HomeStars  >  Roofing in Calgary  >  Epic Roofing & Exteriors Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.
90%
This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Quote Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
18
0
0

Reviews for Epic Roofing & Exteriors Ltd

Average customer rating:
8.7 10 (54 reviews)

Sort by

S Brown from Airdrie
1 review Airdrie, AB
1/10

This was an insurance claim, so there was no urgency to the work being completed. Was initially impressed with the first contact and subsequent material describing the process. From there it went downhill fast. Communication was abysmal, After no contact I called to find out when the work was scheduled, only to be passed from one person to the next because now someone new was dealing with the file; promised to show up one day and not arriving until days later, but without notifying us; extra ordered material was installed not as we had specified (leading to "extra" material left over!);,the office asked where the truck should be parked on installation but despite that the crew did what they wanted anyway. From ruined flower beds to picking up lunch wrappers all over our acreage, I was not impressed. The crew did work fairly quickly and a quality control visit was made a few days later.

Job Price
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Taylor from Calgary
8 reviews Calgary, AB
7/10

Roofers were polite and cleaned up themselves. They were easy to get along with. Some of the shingles were not cut evenly as seen from upper bedrooms. Not a big deal, but sort of expected a bit more attention to detail for the amount we paid. Also there was a limited selection of shingles to choose from. Overall a good company.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks, Taylor, for taking the time to post about your experience with Epic. Your comment about the limited selection of shingles raises the question of whether the options available were limited by the replacement value price range from an insurance claim or the project budget. We will be sure, based on your note, to make sure our future customers are aware of the full range of options. If you have a moment, please send some photos of the uneven cuts you can see to the project manager you dealt with so that our service techs and auditors can review them. Thanks again for your input.

Andy Chan from Calgary
6 reviews Calgary, AB
5/10

They were recommended by our insurance company, and originally were fairly helpful, but once we agreed to have them do our roof they were impossible to get a hold of. They did a decent job, but it was a huge hassle trying to finally get them to come out and do the job.

Job Price
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Andy
It has taken some time to track down a possible file based on your name alone; unfortunately, because there is not an identical match to your name it is impossible to trace your project precisely. What we have noted is a project involving a customer whose name is spelled very similarly to yours which was delayed considerably because of trying to correspond for over two months with an inaccurate email address. Then, when we were able to track down the correct email address, we had difficulty getting a response from the person actually responsible for making decisions regarding the file. Obviously, we have no way of knowing if those details applied to your project in particular, but we have listed them to demonstrate to readers of this review some of the reasons for project delays. Thanks again for using Epic Roofing & Exteriors Ltd!

Viki from Meadowbrook
1 review Meadowbrook, AB
1/10

Unreliable company that has zero customer service. We were directed to them by our insurance company and it has been nothing but a hassle to get work done. First, they do not return our calls or e-mails when we have questions. Our insurance agent had to contact them for us, and even then it took 2 weeks for them to respond to us. Secondly, they have no concept of timing. When our roof was done they came two days after the date which was agreed upon. An inconvenience for us since we had to find arrangements for our dogs so they wouldn't go nuts with all the noise. Now, over a month later we are still waiting for siding. They said have the driveway clear on Friday so the trash receptacle can be placed there and workers will commence work on Monday. The bin came on Saturday. Monday the siding was dropped off, I guess that is considered work for them. Wednesday (today) still no one has shown up. Save yourself the headache and find a company that will return your calls and knows how to schedule.

Job Price
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Wow! That's humbling, but thanks for your honesty. Our roofing division manager, would really like the opportunity to resolve the issues you have been having, but we have done so many jobs on streets or areas named Meadowbrook that we are having a hard time sorting out how to contact you and we have not been able to find someone named Viki in our contacts that is connected to one of those addresses. Would you kindly call 403-366-3770 our main number and ask for Donavan and leave your contact details so we can follow up with you? We'd sure appreciate it. The scenario you've described seems very out of the ordinary for us so we'd sure like to deal with the issues immediately. Thanks so much. It would be really helpful to know which Friday and Saturday you are referring to because we have been trying to match our bin delivery records to the details you have provided.

Andre from Calgary
4 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

Very happy with Epic Roofing. We had just bought a new home in Calgary that needed the eaves replaced and some soffit work. Quick to get out for a quote, reasonable quote!, plus professional results. Including cleaning up after themselves. I will use Epic roofers for any exterior or roofing work I need done in the future.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks, Andre. We're glad it got taken care of before winter hit!

Larry Huynh from Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB
8/10

They did a fair job with my roof but it took them a while to finish. It wasnt the most pleasant thing because I have young kids at home so it did cause some noises. However they did a good job at the roof replacements.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for posting comments on your experience, Larry. Unfortunately, noise is part of the job, but we appreciate that you were able to put that aspect of the project in perspective.

Ben
12 reviews CALGARY, AB
10/10

Hail Storm repair from 2012. Epic took care of everything from start to finish. Excellent job, any call backs were handled quickly and professionally. They did what they promised. they were on time, they didn't leave a mess, they also cleaned up the nails daily. They dealt with the insurance company and did not pressure for any money up front. They were amazing to deal with. I've already recommended them.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks, Danica, for your recommendation and encouraging words.

Tamara Dooley from Calgary
2 reviews , AB
10/10

Had our roof done through insurance last oct. after the last crazy rain I noticed a leak. Called epic, Nate came out fixed it (even though it wasn't related to original job) awesome guys!

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks, Tamara! Glad to help.

Frank from Calgary
1 review Calgary, AB
0/10

We had hail damage and called Epic out for an estimate. We had 2 houses in Cougar-ridge damaged by hail. On the first house they threw shingles all over the backyard and actually caused my neighbor to complain due to the mess they made. They broke a window when throwing shingles off the roof and then came up with some excuse why it wasn't their fault. On the second house we were charged a 1K deductible and they never did replace the roof just a few shutters and that was it.

Job Price
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Frank

Thanks for taking the time to register your assessment of the work performed by Epic Roofing & Exteriors Ltd. It is our policy to try and resolve all issues related to workmanship in direct discussion with homeowners and the insurance adjusters responsible. That said, deductibles and the terms of individual policies are determined by your insurance company; related concerns are best addressed to the agency directly.

Monica Veness from Calgary
2 reviews Calgary, AB
10/10

We were beyond impressed with the quality of work this company completed for our home. They completed the work in a timely fashion, as well as completely cleaned up the work area on a daily basis (project took about a week). You can certainly tell that this company is a pro in their industry, as well as displaying amazing professionalism with their customers. Thank you Epic!

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for your encouraging words. It is always a delight to pass such comments along to the teams involved.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Epic Roofing & Exteriors Ltd

Epic Roofing & Exteriors Ltd. is the largest Southern Alberta based roofing and exteriors contractor serving Calgary, Lethbridge, Red Deer and surrounding areas. We specialize in new roofs and re-roofs, as well as eavestroughing, siding, soffit, fascia, and cladding solutions.

CATEGORIES
Roofing, Siding, and Gutters & Eavestroughs
SERVICES
New Roofs, Roof Repair, Sloped Roofs, Trims, Siding, Eavestroughs, Fascia, Cladding
BRANDS
Owens Corning, Malarkey, Mitten, James Hardie
WEBSITE
http://www.epicroofing.ca
YEAR ESTABLISHED
2003
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
175
PAYMENT METHOD
Credit, Debit, Cheque, Financing.
MEMBERSHIPS
Alberta Allied Roofing Association, Siding Contractors Association of Alberta
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
No job too small.
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
Lifetime Workmanship Warranty
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.