ClearView Plumbing And Heating

Heating & Air Conditioning
4805 32 ST SE Calgary AB T2B 2X3
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars
Drain Services
ClearView Plumbing And Heating
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

67%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for ClearView Plumbing And Heating

Average customer rating:
6.8 10 (399 reviews)

Sort by

David in Beaumont
David in Beaumont
1 review Beaumont, AB
10/10

Furnace Checkup

Tyson was very professional with his visit A+ service always with this company's employees, when ever i have a problem they solve it for me. Would highly recommend this company

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi David, Thank you so much for your rave review! We're glad to hear you thought so highly of Tyson, and that he was able to address any and all questions you had, as well as reassure you that you made the right choice when picking Clearview. We are very grateful you gave us the opportunity to help and hope to work with you again in the future! - The Clearview Team

Ben in Calgary
Ben in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Broken Sewage Pipe

Made a Saturday appointment to repair my seeping sewage pipe from my floor in my crawl space. John was dispatched out early morning and was on time. John’s assessment gave me a few options where he only recommended one cost effective direction. To save me the high cost of calling out a team to excavate only during the week instead asked me to dig out the damaged area and call them back for repair.
Called Jennifer once located the leak and she was able to dispatch Kody the same day to me as John was busy for the rest of the day. Kody was able to replace the pipe for additional cost for the Saturday repair.

Both John and Kody are professional and personable, great work and thank you Jennifer for making this happen in one day. Worth the premium cost for the weekend repair.

Ben

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Ben, Thank you for your review! We do agree, John and Kody are great! We're so happy he was able to help and quickly. We know emergencies aren't always convenient, so we're open 24/7 so that we can help anytime. Thank you for putting your trust in us to help your your broken sewer pipe - The Clearview Team

$Andres1910 in Calgary
$Andres1910 in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
2/10

the DRAMA that I lived with Clear View Plumbing and Heating Ltd.

This is the DRAMA that I lived using the services of Clear View Plumbing and Heating Ltd.
1. Friday September 14: The drainage of the basement toilet is blocked; dirty water does not flow into the sewer.
2. The Clear View Plumbing and Heating Ltd. website called my attention and I call them by phone requesting the service. FIRST ERROR OF MY PART: I did not read the reviews on the Internet, if I had I would not have called them.
3. The technician arrives at my house and before starting the work, he told me that the toilet is old and that it does not have power flush ... Of course, I did not believe him ... but out of decency I did not say anything (I am a Certified Mechanical Engineer Professional). The technician's argument does not makes sense.
This house is 10 years old built by Shane Homes and all the toilets of the house are of optimum quality, the best in the market and are impeccable, aesthetically and technically.
3. The technician sat on the first step of the staircase and spent about 15 minutes doing calculations, and then he presented three prices ... I chose the one in the middle, CAD $ 896.00. I seemed very high, but I accepted it
4. The technician at no time told me that the drainage work DOES NOT HAVE GUARANTEE ... I discovered it 5 days later when it became clear that the work was a disaster: The toilette had a leak to the floor ... .and the water was returning ... from the drainage pipe to the house.
Obviously, I would not have accepted the technician would touch anything in my house, much less pay 896 dollars WITHOUT WARRANTY.
I signed something on an electronic tablet ... but you do not know what you are signing ... because you can not read until the payment has been completed and you get the PDF invoice over the internet.
5. I called to claim for the quality of work and they sent a new technician. This technician, very gentleman, uninstall the toilet and proceeded to replace for the second time the wax seal to correct the leakage of the toilet toward the floor.
Before re-installing the toilet, the new technician proceeded to check the drain and he figured out that the drain pipe was still plug and he informed to me that the drain work had NO GUARANTEE ... for which I HAD TO PAY AGAIN.
6. I emphatically refused to pay again and asked him to leave the toilet unattended, that I was going to call the police because I felt they were abusing me. (I was very upset, but I was decent)
7. The technician called his manager and he got as an exception “as a courtesy” and they did the job again.
8. The job went well ... the new technician did it in about an hour ... and he did not try to sell anything to me, he did not say anything about the “old” toilette. I still owe the "FAVOR" to the company Clear View Plumbing and Heating ltd.
9. End of the drama. Lesson learned ...talk to your legal advisor before signed the go-ahead of the work order, in your home, at least with this company. …be smart, read all the small letters in the contract, even reading through the electronic tablet, like Superman. And sign the order with witnesses ... do not trust ... do not be naïve.
Luis Calderon.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Luis, thank you for reaching out. We apologize that we were unable to meet your expectations. I understand how stressful a back up in your home can be. Our technician worked hard to not only remove the back up but determine why so that you can fix the issue permanently. When you called us to let us know it was backing up again we did send a technician out to your home and did a courtesy auger for you even though you were advised that we cannot warranty this service. I do hope that the issue has resolved and that you don't experience anymore back ups in your home. - Jennifer

Vicki D in Calgary
Vicki D in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Warranty Service Call

We purchased a furnace from Clearview 10 years ago because of their reputation for excellent customer service. It appears things have changed...Buyer Beware.

I called Clearview on Friday at 8am because my furnace stopped working the night before. The agent took my info and said someone would be over later in the day. They called back at 2pm to say nobody would be able to come until Monday or Tuesday.

This felt wrong on a couple levels - a) they could have indicated at 8am that a service call was not likely that day and I could have found another repair option (the temp was 0ish and I was going to have to go 3-4 more days without heat) and b)because I was a previous customer with warranty work, I would expect quicker service.

On Monday a repair person came over. I had all the original paper work out as per their direction and very quickly he guessed the issue was a faulty gas valve - a $1200 + fix.

He said that because we had not followed the warranty specifications of having the furnace serviced and maintained by Clearview every year since purchase the warranty was void (we have had it serviced - not every year, but regularly just not by Clearview).

He was quick to point out the spot on the warranty fine print that stated this stipulation - I can't argue that it is really there. But it felt very underhanded and shady that this super important point is not made salient to the customer when that is exactly WHY we (and I am sure many others) bought from Clearview in the first place.

The repair person then suggested we preform a diagnostic at the very least ($210 I think he said it was!). I was clear in letting him know that Clearview would NOT be getting any more of our money. There is NO WAY I would trust them.

He also said that it is possible that the issue is not the gas valve and that some compressed air might fix the problem if our burners are dirty....this is a drastically cheaper fix than the $1200+ quoted.

One other piece of this that really irks me.....When I called to book, they could have let me know right away that we would not be covered for warranty purposes. They could see in the system whether we had used their services over the past 10 years.....just coming to my house netted them $70. And resulted in us having to live in an unheated house for 4 days. It feels so dishonest. It feels like I had to pay them $70 to be taken advantage of and to be cold.

Again....buyer beware.

Update - Clearview called me to discuss my review and my discontent. The person who called was lovely and understanding.
The warranty is still voided but they at least agreed to return the charges for the service call.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your comments. I’m sorry to hear about your experience. We have been in business for over 20 years and quite proudly stand behind our work and do our best to uphold the warranties set by the manufacturers. The manufacturers hold us to their terms and one of them is that all equipment is to be maintained annually. Had your furnace had yearly maintenance we would have been happy to fix it under warranty. We appreciate you reaching out. We hope the resolution we agreed upon will bring a close to this matter, but if it does not, please feel free to reach out to us.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
1/10

Fooled Me Once...

We had a sewer line back up in our home and called Clearview. The tech was professional, but you can afford to be when you're charging the amount we wound up paying - $700 which included a bottle of essentially Drano for $65. The camera inspection happened the next day (other tech was too busy) and the second tech told us that the first tech should never have used the auger he did because our pipe had been lined a decade before (which we had disclosed immediately upon the first tech's arrival).

The second tech generated quotes for cleaning out a single root incursion where the pipe inside the house meets with the lined portion of the pipe using a pressure washer (more than fifteen hundred dollars), lining the four feet that needs to be lined (over five thousand), and a nuclear option of pipe bursting the perfectly good line to the street - over $15K.

Don't be fooled by their replies here where they say they won't sacrifice quality for a lower price or use the word "cheap" to describe the work of other contractors. They tried to prey on me and it didn't work.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi, We appreciate your comments. When we send a technician to auger a line his job is to work to get that line cleared for you so that you can use your services in your home. The camera inspection is always done by a supervisor with many years experience so that he can show you what is happening in your line and help your interpret it. If you have questions about our process please feel free to give me a call at 403-216-8439. - Jennifer

Dan in Calgary
Dan in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Oversold and treated poorly

Sold me materials I didn’t need. Treated me like garbage when I called to discuss issues.
Tried to tell me water softener was broken when it wasn’t.
Hired new plumbers and they removed everything Clearview installed and told me I was taken for a ride.
I feel violated by the way I was treated. No one at Clearview seems to care at all how upset my wife and I are at them.
I will make sure everyone I know will never use this over priced shifty company.
Thanks for nothing.
I just wish they kissed me first.....

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dan, my apologies for your experience with our company. You called us to your home because you had a leak in your poly-b piping. Our technician found and repaired the leak and recommended a pressure reducing valve because poly-b doesn't hold up under pressure. I know how frustrating it can be getting bad news but I am glad you took the information to heart and had the poly-b replaced in your home.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
8/10

air conditioner issue

Issue with freezing off lines on air conditioner, was inspect and checked out required repairs made, prior to work being performed a detail option list was presented to solve the issue, was very professional and timely repair

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi! Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience. Every team member at Clearview strives to make a difficult situation, like a air conditioner repair, as easy as possible. We are so glad to hear you are happy with our technician's work. We appreciate your kind words and we look forward to working with you in the future. - The Clearview Team

SusanBeck from Calgary
SusanBeck from Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

furnace service

Gary did a review and service of the furnace. He discovered that the main floor humidifier was not working and repaired it. He also demonstrated the proper way to install batteries in the thermostats. Very efficient and professional.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Susan, thank you for your Homestars review. We are glad to help with your Humidifier. Hopefully you won't have any more issues for awhile, but if you do we are here if you need us. Thanks again for your kind words. - The Clearview Team

Tracy in Calgary
Tracy in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Humidifier and furnace check.

Gerry was very helpful, courteous and professional. I have been very sick and he was patient and kind. He fixed my humidifier and furnace and taught me a few things that I was doing wrong and how I could conserve energy. I appreciate his help and kindness.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Tracy, Thank you so much for the killer review! We're glad to hear you thought so highly of Gerry. We agree - our technicians are highly trained and love helping people. We are grateful you gave us the opportunity to help and hope to work with you again in the future. - The Clearview Team

Joan in Calgary
Joan in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

Clear view Plumbing

Gerry did a great job servicing my air conditioner and checking that all my plumbing was working well! He gave me a great product to deal with hair clogs that is good on pipes and the environment.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Joan! Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience. Every team member at Clearview strives to make a difficult situation, like a A/C repair, as easy as possible. We are so glad to hear you are happy with Gerry’s work. We appreciate your kind words and we look forward to working with you in the future. - The Clearview Team

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about ClearView Plumbing And Heating

Here at ClearView Plumbing and Heating we have Two Clear Rules: 1. Do whatever it takes to solve every problem right and leave every customer smiling. 2. When in doubt, see rule #1. This is our promise to you, our customer. We view our jobs not as trades-people, or as plumbers and HVAC.

CATEGORIES
Heating & Air Conditioning, Drain Services, Drainage Contractors, and Plumbing
PRODUCTS
Sink and Shower Fixtures, Sinks, Tubs, Toilets, Furnaces, High Efficiency A/C Units, Humidifiers, Air Purifiers, Water Softeners, Reverse Osmosis Units, Hot water tanks, Water Softeners, UV Light Electronic Air Purifiers, Tankless Water Heaters - You name it, we install it!
SERVICES
Furnace and A/C Installations, Drain Cleaning and Power-Augering, Free Furnace and A/C Quotes, HVAC Repair, Boiler and Hydronic Heating Repair, Plumbing Repair, Video Drain Inspections, Sewer Replacement Quotes and Digs - You name it, we do it!
BRANDS
Quite literally ANY and EVERY brand. If there's something we don't have in stock, you name it and we'll provide it, install it and warranty it!
SPECIALITIES
Although the industry would dictate that our specialties are Plumbing, Heating, A/C and Draincleaning, our customers feel our specialty is Customer Service! (Just look at our reviews)
WEBSITE
http://www.clearviewplumbing.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1997
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
20
RETURN POLICY
Our policy is to leave the customer satisfied. We guarantee that it's fixed right or its free.
PAYMENT METHOD
We currently accept Cash, Debit, Visa, American Express and Mastercard
LICENSES
All of our technicians are fully licensed in their profession and have a minimum of 5 years exp.
MEMBERSHIPS
We offer numerous Planned Service Packages for Plumbing, Heating, Air Conditioning
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
PROJECT RATE
No hourly rates! That means you get a guaranteed price, IN WRITING, before there's any work done!
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Warranties depend on the job. Extended warranties are available.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.