Sun Ray Hot Tubs & Patio Edmonton

Formerly Sunray Manufacturing Inc
Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs
7509 72a St Edmonton AB T6B-1Z3
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs in Edmonton  >  Sun Ray Hot Tubs & Patio Edmonton
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

63%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Sun Ray Hot Tubs & Patio Edmonton

Average customer rating:
6.6 10 (21 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

New Hot Tub Cover

I purchased a new hot tub cover from Darrel O’Bertos at Sun Ray Spas. Although it took quite a long time to manufacture (2.5 months - due to supply issues), the finished product was well worth waiting for. Darrel was wonderful to deal with - very courteous, helpful and prompt in
returning calls. I was very pleased in my experience with the company, and in particular, with Darrel’s professionalism and service.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Disappointed in Edmonton
Disappointed in Edmonton
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
0/10

Dissappointed

Ordered a hot tub over 30 weeks ago. Paid in full and was promised 8-10 weeks delivery. Constantly get the run around when I call,they refuse to give a refund. I can't believe a company like this stays in business. BUYER BEWARE!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
mwgedmonton in Edmonton
mwgedmonton in Edmonton
0 reviews Edmonton, AB

First Review

10/10

Hot tub / maintenance

Blair, the man who actually comes to the house to help you with the hot tub issues, is AMAZING. Such a great guy and a huge asset to the company.
The tub itself is extremely high quality and we enjoy it on a daily basis.
Support local!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hello,
We are so glad that you are enjoying your tub on a daily basis!
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding Blair, our products, and our supporting local economy.
We really appreciate your business!!

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Hot tub service

I have older Sun ray Spa I bought new, which required some work to get going following winter shutdown. I attempt the work myself with assistance from Don at their shop, but ended up having them do a service call. They sorted it out quickly, service was day after booking, and service guy Blair was great. It has been a great reliable tub and now I can say the same of their service. I intentionally bought a locally made spa and it paid off.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hello,
We are so happy to hear that your older Sun Ray Spa is now back in action!!
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our Service Department and we hope to see you soon.

Bob in Edmonton
Bob in Edmonton
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Hot tub purchase

Brad was easy to deal with and listened to what we wanted.So far after sale service has been great.If anybody is looking to purchase a hit tub I would recommend Sunday Manufacturing. A great quality tub!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Hello Bob,
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to seeing you in the store.

Tlashmore in
Tlashmore in
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
0/10

Hot Tub Cover, Extremely Poor Service

Sun Ray Hot Tubs & Patio Edmonton
780-669-4194
7509 72a Street
Edmonton
AB
T6B 1Z3
CANADA

We ordered a new cover for our hot tub in mid October 2016. We were told it would be ready in 2-5 weeks, and our credit card was charged in full. 6 weeks later, we called to find out where the cover was, and were told that there was a problem getting the foam and that the cover would be slightly delayed. This led to MONTHS of being given the runaround - told it would be just another little while, or staff answering didn't know anything about it and nobody who did was in the building. Calls were never returned, just months and months of us calling and getting nowhere.

Finally, on March 1, 2017, I lodged a merchant complaint with our credit card company to get our nearly $700 back. A couple of weeks later, we started getting phone calls that our cover was ready to be picked up. My husband called back and spoke to Graham, who agreed that they would deliver the new cover free of charge in return for our inconvenience. We agreed to revoke the merchant dispute once the cover was at our home. We subsequently received more phone messages stating that we should come pick up our cover. When my husband called to schedule the delivery we were promised, again nobody there knew about it, and we were promised a call back from Graham, which of course never happened.

Yesterday we received a letter from our credit card company stating that Sun Ray had responded to our dispute by stating that our cover had been ready for pickup since March 23. They also had accused me of having hung up on them when they called to tell me (never happened!)

My husband made the decision to go today to pick up the new cover just to get this all over with. In fairness, the cover is as ordered, and seems to be of good quality. It's just a shame it took so much hassle, stress and broken promises to actually receive it.

We were previously happy in our relationship with Sun Ray, and had previously had good experiences with their service department, and while purchasing maintenance items. This experience, however, has left a bitter taste in our mouths, and we will be taking our business elsewhere in future.

After seeing a review posted elsewhere, my husband received a call from Graham offering us $200 in store credit, which he accepted. I appreciated their attempt at compensation for our time and trouble, and so I edited the review to include this.

Unfortunately, after I refused to remove this review entirely, we have been informed that the $200 in store credit has been revoked, and we have been "red flagged" in their computer. Apparently this was not an attempt to make up for poor service, it was an attempt to buy a better rating.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Mrs. Ashmore,
We have apologized for any production delays multiple times and explained that our supplier installed a new computer system which delayed some overseas shipments that prevented us from finishing your cover. Furthermore, your Salesperson has appeased your husband however it seems that you have a real problem with forgiveness. Yes, we have red flagged your file in our system and attached this review as you have indicated that you will be taking any of your future business elsewhere. We are very disappointed that you have chosen to disrespect a local business and jeopardize the livelihoods of all the employees that work at the Showroom, Service Department and Manufacturing facility and not to mention their spouses and children.

george metez in Toronto
george metez in Toronto
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

hot tub

purchased my hot tub from sunraye 16 years ago and still going
over the time only had a few parts wear out , pump & motor
cost of up keep is under $2000.00 ( works out to under $10.00 per month ). wish my vehicle was that cheap to maintain

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Jay D in Ponoka
Jay D in Ponoka
0 reviews Morinville, AB
10/10

Old Part Issue

Just want to say thank you to Blair. He was excellent to deal with. I was not very good at explaining what I needed, but he took the time to listen and help me work through it. He had to dig to find what I needed and DID HE COME THROUGH! Very friendly. Obviously enjoys his work and good with people.

VERY MUCH APPRECIATED!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Fran in Edmonton
Fran in Edmonton
0 reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

No Longer waiting for Hot tub cover

Sun Ray Hot Tubs & Patio Edmonton
780-669-4194
7509 72a Street
Edmonton
AB
T6B 1Z3
CANADA

This problem has been resolved as of January 30,2017 . Thanks to Graham from Sun Ray .Ordered a hot tub cover Sept 27,2016 .. was told if I paid more then 1/2 it would likely get done faster . Paid $400 .. we were told 4-8 weeks .. we are still waiting ,every time we call they tell us there is a styrofoam shortage and the cover is made but they do not have any styrofoam .. 13 weeks and counting ...

Was this review helpful?
Angela in Red Deer
Angela in Red Deer
0 reviews Red Deer, AB
0/10

Hot Tub Lid ordering Fiasco

Ordered a light grey hot lid on November 3 and was told it would be ready in 2-3 weeks. After 3 weeks passed my husband went in and asked for an ETA. They said another two weeks. He went again after the two weeks and told it would be another two weeks. On December 26 I posted a review of Sun Ray on Facebook regarding the lack of customer service since we never received any call or update from Sun Ray. Received a call from Sun Ray on December 26 and told it would be ready in early January. On January 6 I received a Facebook message saying the ordered would be complete the following week. On January 23 my husband inquired again where the lid was and was told he was 15 on the list. I received another Facebook on January 25 saying the lid was ready for pick up. My husband to pick it up and it was the wrong colour. After some discussions, the sales manager D said to take the brown lid and use it until the grey one came in.
In a heated discussion with the owner he said the lid could not be used and we could either keep the brown lid with the complimentary bromine tablets or return the brown lid and wait for the grey lid. I stated I wanted to return it all and get my money back. The owner said that wasn't possible.
I contacted Visa and they said we could go through them to get our money back if we returned the brown lid. I attempted to return the lid and they refused to take it back. I refused to leave the premises until I had it in writing that the grey lid would be here by February 3 or we would be permitted to return the brown lid and get a refund. The owner refused.
We now have a brown lid that we don't want and no guarantee that we will have a grey one any time soon. The owner has stated it will be in by February 3 but refused to put it in writing that if it is not there by then we could return the brown lid and get a refund.

UPDATE: as of 5:12 pm Sun Ray owner called my husband and said "the deal is off" due to me posting what has happened thus far. Apparently the owner feels that refusing to take a return of an incorrect product and promising a refund if the correct product is not provided is unreasonable.
UPDATE: Have been advised to cease contact with the company other than if they take the incorrect lid back and exchange it for the correct one by February 3.
UPDATE: Have been advised to cease contact with the company other than if they take the incorrect lid back and exchange it for the correct one by February 3.
UPDATE: at 4:45 pm on February 3 we called to see if the lid was in. Was told the lid was in but would not be released until the owner talked to my husband. No call received. A dispute has been put in to Visa so we can return the brown lid and our money back.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Sun Ray Hot Tubs & Patio Edmonton

Sunray Hot Tubs & Patio Edmonton is a manufacturer of Hot Tubs and Spas and supplier of high quality Patio Furniture in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. By choosing our wide range and selection of Hot Tubs and Spas, it keeps our local people working and those funds stay in our own ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.