Atlas Appliances Ltd

Appliance Retailers
5545 Blackfoot Tr SE Calgary AB T2H
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Appliance Retailers
Atlas Appliances Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

70%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Atlas Appliances Ltd

Average customer rating:
6.7 10 (24 reviews)

Sort by

Chetan Brar in Calgary
Chetan Brar in Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
10/10

New Dishwasher

As soon as I walked into the shop I was greeted by friendly employees that helped me find the product I was looking for. There was a great variety of products available and it took me no time to choose the right one. 10/10 would recommend!!

Was this review helpful?
Mike from Calgary
Mike from Calgary
5 reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Damaged our cabinets and horrible communication

Our microwave was broken, GE Cafe, and these guys are the manufacturer recommended service shop in Calgary. The guy came and determined that we needed a new one and moved the microwave out to our garage for us. The installer was nice and friendly, good guy. We later saw that he had also ripped the veneer off of our cabinet beside it though...

It has now been three weeks and they have never gotten back to us with a quote for a new microwave, never offered any money or to attempt to fix the cabinet (we got a quote from the installers of our cabinets for $126 to fix it). I have called them 6 times and 1 email. They have never contacted me. They always seem somewhat helpful on the phone and then don't do anything or return your calls.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Dishwasher and Fridge Repair

Brandon came to look at my fridge and dishwasher. He was able to quickly figure out what was wrong with my fridge and repair with the proper tools that he came prepared with based on what I described to the individual who scheduled the appointment. He looked at my dishwasher and told me what he thought was wrong with it and the approx. cost to fix it. I appreciated his knowledge and advice / recommendations. I would definitely recommend Atlas Appliance.

Was this review helpful?
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
6/10

Maintenance was great but poor follow up by store

My oven broke so I contacted Atlas to have someone come out and take a look. The guy was really great. He called me that morning to say he'd be out within a certain window and was there in good time. He was quick and thorough and explained as well as showed me (where possible) what the problems were. Turns out we had quite a few issues and parts that needed to be replaced. The repair guy, I think his name was Zully explained that it could be expensive to fix and replace the parts that needed replacing so it could end up being cheaper to buy a new stove. He said that Atlas would be able to check the price of the replacement parts and give me a quote for them, but they might be able to offer me a good deal on a new stove if too expensive to repair the old one. He said that usually the cost of service is not charged to my credit card until it has been decided on what the next step is to be. I waited patiently for a call from Atlas for a few days and heard nothing from them. They went ahead and charged my card without providing a quote for parts, repair or for a new stove. I'm so disappointed with the lack of follow up. Atlas has lost business from us because chances are we would have bought a new stove.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello. Sorry to hear about this delay. Our parts department should have contacted you with an estimate already. Please email Gary at gary@atlasappliances.com with your details or contact Fred or Heather in our service department at 403-259-3334 and they shall investigate and have it rectified as soon as possible. Thanks.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Dishwasher repair

Mike was great. First time he came to repair my dishwasher we couldn’t figure out how to remove the dishwasher from the new island, instead of ripping it out and causing damage on a brand new renovation, he suggested I call my contractor and would return when that was arranged. Without knowing for certain it was the pump, he ordered it anyway so we wouldn’t need a third visit.
When the new part came in, they called me right away and my contractor met with Mike to properly remove and reassemble the frame of the island to repair the pump.
Mike was courteous, professional and fixed the problem in under 20 minutes.
I was very happy with the service and customer service!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback! Mike indeed has a great personality. Thanks again!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
8/10

Oven Repair

We bought a Stove from Atlas a few years ago. Earlier this week the oven stopped working. I called them to see if we had an extended warranty, but was going to book a repair call through them regardless. The lady was able to pull up our file easily with minimal information and advised me that we had extended warranty. I was able to schedule a date for an appointment within a few days and the service technician that came was fantastic. He was respectful of our space and cleaned up all mess that resulted from the fix. He was friendly and informative and provided answers to the questions I had regarding what had happened. I had great service from all aspects of this call and appreciated that I didn't have to wait a long time to get an appointment. Thank you Atlas for the great service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank You! Appreciate the feedback.

Kyle Brodie from Calgary
Kyle Brodie from Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB
0/10

Poor customer service

I bought a fridge from Atlas over 5 weeks ago. We were told 7 to 10 days for it to arrive. Ok, no problem. 3 weeks later, no fridge and no phone call as to where it is. We call them, we're told that its back ordered and it'll be another 5 business days. We wait another 7 business days to call because yet again nobody called to inform about where the fridge is and when it might be in. 3 days ago we call again and are told the fridge would be here in a day or 2 and we'd get a call to schedule a delivery. 3 days later no fridge and no phone call updating us as to what is going on. That brings us to today. Several phone calls later without anyone calling us back we decide to drive down there to cancel the order. I brought up the poor customer service and received excuses and no apology. We won't be shopping there again.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Sorry to hear about your issues. However, we can only tell you what is being told to us. Typically, it only takes seven to 10 days to receive product but they can go on back order without us knowing about it until the incomplete shipment is received. We did advise you that it was in transit now but do understand that you no longer want to wait for it and gave you a full refund.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Outstanding Customer Service from Heather

I just want to say how pleased I am with Heather in parts/repair. We had a lot of issues with another repair company and Heather really truly went above and beyond to help us out. She was friendly, courteous, helpful and understanding. She wasn't put off by the fact that I didn't call Atlas first and still helped us out. She really handled the situation well and we are so pleased. Our repair is scheduled for tomorrow and I hope the repair person is as great as Heather.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for taking the time and effort for this feedback. It is very much appreciated.

Jamie from Calgary
Jamie from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

Washer Repair

HORRIBLE experience. First, terrible customer service. Girl on the phone is consistently snotty and rude (I have had to speak with her multiple times). Refused to give me a time for an appointment and said that I would just have to be home all day so the technician could call when he was on the way. Tech didn't show up until almost 4PM. I had to take an entire day off work because these people can't figure out how to book appointments.

Washer was being fixed as part of a recall that is known to cause house fires. Tech showed up with wrong part (he didn't even read the work order and bought stuff for the wrong recall), then tried to tell me there really was no recall on my washer and didn't acknowledge he was wrong until I told him that I had already called the appliance manufacturer to confirm that there was a recall. Again, this is a recall known to cause HOUSE FIRES and he tried to deny that it exists it to cover up his mistake. He laughed about bringing the wrong stuff and walked out of the house - no word on rebooking or anything. Still not fixed. Snotty phone girl called me to book, refused to acknowledge my service issues, demanded to know why I wanted to speak to a manager and then told me nobody was available. NEVER USE THIS COMPANY. They are awful.

I have already called my appliance manufacturer to advise them of my horrid experience and have asked them not to use this company anymore. They assured me that they had talked to this Atlas and Atlas had promised them that they would book me in on the same day the part came in because I've now been without my washer for 2 weeks. Snotty phone girl stated she knows nothing about any of this and told me they were too busy to come until the middle of next week. Still refusing to give me an actual time for an appointment and seems to think it shouldn't be a big deal for me to take YET ANOTHER full day off work to sit and wait for a repair tech who may or may not read the work order and show up with the right parts.

I will never use Atlas for anything else. I advise you don't either. They are unreliable and rude. Poor follow-up, poor punctuality, poor timelines and terrible service.

EDIT: In response to the company response below. I managed to find the recall information on GE's website... including a photo of my washing machine as there were 2 different control panels and only one (the one I have) needed the control panel. In speaking with the manufacturer of my washer, the parts you brought were for a 2012 recall, as there was only one recall in 2010 for my washer. If there was any confusion at all in regards to which recall it was then you should have contacted the manufacturer and asked... seeing as it took a week and a half for you to come to my house the first time you would have had time to order parts.

Second, in regards to your "two business days" response. You tried to book me for Tuesday. It's Thursday today. That is more then 2 business days. Also, I was never offered a weekend appointment, or I would have taken it.

Yes, the repair tech did call me at 9AM on Monday to let me know they would be there between 2 and 4.. but since I didn't get that call until Monday and I work a significant drive away from my house, I was not able to schedule my work day to accommodate an appointment that would not be known until 9AM and therefore had to take the day off. Had I been told when I booked the appointment that it would be between 2 and 4 I could have made arrangements. To be clear, the initial day off for the appointment was not a problem. I expect to need to make an appointment and perhaps to even have to wait when an appliance repair is needed. I also expect the company hired to do said repair to do their due diligence and ensure they have all of the parts required so that things go smoothly, especially when there is at least a week wait between the time the appointment is requested and the actual appointment.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Sorry to hear about your recent experience. However, I would like to clarify some concerning points. You did not have to be home all day as the technician phoned and spoke to you before 9:00 AM to give you a two hour window of 2:00 - 4:00. He was there within this time frame. The complaint we were given was "2010 Front Load Recall." GE's dealer website does not indicate any recalls for your particular model number. This is what the technician was trying to inform you. The most common recall is for a replacement and reprogram of the control module. The technician had the part necessary to rectify this recall. Once he looked at your machine, it was discovered that you require a thermistor and harness. We now have these parts and you have been booked in within two business days. We do work on weekends if you are unavailable during the weekdays. No one books an exact appointment for field service as calls prior to yours can take longer to less time than anticipated. Even when timed appointments are made at a doctor's office, I have personally waited a couple of hours in the waiting room before seeing the doctor. We must be doing something right as you still want us to service your machine even after GE offered to get a different service depot for you. Again, we apologize if you feel you were treated rudely.

Eryn from Calgary
Eryn from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
3/10

Dyer Repair

The technician was pleasant to deal with and did a good job. The office staff was difficult to deal with. I found the lady who answered the phones to be very rude and very challenging to deal with. We were told they would call us when our part was in—they didn’t and it sat there. When we called, the lady at the front office was abrupt and told us it would be another week before she could get a technician out (we had already waited over a week). She actually hung up on us when we asked to speak with a manager. Decent service from the technician but not worth it having to deal with the office staff.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Appliance Retailers pros in Calgary?