Woodpecker Services

Fences & Gates
737 Lakeridge dr Orleans ON K4A 0J8
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Fences & Gates
Woodpecker Services
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

44%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Woodpecker Services

Average customer rating:
5.3 10 (6 reviews)

Sort by

James in Toronto
James in Toronto
1 review Ottawa, ON
8/10

Amazing PVC Fencing job

Pros: Great job, deep holes, sturdy fence. No issues with quality. The gate is perfectly level. As a 1st time home buyer, I'm pretty happy.
Cons: Timing of job a few weeks past expected date.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
1/10

PVC Fence

BEWARE!!! You may save a few dollars with this vendor yet are you prepared for almost 2 years of headaches? The fence was suppose to go up within 2 months...took 7. Repairs/replacement parts were promised but that took another year. The tiny drill hole caps are falling all over and I'm now missing quite a few. Many panels are scratched and old drill holes are left open (they had to re-adjust). I hope another vendor has similar product as I don't want to deal with Woodpecker ever again. Broken promises, constant delays, emails and phone calls seldom replied, poor communications and this company left behind a mess that required hours of cleaning. BEWARE!!!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I'd like to know who this is as I would like to see the fence please. Have not gotten any calls as of recent. Nor emails. Please email me your address so we can resolve this issue as soon as possible. Sales@woodpeckerservices.ca
Thank you

JMF from Ottawa
JMF from Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
2/10

fence

We had a stressful adventure with this company. The contract was signed at the beginning of the summer last year and was only completed at the beginning of fall. It was always delayed for various reasons like not receiving the material required, not enough guys and a lot of projects at the same time. The final project finally looks good except it a couple of pieces were scratched and he promised he would come back to replace them and he never did. Email as a reminder remains unanswered until this point. The owner is a very nice guy but I simply think that he might be taking too many projects at once and has a hard time completing all with just a handful of guys.

Was this review helpful?
simmer5401 in Almonte, Ontario K011A0
simmer5401 in Almonte, Ontario K011A0
5 reviews Ottawa, ON
4/10

Fence

We signed a contract with Woodpecker Services on April 16, 2015 to have a PVC fence installed in our backyard. It is June 22nd and we still have no fence. The business does not return numerous phone messages we have left asking them to contact us. The owner, Andre finally called back this morning giving us a story about not getting the order right and supply issues. We told him to start the project asap or give us our money back. He promised to come to our home to settle this today, but now says he cannot make it. He refuses to start the project and will not give us our money back. He does not return our phone calls and messages. I have filed a complaint against the company with the BBB and will take it further (legal) if necessary.
***********************************************************************************
Follow-up
After contacting the Better Business Bureau and filing a complaint against Woodpecker Services we received a phone call from the company stating that they would be at our home the next day to start the fence. They came on Tuesday and started the fence. The project was completed two days later. The fence looks nice and an upgraded product but it was sad that we had to go to such extremes to get the company to honour the terms of the contract we signed with them in good faith. I have no doubt that were it not for the intervention by the BBB and the negative comments we put on HomeStars regarding the company that we would still be sitting here with no fence. The refusal of the company to respond to numerous phone messages was very frustrating. In the end, although we finally got the fence we wanted, I would not use Woodpecker Services for any contracting work at our home.

Review has 1 previous version
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Doug Brentmar from Ottawa
Doug Brentmar from Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Cedar fence

We had seen a fence built near our area, fortunately they had a sign advertising their work, so we called. The owner was very respectful, very fair in pricing and right away you can tell that he has alot of passion for the work he does. When meeting his employees, they are just as friendly and nice. Very clean, professional and great workmanship. And just want to make sure Andre and his team get the credit they deserve.

Was this review helpful?
PW Hughes from Ottawa
PW Hughes from Ottawa
13 reviews Ottawa, ON

First Review

7/10

Chain Link Dog Gate - rewire and fix

I recently hired Woodpecker Services to fix up the gate to our dog run out in the back yard (Aug 2013). I felt that the price was a little high (the door was a single frame of the existing chain link fence, so they only had to replace the wire for one 6' X 8' section), but I have no complaints with the worksmanship. It was very professional and the plastic cover was sturdy enough for my dogs. I'd buy from them again.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Fences & Gates pros in Orleans?