All Weather Windows Renovations

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
18550 118A Avenue NW Edmonton AB T5S 2K7
Write a Review
Write a Review


InstagramFacebook
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

80%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars

Reviews for All Weather Windows Renovations

Average customer rating:
8.4 10 (360 reviews)

Sort by

Larry
Larry
0 reviews Sherwood Park, AB
6/10

Front door and two widows

Sales support was good and the dispatching was good but
I find it hard to believe that it took 4 months to get my doors and windows. I paid 50% up front so about $5,000. I may be wrong but I am pretty sure this is a cash flow management tactic were they bank my money for a couple of months before the factory actually gets the order.
The installation was sub standard when the installers removed my old casings they ripped the dry wall paper and refused to take ownership of the damage
If I was looking for windows I would consider All Weather but I would recommend shopping around as the installation was the failure mode

Approximate cost of services:
$10,000.00
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hello Larry, thank you for your feedback. This is definitely not the level of customer service that we strive to provide and thank you for alerting us to this issue. We want to help correct the situation, but we will need some more information to do so. Please email us at reviews@aww.ca so that we may gather more specific information to help address your problem. Thank you again for providing your experience. Best, Fay

KHalldorson
KHalldorson
0 reviews Sherwood Park, AB
2/10

Front Door, Side Door and Large Window Replacement

Had numerous issues with replacement project and would not recommend using this company - promised delivery extended by 8 weeks, large dining room window installed with different window molding than rest of windows in house also window casement lock handle broken, front door with side lights had different window molding than door window molding, garage man door was also replaced - original door was 32 inch and 36 inch door was supplied and agreed to the install of larger door which did not happen for 6 weeks. Install crew did not clean up after work completed - did not even remove window decals

Approximate cost of services:
$10,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Mr. Halldorson, thank you for your feedback. This is definitely not the level of customer service that we strive to provide and thank you for alerting us to this issue. We will investigate this matter further internally and review with our customer service team. I do know that we don't remove the window decals at this time because they are required to be on the product for many people utilizing the Greener Home Rebate program. Thank you again for taking the time to reach out to us. Best, Fay

Lindsay in Edmonton
Lindsay in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
1/10

Patio door

We ordered and had installed a new custom sized patio door about 5 years ago. initially everything went as planned. Since though we have had to replace the sealed glass insert 3 times because the seal went and was starting to get foggy between the glass.
This last go around, I called in March to let them know the seal was gone again in the replacement they installed a few years ago. First they tried to say I would need to pay cause their warranty only covers the glass price not the delivery and Installation. In the end they agreed to cover the whole cost and would order the new glass. Booked me for June install and the morning of the install called to say the window wasnt in the warehouse so they needed to rebook.rebooked for October and had to apparently reorder the glass. Fishy if having to reorder I think. Today was install day and the morning of the Install I get another call saying it isnt ready again!! We will rebook you for December.Im just annoyed and frustrated at the amount of time Ive spend dealing with all the cancellations and lack of organization as well as the poor product. Why have i had to replace my glass 3 separate times in the matter of 5 years? They should know before install day that this glass isnt ready and contact me before the day of. I will continue to watch my patio door and call when problems arise with the glass but i will never use All Weather Windows again.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,500.00
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hello Lindsay, thank you for your feedback. This is definitely not the level of customer service that we strive to provide and thank you for alerting us to this issue. We want to help correct the situation, but we will need some more information to do so. Please email us at reviews@aww.ca so that we may gather more specific information to help address your problem. Thank you again for providing your experience. Best, Fay

Dan
Dan
0 reviews , AB
2/10

Window and Door upgrade

The main thing I will say about AWW is that they are EXTREMELY poor after sale communicators. We went with AWW as one if the best rated windows in Canada, and although they have just been installed, that quality seems to be holding true. I see other reviewers have had post install issues, so we'll have to wait and see.

As suggested, the sales end was excellent and we felt very comfortable with the choice we made. I will also be quick to say that the installer (subcontracted) also did a great job and we had absolutely no complaints there. Indeed, if only those 2 aspects were being reviewed, i'd have given a 4 or 5 score. As it is, they are the reason I still gave a 2 instead of 1.

Where AWW totally fails and truly deserves a score of 1 (0 if it were an option) is in project coordination. When we ordered the windows, we were warned there would be a good delay in construction as like so many other areas, there was high demand but slow productivity due to post covid issues. We were OK with that as we were assured with our mid April order, the install would be late July, early August.

So we waited, and waited, and waited. Finally having heard nothing by Aug, we reached out to AWW for an update. This resulted in a booking of install for mid August. When the day arrived, we were advised by the installer the 2 doors we ordered were on back order and no idea when they would be ready. Then during install, it was discovered that one of the basement windows was not built to proper measurements, so with the old one torn out, a piece of plywood had to be put in the opening till a new window could be made. Then we noted a hole in the screen of one of the kitchen windows. The installer said that would be replaced but would that would have to be coordinated through AWW.

So now we expected to hear back from AWW on how each of these 3 issues would be addressed. A week later, nothing heard so we made an inquiry. From this we were told both the replacement window and door would be ready in about 2 weeks, but nothing about the screen. So we ask again about its status. We were asked to confirm which window the screen was on, which we did. Then nothing more heard. Two more emails asking for updates go unanswered.

Two weeks later we come home from a shopping trip to discover our doors had been delivered and were just left at the side of the garage. I contacted AWW very unhappy that $3000 doors were left sitting outside where they could easily be taken. Answer was they tried to call but couldn't reach us on either our home phone or cell so couldn't even leave a message (both were in perfect working order).

Now frustrated to the nth degree, I sent an email to the sales rep outlining all the issues above. I asked that, as reconciliation, could the storm doors we bought be installed at no cost. Only answer was AWW could not be held responsible for the delay in delivery of doors as that is 3rd party company accountability. So my recommendation is, if you want doors, skip AWW and go direct to a manufacturer.

To make a long story shorter, after doors and windows finally in, we sent 2 more emails about the screen, both unanswered. We also sent 2 emails to their finance as we wanted to finalize payment so we could have a receipt needed to take advantage of the government green energy grant worth $5000. Again, no answers.

Finally we went to the office. We paid and were promised a new screen would be delivered...not holding my breath for that. So as you may gather, based on our experience, we definitely would not recommend AWW. Although product and installer are great, this seems to be a company that does not communicate and could care less about its customers. I pray we have no future issues as based on our experience, I'm not optimistic this company will honor its "best in industry" warranty.

Approximate cost of services:
$20,000.00
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hello Dan, thank you for your feedback. This is definitely not the level of customer service that we strive to provide and thank you for alerting us to this issue. We want to help correct the situation, but we will need some more information to do so. Please email us at reviews@aww.ca so that we may gather more specific information to help address your problem. Thank you again for providing your experience. Best, Fay

ralph
ralph
1 review Edmonton, AB
10/10

Living room window

We had All Weather Windows install a Living room window last week and again Bill and Tammy did a great job. This is the third time we've had All Weather Windows install windows in our house and these two have installed each time. They are a great crew and do exceptional work. Cleanup was great and they went beyond our expectations in keeping our house and yard clean. Anyone getting windows installed by this company should request Bill and Tammy.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,000.00
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback Ralph! Best, Fay

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
1/10

Bay window replacement

Im not usually one to write reviews, but feel like I need to share our experience with All Weather Windows. We started out with high hopes as a lot of the reviews online seemed positive. After deciding on what windows we wanted for our front living/dining room it was hard to get a hold of our salesman to actually place the order and put the down payment on the windows to start getting them produced (about a week of phone tag, this should have been foreshadowing for what was to happen). After a 5 month wait (which we knew going into it that they were backed up for installs), the installers finally came to put in 5 new bay windows in our front living room. After installing the first window, the installer noticed that 3 of the 5 windows were made improperly and had a different sill depth than specified. They took the bad windows back and remade them to the proper spec (which took another week). Mistakes happen, I get it, but the follow up after was atrocious. The salesman called after a week to notify us that the windows were corrected, and to reschedule the install, but when I called back I could not get a hold of him for a month delaying our renovation even further. Multiple calls, voicemails, emails, to no avail. All the while our contractor is waiting for the windows to get installed to finish our living room reno and putting everything further behind schedule. It finally took our contractor contacting All Weather himself and speaking to a manager to get our salesman to call back and apologize for the miscommunication, and get them back out to install the windows. No additional discount was offered for all the waiting and runaround on their end, almost 7 months later we finally have our windows in. Lets just hope they hold up or they honour their warranty if issues arise in the future. The product looks ok, but overall we were not impressed and the service has soured us on the whole experience. I would definitely recommend you go elsewhere.

Approximate cost of services:
$4,500.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello there, thank you for your feedback. I understand that you reached out via social media and our team has forwarded your concerns to our customer service manager for response. Best, Fay

Bernie123
Bernie123
0 reviews Calgary, AB
2/10

Product

Window lasted 2 years and the sash is falling apart. I cannot open the window because it falls apart. I have called and left messages by phone and email - no response

Approximate cost of services:
$6,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. This is definitely not the level of customer service that we strive to provide and thank you for alerting us to this issue. We want to help correct the situation, but we will need some more information. Please email us at reviews@aww.ca with your full name, address and contact information so we can investigate further. Thank you for providing your experience with us. Best, Fay

Anna in Prince George
Anna in Prince George
1 review Edmonton, AB
0/10

AVOID All Weather Windows at all costs

Placed a $13,000 order of windows from All Weather Windows and I won't be doing that again. There is a great lack of communication from management and overall TERRIBLY POOR customer service. If you need your windows on time for a renovation or project, All Weather Windows cannot be depended upon. Maybe you have to pay $100,000++ to be treated properly??

All Weather Windows recently replaced twelve windows for me in one of the rental properties that I property manage (six windows in each of my main floor suites of this property). I wanted to take some time to provide feedback on my experience.

To start I was in contact with Renovation Sales Consultant Peter. He was knowledgeable and responded to me quickly and efficiently. I made it clear to him that I needed six of these windows urgently. I am aware he couldn't guarantee anything, but he did say he put a rush order on those windows specifically. This was very important to me because this suite had scheduled renovations to occur starting May 2, 2022. These renovations could not take place until after the windows were installed.

Peter did not put me in contact with the department who would be handling my delivery and installation. One morning while I was at work I missed a phone call. When I had a chance to check my voicemail I discovered that delivery of six windows was taking place that day. Not only that - the delivery person said he would be at the duplex in half an hour. I was given absolutely zero notice or heads up regarding this delivery. Thankfully my tenants were home and able to accommodate the delivery, but it came as a surprise to them as well which is a great inconvenience. As a landlord you need to give your tenants adequate notice for repairs and maintenance; and All Weather Windows totally disregarded this fact.

Furthermore, I made it very clear when I placed the order that I needed one side of the duplex windows urgently, and it didn't matter when I got the windows on the other side. As mentioned previously, renovations occurring on one side are halted until we get the windows installed. This surprise delivery delivered to us the one side of the duplex windows that were NOT urgent.

Of course I was thankful that some of the windows had arrived, as it was earlier than anticipated in the original timeline. That being said there are large issues with communication at All Weather Windows. You never know - your product might just randomly show up at your doorstep! Mitch, a Customer Service Professional reached out to me to apologize for this, which I appreciate. However when I inquired as to why the windows I needed urgently weren't delivered first, he had no response for me. Nor did he proceed to look into it further or communicate to me a timeline on those other windows without my inquiring further.

The other set of windows arrived on April 26 and were set to be installed on April 29. I was thrilled about this, because despite other hiccups previously, the windows were set to be done by my deadline of May 2, 2022. However, I started to suspect something was wrong when I had not received contact with the installer on the morning of April 29. I had saved his number from the prior installation on my other suite (yet another piece of information NOT provided to me by All Weather Windows) and so I gave him a call. It was then that he made me aware that he was sick and couldn't complete the job. He said he left me a voicemail the day before but when I inquired as to the number, it was not the correct phone number. He said he simply used the phone number provided to him on the sales invoice. Here was ANOTHER mistake by Peter of the Sales team.

The installer did go to the duplex and talk to my tenants about the change in schedule. He had arranged with them that he would come a day later on April 30 to do the installation. While I appreciated that the installer did find a solution, he had no business talking to my tenants regarding a sale that was between me and All Weather Windows. I am the landlord who makes my tenants aware of changes in maintenance schedule, not All Weather Windows. Contacting them directly is not only a breach of their privacy, it is a huge inconvenience for them. Dealing with disgruntled tenants due to the incompetence of All Weather Windows was not how I expected this process to go.

In my opinion there were many other ways to remedy this issue so that I didn't have to deal with it on the day of installation. The installer could have reached out to both Mitch (Customer Service) and Peter (Sales) to find my correct contact information and ensure I was made aware of this change. We had been emailing back and forth quite a bit and I could've been easily reached that way.

After this contact with the installer, I reached out to Mitch to update my contact information and make sure that everyone had the right phone number so that no further errors occur. I explained the situation and delay in installation, and he had no knowledge of the change. This left me wondering - is there absolutely NO contact between various departments of All Weather Windows at all? Mitch did apologize for the delay and mix up of information, but the conversation still left me very frustrated.

To further this frustration, six hours after my conversation with Mitch, I received a voicemail - this time from Dianne, Customer Service Supervisor. She informed me that due to his sick call, the installer will not be coming on April 30. I tried to call her back but no response. She said in her voicemail that "she doesn't have the scheduling in front of her" so she can't give me another installation time. Seriously? You guys mess up this bad and can't even bother to accommodate me with another installation date? She assured me that she would "make sure that Mitch calls me back on Monday to reschedule".

All day Monday there was no call back from Mitch or Dianne. I had to follow up with him on Tuesday and he didn't have a finalized installation date for me until Wednesday (May 4). The windows are finally installed today. This is not due to a material issue - which Peter assured me was the only thing delaying installation - the windows have been sitting outside on my property since April 26. This, in turn, caused another problem - the windows were not covered from the elements and it resulted in them becoming extremely dusty and dirty. The installers did not bother to clean them before installation, instead just did a quick clean once they were installed (only after I insisted upon it). Had no one been there to check the windows, who knows if they even would've been cleaned?

While I realize that timelines are not guaranteed for window installation - this whole process would've been made easier had each department of this company kept in better communication. Both with each other and with their customers. I'm really hoping this can be rectified in the future but based on my experience I highly doubt it.

This entire process has been an absolute gong show and the customer service was severely limited to entirely non-existent. I definitely expected to be treated better after placing a $13,000 order. There was no effort to correct the mistakes made with any level of urgency. It has resulted in the renovations on my property being delayed two weeks.

I own a property management company and was hoping to be able to use All Weather Windows for a few of my other properties if all went well on this duplex. Unfortunately as you can see this is far from the case. I am sad to say that I will not hesitate to share my experience with the rest of my team and various contacts in the area. DO NOT USE ALL WEATHER WINDOWS. BOTTOM LINE.

Approximate cost of services:
$13,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Anna, thank you for your feedback. We understand that you have been in contact with our team about this matter and we will forward to our Regional Manager as well. Thank you again for taking the time to reach out. Best, Fay

Kathie in Vancouver
Kathie in Vancouver
0 reviews Vancouver, BC
10/10

Exterior doors

AWW replaced our windows years ago and we were very happy at that time so we called on them to do our exterior bungalow doors. From the sales estimate and right through Mitch and then Russ the installer we were very satisfied with the results, timeliness, and professionalism.

Approximate cost of services:
$3,800.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Kathie, this is great to hear! We will relay this back to our team internally. Thank you for taking the time to let us know; we appreciate your feedback so much. Best, Fay

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Window Installation

AWW installed 11 windows in total. From first visit, with salesman Graham to final installation, all people associated with our install were professional, courteous respectful of our property and of Covid protocols. Installation dates given us were very timely and the windows and crew showed up exactly as specified. The crew did an exceptional job installing the windows and finishing the interior casings. Our space was respected and left clean. One small widow was incorrectly measured but a reorder was placed immediately by Kurt and arrived in a timely manner on the date given. A different crew came in to finish up our project and their workmanship and professionalism equaled the first crew. Me concern was paying the account in full for an incomplete job. AWW offered a holdback without our even asking. In construction there is often unplanned issues and they can either be a deal-breaker or affirm professionalism in how they are handled. All emails were answered the same day we inquired of any questions or concerns. We fully recommend AWW based on our positive experience.
Jim

Approximate cost of services:
$11,000.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Jim, this is great to hear! We will relay this back to our team internally. Thank you for taking the time to let us know; we appreciate your feedback so much. Best, Fay

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about All Weather Windows Renovations

All Weather Windows Renovations specializes in the manufacture and installation of windows and entry doors. We offer highly energy-efficient windows and doors that:
• save you money by reducing your energy costs up to 12%.
• help keep your home comfortable all year-round.
• reduce outside noise, and, depending on the amount of humidity in your home, will have a lot less condensation in cold weather.
• make a real difference in protecting the environment.

All Weather Windows’ InstallationMasters™ certified installers ensure professional installation:
• Five-year installation warranty.
• Comprehensive product warranty.
• Licensed, bonded, insured, WCB-Certified.
• Convenient year-round installation, even in winter!
• Knowledgeable staff ensures the job is done right.

ENERGY STAR® awards include: 2018 Sustained Excellence; 2015, 2013, 2011 & 2010 Window & Door Manufacturer of the Year; 2012 Participant of the Year.

Recognized as one of the 50 Best Managed Companies in Canada 9 years and running.

CATEGORIES
Windows & Doors Installation & Service
PRODUCTS
Windows, garden/patio doors and entry doors. Apex series offers exclusive V-weld techology that virtually eliminates air and water leaks.
SERVICES
Window, garden/patio door and entry door installation
BRANDS
Apex Alloy, Apex, Titan, Horizon, Versaille, Vantage, Viscount, Strong Arm II
STYLES
Windows: Glider, Double Hung, Single Hung, Bay & Bow, Awning, Casement, Fixed, Picture Entry doors: steel, luxury woodgrain, textured fiberglass, smooth fiberglass Garden/patio doors: metal clad wood french doors, steel, pvc, wood and fiberglass sliding doors.
SPECIALITIES
Supply & Installation of Windows, garden/patio door and entry doors. Glass replacement services in Edmonton only.
WEBSITE
https://www.awwreno.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1978
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
1000
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque, Credit Card, Financing Available
LICENSES
Better Business Bureau, Installation MastersCSA CertificationWindow Wise
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
DIPLOMAS
Fully insured, WCB, Bonded
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
20 year comprehensive, transferable warranty.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.