Kourtis Flooring

Floor Laying & Refinishing
95 West Beaver Creek Rd Unit # 8 Richmond Hill ON L4B 1H2
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Floor Laying & Refinishing in Richmond Hill  >  Kourtis Flooring  >  Floor Sanding and Refinishing
Tanya and Ed in Etobicoke
Tanya and Ed in Etobicoke
3 reviews Toronto, ON

Floor Sanding and Refinishing

We hired Kourtis Flooring when we purchased our new house a few months ago. Danny and Santo came and quoted like many other floor guy's. We found them to be very nice, professional and they came recommended to us and they gave us a good quote. When the day came to start the work, the crew was professional, clean, hard working... The following day, Danny who did not come on site, called to let me know that he had initially forgotten to quote 2 rooms and that he was now charging us an additional $2000 on top of the $11 000 they had initially quoted. I asked how he could have missed 800 square feet of a house when the entire house except for the basement needed to be sanded and his answer was simply that he had not calculated it and wanted an additional $2000 to do the work and a deposit of $5000 to continue. I felt hostage to the situation and told him I needed to talk to my husband. Within 10 minutes, he pulled all of his men and their equipment out of our house and left. We were left with no floors done and a deposit we would never see again. We find their behavior highly unprofessional and we would never hire them again. We are now in the middle of our renovation with painters on hold and other trades on hold for the floors and I am now forced to try and find other floor guy's... an additional stress I could have done without.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Homestars readers. I am compelled to break my silence and reply to this review as I cannot permit 40 years of serving the GTA, over 2 generation and a track record of thousands of delighted customers to be marred by one scathing review. while it would take pages of writing to provide the full picture from my perspective, i will simply state facts as i recall them: jan 2010, we were invited and provided a quote to refinish existing EXPOSED hardwood and stairs. there was carpet contractor on hand to measure for carpet- two rooms on second floor had carpet and my impression was that would be replacement with new carpet- i was not advised otherwise. our quote was subsequently approved, signed and $1,000 upon acceptance was paid. directly beside client's signature, payment terms- clearly and plainly indicated another $5,000 upon commencement and balance upon completion. feb 2010, an hour + visit to our showroom to select stain samples- no selection was ultimately made. start date was pushed back by client approx 3 times due to delays and problems with trades. On day of commencement, my staff contacted me to indicate that 2 additional rooms- that were previously carpeted had the carpet removed and was now in scope of work. Also, $5,000 owing upon commencement was not provided. On day 2 of sanding, i contacted the client and enquired why $5,000 was not paid, indicated that stain must be selected before any more sanding can occur and revised contract adding the additonal 480 sq ft of refinishing for the 2 extra rooms at the same rate of $3.50/ft for resanding/staining and refinishing of existing prefinished floor $1,680.00 would need to be signed. The client was resistant to pay for the additional 2 rooms, and arbitrary decided she would not pay the $5,000 owing as per the contract and pay a lesser amount. At that time, i instructed my staff to stop working (and of course take our equipment with us as we cannot leave $12,000 of sanding equipment in a home with other trades etc. I advised the client, santo would return in the afternoon to a) work with client to finally pick the stain colour needed to proceed, b) sign the revised contract providing for the addition of the 2 extra rooms and c) to obtain the $5,000 payment that was due upon commencement as per the contract signed in january. I indicated that our staff could return the next morning and we would still finish the work within the one week alotted in not ahead of schedule. the client's reply was we were not to return and they would get another floor contractor. i agreed that would be best. i explained to what level of sanding the 2nd floor was completed. i provided important information as to what to look for and insist upon with a new contractor and also offered to review any other quote and provide feedback etc all complimentary. No requeste was ever made for the return of the $1,000 deposit as i feel the clients recognized that we had spent approx $1,800 in labour and materials. i wish the client all the best with their reno. i know she's been stressed throughout the process and has had some bad luck with others but we sand approx 200 floors per year and have for decades and i cannot be expected to add 500 ft of work at no cost and cannot have our contract and payment terms ignored and new terms dictated after we've commenced. this is my only reply and will not reply again. Best Regards, Danny G. Kourtis, President. KOURTIS FLOORING LTD.