Nottawasaga Mechanical Inc

Heating & Air Conditioning
465 Lyons Court Wasaga Beach Wasaga Beach ON L9Z1V1
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Heating & Air Conditioning in Stayner  >  Nottawasaga Mechanical Inc
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

35%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Nottawasaga Mechanical Inc

Average customer rating:
4.7 10 (7 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Wasaga Beach, ON
2/10

Quote's

We were mislead in quotes and multiple components of our job. Told estimator everything we wanted done yet we were invoiced for every visit. Estimator was not familiar of technical aspects of system he was selling. Final cost to us 20-25% over our expectation. Invoices incorrect charging for items included in the original estimate. Management inflexible. Once obligations of vendor are met relationship is finished. Excercise caution, do not trust quotes.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Collingwood, ON
10/10

Pool Install

So pleased with the service and price. Jacob and Josh both helped to make sense of a challenging project. Thank you for taking the time to walk us through the project requirements. Nottawasaga Mechanical was the only company we dealt with that highlighted a necessary change needed in our gas service to make this project a success. They clearly outlined the process, helped me work with Enbridge, and they completed the job in two phases as requested...all at a very fair price...a price that i understood. In the end, we are ready for our first season in the pool knowing that what we have was installed safely, on time, and in a way that maximized our space and aesthetic requests...could not be happier. Thank you Nottawasaga Mechanical.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Wasaga Beach, ON
0/10

service

Be very careful with this company. They make you pay way too much money for what you pay for. They are no different then anyone other hvac mechanical company. They aren't customers friendly when something goes wrong.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am unsure how to respond to this review as I can not tell if it has come from a customer we have done work for or not. If we have done work for you and you are unhappy with the charges I am sorry and would be happy to discuss this with you. Our business practice is to be as upfront with the customer as possible. We let the customer know how much our diagnostic charge is prior to dispatching our technician. We have flat rate pricing on our service repairs that we would present to you before making the repair. You would have been given the choice to have us do the repair or source it somewhere else. If you decided to source it somewhere else you would have only been responsible for the diagnostic charge that you were made aware of prior to the technician being dispatched. If you were looking to have modifications done to your system, (ie, duct work added or removed, equipment moved to a new location, etc) we often quote that on a time and material basis and let you know our hourly rate and a rough estimate on the materials. If something went wrong with your service call and we were not friendly I would appreciate knowing what happened so I can prevent this from happening again. My name is Jacob Carr and I am the Operations Manager at Nottawasaga Mechanical. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss your experience.

E L from CLARKSBURG
E L from CLARKSBURG
1 review Clarksburg, ON
10/10

Heat Pump

Nottawasaga Mechanical Inc
705-429-3512
465 Lyons Court Wasaga Beach
Wasaga Beach
ON
L9Z1V1
CANADA

We have been customers of Nottawasaga for 7 years now, and their service is excellent. We receive timely responses and very knowledgeable service people for our service calls. Particularly this has been important since our Heat Pump furnace required expert service at one point and it was their team that delivered. I highly recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Al Johnson from RAVENNA
Al Johnson from RAVENNA
1 review Ravenna, ON
10/10

Geothermal Heat Pump Installation and Service

Nottawasaga Mechanical installed our heat pump about 7 years ago as part of a home addition. Joe and his team did a great job with the unit, ground loop and ducting. It works as promised and the regular service is quite reasonable. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?
Mill House from Creemore
Mill House from Creemore
1 review Creemore, ON
0/10

Commercial Service Call Disaster!!!

I called Nottawasaga Mechanical because our walk in freezer was not cold enough. They came to service it and made the matters worse. They kept coming back to try and correct the mistakes they kept making. I felt like our service tech Shawn had no idea what he was doing and started experimenting at my expense. He kept telling me he was't sure why the freezer couldn't reach the -20 degrees it had held for years. He started changing parts and replacing hoses to no avail.
I paid them the initial bill for the work that was done. They told me they would come and fix the other issues they had caused. At the end of it all they had the nerve to SEND ME BILLS FOR ALL THE ADDITIONAL WORK. I spoke with Paul the owner and he wasn't much help. He was trying to argue with me that he had to pay the tech, so in-turn I need to pay for that time. I explained over and over again that we never had any of these new issues and that these new issues where caused by them. I also told Paul that Shawn had no idea what he was doing. I told Paul that Shawn told me numerous times that he had NO IDEA WHAT WAS WRONG, and that Shawn told me he would have to try a few things to see if he could figure it out. I also told Paul (the owner) that I didn't think it was fair that we had to pay for all their mistakes and experimentation. Paul (the owner) hung up the phone.
They sent the outstanding invoices to a collection company who I explained the situation to. Nottawasaga Mechanical is now taking me to small claims court for the outstanding invoices.
I would not recommend them to anyone. These guys don't know what they are doing and they will come and spend hours trying to figure out what is wrong so they can bill you a massive amount of hours.
After this happened with Nottawasaga Mechanical I called another refrigeration company and they quoted me $400.00 for the exact same work Nottawasaga is trying to bill me $2100.00 for . I'm sorry to say but in my opinion these guys are thieves. They have already been paid $800.00 for $400.00 worth of work.
STAY AWAY FROM NOTTAWASAGA MECHANICAL INC.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Our original service call was on July 15, 2011. Our technician found that your freezer was being drained with cpvc (plastic) when it should have a copper drain. The heat wrap cable burnt a hole through the cpvc and caused a backup of condensate into the drain pan. We replaced the drain with copper, and replaced the heat cord that was damaged.
Upon further investigation the unit was low on charge. We added a dye capsule to help find where the leak may be coming from. No leaks were found so we added refrigerant to the system to bring it up to the manufacturer’s specifications. A check valve was ordered for the suction line as original installer did not put one in at install. This valve is required to prevent migration from cooler to freezer.
We were there for 3 different problems with return visits to fix the diagnosed problems as we did not have the materials needed on the truck.
1- Drain line diagnoses and drain line repair.
2- Low refrigerant charge, add dye capsule, return to check for leak.
3- Burnt contactor, replace contactor and wire.
All 3 were separate issues that were affecting the freezer and were chargeable calls. We did not cause any of these problems.
After many calls to you and no reply we were forced to send your account to a collection agency. You were only concerned about returning our calls once the collection agency told you the case would be going to small claims court (almost 2 years later). You then decided to make us a cash offer that was a third of the owed amount.
You referred to a “Mark” as the owner in a previous letter to our company, and now it is Paul. Neither are the owners of Nottawasaga Mechanical. Paul is the service supervisor at Nottawasaga.
The technician you refer to is one of our most educated refrigeration techs on staff. He holds a 313A commercial refrigeration license with over 9 years experience. This is a 5 year apprenticeship with a written exam that he scored over 80%. During his apprenticeship he took part in the Ontario Skills Competition where he received a Bronze medal for his refrigeration skills and knowledge. He teaches the Advanced Residential and Commercial refrigeration courses at George Brown College. He also holds a G2 gas license and is a Registered Electrical apprentice. I think this list of accomplishments speaks for itself.
There has been no mention of the system breaking down in the last 2 years and extra costs incurred to fix it, so I would assume that when our technician finished the work the unit was in fact repaired and in good working order.
I am assuming you realized it would be in your best interest to pay the full amount prior to going to small claims court because payment in full has just been received (2 YEARS LATER). Thank You.

Pauline in Collingwood
Pauline in Collingwood
1 review COLLINGWOOD, ON

First Review

1/10

Installation of gas range and rangehood

Please proceed with caution with Nottawasaga Mechanical Inc. They are very vague with cost estimates for work to be done. They sent two
service men for gas hook up of range and straight forward rangehood installation. Billing received by mail was unreasonably high and vague about hourly rates. One service man could have stayed one hour to assist the other, and that would have been sufficient. No need for two
service men for 2 and a half hours, as one seemed rather idle for most of the time, while the other did majority of work on his own.
Not happy with unpleasant surprise element of their billing. They should learn how to practice professional, fair estimate quotations, which they seem to avoid or are unable do? We were billed for three and a half hours work, when it was actually two and a half hours...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Unfortunately we are just reading this now. Our rates for this type of work are on a time and material basis. This would have been discussed with you and agreed upon prior to our technicians coming to your home. We do not send someone out to quote every gas pipe job. We always let the customer know our rates and rough material cost, from the description given over the phone. We always try to send 2 men for this line of work as it usually requires 2 men. We send these technicians out in one truck to cut down on travel time charges for the customer. We could have sent these men in 2 different vehicles but then there would have been an extra travel charge. I do apologize that you were unhappy with our service.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Heating & Air Conditioning pros in Stayner?