave to buy/get it. Each day I had to walk my driveway to pickup screws, cut shards of aluminum, etc. so that when I moved in the cars the tires would not pickup sharp material & go flat. Took photos & mentioned to subcontractor, no response, no change. Got a call as job nears completion from Custom Aluminum CEO say job was complete & to arrange for payment. Told him still a piece of Fascia not installed & lots of fixing to do to my satisfaction. He became confrontational , accused me (74 yrs old) that I had sabotaged the work by pulling off installed material. He sent a company supervisor & assistant who then spent 5 hours each fixing visibly crooked fit corners, changed a few white head screws used to secure dark fascia (still lots of it obvious around the house0, caulk windows which hadn't been done, caulk areas of fascia seams that had 1/2-3/4 inch terrible fit gaps, & redo a complete window siding in the same pattern to make it the same as two others side by side. This had been pointed out to the subcontractor without any action taken. I now have the only house in the area (all with siding) that has dark fascia with visible white screw heads, rippled fascia (not flat), a combination of siding edges that are partial OE vinyl colour matched/proper fit & partial aluminum cut/formed to fit (due to lack of material as explained by the subcontractor), visible
poor fitting fascia over underboards & gaps between fascia & roofing. I have had great dealings with roofers, window installers, deck installers, HVAC people, sunroom installer, etc without any problem until this. Should have known from the beginning when no Custom Aluminum sign went up on the lawn to advertise their service pride.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi We are very sorry but i believe you have the wrong company. I believe you used Custom Aluminum which is owned by a different owners.
we are Custom Aluminum Windows & Siding. I am very sorry you had a bad experience with them. please if you can remove this from our reviews as it is not our job.

lintedesco in Toronto
lintedesco in Toronto
0 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Great service from beginning to end

Custom Aluminum was referred to us by our neighbor. We are so happy that we decided to go with them after getting quotes from 2 other companies. We had our windows changed, eastroughs and siding installed by them. Vlaz was the coordinator from beginning to end. He was always available to answer questions we had. The window team ( I think his name was Dragon ) was efficient, quick and professional. They were also very patient with our puppy. After windows were installed, Kevin and Steve installed the siding and eastroughs. They did a fantastic job. They were professional and were always willing to answer our 1 million questions. They were honest and always provided great input. I would recommend this company to everyone.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

It was a great pleasure to have a wonderful customer like yourselves. We are so happy that you guys are happy with all the work that we completed.
if you need anything else in the future please give us a call and we will be happy to help.

Bob & Eleanor in Mississauga
Bob & Eleanor in Mississauga
6 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

New windows, door, soffit & siding

Custom Aluminum was recommended to us for our windows, front door and siding by a neighbour. Vlaz came by to give us a quote and we went from there. Everyone we met at this company was great! Luckily their office and showroom is only 5 minutes from our house so we popped in to check out samples etc. numerous times.
The window and door installers, Micky and Dereck were excellent! Arrived on time and installed everything very professionally. Really took care to cover our floors etc. from damage.
Shortly after the windows were installed, Bledi and Oscar arrived to replace our siding, soffits and facia. Again, just excellent work! Can’t say enough good things about how well they did the job. Went past our expectations! Really nice guys that were a pleasure to have around.
Would not hesitate to recommend this company and these installers.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much
If you ever need anything else please feel free to contact us at anytime.
It was a great pleasure doing business with you.

Danny

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Custom Aluminum Windows & Siding Limited

For over 48 years we've been installing and upgrading homes all over the GTA and beyond. You can count on our experience to do things right, and on our workmanship to make it look exactly how you envisioned.

We are members of Gentek's 'Premium Renovator Gold' club, a standard recognized as one of the best in the industry. What this means is that you can have confidence in dealing with a renovator whose excellence is recognized nationwide, backed by a written 5-year workmanship guarantee and an exclusive 25-year manufacturer warranty, and that will be around to honour them. You can rest assured of high value in the the service, workmanship and products involved.

We do it all......windows, doors, siding, soffit, fascia, eavestrough, downpipes, aluminum railings, garage doors.

As our tagline says, we use NO SUB-CONTRACTORS. What does this mean to you? This means that all of our employees work for us, not some 3rd party we have no control over. This allows us to guarantee the quality and expediency of the job, which means savings for you!

CATEGORIES
Gutters & Eavestroughs and Siding
PRODUCTS
windows, doors, siding, soffit, fascia, eavestrough, downpipes, aluminum railings, garage doors.
SERVICES
We supply and install all products we offer.
BRANDS
Gentek, Kaycan, Cap Cod, Maybec, Fraser, Celect, Hardie, Long board, Mac, any many more.
SPECIALITIES
We supply and install any type of specialty siding, soffit, fascia, eaves and downpipes on homes.
WEBSITE
http://customaluminum.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1973
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
30
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque, e transfer, credit card
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.