Extreme Roofing

Roofing
60 Basaltic Road Vaughan ON L4K 1G6
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Roofing
Extreme Roofing
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

40%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Extreme Roofing

Average customer rating:
5.3 10 (28 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Roofing

This company has absolutely no integrity, no expertise with its staff and couldn't care less about anything except getting paid. The problem is their work is negligent, their training absent and their follow through non-existent. If you want to throw your money away and have to later pay for a reputable company to fix their mistakes, then claim water famage from your insurance company...these are your guys.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Lala  Truth  in Toronto
Lala Truth in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
1/10

Please Dont Use Them

Didnt show up for first 4 days. Then sloppy work, left a big mess and didnt come back to clean up. Save yourself a lot of aggrivation n get any other company. I also like the way they discredit their clients bad reviews. Own up to being crappy at what u do!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We are very sorry for the inconvenience that was caused to this homeowner. Yes we do own up to our mistakes. Yes it did take 4 days for the installers to show up for the installation of this roof. We apologize for the fact that the garbage bin did sit in the driveway for these 4 days. And we apologized to the home owner over and over again. The situation was out of our hands when the installation crew that was scheduled to install the shingles on this roof, did not turn up the day of the original scheduled installation, therefore throwing off all scheduled installations for that week. Needless to say, that particular crew was not used to install any further roofs. As for discrediting bad reviews, when we get a customer from hell, (not this homeowner, as they were very patient) are we to just sit there and take the bashing when we have done everything to make a customer happy with what was done for them. Again we are very sorry to this homeowner, and would not have had any problem if the homeowner had waited a couple of days, and cancelled. Every homeowner has that right to do so. We do however thank this homeowner for the fact that they did follow through with accepting the inconvenience that they were put through and did pay their final bill, Thank you.

Mel26
Mel26
15 reviews Hamilton, ON
2/10

New Roof and Eavestroughs

We hired this company based on our neighbour's recommendation and unfortunately they did not live up to the referral.
1. After requesting it a few times, they never came to our house to sit down with us to review the quote and talk to us about product, samples, warranty, options or other details of the job. Elaine in the office wanted to field all questions.
2. As soon as we gave them the ok they started the job very quickly thereafter.
3. I did not pay them in full prior to inspecting the work even though the onsite workers requested it and I am so thankful because it made sure that they did not ignore our concerns.
4. When we inspected the work we found two critical areas where the gutters were not sloped properly. As for the roof, there were exposed nails all over the shingles (my husband counted at least 40), a couple areas of nails sticking out, and when he was up there with one of the roofers at one point there was even a corner shingle that fell off when they touched it. We clearly reported all of the deficiencies in an email with photos.
No one from the office ever called us. They sent guy after guy after guy, asking us what we are complaining about and what will make us happy (ie “what it will take for us to pay them”). What we want is what we are paying for - properly installed new roof and gutters. We had 6 visits from them in 2.5 months. What bothers us the most is how they never acknowledged the inferior job that was done (except for a young guy that walked the roof with my husband and actually said “I’ve never seen it this bad”). There should never ever be any exposed nails. If you read the shingle manufacturer’s warranty, it is void if the roof was improperly installed which specifically includes incorrectly placed nails in the shingles.
Long story short, they tried to shrug this off as though we were being picky and nothing was wrong with their work. They never called us to discuss, until I brought up the voided warranty and demanded to speak to the owner. Nick came out and they finally agreed to replace those shingles that had the exposed nails. So the job they tried to make us believe was fine actually took them over 4 hours to fix. There are still a few areas of concern but at this point, they've still never earned our trust so we've paid them in full and would never use them again nor would I ever recommend them.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

The homeowner was given the estimate by email around Aug, 2015 – for roof, eaves, soffit & facia installation – and again on Sept 30, 2015- then the installations were verbally approved on Sept 30, 2015 – after several times of taking shingle colours to the homeowner we had waited till Oct, 2015 for them to finally choose a colour – on Oct 30, 2015 Extreme Roofing had set up the shingles and bin and notified the home owner that the work would be started Nov 2, 2015 with the installation of the roof – it took 2 – 3 days to install the shingles and a cheque for the payment of the roof was given to Extreme Roofing on Nov 9, 2015 – after receiving the cheque as payment for the roof, the warranty papers were issued to the homeowner and sure they were received along with the paid invoice – The payment in full for the roof installation is a legal notification that they agreed with the installation of the roof completion – Extreme Roofing then performed the installation of the eaves, soffit & facia on this house – the homeowner (husband) had decided he would go up on the roof to do an inspection – Note that each and every time he sets foot on the roof the warranty becomes null & void as it can not be proven the installation has not been tampered with – he then sent many picture where had actually lifted and shifted the shingles that should not be disturbed – The payment of the Eaves, Soffit & Facia was held hostage because the husband had decided that the shingles had not been installed correctly – Several times we had a technician return to the home to look and try to satisfy the homeowner that the roof was installed correctly – Extreme Roofing also had the manufacturer’s representative accompany the owner of Extreme Roofing to the site – upon which time it was agreed by all parties that an area of the roof was to be removed and re-shingled - The home owner kept saying that “someone had told him” that this was done incorrectly – someone being someone other than Extreme Roofing and unknown if they were in the roofing trade and had proper knowledge of roof installation – This was all finished before Christmas but still payment for the second part of the original work was not paid out to Extreme Roofing – It took till Jan 25/16 to receive the payment from the homeowner – and it was handed over with a few choice words from the homeowner “here is your FXXXXXX payment and don’t come back” – we will be very pleased to accommodate your request of the homeowner – Please note that the pictures that the homeowner has placed on this site no longer depict the condition of the roof, this was rectified by Extreme Roofing and is false.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

CONSUMER WARNING -AVOID USING EXTREME ROOFING

Extreme Roofing
905-709-3456
60 Basaltic Road
Vaughan
ON
L4K 1G6
CANADA

CONSUMER WARNING
I would like to send out a consumer warning about Extreme Roofing. Three years ago, we had our roof done based on an acquaintance's recommendation. We have had nothing but problems with our roof. After the two year workmanship warranty had expired, we started to have a leak in our kitchen. It got increasingly worse to the point where water was streaming out of a pot light when there was a heavy rainfall. It took months but we finally found someone at Extreme Roofing with a conscience (it wasn't the owner or the receptionist who is useless and rude). When he came to inspect the roof, he told us that it wasn't his company's work. He was shocked when we showed him the receipt and commented that he thought the job was poorly done - he would never had done it the same way. He did a patch job that did not resolve the problem as water still came into our kitchen (major damage to our kitchen ceiling). It took another month to get him to return and re-shingle half of the roof where the problem was. Thankfully, the leak stopped. Recently however, we have heard some type of wildlife in our upper roof. We called a wildlife specialist to check things out. We were then informed that the drip edge that Extreme Roofing was supposed to have installed was barely fastened to the roof, there were major gaps between the roof and the house and lots of spots where animals could enter. He showed us pictures of what he described. Additionally, there was a part of the roof that didn't even have a drip edge. Three calls to Extreme Roofing were greeted with multiple excuses and no follow through. They explained that they can't do the work in the winter time. When it warmed up, we called to have them come at that time but no one returned our call. Eventually the wild life specialist (GTA Wildlife) came back and saved the day (despite the weather). Not only does Extreme Roofing do poor quality roofing, they have zero customer service and don't stand behind their work. Happy to take your money but don't deliver on service and workmanship. Do yourself a favour and avoid Extreme Roofing.

PART 2: In response to the company indicating that we didn't pay until 4 months after the job was done...the reason for this delay was because the roofers from Extreme Roofing damaged our interlocking pathway by putting the skid of shingles on it and would not take responsibility for their mistake. The only way to ensure that the pathway was fixed, was to withhold funds until the damage was dealt with by their company. This process took much too long to resolve as the owner denied responsibility when the actual roofer admitted to his mistake. Additionally, Extreme Roofers finally sent a senior roofer to assess the work that had been done by other employees and he admitted that he was embarrassed by the poor workmanship. He never mentioned anything about ice damming. And yes...it is spite as the horrible work that was done by Extreme Roofers has caused a lot of unnecessary frustration. Had the job been done with quality and care by a company that takes responsibility for the work and employees, I would have happily given a positive review. No such luck.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

This homeowner requested an estimate in 2012, and didn’t have the roof installed until 2013. We honoured an estimate price even though the price of shingles had increased since the estimate date.

The roof was installed, and then when it came time to pay, she decided to pay us weekly payments cash a little at a time, she said she couldn’t afford to pay all at once. We had a hard time collecting payment in full from her. Her final payment was made to us 4 months later. This is not our policy, Payment in full upon completion of the job. Had she made this agreement before installation, we probably would not have installed her roof, and told her to go elsewhere.

We then did not hear from this homeowner for over a year. The water damage was pre-existing damage. When we went we found that her eavestroughs were so full of ice and snow because the homeowner had not cleaned them during the winter. We had a bad snow and ice winter that season. The ice had backed up the eaves and melted under the shingles, with the warmth of the home below this area. This is called ice damning and was explained to the homeowner, not something that Extreme Roofing is responsible for, only Mother Nature. Please note that the owner of Extreme Roofing, himself, spent several hours cleaning out the full/frozen Eavestrough during the height of the winter season, at no cost to the homeowner

Then we didn't hear from her for a while. At which time Extreme Roofing went back and re-shingled an area at no cost to the homeowner due to the ice damage, by Mother Nature’s hand. This was authorized by the company owner so people don’t put reviews like this on your website.

Therefore we not only cleaned her eaves in the winter (a cost of $500 or more in those weather conditions + HST) and re-shingled a portion of the roof ($1,000 + HST) at no charge to the homeowner.

This is a review that was written more than 2 years after we did the roof, and rectified any problems. We feel that this was revenge or spite, as the original review stated that she had seen our signs on the roadside and decided to put a review on this site. Why not put the review on when the job was first installed and she had the problems that she states, or even earlier this year when we went back to satisfy the homeowner?

Ed Kennedy in Scarborough
Ed Kennedy in Scarborough
1 review Scarborough, ON
10/10

Replacement of eavestrough and downspouts- with gutter guard.

They do a great job and the price was very good! The installer (Gimi) was very personable and took his time with this project to make sure it was right!
I will be recommending this company to family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you for your review, and thank you for your future recommendations. We are pleased to have been able to assist you in rejuvenating the look and function to your home.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Roof

Extreme Roofing
905-709-3456
60 Basaltic Road
Vaughan
ON
L4K 1G6
CANADA

First thing, is the workers who smoked while working made a mess with their cigarettes tossing them everywhere. But we dealt with that minor issue. Next, roofing nails were not cleaned up at all. A year later we are still finding nails on our property and our neighbours' properties. Needless to say we all have had several flat tires. Many attempts have been made to call Nick and Elaine, and upon hearing the address in question, they hang up the phone. Their mission statement says that they listen to each customers needs but after they have your money...well their phones don't work anymore. They are not interested in your concerns. This is taken directly from their website: "We will speak openly and directly, with empathy, respect and a willingness to resolve all issues through mutual compromise." It's been a year, and there is no respect, no willingness to resolve any issue and for speaking, not a chance. they hang up overtime, especially Nick the owner. Don't be fooled by the initial meetings whether it is Elaine or Nick. After they have your money...you are on your own.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We did apologized for the workers smoking on your property, Once the office was notified about this there was a very quick stop put to this problem during the installation of the roof about a year ago, an item that was dealt with and not needed to be made public knowledge. Approximately a year later we received a call from this customer regarding problems with nails and flat tires. Please note that any nails that might have fallen from the roof would have been caught in the Eavestrough and not fallen directly onto the ground. Yes there are at times that old nails from shingles removed from the roof will have some nails that might come off the roof. This problem should have been brought to the attention of the office at the time of happening, not a year later. At no time was anyone ever hung up on the phone regarding concerns with any kind of roof or other problems of a customer’s home. Each and every call is taken seriously, due to reviews such as these. Each time a customer calls the address, city, crossroads, phone number and the concerns are documented. Customers also do have to realize that Extreme Roofing cannot respond immediately to a phone call, it might take a day or so to prepare schedules to service that city area of concern, as well as weather conditions, we cannot put a service technician on the roof in the rain, wind or snow, safety is first priority. This home was attended to within a week of the customer’s telephone call and nothing was found. We thank you for our review and are very sorry that you felt this way, as that was never the intention of the company.

Rick in Maple
Rick in Maple
1 review Vaughan, ON
0/10

Roofing shingles

There contract states will check roof once a year for first two years. Never done. At 6 years and now 8 years of a 15 year unconditional workmanship warranty and 25 year shingle, shingles falling off roof. Called to be told they are defective IKO batch even before they asked which shingles I bought. Mine were BP shingles. She continued to tell me these were manufacturer problem as well. They do not stand by their workmanship and sluffing it off to manufacturer even though my neighbour had his done at same time and no problems.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We would like to thank you for your review. Please be advised that the inspections are performed, we can not help if the homeowner is not at home at the time it was inspected, and unless there is a problem we cannot contact every homeowner individually to report on the condition of their roof. Also note that unless the contract had a circle around the 10 or 15 year unconditional workmanship warranty, it was not purchased by the homeowner at an extra fee. If not circled the home owner has a standard 2 year workmanship warranty. Workmanship warranty has nothing to do with manufacturer’s warranty (25, 30, 40 Year Warranty). Yes this homeowner was probably told that IKO shingles were defective from this time period, as these are the calls that have been coming into the office regarding missing/defective shingles, and are all IKO shingles. If they are BP Canada Shingles that are causing this homeowner such problem, it is the first case of BP Shingles that have been defective, to our knowledge. And yes the 25 year warranty is with the Manufacturer. Most Homeowners do not understand this point. Many homeowners are under the belief that we are responsible to keep returning each and every time there is a missing shingle. At no time was this homeowner refused service. After this length of time the homeowner would have been told that there was a charge to replace missing shingles. This is normal practice by any Roofing Installer. Extreme Roofing stands behind its work, but if shingles do not seal, curl, etc., we will gladly come out and replace them for a fee, which the homeowner is informed of before we send someone out, and we do not send a service technician to their home until we have permission to do so. After a 2 year period, the homeowner has every right to choose another roofer to do the same service to his home. It is advisable that homeowners contact the manufacturer in this situation. Again at no time was the home owner refused service, and we will still service the roof and replace missing shingles if they would like to call back and have Extreme Roofing come to the home. Please be advised that there will be a service charge for replacing shingles, as we have to pay for the materials, gas in the vehicles, and the wages of the technician.

V. Sousa from Brampton
V. Sousa from Brampton
1 review Brampton, ON
10/10

Roof Work

I’ve been working with Mark from Extreme Roofing for a long time and he always does a great job and is very dedicated. We had Extreme Roofing do some work on two buildings in Brampton. They fixed a leak for us in a garage and put water protection on the roof of another building. We like their work a lot. Elaine is always very good as well. She’s great with sending emails to let us know all the information needed. I’ve recommended Extreme Roofing to some colleagues of mine already.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Was a pleasure to serve you. Thank you for your wonderful review.

D. Forsyth from Toronto
D. Forsyth from Toronto
1 review East York, ON
10/10

New Roof

We had Extreme Roofing replace our roof about two years ago. The process was efficient and the work well done. They were fast, kept the time frame that they said they’d be done in. The people were all professional and friendly, and the prices were competitive.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your wonderful review. We aim to please.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Extreme Roofing

At Extreme Roofing, we are a family owned and operated business. We would like to think that our customers are like family. Nobody wants to have an unpleasant experience, and unfortunately there are many unsavoury characters in the roofing industry. It is very easy for a customer to be unaware ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Roofing pros in Concord?