Harmony Gardens Landscaping Inc

Landscape Contractors & Designers
ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Landscape Contractors & Designers in Stittsville  >  Harmony Gardens Landscaping Inc
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

42%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Harmony Gardens Landscaping Inc

Average customer rating:
5.7 10 (6 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
1 review Ottawa, ON
2/10

Spruce Up

I hired Harmony Gardens to spruce up my mother in law’s property before putting it on the market. The work involved aerating and fertilizing the lawn, killing weeds, laying sod over a patch of earth where a deck had been removed, and weeding & reorganizing flower beds. The owners were very friendly during the process of securing the estimate & initiating the work, and while working on the property. They were particularly conscientious about keeping us advised about the timing of the work. We were there when they were wrapping up the work, as we were in the middle of a move. The flowerbeds looked much better, and you could see many dandelions had been zapped by the weed killer. Things went down hill quickly after I had a chance to take a closer look at the work:
1. Many broad leaf weeds were missed on the lawn
2. Their invoice indicated they had applied non broad leaf weed killer on the walk. The estimate included applying this type of weed killer to the lawn as well. They assured me they did, but there were (and still are) many weeds thriving on the lawn
3. They charged $330 + GST more than estimated for sprucing up the flower beds, despite the fact that they did not reorganize the beds as they suggested during the estimation process and they didn’t cut crisp edges. In addition, I was disappointed by the density and maturity of the weeds that came up a few weeks after they did the work. I had to spend several hours pulling the weeds in the front of the house, and cutting crisper edges
4. The sod did very poorly in the first few weeks, despite following the watering and care instructions they provided. The ground underneath the sod was very uneven, which may have made it difficult for the roller to make a good bond between the soil and the underside of the sod. Also, many of the pieces of sod were not snug with the other pieces or the existing grass, and it was not cut around pipes near the foundation - very sloppy work. The sod recovered somewhat, after I applied pressure on the uneven sections to establish a bond between the top soil and the underside of the sod

I pointed out the shortcomings and asked them to come fix the work. In EVERY case, they claimed the work was done to the highest standards or blamed us for not watering properly. The emails we received were condescending, rude and threatening. In one email, I was accused of complaining just to avoid paying the bill. At no time did they call us to discuss or offer to come out to see the work. Their customer service strategy seems to have a two pronged approach: refuse to take any responsibility and blame the customer. I definitely do not recommend this company. The worst customer service I have ever experienced.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The work done was exceptional. Sod supplier assessed lawn and confirmed was due to lack of customer watering, as laid in correctly. Sod was rolled as usual so no problems with gaps. Sod separated due to lack of watering. Customer was told what the problem was but refused to address and provide the necessary water required for this sod. Customer was very difficult and we did have to threaten legal action in order to be paid. We have installed sod professionally for 15+ years.

Jody & Justin Timpson from Carp
Jody & Justin Timpson from Carp
1 review Rd, ON
0/10

Interlock Front Walkway

I hired this company 3 years ago to put in an interlock walkway. They did not remove the concrete step put in by the builder and therefore now that things have settled 3 years later the stones overlying the steps have separated from the other stones. This has created a safety hazard. When we discussed things with harmony gardens and indicated we thought they had forgotten to remove the step, they flat out said that was ridiculous and they would never forget something like that. We then lifted the stones ourselves, took photos and sent them to them as well as phoned them, and they went on to maintain they had done nothing wrong and that the concrete had actually 'lifted'. We are completely frustrated and angry. They did not fix their mistakes despite the safety concern. We have also filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This complaint was resolved thru the BBB when lodged.Proper installations practices were followed...steps do NOT have to be removed. No photos were ever sent and when told we would lift and relay for cost of labour they refused. We did not make any mistakes and unfortunately this customer would never be satisfied.

Noodles from Nepean
Noodles from Nepean
1 review Nepean, ON
4/10

Top Dressing of Lawn

Not impressed with the top dressing they recently did to my front & back yard. Said they spread soil and raked seed in properly and they did not. Big clumps of dirt on lawn. I raked for an hour to spread soil evenly. And big areas where no soil was even spread and areas where soil not needed. Not recommended.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I believe this person has the wrong company reviewed. We did NOT do any work for Noodles from Nepean. If we receive any complaints we address in person with the party. This complaint has first been noticed on line. We do a lot of top dressing over the past 15+ years with absolutely NO complaints.

Jessica from Ottawa
Jessica from Ottawa
2 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Re-sodding of lawn

We hired Harmony Gardens to re-sod our lawn after the very dry summer of 2012. They were on-time, professional and very easy to deal with. Payment was easy with interac e-transfers. We've since hired them to continue to do lawn maintenance. I would definitely recommend their services.

Was this review helpful?
Mandy
Mandy
2 reviews Ottawa, ON
8/10

Landscape design

The company did a great job restoring our lawn and garden which had really gone to seed. The crew showed up every day on schedule and were polite and unassuming. They accomplished everything in such a short time.

Was this review helpful?
Caroline in Kanata
Caroline in Kanata
4 reviews Kanata, ON

First Review

10/10

Driveway ,interlock front step.

This is the second time we used Harmony Gardens. They were always on time and finished the job rather quickly but was done extremely well. They were professional and worked consistently the whole day even though it was extremely hot. They did a great job overall and would recommend them to others. The estimate matched the final cost.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Harmony Gardens Landscaping Inc

Design-Build-Maintain environmentally sustainable landscaping company providing hard and soft landscaping, flowerbeds and lawn care. We can enhance your curb appeal and create unique "harmonized" outdoor living spaces. Professional member in good standing of Landscape Ontario. Certified Horticulturalists on staff. Award winning company. Individualized professional customer service. Recommended by ROSSS (rural ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.