Georgian Insulation Systems

Barrie ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
Georgian Insulation Systems
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.


This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Georgian Insulation Systems

Average customer rating:
6.2 10 (5 reviews)

Sort by

John Bleasby from Coldwater
John Bleasby from Coldwater
3 reviews Orillia, ON

New Home Insulation

Georgian Insulation was my choice over two competitors in my area to insulate my modern, flat roof, ICF home. Their expertise and quality application has 'sealed the deal' on my energy efficient home. I would highly recommend them. For a complete review, read my blog:

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello John. Thanks for the great review. It is always good to work with homeowners that have done their research and know what they need to complete an energy efficient home.

Thanks again.

Ed Brassington
President, Georgian Insulation Systems

Gary Laurin from Orillia
Gary Laurin from Orillia
1 review ,

Attic Top Up

We bought our new home less than a year and a half ago. We were shocked to see problems with cold spots in some rooms and ice damns during our first winter in our new home. We confronted the builders about the problem and were told that there is no issue and that everything was up to par. When we noticed the same issues appearing again this winter we knew we had to call someone to fix the problem.
After asking some of our local friends who are in the construction trades we were recommended to Georgian Insulation Systems. We made an appointment and quickly receiving a free inspection and quote from Georgian Insulation. The inspection was thorough and even involved use of a thermal imaging camera.
It became apparent that there were some major problems in our attic. Not only was there almost 8 inches of insulation missing, the builders had also failed to put in enough soffit ventilation, ignored insulating all of our cathedral ceiling, and missed several spots of our attic with the initial blown fiberglass.
We opted for 10-inch top up of blown cellulose insulation and to have additional vents installed.
The work crew showed up on time and completed what was outlined on our quote in a timely manner.
In the fallowing weeks after getting our attic toped up we have noticed that our furnace is running much less then it used to, there is no condensation in our windows any more, all the cold spots in our rooms have disappeared and there is no ice on our room now (we cleaned it off before getting the work done).
I couldn't be happier with the results.
I would highly recommend Georgian Insulation Systems.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Gary

Thanks for the review. I am pleased to know that you are happy with the results. It is unfortunate, but many of the new homes we see, do not meet minimum code requirements..

Thanks again

Per from King Township
Per from King Township
2 reviews Kettleby, ON


I am building my own house and it was finally time for insulation.

I got quotes from 3 different insulation contractors, who all had different ideas of the best way to insulate my house. I would probably call myself "a very informed customer", because I had done quite a bit of research beforehand. All 3 contractors were in the same ballpark pricewise, but by far the best products/services offered were by Georgian Insulation.

I am planing to live in my house for a long time and I want it "done right" so I picked Georgian Insulation. I had insulation done three ways, sprayfoam in exterior walls, blown cellulose in attics, and (blown) dense packed cellulose in cathedral ceiling.

Now that the job is finished I can safely say that I made the right choice, I am extremely happy with the result! And I am a picky person when it comes to having work done on my house!

Based on this experience, I would definitely use Georgian Insulation again as well as recommend them to others.
Very knowledgable owner, the work was done right, the work was done on time, what more could I possibly ask for?!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the great review,I know you will be very happy with the results.
Ed Brassington
President, Georgian Insulation Sytems

Ann - Riverdale
Ann - Riverdale
3 reviews Toronto, ON

Company did entire house for blown insulation

We unfortunately hired this company to insulate our entire home: basement and walls. After a series of work mishaps (including missed days, shoddy work that had to be redone, insulation being blown through my kitchen and a full day's clean up ensued along with one area of our roof that gets ice dams that we were never advised there was any risk of and told there was nothing they could do), I was advised after the fact that the 'fire-proofing coating' could not be done until spring.

I was never told this before we started the job...technically the coating fireproofing was required to be done for insurance. Worried that I wouldn't qualify for insurance I was told that we would be first ones to get it done once trucks could work in the spring. I then had to follow up on the coating with the company even though - we were supposed to be the "first ones" to have it done once the truck could work. Finally, in late July they came out.

At this time, I called the Georgian offices and spoke with their office manager. I asked her to urgently send me my copy of the invoice as I could not find mine and I needed it urgently to submit work for the energy audit that I had done. She was abrupt on the phone and said she would get to it that week...10 days later she still hadnt sent it. When the coating was done the workers asked for money and I said I thought we'd paid it all in total the last time and that I still needed my materials for the audit - that was now at risk.

The Office finally emailed it - but not the one that I had requested and demanded money. After explaining over and over again that we needed to confirm payment from our bookkeeper...after 3 days they started sending workmen over to our house to "collect"...this after we had already paid over 10K and he remaining bill being just over 1K and less than 7 days out!

Finally, we sent an email and put a call into the president (who was on vacation and MIA) to complain about the level of service and discuss the payment. At this point the office manager calls our house (10 days after services done) yelling at us, telling us she is putting a LIEN ON OUR HOUSE!!!! She then sends a fax with a cc of a LAW FIRM.

What happened to customer service?????? What happened to Net 30???

I would never recommend this company to anyone. It has been so frustrating to work with them. As a business owner, I would never treat a customer the way we have been treated.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This review is completely inappropriate. We did not miss any days that were scheduled. We arrived every day that was scheduled. In fact we were turned away on numerous occasions after the job had been confirmed the day before, for various personal reasons of the home owner. There was no shoddy work that had to be re-done, all work was completed promptly and professionally as can be confirmed by the energy inspector.

Some dust on the interior of the house is to be expected when several thousand pounds of insulation are injected into the walls. The cracks around base boards, windows, doors and receptacles are often not visible until the insulation starts to fill the cracks where the cold air was entering the house. The homeowner was informed that some dust is likely during this type of project.

The Ice on the roof is caused by a sloped ceiling above a bathroom that was not insulated as it was not part of the project. A separate quotation was provided to address this area, but the homeowner did not want the ceiling of the bathroom removed to allow the installation of spray foam.

We attempted to do the fireproofing over the foam in the basement at the end of the project, but again we were turned away because of the weather. We contacted the homeowner in April to schedule the fire proofing. We made three calls that were never returned. Eventually they called in July to schedule the fireproofing.

The requested documentation was emailed the first day that the request was made, in fact I have the email reply confirming receipt. Our company policy is that payment is due upon completion of the project, no terms were discussed. When we asked for the final payment my employees were treated quite rudely by the homeowner. Numerous phone calls to the homeowner to resolve the payment issue were not returned.

Of the over 5000 customers that we have done work for, I would not recommend this customer to any contractor or trades person.

Craig in Waubaushene
Craig in Waubaushene
2 reviews Waubaushene, ON

First Review


basement/crawlspace, attic insulation

So I got an estimate and decided to hire this company when my energy auditor highly recommended them. Turns out he was not suppose to even make recommendations, and he was doing so to get a kickback.

The estimate seemed good and was what I wanted. A big part of the work was to inject insulation into all my exterior walls. My belief was, and the owner assured me, that you can inject insulation into walls with preexisting baton insulation to fill in any gaps. He tested the walls to see if the work could be done by looking into ONE receptacle box that I had taken the faceplate off of. Turns out he should have done some test whole. I was willing to have the walls drilled from the exterior, so there was no reason for him to not have done this. Turns out, that that isn't how the injection insulation works, and if you try that, you could very well blow your drywall off.

That was a huge setback as a lot of the other renos were based around this work, as well as the money that would be coming in from the energy grants. The receptionist was good enough to give me the owners cell phone number when I called in to freak out, and she also informed me that he was in the immediate area. I called him and demanded he get to my house and figure out what was going to happen. He came and redid the estimate and everyuthing seemed to be on its way.

While the crews were working I had to leave to pick up materials for other projects, and I left my brother to tend the house. The finished up and left before I came home. Upon my arrival I was quick to notice the work was not completed properly. In my basement I had two walls that I had studded in and they were to be sprayed with 4" of foam. Well, 2x4's are only 3.75 inches wide and in most spots I am lucky if the foam comes out half the width of the 3.75". And, on one unstudded wall, I am lucky if there is 1" on most of the wall (with some holes where I can still touch the block foundation wall). The next day I emailed the owner, who was always quite fast in responding to emails in the pre-work era, to inform him of the touch up work that should be done. That was over a month ago and I have still never heard anything back. Rest assured I paid full price though.

I would not recommend dealing with this company in any fashion or manner.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

How dare you claim a kickback to an energy inspector. This statement is completely false and slanderous. I demand that this be removed immediately.

When my crew arrived on the site it was determined that the walls were already adequately insulated with fiberglass and in fact would not take any insulation. When I was informed I immediately went to the job site and adjusted the quotation to reflect the work that could not be done. We did not charge for work that was not done. The energy grants are based on work that is actually done, Not to create an income for work that was not done.

The defects in the foam were addressed the day after our office was notified.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Insulation pros in Barrie?