Appleby Moving & Storage Ltd

Moving & Storage
1155 Appleby Line Burlington ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Moving & Storage
Appleby Moving & Storage Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

49%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Appleby Moving & Storage Ltd

Average customer rating:
5.3 10 (8 reviews)

Sort by

Madden Family in Hamilton
Madden Family in Hamilton
1 review Hamilton, ON
10/10

Outstanding

I highly recommend Appleby moving. From day one they were there to help us. taking our calls, giving us a reasonable quote and answering our questions right away. The day of the move the crew showed up on time and communicated with us. They really listened and made sure we were all on the same page. They worked very hard all day and were extremely professional and pleasant all through their long day. Everything got done without a glitch and not a scratch!!!! We are extremely impressed with those guys. Only good things to say about this business. Thank you so much for making that stressful day easy for us .

Was this review helpful?
Sharon
Sharon
1 review Burlington, ON
10/10

Moving

Great Job. Crew was fast and courteous. Would recommend!! The estimate was on bang on and the company was easy to deal with. I even had to change my move date and it was no problem for Appleby!

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Mississauga, ON
0/10

Buyer BEWARE

Jeff talks a good talk. I would have gladly paid double to deal with a more professional, trustworthy company. But who knew until it was too late!!

I hired Appleby Moving & Storage to do a move and store a 4 bedroom house worth of furniture. 80% of the wood furniture was damaged. He offered to send someone to come to my house to repair, although the man was nice enough, items were not repaired well. Some items were completely broken and even my car got scratched! yes, you read that correctly. After weeks of arguing and very uncomfortable conversations and not getting a reply, I had to really pressure Jeff by calling and emailing a lot. But, once I got my lawyer involved, Jeff agreed to a cash settlement. I probably should have gone to court and had some furniture replaced instead of the terrible repair work.

Although the cash amount was not quite high enough, I decided to take it only to be rid of Jeff yelling at me "oh, that's an easy repair" "Oh that's nothing, I can fix that and you'd never know "Oh that isn't even that bad of a damage " Good thing I took photos and video of all the incidents at the time of my move. Although he tried to argue they didn't damage things and scratch my car, once I produced the videos and photos, his tune changed. He got very angry and was completely unprofessional. I understand the car was not scratched on purpose, I was only looking for compensation for all the damage they caused. I did have their insurance which I purchased, but it did me no good in the end.

Live and learn. I should have researched on Homestars first. I was trying to save a buck and they seemed very reasonable in price. Boy, was I fooled!

BUYER BEWARE.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Judy,

Your claim was submitted to us with pictures on February 8th. We responded on Feb. 15 to set up a time to go out to look at your items on February 16. I emailed my furniture refinisher on February 17 so he could set up an appointment with you. He went out to see you the following week as I received his invoice on February 24. I responded to your emails on Feb 28, March 3, March 6th and finally a resolution email regarding the $550.00 I sent you to cover the broken IKEA floor lamp, which we do not cover floor lamps but I did for you in good faith. Also it was to cover your IKEA filing cabinet, which also states on the BOL that we don't cover IKEA furniture items unless they are dismantled-also in good faith. Unfortunately the cheap nature of IKEA furniture does not stand up well to moving-even within a house, let alone moving, which is why we cannot cover it in a move. The balance was for the small scratch in your car mirror, which your dealer buffed out for free and the wood items which you were not happy with the repair. I'm honestly not sure what else I could have done in terms of contacting you more. UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES DID I SPEAK TO A LAWYER OR HEAR FROM ONE, EITHER ON THE PHONE OR IN WRITING. I ALSO DID NOT ONCE TELL YOU WE DENIED RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE CLAIM. I'm sorry the insurance doesn't cover pain and suffering as you suggested it should. At no time did I yell at you, but had to raised my voice as you were talking over me, and I couldn't respond to anything you were saying. Your items were either repaired or cash settled. As Appleby strives to make our customers happy, we in good faith reimburse items which we could normally decline. It is unfortunate you were still unhappy despite being compensated. Hopefully this will let our customers know, sometimes accidents happen, but it is how we compensate our clients that count. 30 days from claim start to finish is exemplary.

Patrick in Peterborough
Patrick in Peterborough
1 review Peterborough, ON
0/10

Moving

Appleby Moving & Storage Ltd
905-336-1173
1155 Appleby Line
Burlington
ON
CANADA

While the move from our house into storage went extremely well, the storage itself was a disaster. When our belongings were delivered, three items were missing (our lawnmower, a bed and a loveseat). The loveseat was kept by Appleby because it was damaged. It took three months for them to deliver it. They fixed it but very poorly. They blamed it on sun damage though I assured them that the loveseat had never been in the sun. A matching couch was also damaged, a teak table scratched, a leg on a chair smashed and a compressor damaged.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Patrick,

I'm sorry you were unsatisfied with your move. We did fix the teak table, the leg on a chair and the couches. I'm unsure why this was not mentioned in the posting. When I personally delivered the one sofa to you, I had to show you where the original damage was done. It was news to me that you were not happy with the one sofa repair. For the table and chair leg, we sent out Restwell Upholstery to fix the damage right away and when speaking to your wife, she told me they did a very good job. The sofa took a little longer because it was here in Burlington and getting it out to Peterborough took a little longer due to the distance. Also, this is the first time hearing about a compressor? We were in constant contact with you over those 3 months and as I recall your home wasn't complete when we moved you in. We strive to make everyone's move stressless and easy. If something goes wrong we fix it as we did in this case based on the knowledge we had.

cripcrapple in Burlington
cripcrapple in Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
10/10

Moving

Right from the start the experience was great. Jeff gets back to you quickly and showed up when he said he would. When we came by to give an estimate, he physically looked at everything on each of the floors in our home to review what was and wasn't being moved so he could give us an accurate quote. When moving day came, his team was right on time and were awesome. They took care to make sure our things were safe and handled with care. the job was done quicker than expected and the price was actually less than originally quoted, thanks to Jeff's hard working team. I could have gone with less expensive movers, but on moving day, my wife is stressed, i'm stressed and I didn't want any surprises. Well worth the money as you really do get what you pay for. Happy customers, Rich and Donna Acosta.

Was this review helpful?
Neville da silva from Burlington
Neville da silva from Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
2/10

Moving and storage

I totally agree with the opinion of the previous consumer on the over charging.the cost of moving the furniture into the warehouse was double that of the loading onto to the truck. We were not allowed to be present at the warehouse, so could not verify any of the time.
Items were missing and it took almost two months for them to find some of these and deliver (after many phone calls and emails). We gave up on the rest.
At least four pieces were damaged , one we refused to accept it and this was finally repaired as a "courtesy" the other damaged items Antiques, was left up to us to repair. The worst move that I have ever had.

Was this review helpful?
Robert Allen in Burlington
Robert Allen in Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
10/10

Moving Company

The crew arrived ontime, was courteous, polite, fast and efficient. The move was under the estimated amount. I cannot say enough about my experience here. I have a large 4 bedroom home with a large tool shop, two kids and a dog and the crew worked around all of us. I would recommed this company without hesitation! Most definately would use them again!!!

Was this review helpful?
Dave in Burlington
Dave in Burlington
16 reviews Oakville, ON
0/10

Movers

I am convinced that this company employs the deceptive strategy of under quoting the time needed for a move in order to secure the business only to exceed it by several hours. Our local move around the corner took an astonishing 16 hours to complete! They used an inadequately sized truck resulting in three return trips and in the process damaged several of our possessions and walls. At one point, I discovered the 3x3 glass top from our coffee table leaning exposed and unprotected against our artwork on the bare hardwood floor. This company is the perfect storm of incompetence and ineffectiveness. Simply put, avoid this moving company at all costs if your time and possessions matter to you.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

There is no deceptive strategies employed here. Your move did go over estimate but as I recall you ONLY PAID FOR THE ESTIMATED hours and not the above quoted 16 hours. We only have one sized straight truck so larger moves are done with either two trucks, or if the address's are close, one truck to make trips. The glass was likely leaning against the wall waiting for the table base to be brought into the home. We cannot lay if flat on the floor for someone to step on.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Moving & Storage pros in Burlington?