Solar Wave

Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs
4387 Longmoor Dr. Burlington ON L7L 1X8
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

76%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Solar Wave

Average customer rating:
9.3 10 (10 reviews)

Sort by

G. Vergilio in Mississauga
G. Vergilio in Mississauga
3 reviews Mississauga, ON
3/10

Solar Pool Heater

Solar Wave Energy installed a solar pool heating system at our home in Mississauga in the summer of 2014. We were satisfied with the installation of the system, the after-installation service offered by this company is very poor. First of all, while the system is fairly straight-forward, they provide nothing in the way of instructions for on-going use/maintenance/open/close of the system as a whole. Secondly, good luck getting a timely service response. This summer, after opening the pool, I noticed a leak in the system. I placed service call by email. Solar Wave responded stating that they would put our request "on the service call list". That was almost a month ago and we haven't heard back from them. This company clearly does not appreciate the importance of maintaining an ongoing, positive relationship with their clients.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
slotzy4444 in Guelph
slotzy4444 in Guelph
1 review Guelph, ON
10/10

Solar Heating Install

These guys clearly know what they are doing. They fixed an poorly installed system and replaced with a new one that is much better quality and much more logically installed. They were timely, professional and very tidy when the job was complete.

A very positive experience - with a great post-sales support as well.

Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you very much for your review! It was a pleasure working for you and it's always great to hear that you're happy with us!

Sundeep Takhar from Oakville
Sundeep Takhar from Oakville
11 reviews Oakville, ON
10/10

Solar Heater for Pool

I started my search for a solar pool heating vendor/contractor when I was told Union Gas that I was not able to install a larger NG meter without paying an astronomical fee ($20K). So, I decided to look into solar heating and received multiple quotes. I had a contractor representing Enersol product line come and give me a quote for ~$4400. I did a bit more researching and discovered that EcoSun had much higher performance rating of 1,100 BTU per square foot per day than Enersol. I seeked an EcoSun representative and found Solar Wave located out of Burlington, ON! The first time I called upon Solar Wave for a quote, Jesse came out and took measurements and after a thorough review said solar heating was not possible as I did not have sufficient roof space in the southern direction. Initially, Jesse turned me down to avoid an upset and disappointed customer, but I asked him if a hybrid solar and NG heater solution was possible. Jesse came again and explained in detail that it would be possible, but I would only get limited results with the solar panel themselves. He also took the time in explaining the differences between the Enersol and Ecosun products at which time I was able to inspect samples of both and can say that Enersol product is not as robust as the Ecosun product based on the connection mechanism used. I was impressed by Jesse’s honesty and integrity and hired him for the job. His crew was on-time on the day of the install and completed it within a day. We had a few minor issues that required my assistance (cracked PVC housing and missing O-ring in union), but in all the installation was done well. However, we had a major problem when the Pentair Intelliflo pump failed to communicate with the solar controller. Jesse tried many times himself to fix it, but it was obvious that the Pentair Intelliflo pump had software issues and the pump manufacture Pentair needed to be contacted. After three months of Jesse’s perseverance and multiple trips by him and Pentair representatives the issue was resolved. Jesse continued to show his commitment to quality and Customer Service and did not give up or charge me the remaining amount standing balance until the issue was resolved. I strongly commend him for that as others contractors may have given up! My only recommendation or wish would have been if Solar Wave also painted the white ‘eye sore’ PVC piping coming down to my equipment. They did a great job in matching the paint colour to the roof and painting the PVC plumbing on the roof, but stopped short on the piping going towards the ground.

The performance of the solar heater is amazing. My pool water temperature has reached 34 Celsius or 94 Fahrenheit with a solar blanket on and without the use of the NG heater. However, the limitations are that it needs to be sunny and a few cold days with cloud overcast can result in poor performance, but then again I have my NG heater to make up for it! The automation is now seamless and the controller speaks to the pump to ramp up the flow/pressure of the water prior to switching the valve and pushing water to the solar collectors on my roof. In summary, my family and I are happy with the system and I highly recommend Solar Wave for your pool!

Pool size: ~14’ x ~36’ (irregular shape)
Estimated pool surface area: 450 Sq.Ft
% of solar collector to pool surface: 62%
Total rated solar BTU output: 308,000
Total Cost: ~$5600

Was this review helpful?
Steve in Brampton
Steve in Brampton
2 reviews Brampton, ON
10/10

Solar Pool heater

We are so happy with our new solar heater, even though this past summer wasn't the hottest the pool was always at a great temperature (we had set to 86 degrees) and we used it more this year then the last 5. Jesse was very professional and great to work with from initial quote to follow up questions I had after installation. Would highly recommend over gas heater

Was this review helpful?
Peter in Maple
Peter in Maple
6 reviews MAPLE, ON
10/10

Solar Pool Heating

We investigated the options for solar heating for our pool. Jesse from Solar Wave was able to provide us with the price and product to meet our needs. The panels and equipment were installed professionally and on time. We would highly recommend Solar Wave to our family and friends.

Was this review helpful?
Neil Johnstonw from Milton
Neil Johnstonw from Milton
1 review Milton, ON
10/10

Pool Solar Heating

We were very pleased with the installation. They showed up on time and completed the work professionally. The pool is now great to swim in and we would recommend the company to all our friends with pools. It’s great to have a warm pool.

Was this review helpful?
Blair Zilkey from Oakville
Blair Zilkey from Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
10/10

Pool Solar Heating

Great job by Jesse and his assistant. Work was done on time, on budget. The system has worked from Day 1. Clean worksite, no issues whatsoever. Would refer in a heartbeat.

Was this review helpful?
Robert McCrindle from Cambridge
Robert McCrindle from Cambridge
1 review Cambridge, ON
10/10

Solar Tiles for Swimming Pool

I checked around for solar tiles for heating our swimming pool that were needed to replace leaking,15 year old, tiles. Jesse Christink at Solar Wave was easily the most knowledgeable person I spoke to and his prices beat all others. Installation by his team was timely, efficient and entirely satisfactory.

Was this review helpful?
Girish Makhijani from Oakville
Girish Makhijani from Oakville
1 review Oakville, ON
10/10

Solar Pool Heating System

After doing some initial research, we went ahead with Solar Wave, for our Solar Pool Heating System.
A Solar Pool heater is really simple, yet so clever.
It uses the existing pool pump to run your pool water through collector panels on your roof, which end up heating the water as it circulates through. The system runs automatically, with a motorized valve which diverts water to the roof collectors, if the collectors are warmer than the pool water.
Jesse Christink and his team were extremely professional and thorough with the installation.
We are extremely happy with the supplied system using EcoSun collector panels, and are sure that this system will pay for itself (saving in natural gas, by not using our gas pool heater) within a few years.
We have no hesitation in strongly recommending Jesse and his team from Solar Wave.

Was this review helpful?
H. Hew from Leslie/Lawrence

First Review

10/10

Solar panels for inground pool

We hired Solar Wave to install solar panels for our inground pool in the summer of 2007. They were recommended by a neighbour who was using them for a repair job. The crew did an outstanding job with the installation and customer service. They were very accomodating--we now have to replace our roof and Solar Wave has been hired to remove and re-install the panels.

The panels are attached to an automatic diverter which diverts water to the roof when the roof temperature is warmer than the set pool temperature and vice-versa when otherwise. Panels are a long term investment which not only is good for pocketbook, but also great for the environment.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Solar Wave

At Solar Wave we install and service solar pool heating systems. We are a Master Dealer of Ecosun, the highest performing and most accredited solar pool heater on the market. Free Estimates!
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.