Dundas Wood Windows & Specialties Inc

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
2113 Dundas Street West Toronto ON M6R 1X1
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Windows & Doors Installation & Service
Dundas Wood Windows & Specialties Inc
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

86%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for Dundas Wood Windows & Specialties Inc

Average customer rating:
8.3 10 (41 reviews)

Sort by

Michael from Vaughan
Michael from Vaughan
1 review Vaughan, ON
10/10

Door replacement

Nelson and his team were great to deal with. Took the time to review and discuss options and price points. Install was quick, neat and looked great! We highly recommend them!

Was this review helpful?
Rudy from Toronto
Rudy from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
8/10

Windows

Ordered windows from Dundas wood windows a few months ago, over all a good product that came in black. Everyone comments on the windows when they walk by. Nelson is very easy to deal with.

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
Jake from Toronto
Jake from Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Window Replacement

The worst possible experience. We were attracted to this business not only for the Anderson windows but also for the ability to customize windows to our 1910 house. Although we had planned to replace all of our windows, we will not do so with Nelson and his organization. It was a fiasco from August to June of the following year. The service in particular was very bad, the order mistakes and the defensive and aggressive back and forth - ridiculous. In the end, we did receive the windows we requested in our initial request and with free installation. Please note, free installation was not offered in as a conciliatory gesture for our difficulties and their mistakes - I insisted upon it.
Unbelievable arrogance. This organization has a good deal to learn about customer service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

This client decided to install the windows themselves. They ordered the windows the wrong size. We gave them a break on the pricing for the new windows and agreed to try and sell the incorrect units to try and recoup some of their money back. They are still in my shop if anyone is interested. When the new windows arrived and they got them to the site they then realized they had ordered the wrong colour. This some how became our fault and we were expected to provide new product for free. I am happy to help, but some situations are just not our fault or responsibility. We have a complete showroom with all colours and products on display, and trained staff to help.

Chris from WALLENSTEIN
Chris from WALLENSTEIN
6 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Replace all windows & doors

We had Dundas Windows replace all our windows & doors on our 120 year old house. The windows are arched and had to be special ordered and built - as was our front door. Neilson & Patrick did a great hands on job of advising, measuring and installing.
The product & work is very high quality as well as good value.
We put Dundas in comp with another window company from the suburbs, who could not do the speciality order and there salesperson could not answer my questions.
I would highly recommend Dundas for any window & door work - our windows & doors look great!

Was this review helpful?
Home Owner from Richmond Hill
Home Owner from Richmond Hill
1 review Richmond Hill, ON
1/10

Replacement Windows

This has been the worst contractor experience we have had so far.
We have purchased Andersen Eagle windows and a french door as well the installation service from Dundas Wood Windows and Doors and had them partially installed 3 weeks ago. The installation was scheduled for 1 week, instead only 1x installer was sent to our house where he worked with a high school student to help him for 4 days and left unfinished windows in our house. In addition, we purchased "brick to brick"installation but the installer decided to cut corners and installed our new windows on top of the old mouldy jambs.
Nelson the owner came to our house to inspect the damage and assured us that everything would be fixed. The next weekend, the same 1x contractor arrived and spent 5 hours to finish the trim on the inside and outside for only 2x windows (15x more to go).
When we asked for a larger crew to finish our project in a timely manner, Nelson (the owner) refused and insisted on sending the same 1x installer.
Also, 1x of the windows was mis-measured and needs to be re-ordered; part of the bay was scratched which Dundas Wood Windows and Doors tried to "clean" but the scratches are still there.
The company is unprofessional and incompetent (they only talk about hard work and quality workmanship) but the actions speak louder than words.
We are still waiting for Dundas Wood Windows and Door to come and finish our windows....
Shame on you!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Our install crews are professional and experienced. The windows were installed brick to brick with complete removal of the existing frames as per the contract. We ordered one window incorrectly and one unit arrived damaged. Both problems were rectified. This was a large install that could not be rushed and to get consistent work the crew needs to be the same team. The job is 100% complete, the customer paid the invoice 100% in full, and the windows look great. I believe that this review was written in haste at the very start of the job where expectation levels were not realistic.. If anyone has questions about this particular project please call and ask for Nelson to provide more details.

Beryl in Upper Forest Hill
Beryl in Upper Forest Hill
2 reviews Toronto, ON
6/10

Front door

Major problems with installation of front door. First attempt for mgmt to correct was unsuccessful. Mgmt now going to replace the door. Will take another month Neil update review then.

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I really tried hard to get this one right but I must admit that everything that could have gone wrong did. I (Nelson) even processed the order with the door hinged in the wrong direction. Yes, we are human and mistakes happen. It took some time to work through the issues as this door was a little complicated but I am happy with the end result. The clients were great through it all and gave us the chance to make it right.

K Wake from Markham
K Wake from Markham
1 review Markham, ON
10/10

Window Installation

We had to replace the two largest windows in our house; Nelson came to our home and helped us make an informed decision based on our lay out and needs. The installation crew was efficient, courteous, on time and very skilled. They went above and beyond by fixing an existing problem that the builder created.
When it comes time to replace the rest of our windows and/or doors, we will definitely call Dundas Wood Windows again.
Do yourself a favour and check out their showroom. I never knew there were so many options when choosing doors and windows!

Was this review helpful?
John
John
1 review Old Toronto, ON
10/10

Window supply

We purchased Andersen Eagle aluminum clad wood windows for our home in the Kingsway, in the course of a total renovation. We are particularly satisfied with this company's service. Nelson the owner is passionate about his work, and phenomenal to deal with - very pleasant, straight-forward and efficient.

Was this review helpful?
dushka from Old Toronto
dushka from Old Toronto
1 review Old Toronto, ON
2/10

exterior door

I wish our contractor never spent our money on this door from this company. Late with delivery and long wait. Needed a serious repair after a month. Poor craftsmanship. Poor communication. Very unsatisfied. I am not even a sure that they are aware of the problem. I think they don't care about that part.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Peter Buechner from Bloor West Village
Peter Buechner from Bloor West Village
1 review Toronto, ON
8/10

Windows installed

After initial trouble with installation (the subcontractor) this company was RELENTLESSLY concerned about making sure everything was fixed, and had several managers etc call & visit to make sure everything was fixed and was proper! Not a great start, but actually very happy with the company for their commitment to making sure things were done properly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Peter. Your review is an important one. Sometimes things don't go the way we want them to, but if we are given the opportunity to make things right, this is where you can prove what you are really all about. Thanks again
Nelson

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Dundas Wood Windows & Specialties Inc

PLEASE NOTE THAT UNLIKE THE MAJORITY OF OUR COMPETITION WE DO NOT SOLICIT REVIEWS - WE DO NOT PAY CLIENTS TO POST FAVORABLE REVIEWS - WE ALWAYS, ALWAYS TRY OUR BEST TO MAKE OUR CLIENTS 100% HAPPY - 2015 MARKS OUR 30TH ANNIVERSARY! WE HAVE THOUSANDS OF SATISFIED CUSTOMERS! WE ARE A TRUE FAMILY RUN BUSINESS!

CATEGORIES
Windows & Doors Installation & Service
PRODUCTS
Vinyl windows, aluminium clad windows, vinyl clad windows, fibreglass clad windows, all wood windows, custom wood door systems, fibreglass doors.
SERVICES
Sales and installations.
BRANDS
Andersen, Ostaco, LePage, Euro Vinyl, Therma Tru, and Velux.
SPECIALITIES
New construction and replacement windows and doors, Historical wood windows, storms, and custom wood entrance systems.
WEBSITE
http://www.dundaswoodwindows.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1985
PAYMENT METHOD
Visa, MasterCard, Debit, Certified Cheque, Cash, Financing available through Home Trust.
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
None
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.