Fresh And Clean Carpet Cleaning

Carpet & Rug Cleaning & Repairing
160 Cidermille Ave Vaughan ON M6P
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Carpet & Rug Cleaning & Repairing
Fresh And Clean Carpet Cleaning
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

62%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Fresh And Clean Carpet Cleaning

Average customer rating:
7.8 10 (27 reviews)

Sort by

linda & Peter in Toronto
linda & Peter in Toronto
1 review ,
10/10

BAsement carpet cleaning

I first used "Fresh & Clean" about 10 years when we moved into our new Toronto home. They call once a year (never more!) to offer their services, but never with annoying sales pressure. THey are pleasant, accomodating, efficient and thorough. The price is very reasonable. They recognize customer loyalty with discounts and keep impeccable records of each visit. They remind me what I had done last time! This company follows the good old fashioned beleif in customer service and are good at what they do.

Was this review helpful?
Peter in Downtown Toronto
Peter in Downtown Toronto
2 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Carpet cleaning

I hired this company to steam clean my wall-to-wall carpeting and specialty clean my Persian rugs. The steam cleaning of my carpeting was adequate, if somewhat perfunctory, and took about 20 minutes. Several hours later, I entered my bedroom to replace the furniture, and discovered that a chunk of plaster had been knocked off my wall. Worse, the chunk was nowhere to be seen--it had completely vanished. Normally, I would have simply been annoyed (the walls are painted in two colours that will be very hard to repair), as I recognize that accidents do happen; but given that the technician had obviously seen the damage and decided to conceal it (as bone-headed a move as anyone could possibly make), I was more than annoyed, I was positively offended and insulted.

I called the company the next day and told them about the damage, and they refunded the full amount of the steam cleaning. I told them, however, that the issue wasn't money, it was honesty; and that as a result of this incident I wanted my Persian rugs returned immediately, as I didn't want to do business with them. Then their next big step into a cow pat: "Sorry, we can't do that--they've already been cleaned." (!!) Given that the technician had told me it takes 10 to 12 business days from pick up to return delivery to the customer--AND that this was the busy Xmas season, as I was reminded by the technician when he made the sale--I knew that this was simply absurd. So I decided to give them enough rope with which to hang themselves. I called their office the next day and asked how long it takes to deliver rugs once they've been cleaned, and was told that it takes three days (basically the drying time). Sure enough, my rugs were not returned after three days. Nor after, 4, 5, 6, or 7. In fact, it took them the 10 business days they said it would take, which confirmed what I believed about their claim that the rugs had "already been cleaned" within a day. When the rugs were finally delivered, I challenged the technician about this; and after turning beet red, sweating profusely and stammering a few awkward responses, he lamely told me that he thought that "you didn't seem to be in a hurry to get them back." How he knew this I'm not quite sure, and why you wouldn't want to exceed customer expectations by returning the item much earlier than promised (especially after having damaged my wall) is another Fresh and Clean mystery--but that was the only explanation he could manage.

The next week I wrote a polite but blunt three-page letter to the president of the company. I got a phone call about a week later in which the company offered to have a contractor repair the damage, which I declined, as the it didn't merit a contractor and the problem was not repairing the plaster but finding the matching tones of paint. I then explained that the issue for me wasn't the damage at all--it was the (ridiculous) attempt to conceal it, followed by the bold-faced claim that my rugs had already been cleaned when they obviously hadn't been. The woman I spoke to then claimed that she had checked the invoices and that the rugs had been cleaned when they said they had been. When I pressed for an explanation of why they took so long to be returned to me, she told me that "Oh, G______ often takes two weeks to return his carpets." Well, another fanatastic claim, and one that begs the question: if Fresh and Clean is able to return its carpets that quickly, why is it offering customers "rush" cleaning for an extra price, i.e., charging a premium for "rush" cleaning on the same schedule (i.e., the next day!) as regular cleaning? This is an ethically challenged company that doesn't know when to stop telling fibs, and is too thick to recognize that in doing so they are provoking disgruntled customers into action. For run-of-the-mill poor service, I wouldn't bother writing a letter or posting a review like this; but this wasn't run-of-the-mill poor service. They took a minor issue and escalated it into a full-blown incident, by showing that at a very basic level they do not respect the customer. Avoid at all costs.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

To quote you in your claim, “They took a minor issue and escalated it into a full-blown incident; by showing that at a very basic level they do not respect the customer.” I must refute that in the manner that we are not the one who in fact escalated the situation. Through the complete process of this event, we have tried to accommodate you and find a proper resolution to handle the matter. When you had first contacted us about the chip in the wall, the customer service representative followed up with the technician to have your carpets returned to you. When he contacted you, he claimed he did not know he had chipped the wall and had apologized for it, the fact that there was no drywall on the floor he explained could have very well been from the fact that when cleaning the carpets with the vacuum, the machine would have sucked up the debris. He informed you that your rugs were put into the shop for cleaning already; the agreement upon the discount on the cleaning was arranged. The technician had attempted to make contact with you to deliver the rugs after the service was completed, but found that since you were in an irate state and did not connect with him to arrange a time, he waited a few days. Upon receiving your letter at the office, we attempted once more to correct the situation by scheduling to have our contractor come out to fix and repaint the wall for you. You declined and discussed with the customer service representative the possibility that the cleaner had lied about the actually day he put your rugs into cleaning. When she had informed you that we have proof, with an invoice stating the date that rugs were put in to be cleaned, you made an apology to her for having taken “a minor issue and escalated it into a full blown incident.”

Calling Fresh and Clean unethical and dumb only shows a certain level of disrespect, considering the position the representative and cleaners were put in to attempt to rectify the situation. To claim that our cleaner is a liar, when in fact we have proof to indicate that he did in fact do as he told you, is tasteless. Furthermore to tell our customer service representative you were sorry about all the fuss and only pursue this matter because you felt you were lied to, only to then write a review like this on Homestars.ca makes us feel lied to.

Clean house in Toronto
Clean house in Toronto
1 review North York, ON
8/10

Cleaning of carpets in Living room, Bedroom, stairs and Dining room

I never used a cleaning company before, but my wife asked for a professional cleaning company to clean our newly renovated house. I called Fresh and Clean and surprised at how professional the customer service person was on the phone with me, and she even gave me an appointment for the next day - NOT MANY COMPANIES WOULD DO THAT.

The guy that came to the house to preform the cleaning were great! My wife really liked the fact that they used booties while entering and working in our home. They explained to me about how stains and how they used all green products. I will use them again for sure.

Was this review helpful?
Linda from Toronto-5719
Linda from Toronto-5719
1 review Toronto, ON
10/10

area rug cleaning

great service, highly recommended! Area rug was cleaned and returned promptly. Cleaner had friendly attitude and was helpful when furniture needed to be moved. Very reasonable prices and good customer service.

Was this review helpful?
batia from t.o.
batia from t.o.
2 reviews Toronto, ON
2.8/10

upholstery/carpet clean

Twice have used this company. If someone does something to you once-its their fault twice, and its your fault!

I made the mistake of letting them in a second time on a promo offer. Agent tells me after he 'cleaned' the couch some stains need more workso he hands me a bottle of cleaner and says"maybe you can try in a couple days". Is their something wrong with this picture?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I am the owner of this company. I have pleasant service reps answering the phone till 9PM Mon-Fri.
My own personal cell phone number is left on the after hours voicemail.
I have every customer called after the job to assure customer satisfaction. We don't always reach everyone, but we try.
I have to wonder why if something so rude occurred you would not call the company?
Furniture has to be dealt with with extreme caution. When you try and be a hero holes, tears and texture changes occur with the fabric being cleaned.
We await your call so we can see what we can do to remedy the situation.

Neil from Upper Beach-699
Neil from Upper Beach-699
6 reviews Toronto, ON

First Review

2.8/10

Duct and sofa cleaning

After using these guys twice, I think I've finally learned my lesson. After moving into my new house, I called on them to come and clean my ducts. However, instead of using their truck to power the vacuum, they used a portable vacuum which left rubber marks all over our hardwood floor. Later, I called them again to steam clean a sofa and some chairs based on a promotion they were running. However, I was told by their cleaning guys that my chairs didn't meet the specifics of the promotion and that I would have to pay extra for what I wanted. While the company tried to make ammends for the situation, by offering me a $10 coupon, they have yet to return a number of my calls about this situation. There seems to be a definite disconnect between the guys who do the work and the people who take the orders.

Was this review helpful?
CathyR
CathyR
31 reviews Toronto, ON
2.8/10

Carpet Cleaning

Ugh! I will NEVER use this service again! Although the man was very nice, and told me what was happening every step of the way, it took him 6 hours to do a one hour job. His equipment kept freezing because it was cold that day, but shouldn't the company know that sort of thing? It took over 48 hours for the carpets to dry, and when they did there were stains left on the stairs and in one of the rooms (they did come back and fix the room).

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Carpet & Rug Cleaning & Repairing pros in York?