Sofa World

Furniture
1163 St Laurent Boulevard Ottawa ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

59%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Sofa World

Average customer rating:
5.9 10 (18 reviews)

Sort by

Kim in Moncton
Kim in Moncton
1 review Russell, ON
0/10

Sofa World = Profit over Customer satisfaction

We've been shopping for just the right Sofa Bed for our cottage for some time. We saw one at the St Laurent Ottawa store that we thought might work, depending on the size. My wife put a deposit on the sofa (which was in stock). We were to get back to Cheryl to let her know if it was the right size.
While the size was right, we realized the colour was too dark and so we called Cheryl 2 weeks later to get a refund of the deposit. She informed us that Sofa World WILL NOT refund. The only option she offered was a credit note. She referred us to the back of the sales order to prove her point. She failed to note that a refund is available (less 25% restocking fee).
If you are unsure about a purchase, DO NOT make a deposit at Sofa World as they are clearly more interested in sales revenue than in customer service and satisfaction.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello

We just received notification from HomeStars of your review. We always to our best to work with our customers and we take customer service extremely seriously. After inquiring further into your file, it shows that the store manager at Sofa World St-Laurent has been trying to contact you for multiple days now to issue your $100 deposit refund. We have left a few messages on your voicemail. You might be out of town, in which case please contact us on your return. We hope this reply message reaches you well. Please contact us at your earliest convenience.
Have a great day
Sofa World

Mike Dunn in Toronto
Mike Dunn in Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Very poor after sales delivery service with a satisfactory ending

After having waited over 3 months for our purchase of 3 theatre chairs, we decided to followup with Sofaworld to determine the status. Despite having received no call to advise that the furniture was in and to schedule delivery, the salesperson advised that the furniture had been received. The salesperson booked us for delivery that Thursday and advised of the 3 hour notification window. Late in the afternoon of the scheduled date, we received no call so decided to followup with the store. Rima, the salesperson that we spoke to this time said she would look into it and get back to us. Sure enough, no delivery was scheduled
for that day! So not only were we not advised of the receipt of furniture but they also screwed up the delivery date. No apology was given only a new delivery date.Totally unacceptable. I notified her that I wanted to cancel the complete order for refund. Not a very competent company to deal with or so I felt. Within 10 minutes of expressing my dissatisfaction, the owner called me to discuss. He was quite concerned as this company prides itself in customer satisfaction. After discussing the matter with the Owner I am very impressed with his genuine concerns and willingness to make it right no matter what. That was good enough for me to change my review and rating.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
0/10

Could not deliver couch undamaged

We purchased a couch in the showroom, and never thought to check the size, and the salesman never mentioned anything either, but when it came time to deliver the couch, it would not fit through the front door.

After much back and forth and promises of the delivery manager coming for the next attempt and not coming as promised, they conivnced my wife to sign a waiver while I was at work and forced it through our basement door causing damage to the couch and door.

Completely unprofessional for a company that specializes in couches to not be able to safely deliver a couch as promised. Do not buy a couch from them unless you are sure it can fit in a standard door.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Sir.
I'm sorry to hear there were challenges during delivery. Considering your user on homestars is private, I wasn’t able to get a name to try and find your invoice information. After looking at the picture you posted, it seems there is a tear in the back of the sofa. I contacted service to see if they had an open service order matching the info you share, but we don’t. We would definitely like to discuss solutions towards that. If you could please contact our service department at 613-837-5957 ext 3, they will be working with you.

LSC in Ottawa
LSC in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Two pull-out sofa beds.

Without any previous experience of dealing with Sofa World, I walked into the branch on St. Laurent Blvd. The manager, Cheryl Jones served me personally. Without subjecting me to any pressure, she was very attentive my needs as a customer and well informed about the company's products and options open to me. I was very happy with the quality of both the products themselves and the services offered. Topping the experience at the end, I was served by a very respectful and courteous delivery team. On the basis of this experience, I would have no hesitation in recommending this company.

Was this review helpful?
Nicole in Binbrook
Nicole in Binbrook
2 reviews Embrun, ON
10/10

Sales, service and delivery

I highly recommend this company. Excellent sales experience from Norma Saba. Excellent delivery service by Daniel and Robert. They had to carry the sofa to the third floor in hot weather. They were both very helpful, polite and humorous. Exceptional service.

Was this review helpful?
Kayla in
Kayla in
1 review Kingston, ON
10/10

Highly recommended

Helpful, patient and friendly customer service right from the beginning, which made my shopping experience easy and enjoyable.
A friend of mine who had previously made a purchase there recommended them to me, and I was not disappointed.

Was this review helpful?
jeff in Ottawa
jeff in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

happy customer A+

I found this site really helpful for my recent purchases and I wanted to give back to help others. This will be my first post, so hopefully I write down what is important to help others.

The atmosphere at this store isn't like the other stores. They didn't rush me when I came in, they let me breath which was nice.

I took quite a bit of time to make up my mind. I believe I went back 4-5 times. I know I'm not an easy customer to deal with, but even if I dealt with a few different salespeople, they were always very nice and seemed to all care about me finding the right couch for my awkward space. They let me leave with floor plans and different colour swatches which was nice. I was able to plan them out and see what the actual colour would look like in the comfort of my own home. Id recommend for people to do that as most colours actually looked different in my home as apposed to what they looked like in the store.

I ended up picking a custom sectional, which took 11 weeks to come in. When you buy something new, you definitely want in sooner than later, those 11 weeks seemed longer, but in the end it was worth the wait. I didn't have anything to sit on since I moved, but they lent me a couch until mine came in, which I was really grateful for. The delivery personnel were professional and seemed to know what they were doing, although one of them spoke really loud for some reason. I will be going back for my basement furniture once I pay this one off of course :)

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Whitchurch Stouffville, ON
9/10

Satisfied

Hunt Club location. We searched for awhile and finally settled on a deco rest sofa and ottoman. Ottawa is 1.5 hrs away from us and I tried pricing the exact same sofa closer to home at a few stores. The same model and fabric grade was far more costly at the other stores. Our sales associate was Rima and she was very accommodating and helpful. It took us some time to pick our fabric selections and she was patient and gave us time to keep looking and give us space. We ended up ordering two chairs as well and again, she was very fair in the pricing. Delivery was estimated at approximately 8 weeks for the custom order. Rima called to update us while we waited. Delivery was scheduled around the 8 week mark. The delivery men arrived on time as promised. Shout out to Mario and Anthony who were were very friendly and professional in delivery and set up of my furniture. They were careful with the furniture and my walls/floors. Furniture just delivered today but we are pleased with the appearance. The real quality over short and long term has yet to be determined. An overall positive experience and I would therefore recommend Sofa World and definitely ask for Rima Rizk as your sales associate.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Rana in Toronto
Rana in Toronto
1 review Ottawa, ON
0/10

Palliser Product

Purchased a sectional from Sofa world. accidentally after 4 days we were in different store and the difference in price was 1K. went back to Sofa world. The sales quy named Tymour: No worries give me the quote and I will talk to the manager to make you happy. I said I need to cancel. He said no cancellation. He took the quote and called the other store to not deal with us?Not only that discovered that he put s on the purchase leather/bonded and I ordered all leather and charge me for all leather. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I would like to start by explaining that we have built our name on integrity and customer satisfaction and we are motivated to keep it that way.

Our policies are written on the back of each sales invoice explaining what to expect from Sofa World on various facets of our business. When referring back to price guarantees, Sofa World requires information to ensure that we are comparing apples to apples. The information that was produced by the customer did not have any information on the products and only showed prices.

We always try and please our customers, after a few discussions the customer decided to keep the order and to continue dealing with Sofa World. We are definitely pleased that we were able to come to an understanding.

If anyone requires more information on our policies, please don't hesitate to contact us at info@sofaworld.ca
It will be our pleasure to answer your questions.

Management
Sofa World

happycouch in Ottawa
happycouch in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Awesome Delivery Service

I just had the two nicest delivery men, Mario and Milad, work a miracle getting my new couch in my apartment. We had a wide couch and a narrow door and hallway, and anyone else would have probably given up trying to fit the couch in our space, but these guys with their expertise and can-do attitude found a way to make it happen. I am so happy! Thank you so much!

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Furniture pros in Ottawa?