Chislett Roofing

Roofing
99 Rodinea Rd Unit 4-7 Vaughan ON L6A 1R3
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Roofing in Vaughan  >  Chislett Roofing
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

26%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Chislett Roofing

Average customer rating:
5 10 (6 reviews)

Sort by

Maria from Vaughan
Maria from Vaughan
1 review Vaughan, ON
0/10

Roof Repair

Beware dealing with these people. I contacted them to repair my roof. They said their minimum charge for a REPAIR was $450. They sent two men who took photos and said it would be more than the $450. quoted and that their boss would call me with the exact amount. Later that week they informed me they would NOT do a repair to my roof and would only quote on a full roof replacement. Meanwhile they charged my Credit card the $450 they quoted for the repair. Over a week later when I called about being charged for the repair they did not do, their Owner/Manager changed their story and ARGUED that the $450 was their MINIMUM CHARGE to send out two men to give an estimate. At NO TIME was I told by either my orignal contact, the Workers who came out or the Estimator that $450 was for JUST AN ESTIMATE. None of the other roofing companies I called charged a dime to come out and look at the roof and give an estimate. After a long stressfull converstation, I agreed to a $50 charge. But, honestly I still feel like I was RIPPED OFF.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We attended the property within 24 hours after a emergency call from the homeowner where she reported that wind storm and torn off shingles from her roof. During the original conversation it was explained to the homeowner that our company does not provide quotes for repairs and our minimum charge is $450 plus HST and that the credit card would be charged. Once at the property it was seen that many shingles had blown off and that I fact the roof should have been replaced prior to the wind storm, this was explained to the homeowner and we advised that we would not be able to repair her roof as it was beyond repair. We also advised that we would provide a quote for a new roof and if we were to replace the roof than she would be provided a full credit for the $450.
Two weeks later the homeowner called saying that she was never told that the $450 charge would apply.
After a lengthy conversation it was agreed that we would refund her the difference of $400 plus HST to get credit card
It is our policy that we do not provide quotes on repairs and this was clearly explained to the homeowner
Chislett Roofing also does not make repairs to roofs that are at the end of their lifespan as it is against our policy.
We try to ensure that each customer is satisfied, however are not able to provide services without a cost.

L from Vaughan
L from Vaughan
1 review Vaughan, ON
0/10

New roof

Dealing with this company was the worst experience I have had with a contractor hired to do work on my home. There were red flags from the beginning and I regret giving Chislett the contract to replace my roof. I had numerous repairs done to the roof and water damage to the interior so needless to say this has caused
unnecessary stress and extra expense. I have had another contractor look at the roof and it was indicated that the
shingles were not installed correctly therefore it is a case of poor
workmanship.

Was this review helpful?
Matt from Markham
Matt from Markham
1 review Markham, ON
0/10

Roof Repair

Horrible service. My home builder contracted out the roofing to them, and when I reported a leak during winter time, they "claimed" someone examined the roof, while no one really showed up. I know cause I work from home full time, and would obviously know if someone climbed onto my roof. They said their staff looked, and saw no defect, while it is still leaking during winter time when it snows!

I try to call Pam to reason with her, and she kept saying someone came to my house, and can not give me the exact date and time when I asked her for more details.

Good luck to people trying to get any type of warranty service or repairs from them for new houses.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Unfortunately, when the leak occurs from ice damming there is nothing that we are able to do, as this is an "Act of God" as explained many times to the homeowner. The leak occurred during the ice and extreme bad weather last winter, and Chislett Roofing has not been notified of any leaks since the ice finally thawed, which only verifies that the leak which occurred was in fact ice damming.
We strive to provide service to all of our customers within a timely fashion, however as we do not need access to the home appointments are only made as per the request of the builder and/or the homeowner. We report back all findings to the homeowners builder and work to provide the best service possible.

Lindsey in King City
Lindsey in King City
3 reviews Peterborough, ON
10/10

Replaced Roof at Cottage

Our family chose Chislett Roofing to replace a very old cedar shake roof and skylights at our cottage as they came highly recommended from a few friends that had used them in the past. We had problem with water in the basement since purchasing the property and the man that came to do the estimate determined that in addition to an old roof the eaves trough was not large enough for the size of the roof. We took his recommendation to upgrade the size of the eaves and the basement has been dry every day since. We are very happy with not only the installation but the aftercare service has been outstanding! Highly recommend this company!

Was this review helpful?
Marianna from North York
Marianna from North York
2 reviews Woodbridge, ON
10/10

New roof

I've known the Chislett family for many years. Fantastic service and great pricing. Chislett Roofing placed a new roof for us in 2004. When we moved, Chislett Roofing continues to be our only go-to company for any roofing needs. Would not think about bringing anyone else on my property! All service calls are handled by the owners. They are insured and take great care of their client.

Was this review helpful?
Dave in Vaughan
Dave in Vaughan
3 reviews Maple, ON

First Review

10/10

Roof replacement

We researched several roofing companies prior to selecting Chislett. Their price for the size of our roof was the best for an established business (ie not a fly-by-night / unknown place). The work was done quickly and efficiently. The workers were polite and cleaned up everything very well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Chislett Roofing

Chislett Roofing Ltd. is a family-owned and operated business. It is staffed and managed with reliable, hard-working and efficient personnel. Our installers are experienced and accurate tradesmen who take great pride in their work. Our estimators are experts in helping you achieve practical roofing solutions to your particular needs and ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.