Landscapes by Lucin

Landscape Contractors & Designers
Toronto ON M8Z 2G9
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

71%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Landscapes by Lucin

Average customer rating:
8 10 (5 reviews)

Sort by

Lucin in Toronto
Lucin in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Backyard landscaping

Landscapes by Lucin turned our backyard into a beautiful oasis! They listened to our needs, created a beautiful design and their project management team did a fantastic job bringing our backyard to life. Everything was done on time and on budget. I highly recommend their services!

Was this review helpful?
VK in Toronto
VK in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Front porch new sidewalk and front garden

LAndscapes by Lucin did an outstanding job on my front porch,walkway and garden. I was very specific about the type of railing and pickets I wanted and they delivered. Their carpentry work was outstanding and my front garden is constantly admired by neighbours and passerbys

Thank you Landscapes by Lucin for my beautiful front yard!!

Was this review helpful?
The Olsen's in Etobicoke
The Olsen's in Etobicoke
2 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Complete renovation of backyard

The entire experience was less than stellar. We have a pool. They were contracted to remove the 1980s concrete from around the pool. They totally misquoted the job in this respect and blamed it on us (the concrete was 18 inches, they thought it should be 4?!). And not only that, in the process they damaged a brand new pool liner, it now has holes in it and leaks, and refused to replace it. A number of their plantings died and they refused to replace those. The topper is the entire back wall of our stucco home. They sprayed stuff (that wouldn't come off) all over it and refused to repair it to its original condition. In fact, in the course of their repair, they made a bigger mess. We have since spent thousands of dollars cleaning up the mess they left behind. Appalling...

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This will serve as our rebuttal towards the posting from The Olsen’s in Etobicoke posted 9 months ago. Please note that we just recently came across this defamatory review.

We have attached our contract that clearly outlines that “Unforeseen conditions (especially during excavation) and contingencies will be brought to your attention as extra pricing…….however, not every detail can be seen at the time of inspection”. This refers to the concrete reference. We showed both Ron and Janet at the time of excavation, stating the work would take longer with extra cost. They refused to pay for the extra time. This complaint is groundless, based on her unhappiness to pay for a clause in the contract she didn’t agree to after the fact. Please find a copy of the signed contract; clearly showing the 5% to 10% extra time needed clause. They refused to pay for this. We have photo evidence showing the thickness of the pool surround concrete on the day we showed Ron and Janet, along with Sean and Joe (our staff) and myself. At the end of the day, she’s complaining about a clause in our contract that she didn’t pay for. We held up our end of the contract, continued on, and finished the job with excellent results.

The pool company determined that we did not cause any damage to the liner and in fact there was no damage at all. They recommended that all the old plumbing and tubing be replaced once we had excavated, but clients refused to do so. A leak does exist somewhere that is undetermined by the pool company. We were never asked to pay for any liner replacement. This is directly from Ron’s mouth when we had our final meeting. Un-true claim that we caused a liner leak and refused to pay for this.

We replaced many plantings free of charge and have invoices that will acknowledge warranty replacements. Her claim that we didn’t replace plant material is absolutely un-true.

We were in the process of repainting the affected stucco wall when the client had another company come in and repaint the wall and then asked us to pay for the cost of the painting after the fact. A few small areas of stucco had concrete dust that we acknowledge was our responsibility to touch up, no question. One day, they call us to ask us to pay for the entire back wall painting. Easily less than .1% of the back wall was affected. We let them know their balance was unpaid, and we were happy to re-paint the affected areas, but not the entire back house wall, which is a substantial area. We have photos to show the affected area.

There was never any mess left behind and clients were happy with the final product. The project was such a success we actually have it displayed on our website. We performed several extras at no cost,
including re-aligning the bbque counter top as a favour to them. This work was done by someone else. Incredibly, we agreed to do this after we picked up our final cheque and they refused to pay for the extra time needed for the extra thick concrete. Looking back, this was a mistake, especially after this defamatory and slanderous Homestars posting.

The overall quality was great with a lot of compliments from their friends and neighbours. This is Ron saying this at our final cheque pick-up. Our experience with Ron was stellar throughout the job; he was easy going and a nice guy. As the owner of the company, I’m proud of how my staff handled themselves; the quality of the work speaks for itself. We have this project on our website and will send you photos to prove how beautiful the job turned out to be. We fulfilled every part of our contract.

We are shocked that Homestars allows postings from homeowners that don’t allow or give an immediate option of rebuttal to contractors for their side of the story.

This is a case of a homeowner’s unwarranted and untrue complaints that don’t deserve the time of day.

Obviously, this post was meant to slander my company and harm our reputation, based on false information. This post has been up for over 9 months, and unfortunately has served its malicious purpose. Time for it to come down, now.

Sandra Stephenson in Etobicoke
Sandra Stephenson in Etobicoke
12 reviews Etobicoke, ON
10/10

fence, garden work

We have worked with Lucin Landscaping several times. They have done 2 fences for us - chain link and wooden. Both great jobs. They have also done some garden/yard work for us. Also did a great job. Very professional.

Was this review helpful?
Chris Davidson in Etobicoke
Chris Davidson in Etobicoke
1 review Etobicoke, ON

First Review

10/10

fence

Fantastic workers, very professional. Completed the job fully and cleaned up well upon departure. Good craftmanship and sturdy work. A company worth researching. Offered referrals for other work. Very prompt and punctual.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.