Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Moving & Storage in Delta  >  Cloverdale Moving Vanlines
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

83%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Cloverdale Moving Vanlines

Average customer rating:
8.5 10 (83 reviews)

Sort by

Deane in Delta
Deane in Delta
1 review Delta, BC
2/10

Additionald Costs

Used this company several times for local moves. Always happy with the service, except the last time we used them, there was additional charges for tv boxes and use of blankets etc... Not happy with those charges, therefore, will not be using them again, nor will we recommend them to anyone in the future.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Deane, We do not, and have never charged for blanket wrapping, it has always been included in our quotes. As for the TV boxes they have always been apart of our additional services, always an option. We appreciate your feedback 11 months later, all the best to you. Thank you!

Elaine in Surrey
Elaine in Surrey
1 review Surrey, BC
10/10

Move from BC to AB

We just moved from Surrey to Edmonton and used Cloverdale Moving. Angelo and his team were professional, hard-working and very efficient. They were honest and very careful with unloading and loading. Despite some hiccups that were out of their control, all of our items arrived and were undamaged. We highly recommend them and would use them again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback Elaine, it was a pleasure working with you!

Private User
Private User
1 review Delta, BC
10/10

Cloverdale Moving VanLines

After getting a few quotes we decided to go with Cloverdale Moving VanLines for our move from Surrey BC to Sylvan Lake Alberta.
Having never done a move like this before we were very apprehensive about who to choose. Angelo came over to give us a quote. He appeared to be a no nonense type of person and was clear about what services they provided and did not provide.
The move went very smoothly and efficiently. They were hard working, conscientious and respectlful through out the whole process.
We would definitely recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your business, best regards!

Loren in Parksville
Loren in Parksville
2 reviews Bowser, BC
10/10

Alberta Move

We just moved from Vancouver Island to Cochrane Alberta and used Cloverdale Moving. This was the second time we have used them. We used them again because they do a great job and do what they say they will. Their prices are reasonable but most of all we trusted them to deliver our possessions on time and without damage. And in both cases we couldn' t be happier. We don' t usually fill out reviews, but felt compelled to do so in this case. We would highly recommend this company for your moving needs.
Loren & Marlene

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We appreciate your business and feedback, all the best to you and Marlene!

Su Lee in Prince George
Su Lee in Prince George
1 review Prince George, BC
10/10

Moving from Vancouver to Prince George

Our family had to move to Prince George from Vancouver because of my husband work. I had so many questions to ask before and after making this big move but everytime the Cloverdale Moving staff helped me through the process by email and also by phone. He explained every details of the moving process!! Also they packed and loaded my stuff very nicely and told me not to worry for losing or getting my stuffs mixed up with others. The staffs helped to place everything on each room although our new house had three floors. I definitely will recommend the Cloverdale moving to others and if I have to move back to Vancouver I will call the Cloverdale moving right away to schedule for our next move!!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Su Lee!

Soooz in Delta
Soooz in Delta
1 review Delta, BC
10/10

Move from Vancouver to Kelowna

Angelo and his team at Cloverdale moving were amazing, and I would absolutely recommend them to anyone I know who is moving.

When Angelo came to my home to give me an estimate, he was courteous, respectful, and helpful. He was willing to spend some time with me, and he was honest with what my expectations were. He was also very flexible with what my needs were, as I was not intending to move everything, and what I was taking/not taking changed quite a bit during the course, while I navigated a stressful move alone with my 2 year old son.

Selma, Angelo's assistant at the office, was gracious and understanding, and on the day of the move, the moving team were efficient, polite, and professional. I'd like to also add, that Angelo is an incredibly hard worker!

Cloverdale Moving became my greatest support and allies during a very stressful time, and I was incredibly grateful for their expertise and service. I feel very lucky to have stumbled upon them, and I will definitely use them again.

Thank you so much for everything, Angelo, your patience and willingness to help us out meant so much!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind words, all the best to you and your son!

Private User
Private User
1 review Delta, BC
2/10

Long distant move

I was nervous picking out a moving company for my long distant move from the Lower Mainland to Victoria. In the end I selected Cloverdale Moving. Initially I was hesitant after booking them as when I had questions, I didn't get a call back promptly for a business. Their machine always picked up and Selma would eventually call back or I'd have to call again the next day.
This move was quoted by weight, not time. I was quoted for an average one bedroom apartment. I knew I didn't have an average one bedroom apartment and told them this, but still nobody made a visit to do a more accurate quote.
August 1, 2017 on my moving day, Angelo and his partner arrived on schedule which was great. Both guys were very nice and friendly. It alarmed me that a very large piece of furniture would be moved out on a dolly by one guy. Even smaller items like my coffee table was placed upside down on a dolly with several other items stacked all over it and then wheeled out by one guy. Although this may seem very efficient, I realized at the time that because time is not being billed, they moved extremely quickly, which was very rough on all my belongings. My entire very large one bedroom was loaded up in less than an hour. I was stunned.
My entire life belongings were now in their care until August 3rd, sitting on their truck with the possibility that everything would be moved off that truck into a locker if that truck was needed for another move. The truck was weighed at a weigh station after they loaded it. The price came in at almost twice the average one bedroom apartment. Surprise surprise. I expected it would happen, but not that much. I was told I could pay with my Visa, then upon arriving to load my stuff, was told I had to pay cash. This was over a $2,000 move. I called the next day to quote my email and they relented and allowed the visa.
Angelo, his wife and young son showed up on August 3rd to unload my belongings. His partner was not available that day which really surprised me. I didn't think I paid to have a young boy unload my stuff. He was a very nice boy and very helpful. Angelo's wife was strong and very nice too. Great family. The first thing I noticed was my mattress and box spring were now strapped to the tailgate of the truck instead of being inside as they were when the truck left Burnaby. The biggest problem was that the mattress was on the outside of the box spring with a tie down strap digging into the middle of the mattress, so it was hanging over the strap causing the mattress be damaged. My bed was fairly new, so this upset me. There was some obvious juggling around to accommodate another persons belongings in the same truck.
After Angelo and his family left, my partner and I unwrapped things. The mattress definitely suffered, most wood furniture items had small scrapes and scratches and my brand new $4,000 leather sofa was damaged in a very small but critical area on the arm. The sofa was wrapped by a friend of mine with 4 moving blankets and then completely shrink wrapped. He does this for a living and did an awesome job on it.
I called Angelo to let him know about the damage to my sofa. He said it probably wasn't packed properly, so that would be the cause of the damage. The area of damage was covered by a blanket and now ripped shrink wrap. It was very apparent it had been dragged/dropped on the ground. The damage was like a carpet burn that scuffed the leather and tore 2 stitches on the arm. Making a claim was not an option as the deductible was ridiculously high. I hired a leather repair person to fix the broken stitches and Angelo did pay for that.
All in all even though the guys were nice, the cost was double the estimated price and they damaged so many items. Aside from the bed and sofa, most were small scuffs and dents.
I would not use this company again. I just moved again yesterday and used another company and had a much better experience.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Sandra W.

I wasn't aware that you had a problem with the move since we haven't heard from you since your moving date which was over 6 months ago. We appreciate and respect all feedback but we don't appreciate when we are left in the dark and nothing is brought up to our attention right away.

You first stated you had an issues with "getting your questions answered" I did response and answer any question you had via email or telephone. If I wasn't in the office or you called outside of office hours, I got back to you in a timely manner. When I originally emailed you the quote back in June 28, 2017 you did state you had a one bedroom but didn't know how much your items weighed, but you never stated you had more than what we quoted. I emailed you back the same date and stated "If you weight goes go over the quoted 2000 lbs then there will be an additional cost" and I also provided you a quote for 3500 lbs when you emailed me back you did mention you were at work so it was hard to get a hold of you and that's why I emailed you that way it was easy for you to get back to me instead of me always leaving you voicemails. That same day (June 28, 2017) we reserved your move and you wanted to go with 2000 lbs instead of the other option I provided which was 3500 lbs, we send you a confirmation email with all the details.

As for the delivery date, we always schedule our movers in advance and one of our movers had an emergency manner that came up and wasn't able to assist Angelo in your move. Instead of us cancelling or rescheduling your move we were able to find another option to proceed with your move that day. As for your mattress being attached to the back, our trucks have passed all safety guidelines and the mattress was safe, secured and well kept. Your move was a shared load and that's why we didn't charge you the full fee for the ferry and that's why your mattress was attached since there wasn't enough room in the truck.

Also, you did mention you had damage on your sofa which our movers never saw, when we arrived the sofa was already packed up and covered. If the move caused your sofa damage it would of caused damage to the blankets and the shrink wrap but there was no signs of damage on either. You didn’t want to go through Cargo Insurance because of the deductible (which we have no control over) regardless, we wanted to make sure you were happy and had your sofa fixed and paid for the fee. Also, the reason we were quicker was because you only had the elevator for one hour, even your brother helped us with some items to make sure we can get everything done.
Even after your move we exchanged emails and nothing was brought to my attention about your concerns, it would be been ideal for you to mention any issues you many of had after the move and not 6 months later. On behalf of everyone at Cloverdale Moving we wish you all the best and thank you for your business!

6490637 in Delta
6490637 in Delta
1 review Delta, BC
0/10

Cost me 2X more than quote

Original quoted price was $1890 (GST Included)after asking,ferry charge of $250.00 was added.

Final bill was $4,620.70.
Extra charges where: $1,886.50 (3430 lbs over @ $0.55)
$225.50 Destination Surcharge,
$210.00 Storage (delivered 1 month early)
$158.70 Packing (1 box, 2 plastic bags for beds, 2 blankets)

Arrangements were made to change destination and delivery location. Got a call 1 month early to say my possessions where on ferry heading for Vancouver Island from mainland, it was Sunday morning. I was unable to find storage at this time, Cloverdale movers found a storage unit. They refused to send me key or tell me where the storage unit was until I paid final bill, without inspecting my stuff. Cost me an additional $400.00 to move my stuff from storage to house. On the final Contract Initials where forged in 2 places.
I contacted movers through BBB to move my mom, a number of movers contacted me with quotes including Cloverdale Movers, they gave me a quote for a totally different person, made me LOL. This is why I decided to write a review.

Suzanne's move from Port Coquitlam to Courtenay, BC

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We quoted you for 4000 lbs based on the information that was provided to us, you ended up going over and got charged for the extra weight which is in the confirmation email that was sent to you when you reserved the move on October 4th, 2017 (Anything above or below 4000 lbs will be adjusted)

You also complaining about the destination charge, when we originally reserved you, you were going to Duncan, BC but changed the location to Courtenay, BC which is two hours north of Duncan, BC. I did email to you (emailed dated: 10/23/2017) making you aware of the charge since there is a two hour different between the locations, your response was “OK, confirmed”

Also, at that time of your move we were relocating our office from Delta, BC to Burnaby, BC. We did mention to you that due to us relocating we aren’t able to store the items at our storage area, and delivered the items at a storage unit on the island which you were okay with it since you didn't have a secured place yet, you needed storage on the island regardless. We did mention to you we will send out the information and key but the balance needs to be cleared before (email dated: 11/01/2017) which is a policy we need to follow since at the end of the day we need to protect the business and the client as well and once the payment was received I sent you the information for the Storage and as well as who you needed to contact that way it was an easy process for you.

As for the packing, the fee came out to $158.70 because there was materials that were used, we don't move items that aren't packed up correctly since that is a high rise of damage while in transportation and we wanted to make sure your items were safe and kept in the same condition.

We welcome and respect all feedback, but in this case you were upset about the charges you agreed too and later on felt that it wasn’t right when all the information was provided to you and you were made aware of everything (before the deposit and reservation). I would understand if we didn’t provide updates or information to you and you were in the dark but my priority was making sure you and the rest of our clients are always updated and have all the information, and I did follow through with that and you agreed to everything via email.

We think it’s fair for you to post a review about your experience but not stating false information just because you changed your mind. That being said I wish you all the best and thank you for your business!

Randal C in Delta
Randal C in Delta
1 review Delta, BC
10/10

Professional and Courteous

From the moment Angelo came to my apartment for an estimate to the moment he and his assistant loaded my stuff up in Vancouver to the moment they unpacked my stuff in Kamloops, they were professional and courteous! Angelo kept me updated continuously throughout the entire process. They were very quick, efficient and careful throughout the loading and unloading process. I would have no problem recommending Cloverdale Moving to anyone who is looking for a superior moving company. Thanks Angelo for making a very stressful situation less so and for being honest, professional and very courteous!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Randal, it was a pleasure having you as a customer. Best of Luck!

Will Sturgeon in 108 Mile Ranch
Will Sturgeon in 108 Mile Ranch
1 review 108 Mile Ranch, BC
10/10

Second Time Employed

We used Angelo and Crew to move from our sold house in Powell River BC in July '17, they were awesome. Due to the forest fires in the Cariboo, we could not purchase a new home right away, and they moved our furniture into a 40' sea container in Merritt, BC. When we finally were ready to move into our new !00 Mile area home for the 1st of Nov'17, it was an easy choice to use them again. And they were even more awesome. After delivering another Customer's load to Prince George in a blinding snow storm, they drove an empty truck through blizzard conditions on icy, treacherous roads from Prince George to Merritt, loaded our 'stuff', then drove back in the dark to !00 Mile, all in the same day, so they could deliver first thing the next morning. And because we were repeat Customers, they gave us a very generous break on the price. Always friendly, great attention to the care of our stuff, carrying each item to the room of our choice, and all in minus 22C weather. These Guys don't just have my appreciation, they have my respect. Hard working, honest and honourable. They are not just great Workers, they are great People.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Will, it was a pleasure helping you out again and having you as a repeating customer. On behalf of everyone here at Cloverdale Moving we wish you and your wife all the best in the future, kind regards.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Cloverdale Moving Vanlines

Cloverdale Moving and Van-lines is a professional and insured moving company in Canada whose main priority is ensuring customer satisfaction. Moving to a new residence or office, whether it be within British Columbia or across the US, entails the right packing and moving equipment to be sure that your belongings ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.