Nelson Lumber

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
12727 St Albert Trail NW Edmonton AB
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

32%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Nelson Lumber

Average customer rating:
4.1 10 (8 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Custom Home Package

I purchased a custom home package through an authorized Nelson Homes dealer. We paid a $75,000 deposit directly to Nelson Homes. The package was fabricated 2 months prior to us giving the go ahead or payment. Nelson's policy is to fabricate 1-2 weeks prior to delivery so that the material is straight and not weathered. Our material sat in the rain and weather from May until August and arrived on-site with mold, weathered, crowned and bowed. We returned an entire truck load of loose material that was completely un-usable. Even though we needed the material presently for the build, we were told they will send it with the next truck which was a month away to save on trucking!!! Upon unpacking and inspecting the rest of the fabricated walls, we noted that the OSB had mold and was expanded and rotten on over 2/3rd of the walls. Entire pallets of other walls have a 5/8" crown. This is unacceptable. 3 months later, Nelson's still has not fixed the errors. They have told us to do the repairs on-site, however their authorized dealer or themselves, will not sign any paperwork stating they will reimburse us for our time and expenses to do so. Our million dollar home has been at a standstill for nearly 4 months. Their only response is that the contract is with their dealer and not Nelson's (even though we paid Nelson's directly) and they supplied the unusable material to their dealer!!!!

I would never recommend Nelson's. They have no integrity and will not stand behind their product!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
James from Edmonton
James from Edmonton
3 reviews Edmonton, AB
7/10

Building supplies.

They can get pretty much everything you can possibly want for building, but there loading is not organized at all. Besides that they are a good company. And if they don't have it in stock, they will find it from other contractors.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you for your comments, James. We are glad to hear you find our selection of products meeting your needs. Regarding disorganization in our loading area, we are planning changes to the flow of the yard that should help with this. Thank you for your business!

BrightView Exteriors
BrightView Exteriors
1 review Saint Albert, AB
0/10

Nelson Lumber Edmonton Service

Went in to buy a specific product, the girl behind the order desk THREW a book on the counter and told me to look it up? I told her i didn't know how to use her catalogues and it was her job to look and please do that. she started yelling and SWEARING!!! I was completely offended and walked away I tried talking to the manager about it but he was not at all interested in what I had to say and refused to find a solution... This lady was still working there 6 months later. I no longer use them as Ive found a much better supplier who is organized, quick, honest and most of all polite! I was completely dissatisfied with the slow unguided service from anyone in their yard where they keep everything. Their tools are overpriced and never go on sale and they constantly send wrong, broken products or missing parts.

Review has 1 previous version
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
S.S. from Edmonton
S.S. from Edmonton
2 reviews Edmonton, AB
0/10

Garage Package

We settled on a garage package with Nelson because they had the lowest quote and were really friendly when we were working with them, however once we had paid for our package that all changed very quickly. We set a delivery date for a Thursday two weeks from the order date and arranged our contractor, who we had hired separately from out of town, to show up the Saturday following the delivery date to begin construction.
Waited all Thursday for the package to be delivered, never showed up and didn't get even so much as a phone call. Called first thing Friday morning and spoke with Chris, who was supposed to be the person helping up but apparently had a lot better things to do. He told me that yes they were behind on deliveries, but that we should've still gotten our package the previous day and he would check into it.
He put me on hold, and when he came back he let me know that our package "should" be delivered that day for sure (the Friday). I let him know that "should" wasn't good enough because it "should" have been there yesterday. He assured me that it would be there Friday or at the latest first thing Saturday morning and gave me the go ahead to bring in our contractor and framer from out of town. I even double checked with him because we would be paying for the builders time and I didn't want to bring them in from out of town if the package wasn't going to come, but he assured me again.
At around 3:00 Friday, there was still no sign of our package, so I called Chris to see where we were at. He let me know that they actually hadn't even put it together yet to be shipped and that they were short a few trusses but the trusses would be ready Saturday. I told him to send what they had because at least the guys could get started on work and the trusses would come later on. About an hour later our package arrived, but when I got home to check it I noticed that yes, the trusses were missing, but so were our windows and our motor for the garage door.
I tried to call Chris to ask where the windows and opener were, but he had left for the weekend, so I ended up speaking with someone named Tracy. Tracy was extremely helpful and friendly, but unfortunately she had nothing but bad news. Not only were there no other trusses coming for the next day (meaning that our framers were on their way to Edmonton and wouldn't even be able to do the job, even though Chris had assured me they would arrive Saturday), but Chris hadn't even included windows on our order at all, meaning that the quote he gave us that was lower than their competition was completely meaningless because paying for the windows separately would in fact make it higher (We specifically wanted two windows and had double checked with Chris multiple times that they were included in our order, he was adamant that they were).
Basically, once they had our money they could care less about what happens after the fact. I was never rude or even angry, I simply wanted what I had paid for and had to hound them in order to get it. The only bright side to this was Tracy, who was completely wonderful to deal with and is the only person I would recommend dealing with. I had spoken to a manager (Scott) at one point and the tone of voice he used suggested he'd rather watch paint dry then actually have to deal with a customer. Apparently customer service is NOT part of their business model.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

We are sorry we were unable to meet your delivery requirements, and that there seemed to be discrepancies in understanding what all was included in your package. We are also surprised to hear you were not able to arrive at a satisfactory outcome by speaking with a manager at that time. Providing excellent customer service is very much a part of our business model, if you are not receiving it please ask for our General Manager, Neil LeBlanc.

Brenda from St. Albert
Brenda from St. Albert
5 reviews St. Albert, AB
8/10

Window Replacement

They were very helpful when we were trying to decide what type of windows we would like, provided quick quotes, and once the windows were ordered and received, very efficient with the installation. The installer did a great job.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you for the positive feedback on dealing with our Window Dept., Brenda! New windows make such a difference, and we are so glad to hear you are happy with yours!

donaldlamont in North york
donaldlamont in North york
1 review NORTH YORK, ON
0/10

Single jointed pine colonial casing

I purchased the lumber on my credit card from the Nelson Lumber store on St. Albert Trail, Edmonton, Alberta. The lumber wasI never picked up, and the lumber never left the store. When I went to get a refund back on my credit card, or else have the lumber pickd up, the manager of Nelson Lumber refused. Thus Nelson Lumber took my money and would not give me a refund or give me the product.
Initially, when I asked for a refund, the sales clerk at the order desk asked for my receipt, which I faxed to him, and then he said that the accounting department needed to check whether the lumber had already been picked up. It took 2 months and 5 phone calls before I finally got an answer from the accounting department. I was told that they could not find the record, so they could not issue a refund. Well, I am not responsible for the fact that they could not find the record. I then talked to the store manager who also refused to give me a refund or to allow the lumber to be picked up, on the basis that the receipt was a little over a year old. I explained to the manager that the reason the receipt was a little over a year old was that I had told the order clerk a few months after purchase that I couldn't get into the unit to do the work until I was able to contact the tenant, who was working out of the country and could not be reached. The order clerk gave me no indication that there would be a problem if I picked up the lumber at a much later date.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about difficulties you had with your order. The item you mention is a special order item. Many businesses don’t allow returns on special orders at all. Our receipts do state our return conditions. In trying to accommodate you, we would have been happy to suggest or arrange delivery on a different schedule or to an alternate location for you in your circumstances. We are sorry that didn’t happen. Regarding the delay in processing your refund, unfortunately we have seen an increasing amount of credit card fraud, so we have procedures in place when handling returns on credit card orders and this can sometimes take a bit of extra time. Thank you for your understanding!

Aaron Skaley in Edmonton
Aaron Skaley in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
8/10

Staples

I was looking for staples for my staple gun and the service was really good. They helped me find the right kind of staple when there were dozens to choose from. It turns out I was going to buy the wrong kind in the first place. Thanks Nelson Lumber!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hi Aaron,
Thanks for taking the time to let us know you got the right product the first time, and had a great service experience with us! We hope you come visit us again soon!

Karen in St. albert
Karen in St. albert
1 review Saint Albert, AB

First Review

10/10

new windows and doors installation

Nelson installed all the windows and doors in our house. They did a good job but time to complete and start the project took a long time. It also took them a while to come back for minor repairs. Overall they did a good job and their service was good.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you, Karen for letting us know about your positive window and door project with us. Sounds like we may have been going through a bit of busy time when you had this work done. Scheduling installers depends on the volume of the workload at any given time, as we are sure you can appreciate. We are so glad we were able to meet a time frame acceptable to you, and that you are happy with the final result. We would love to work with you again on any future projects you may be planning!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.