Kempenfelt Windows & Doors

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
Visit our Showroom in Barrie -92 Commerce Park Drive or Newmarket-569 Steven Court, Unit 6 ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
HomeStars  >  Windows & Doors Installation & Service in Barrie  >  Kempenfelt Windows & Doors
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

83%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Kempenfelt Windows & Doors

Average customer rating:
8.4 10 (35 reviews)

Sort by

Sarah in Barrie
Sarah in Barrie
1 review Barrie, ON
10/10

Fantastic Experience

We are so pleased with the service and product we have received from Kempenfelt Windows. From the onset right through to completion of our install, we have had nothing but excellence from this company. We were so pleased with our initial meeting with Robert we knew instantly that we would purchase our windows from Kempenfelt. Tony, John our mason, and both crews that came for installation were extremely professional, personable and showed exceptional attention to detail and caring. We will be sure to recommend this company to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Thank you Sarah! We do take great pride in our work and we're happy you were pleased with our service, workmanship and quality products!

Nabraska in Toronto
Nabraska in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
5/10

All New Windows and Doors but Not A Happy Customer.

We had the owner Robert come to our home to give us a quote for new windows. We were happy about the price and decided to do our front door and patio door too. Robert was very knowledgeable and always returned my calls and addressed my concerns so I felt very assured. Part of his sales pitch was to tell us that after the install his wife makes thank you baskets and delivers them. We've had our windows for over 6 months and she has yet to graced us with her presence.

It was over 7 weeks for the install. The crew was pretty good. It tool 2 days for all the windows and doors to be installed...here’s where I get disappointed.

One of the garage windows didn’t get ordered and I had to wait another 4 weeks for the windows to go in the garage.

The crew did an okay job cleaning up but I found a lot of debris outside the house and on the front lawn that I had to clean up.

One of the hinges on the front door is broken. You can see the crew tried to silicone it back on. Door is very hard to open and the hinges keep unscrewing. Patio door is hard to close and the screen won't shut all the way.

The windows are very hard to open and close. You have to use both hands on the sliders. Very hard to lock the windows as well. I don’t know if it’s and install issue or the windows themselves or both!

The trim that was used is not good. I will have to pay someone to come and repaint every single window. There were also nails and staples sticking out of the trim that I had to pull out and repair. There are large gaps between the trim and the wall...I've never seen anything like this in my life.

For the price we paid and the wait, I will not use this company again nor can I in good faith ever recommend them. Pictures are attached...see for yourself.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear “Nabraska in Toronto”, thank you very much for your feedback. Your comments are appreciated and are taken with sincerity. We would like to respond to each of your comments as follows in hopes that you might reconsider recommending our company in the future.

As we do not have your contact information, we will not necessarily be able to address your instance specifics, but will try and provide some insights (we welcome the chance to address your concerns directly should you choose to provide us with your contact information).

We sincerely apologize you were expecting a thank you gift and that we did not come through with one, however as mentioned above we cannot address your specifics of what happened but do apologize you were missed.

Installation is dependent on time of year and is typically 6 to 10 weeks from time of our customers signing the agreement. Multiple steps take place, which I am sure you were apprised of. Upon signing of the agreement, an official measuring of your windows needs to take place, we ensure we are able to select a time convenient to our customers in order to complete this task. Then the windows typically take 3 to 6 weeks manufacturing time. At this point the windows are shipped to our location once or twice a week, dependent on the season. Once the windows arrive and we are able to schedule an install date, (again picking a time in conjunction with our customers which is convenient to them), and on the day of install, barring any issues with the weather, the install is completed in a timely manner appropriate to each individual situation.

In the instance of your garage window, all we can say is, mistakes happen in life, and as a company we do our very best, which includes a constant review of our processes. Based on your review information it appears your install happened sometime in the fall and this is the very busiest time of year for most any reputable window and door company. The typical period for a window to be manufactured and installed during the fall season is 6 - 8 weeks.

Regarding clean up, this is something we pride ourselves on. It is a consistent focus (again not being able to speak specifically to your situation), if the install happened in the fall, there is the possibility of snow being on the ground, or, in all cases sometimes no matter how hard we try we will not get all the minor debris that may get lost in the nooks and crannies of the grass, gardens, etc. If you see some of our other reviews web wide you will see a constant theme, cleanup is a source of pride and our customers in general respond favourably to our focus on cleanup. Having said that, no person or company is perfect and we do not profess to be either, no one, or company is, we just sincerely try to do our very best.

We invite you to contact us directly to address your concerns. Our attention to making it right is second to none in our opinion, and would welcome the chance to address any issues you have. The price you pay includes our industry leading warranty. So please feel free to contact us via email at [email protected], or you can call us at either 705-737-1554, or 905-895-1554. We would love the opportunity to address your concerns directly.

Sincerely,
Robert Maslen
President

Jim Willis from Barrie
Jim Willis from Barrie
2 reviews Barrie, ON
10/10

Have done business many times, latest was today - Great as usual

We always have Kempenfelt come and do anything with our doors and windows.
Our latest project was to replace the front door of our home.
The front hall used to be so dark and after working with you we came up with a nice solution with a single sidelight.
The installers just left. Have to say that John and Tyler were exceptionally neat and tidy. Their skills were exceptional looks like it has always been there.
Looks great !
Thanks again

Was this review helpful?
M from Barrie
M from Barrie
2 reviews Barrie, ON

First Review

1/10

Not Impressed At All

Paid for sliding glass door and double front doors. Within 3 weeks the post on the front door broke so now can't use double doors. For the first 3 days I couldn't even secure my front door...very stressful. Turns out it was installed improperly putting too much pressure on it. I've been chasing the company ever since (now almost 2 months) and still no repair and no one ever calls me, I have to do all the tracking down. Never an apology for the inconvenience. I can't use the double doors to bring furniture into the house. Every time I call I am told their "guys" are too busy with other jobs. Was planning to do all the windows in my house with this company but that won't be happening now. Not impressed at all with the quality of workmanship or customer service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Michelle,
We truly appreciate your feedback and your patience while we worked towards discovering the source of your issues. As we now know due to your porch foundation shifting from this year’s colder than normal stretch, the pressure of this upward force caused the system to not work as designed. We can understand why this would not be obvious & thus we are sure this contributed to the excessive force being put on the center post when opening the door in order to move your furniture, causing it to crack. We understand that initially adjusting the latch to allow the system to continue to work for the period while waiting for the manufacturer to remake the necessary post structure would seem to the uninitiated to be a very simplistic fix. However some processes are just out of our control. We do however take responsibility for not keeping you informed regularly during the process and for this we sincerely apologize. Improved customer communication processes have been adopted to improve the customer experience. Now that everything has now been fixed to your satisfaction, please do not hesitate to contact us if you should have any other concerns. As you know repeat & referral business is what any business relies on, and we truly strive to be the best we can be.
Sincerely,
Robert Maslen
President

Spydaddy in Barrie
Spydaddy in Barrie
1 review Barrie, ON
10/10

Front Door Replacement

The whole process from start to finish was truly professional. The door quality is second to none. The follow up with any questions or concerns has been outstanding with immediate response.
I have a neighbour who had their front door replaced by a “Handy Man” and it hasn’t worked properly from day one. She can’t get it rectified by the installer.
So happy we went with the professionals.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you! We strive to provide our customers with outstanding customer service and products, we are very proud to have such a great team of professionals.

Shirley
Shirley
2 reviews Barrie, ON
10/10

Kitchen windows and basement windows

I am renovating an older home. The team of Rich, Ken and Kevin were a great team of installers. They looked at the needs of the house and fitted the windows accordingly. They were friendly and helpful and they did a great job.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Shirley, we're so happy you had a great experience, we truly appreciate your feedback. We are very proud to have such a great team of professionals who care so much.

Janet Morin in Barrie
Janet Morin in Barrie
10 reviews Barrie, ON
10/10

Living room window

Kempenfelt Windows gave me a fair quote for my living room picture window. They arrived on time, completed the job in a few hours, and did a good job of cleaning up afterwards. The window looks great!! I would recommend their products and services.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Janet! Our business was built on providing customers with the best possible products and outstanding service, we truly appreciate your feedback, this is exactly the experience we strive to achieve with each of our customers.

NicoleLangevin in Barrie
NicoleLangevin in Barrie
1 review Barrie, ON
10/10

Fabulous from start to finish!

KW Logo Burgundy Background 2013-02.jpg Kempenfelt Windows & Doors
705-737-1554
92 Commerce Park Drive
Barrie
ON
L4N8W8
CANADA

Absolutely fabulous service right from the beginning! Mark in the showroom was very knowledgeable and helpful. He listened to our needs and as we changed our minds 5 different times, happily wrote us up new quotes each time. He kept us up-to-date on possible install dates, suggested their electrician and brick layer they work closely with as we had a big job ahead of us and made sure we were always in the loop. Everyone involved in this job from Mark, to the brick layer, to Andre (the electrician), the labourers, the install crew, to Tony (boss man) everyone was just fabulous. Having any sort of renovations done is stressful but they all made it quite painless. Tony also came on the last day on the install and made sure everything was up to par and Mark stopped by the day after to check things out and brought us a little gift from the owners. Kempenfelt is the best choice for your window and door needs! Great job guys!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Nicole! This is exactly the experience we strive to achieve with each of our customers. We're very proud to have such a wonderful team of professionals.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Kempenfelt Windows & Doors

Kempenfelt Windows & Doors in Barrie and Newmarket provides customers with premium quality, high performance products and outstanding service at a competitive price. What started as a simple vision two decades ago is what now defines us as Barrie's favourite window & door company 19 years running.

Our professionals work with you to determine an appropriate solution for your unique requirements, providing guidance every step of the way. Although we install windows, entry and patio doors and garage doors of exceptional quality, that doesn't mean they come with a high price. We ensure the best product possible for the lowest price possible every day.

We provide and install the finest energy efficient Windows in a vast selection of styles, shapes, sizes and colours, steel and fiberglass Doors and Garden Doors in a wide range of styles and glass patterns, energy efficient and attractive Sliding Patio Doors, and the highest quality Garaga Garage Doors with one of the best reputations in the industry. Our manufacturers include Euro Vinyl Windows & Doors, Rehau, Dorplex Entry Systems, Vista Doors, Garaga Garage Doors, Weiser Door Hardware and more.

At Kempenfelt Windows & Doors we provide our customers with a comprehensive list of products and services, from free no obligation in home estimate to custom installation, regardless of where you live (Barrie, Innisfil, Alliston, Oro, Beeton, Tottenham, Angus, Elmvale, Newmarket, Orillia or Wasaga Beach). Experience the difference, contact Kempenfelt Windows & Doors today.

CATEGORIES
Windows & Doors Installation & Service
PRODUCTS
Windows (Casement, Fixed, Slider, Hung, Tilt & Turn), Entrance Doors, Garage Doors, Patio Doors, Porch Enclosures. All available in a multitude of colours and styles.
SERVICES
Installation and service on all products purchased.
BRANDS
Euro Vinyl Windows & Doors, REHAU Design, Dorplex Industries, GARAGA Inc. Garage Doors, Vista Patio Doors, Nissen Aluminum Products
STYLES
WINDOWS: Casement, Fixed, Slider, Hung, Tilt & Turn. ENTRANCE DOORS: Heavy gauge steel, Fibre Glass, Single Doors, Double Doors, Door and Sidelight, Door & 2 Sidelights, Any combination of door with Transom on top. PATIO DOORS, GARAGA GARAGE DOORS, SCREEN DOORS, PORCH ENCLOSURES
SPECIALITIES
Quality Products at competitive prices.
WEBSITE
http://www.kempenfeltwindows.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1994
PAYMENT METHOD
Cash, Cheque, Credit, Financing OAC
MEMBERSHIPS
BBB, Chamber of Commerce, Board of Trade
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
PROJECT MINIMUM
no minimums
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.