Homestead Maid Service

45 Sheppard Ave East, Suite 900 Toronto ON M2N 5W9
Owner/Manager
Mark Garmaise [Full profile]
HomeStars  >  House & Apartment Cleaning in Toronto  >  Homestead Maid Service
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.
77%
This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How often a company responds to reviews. This will soon include response times to quote requests.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
7
0
1

Reviews for Homestead Maid Service

Average customer rating:
7.8 10 (38 reviews)

Sort by

Matt in Pickering
1 review Toronto, ON
8/10

I had a great experience with Homestead Maid Service. After looking into a number of different cleaning services in Toronto, this one seemed to be the most affordable and offer the most flexibility and service. I called on a Monday to schedule monthly cleaning services and they were able to schedule a person to come in only two days later. The cleaner did a fantastic job and will be using them again. She even did our laundry, which is a huge plus for me. Would definitely recommend.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Private User
3 reviews Toronto, ON
8/10

When rooms in my house needed cleaning Homestead Maid sent very good maids to my house 5 or 6 times during the past 18 months. Each maid new better than I did how to properly clean rooms in my house. It was always so pleasant to look at my clean house after the maids had left. I plan to continue to use Homestead maids when rooms in my house need cleaning.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Dima in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Compared to other companies that provide similar services, Homestead has very good and very competitive prices. We just moved to a new house where the landlord had failed to clean it as promised and it was a total and utter mess, I found them online and called them and Suzan who handled the phone call was very friendly and kind. They were also flexible enough to offer same day service and sent in Ronda, who arrived on time and did a splendid job! She did such good work and paid close attention to detail, cleaning out grime and dust that had been sitting there for years, and the entire space was transformed after she was done. It's very hard to find such good work and attention to detail these days, and most companies I have dealt with or my friends have dealt with will skip or hurry the job along when you are not looking, while with Ronda she was the one who was drawing my attention to spots in need of thorough care. Thank you homestead! Highly recommend them especially for deep cleaning and good work!

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks so much for the feedback Dima . The emphasis on quality as well as top customer service is what we aim for each and every time . We look forward to servicing you again .
Mark ( owner/mgr ) .

Maureen in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

We have used their service for many years. They are very reliable, and accommodating when needed. It is always a pleasure to enjoy a clean house after they have been here.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Maureen for taking the time to let us know you appreciate us . It means a lot .
Mark

Private User
1 review Toronto, ON
8/10

I have been using this service for several years. At times there were issues with some of the housekeepers getting lost, but all in all I have been satisfied with the service. Most of the ladies who cleaned were very efficient. If there were major issues, Mark was frequently in touch to sort things out.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you . I constantly put customer satisfaction as our highest priority .
Mark

Linda H in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

We have greatly appreciated the services of Homestead Maid personnel since March 2003 -- about 16 years so far. I love the fact that they let you try their best new person, and if you like them, schedule that same person regularly for years on end so that they can cope with the initial state of your house, get to know your house's needs and build on their progress.
The managers of Homestead Maid are reasonable people, and occasional misunderstandings were always resolved quickly and fairly. They must be decent employers because they do not have frequent staff turnover. However, their hourly charges are competitive, so, if you can afford it, I recommend generous and consistent tipping of anyone you like. Helping to keep good staff is great for us clients so that we don't have to keep training new people. In 16 years, we have only had to train a new person four times!
For 15 of those years, we had a 3 storey house, which takes a lot of cleaning in only 3 hours, once every two weeks. After the first few visits, I learned how much can realistically be done in that time, and learned to do easy tasks like my dishes beforehand and prioritize more arduous tasks. Biweekly surface-cleaning tasks included washing kitchen counters, range and floor, wet-swiffing hardwood floors in large living/dining area and master bedroom , leaving two bathrooms sparkling clean, and vacuuming the wall-to-wall carpet on top floor. To save money, I closed off one small third bathroom (easy for me to keep clean) and my messy study. This made time for one "deep cleaning" task per week such as cleaning kitchen drawers or the refrigerator. After moving out the furniture, we hired two people for 3 hours each to clean the whole place from top to bottom. Thanks to them, the house looked beautiful for the resale showings. One year later, that same person from Homestead makes our large condo beautifully clean in 3 hours every two weeks.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Linda - I feel this review accurately depicts what we're all about and continue to be all about .

Jess in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

Homestead went out of their way to help us out when another company didn't show for their regularly scheduled visits. They sent Donna, who is, in my humble opinion, the sweetest and the best person they could have sent us. She is extremely thorough and attentive. I have since been requesting Donna for our regular biweekly visits. I highly recommend Donna and we are very grateful for Homestead's flexibility and dedication to customer service.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Nat in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
2/10

I used this cleaning service twice in 1 week. Once for my new home (as a "move-in, post-reno" clean) and once in my condo (as a "move-out") clean. Both experiences were less then ideal.

In the first, the person that came to clean did not pay attention to any of the details I asked her to (like plaster on the recepticals, etc). She didn't do nearly as much as I needed and the person I was co-ordinating with had no idea how to quote me (timing vs what needs to get done), so, of course, the allotted time came and went and my husband and I needed to finish the job ourselves.

The second, condo clean, first the coordinator booked her person on the wrong day and then called me to say I was mistaken (but I actually put it in my calendar while booking and confirmed it with her 3 times), and then had to reschedule the cleaning. Once the cleaning got rescheduled for the same amount of time, once the cleaner was done (and she did do a decent job), she up-charged us. When I called the co-ordinator telling her she's charging me more, she said yes, you originally booked 3.5 hours, not 4. This was NOT the case. I had the same 4 hour booking the entire time.

Overall, they are incredibly disorganized, they don't send formal quotes so it's all "he said / she said" and I had nothing to reference. The cleaners are very nice and friendly, however neither experience went smoothly.

I would NEVER use them again. It was much more work then it needed to be. The results weren't as expected and the fact that they up-charged us after the fact is completely unacceptable.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Nat - it would have been so wonderful had you asked for Mark ( that's me ) the owner/ manager to get involved before writing this review . Your issues could easily have been resolved . I began Homestead Maid in 1984 and have always taken customer satisfaction most seriously . I'm very disappointed I did not have the opportunity to help you . As it turns out you were dealing with a recent new hire in our office who obviously could have handled the situation much better . I wish you wouldn't have been so quick to post a scathing review which can hurt us by giving enquirers who don't know us as yet the wrong impression . A company like Homestead Maid which has been providing exemplary quality service in Toronto for over 30 years deserves better . I encourage you to contact me to arrive at resolution after which I would hope you would want to delete this review .

Olga in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
8/10

Very efficient services, apartment looks and smells clean. I would pay more attention to the floors; however overall I am very satisfied. They are very flexible with times and usually don't take more than 3 hours (and my apartment is relatively large).

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
bedford park
3 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

We have used Homestead Maids for about a year now and find them to be very reliable. Over this time we have been happy with their service and competitive pricing as well as the coordination from the head office. I would recommend their service for residential cleaning.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Homestead Maid Service

Homestead Maid is a well renowned Toronto House Cleaning service in the GTA , servicing homes and apartments in Toronto since 1984. Our maids all have extensive professional cleaning experience and come with trustworthy references which we carefully check . Since we send one cleaning lady and no teams and ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.