Perfection Plumbing & Drain Cleaning Ltd.

Plumbing
#4 1100 7th Ave. N. Saskatoon SK S7K2V9
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Plumbing in Saskatoon  >  Perfection Plumbing & Drain Cleaning Ltd.
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

60%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Perfection Plumbing & Drain Cleaning Ltd.

Average customer rating:
8 10 (9 reviews)

Sort by

Azusa Fedorchuk from Saskatoon
Azusa Fedorchuk from Saskatoon
2 reviews Saskatoon, SK
9/10

dishwasher leak

We found a possible water leak from dishwasher so called them in, the guy was very nice and helpful although we couldn't find a single drop when he was here so we couldn't get anything fixed, just paid for the service fee. It was not his fault though! I think when we pulled the dishwasher out before we called them, we must have fixed the problem ourselves without realizing it. Anyway no more leak and it was a good experience to see his trying hard to find the problem, he was very straight forward about pricing etc, the lady answered the phone sounded very nice, I really liked this company and this is where I'll be calling from now on when we have plumbing issues :)

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for giving us the opportunity to be of service to you! We really appreciate that you took the time to submit a review, it means the world to us! Thanks again and have yourself a great day!

KM from Saskatoon
KM from Saskatoon
1 review Saskatoon, SK
4/10

plumbing repair

Perfection Plumbing & Drain Cleaning Ltd.
(306) 652-9556
#4 1100 7th Ave. N.
Saskatoon
SK
S7K2V9
CANADA

well, here's what happened...I picked them because of the reviews I found online, and I have had issues with plumbers showing up to inspect the work and then not coming back.
On the plus side, they showed up when they said they would and did the work. On the minus, well, read on...
They charge a $69 "inspection" fee, which they told me about on the phone, but the guy took about 6 minutes to "inspect" so that's about $600/hour. Then they give you a "simple" pricing option. I chose the middle-of-the-road option which was supposedly warrantied for 90 days. It cost me $142 to have a slow drain cleaned and he took maybe 20 minutes to do that. At the end of it, with other repair work he did, I paid almost $400 and he wasn't even in my house for 2 hours.
Then, about 3 weeks later, my sink started running slowly again, so I phoned them and they came out. At least this time they didn't charge me the "inspection" fee. But instead, he concludes that - oh no! this isn't the same clog, even though it's the same sink and same drain, and all the other drains in the house are working, just like the last time. no no no...it's a DIFFERENT clog and it's going to cost me $112 to fix this one Not, "oops, I guess I didn't push the clog far enough through for the almost $400/hour you spent a few weeks ago" nope. this is a totally different clog...($400/hour based on $142 flat rate and about 20 minutes of his time)
So a warranty with them appears to be totally meaningless.
Anyway, it's the only interaction I've had with them, and based on this, it's the only interaction I ever will have with them.

Update:
You can see the company response below. They did get in touch and they did stand behind their warranty and mailed me back my cheque for the second visit. That was quite a surprise, because "service" is generally a 4-letter word in this town.
And, yes, they did tell me about the $69 fee ahead of time. I said so in the comments above. That still doesn't change the fact that, for me, it worked out to about $600/hour. Maybe it takes them a lot longer than 6 minutes on other jobs. I don't know what their goal is with this, but in my opinion, it would work much better as a minimum charge, so if you decide not to do the work, they get paid for their time to do the inspection and make recommendations, but if you go ahead and spend hundreds of dollars, you're not spending hundreds + $69.
Anyway, if you're a potential customer reading this, from my experience I can say they take customer service seriously.
In more detail, here's what happened:
- I got a clog. I tried snaking it and was unsuccessful.
- I tried unthreading the plastic pipe from the stack to get a better feed with the snake, It was an old cast-iron fitting and I managed to crack the plastic piece, so I called for a plumber.
- the plumber removed the plastic and put a new fitting on but couldn't get it to seal on the cast iron, so he had to replace the cast iron fitting with plastic.
- I was charged the inspection fee, plus a flat rate for the drain clean (which I opted for instead of the hourly amount), plus a flat charge per fitting on the pieces they replaced. It added up to the numbers I mention above, just below $400.

Anyway, readers can decide if they want to pay more to have a company that seems to be concerned about customer service, or pay less for someone who may show up and then disappear, which has happened to me before.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to be a service provider for you! We are very sorry to hear that you are not happy with the service we provided and appreciate any and all feedback from our clients. We also would like to apologize for any mis-understanding you had in regards to the "inspection fee". The "inspection fee" that you mention is actually a service fee that we have and is collected on all plumbing calls, it is also always mentioned to our clients on the initial phone call to ensure that they aren't surprised with an extra charge while the service technician is on site and by mentioning this before we come out to the call, it gives the client the opportunity to decline our service (if they don't agree with the service charge) before the call gets booked. When we are onsite, we always assess the plumbing concern before any work is done and provide options. There were lower priced options that were available but we cannot dictate what the client will choose. When the option is chosen by the client, the final investment is authorized by our client before any work is started, this also provides the opportunity for our clients to decline our service at that time if they feel the investment isn't in their budget. We can't predict how long any given task will take but we can re-assure our clients that once the investment is chosen, they are safeguarded against it changing in the event that the technician takes longer than expected. We have looked at the most recent invoice and feel that the charge for coming back was an oversight on the technicians behalf and you will not be charged for that visit. The option you chose does have a 91 day warranty for the drain blockage and a 1 year warranty for the plumbing repair so we will make sure that we stand behind it! Our manager will also be calling you to explain the oversight and offer our apologies for this. We hope that you can accept this apology from us and that we can be of service to you again in the future. Your business is truly appreciated!

Jeffery Longstad from Saskatoon
Jeffery Longstad from Saskatoon
7 reviews Saskatoon, SK

First Review

9/10

Basement Pipe Replacement

I have been ripped off by plumbers and other businesses numerous times over the years, and it makes me so mad, but the folks at Perfection are different. I am very happy with their work every time they come and the gentleman who does the work is very good. I have used then many times before, and I will be sure to use them again.

Just recently, I had them in my home to work on some plumbing issues I was having in my basement. I live in an older house and tree roots had burst a pipe and there was a small amount of water flooding my basement. It was a mess! Anyways, I had a couple guys from Perfection come assess the situation.. PIPE REPLACEMENT aka an arm and a leg in costs, BUT to be expected! They were right on it, and replaced my and fixed my basement plumbing in 24 hours. Like I said, no nonsense type of company - straight to the problem, efficient and cost effective!

Was this review helpful?
Melanie Gnam from Saskatoon
Melanie Gnam from Saskatoon
1 review Saskatoon, SK
0/10

Valve replacement

I have had the absolute worst time the past 3 months dealing with this company trying to get my leaking valve fixed. That absolute disregard for customer service is like no other. You ask to speak to a manager and you get told "I guess if you must I can leave a note" (this said note, will never happen, as after 3 weeks of calling back every 2 days you still don't get to speak to them.) The cancellations is just pathetic, I would get a call after waiting 2 hours for the plumber to be told they aren't coming WHEN I have an appointment. I would be told I would have to wait ANOTHER week to get them to most likely not show up. They just FINALLY fixed my valve and it was not worth the effort to deal with these people, as they still were late. You don't even get a true apology by the people who are not treating you as a valued customer as you should be. I think it is historical that they have a "100% satisfaction guarantee". Is this because you will never get a chance to voice your concerns about the customer service, or lack of?

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We apologize Melanie for not being able to make it there on the first attempt. I'm not sure about the 3 month comment as when I looked up the history of this call per our records, your Mom had called us for the first time on March 4 and we had booked her in for March 7th. We had contacted you that day and had to rebook because the city couldn't make it out and as we explained to you, our hands were tied. The only way that a main water shut off valve in a home can be replaced is by having the city come to the property and shutting off the valve located outside. With all of the water main breaks that happened this spring, the city bumped all of the water shut off requests to the bottom of the list as they had to deal with entire blocks not having any water at all. We have zero influence on how the city dispatches their emergency crews. When they were finally able to show up on March 21, we were there as well (waiting 4 hrs for the city to shut the water off), they found that the outside valve was faulty and once again we were not able to perform the replacement. Some point between March 21 and April 21, The city sent a crew out to replace the valve. April 21 we were booked in but the city didn't have any crews working that day unless it was an emergency, which this was not. April 25 we were scheduled to come back and it was at that time the city realized that they unfortunately replaced the wrong valve on the street and once again we were not able to perform the valve replacement inside the home. It wasn't until the city had finally replaced the correct valve (Approx. April 25-28), were we able to perform the main valve replacement. We are booked 2 weeks in advance right now, yet we have been leaving a tentative booking in the schedule specifically to take care of this replacement which we completed April 30. Once again we offer our apologies for this unfortunate turn of events. We understand that this was a frustrating experience and although these turn of events were completely beyond our control, we would like to refund your service fee back to you. We take our customer satisfaction very seriously and have had top mark reviews by other clients. This is the very first zero review we have ever had in the 18 years of being in business. We hope that you would consider giving us another opportunity to be of service to you in the future so we can show you why we have one of the best reputations in Saskatoon.

Marlene LeJan from Saskatoon
Marlene LeJan from Saskatoon
1 review Saskatoon, SK
10/10

leaking toilet

I needed help with a leaking toilet. The turnoff connection was corroded and so I needed to shut off at the main which also needed replacing. Tryf came out, looked over all the options and quoted me a price right away and arranged everything. The day of the repair he was delayed at another call but let me know who would be coming to do what and when. As soon as he was able he came and finished the project as promised. As the other reviewer said the uniforms identified them instantly they were very mindful of the pets and never came in without the covers on their shoes. Nice work and no cleanup required after they left!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are so glad that we could be of service to you Marlene! Thank you for your kind words. We will definitely pass them on to Tryf! Thank you for noticing all the little things we do, it is refreshing to get that kind of feedback from our clients!

Sara Wheelwright from Saskatoon
Sara Wheelwright from Saskatoon
1 review Saskatoon, SK
10/10

plumbing services bathroom and house

PerfectionPlumbing has been ' Given the thumbs up' from Trusted Saskatoon . This means they are amazing and outstanding customer service providers in Saskatoon. I have had them in my house on multiple occasions and have a membership to their service club - for install of a custom shower and also a leak situation- perfection is what I experienced

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Sara for taking the time out of your very busy schedule to leave us a review. We really appreciate having you as a client as well as being part of the Trusted group you have developed. Gaining the trust of the CEO of TrustedSaskatoon speaks volumes to us! Thanks again!

Paul Sherrard from Saskatoon
Paul Sherrard from Saskatoon
2 reviews Saskatoon, SK
10/10

Backed up Sewer

Perfection Plumbing & Drain Cleaning Ltd.
(306) 652-9556
#4 1100 7th Ave. N.
Saskatoon
SK
S7K2V9
CANADA

Amazingly quick response, Perfection's technician was able to figure things out quickly, and charge us more than fairly for an emergency call. Backed up sewer all fixed, and he checked all our pipes for any leakage or blockage. Even made some recommendations for keeping the drains cleared. Completely professional from start to finish, and polite as all get out. I would have no problem calling Perfection again or recommending them to others!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We definitely appreciate your business Paul and would like to Thank you for the great review. Clients like you make us really enjoy what we do!

Kam Kryzanowski from Saskatoon
Kam Kryzanowski from Saskatoon
1 review Saskatoon, SK
10/10

repair kitchen faucet

The service was excellent. Tryf showed up in uniform. Tryf was on time and did a great job! He also got along well with my little puppy. I also notice he was wearing floor savers. I was very impressed!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for all of the positive feedback Kam! We will definitely pass the great review on to our technician Tryf. Have a great day!

Brent Hamilton from Saskatoon
Brent Hamilton from Saskatoon
1 review Saskatoon, SK

First Review

10/10

Plumbing Service

I've used Perfection Plumbing personally twice now, and referred them a friend whose water heater died. Every time they've been punctual, professional, polite and got the job done properly within the prearranged price. I like that they're in clean uniforms, slip on booties to keep my floors clean, and explain their pricing before starting. Callout rate in the night was reasonable, also.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the kind words Brent! We appreciate your business and your referrals! It's good to know that our clients notice the little things we do that others don't, once again Thank you for the feedback!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.