Red River Furnace & Duct Cleaning

Heating & Air Conditioning
4-564 Osborne St Winnipeg MB R3L 2B4
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Heating & Air Conditioning
Red River Furnace & Duct Cleaning
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

26%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Red River Furnace & Duct Cleaning

Average customer rating:
3.5 10 (6 reviews)

Sort by

LAURA in Winnipeg
LAURA in Winnipeg
1 review Winnipeg, MB
0/10

Duct cleaning not performed by contract

Company names Super Value Home Services (http://www.supervaluehomeservices.com) and Red River Furnace & Duct Cleaning (www.redriverfurnace.com}

Scheduled "duct cleaning package" with options for add ons as encountered on 20/December 2018. Jason presented as "expert for 18 years, values integrity of his work, blah", proceeded to show 3 initial photos after spending about 5 minutes to scan, yes, ducts needed cleaning. I am 67 with respiratory issues and wanted ducts cleaned. 15 minutes later with more photos, not included in package and my son visiting agreed so 3 supply ducts for add on of $150. 15 minutes later, more photos of unhealthy mould, smokers residue, etc., for addon of ~$300 for anti-microbial fogging used in Winnipeg schools, blah. Declined as we didn't know enough about herbal thyme. Then blower fan for $50. Barely 1.15 hours they left with my home filthy, the shop vac filter had been spewing, Hiroshima-like explosion, setting off smoke alarm, and fire department alarm till I turned off. No regard to clean up, only, sorry and left.
Complaint is a 2-day nightmare. My son removed filter to replace with new and shocked to see duct debris piled high next to furnace that was blowing in hot air where I live. Called immediately and Kelan, service operator on phone explained he would try to track down someone to investigate. I insisted that I had paid and wanted immediate action. About 2 hours later "expert Jason" returned and claimed it was Company names Super Value Home Services (http://www.supervaluehomeservices.com) and Red River Furnace & Duct Cleaning (www.redriverfurnace.com}

Scheduled "duct cleaning package" with options for add ons encountered on 20/December 2018. Jason presented as "expert for 18 years, values integrity of his work, blah", proceeded to show 3 initial photos after spending about 5 minutes to scan, yes, ducts needed cleaning. I am 67 with respiratory issues and wanted ducts cleaned. 15 minutes later with more photos, not included in package and my son visiting agreed so 3 supply ducts for add on of $150. 15 minutes later, more photos of unhealthy mould, smokers residue, etc., for addon of ~$300 for anti-microbial fogging used in Winnipeg schools, blah. Declined as we didn't know about product. Consumers beware, especially fellow seniors if you don't have someone to recheck work as my son discovered after the crew left that work was not performed. See photos of duct debris not removed & $150 addon to remove from supply duct, again, not removed. This review didn't post but second half is, please read on. Horrible 2-day nightmare.

happens. They left and later my son dismantled areas that looked suspicious using his iPhone camera. The 3 ducts ( charged $150) weren't cleaned, the main duct was partially cleaned, it escalated with my son now on phone to Kelan at Red River Furnace & Duct Cleaning that he sent photos where ducts were not cleaned.
Kelan asked me why I didn't include these new discoveries as they only go out "once" and I was insisting a "second" review with potential additional cost to me. I paid for "full duct cleaning" NOT "partial duct cleaning" and this company charged over $500 for 1.15 hours.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

We had never previously done work for this client before, so we set them up for our Standard Residential Duct Cleaning Package. This package is regularly $299.95, but we had it on sale for only $259.95 + taxes. Our Standard Residential Duct Cleaning Package includes the cleaning of the two main ducts (1 hot and 1 cold) and up to 15 vents. When scheduling in appointments, we let clients know they are scheduled in for the Standard Residential Duct Cleaning Package and that we do a walk through on site to let them know how large their ventilation system is. If their system is larger, we let them know right away about the additional components in their system and of additional premium products and services available for purchase on site. We also email out all of the appointment details to our clients after they schedule in their appointment to make sure everything is documented in writing and they understand what they are scheduled in for. This email includes what service and work they scheduled to have done, what is included, and informs them that if they choose to add on any additional premium products or services, there would be an additional charge. All additional work available to be done is brought to the client's attention and it is their choice if they would like to have the additional work done or not.
During the walk-through it was determined that her system had 3 Sealed Joists that were accessible to be cleaned. Sealed Joists are not always visible in every home, as some homes have finished basements and they are not able to be accessed. In this client's home, they are accessible and were recommended to be cleaned. The client agreed to have them cleaned, so they were cleaned on site. Sealed Joists are $50.00/each to be cleaned; the 3 Sealed Joists resulted in an additional charge of $150.00. Our Technician also recommended having the Blower Fan in the furnace cleaned as it was quite dirty. This was also approved and charged at our Standard Rate of $50.00. Our Company prides itself on the amount of options we have available to our clients. We simply make recommendations and educate our clients on what we have available and then it is their choice to make a decision that they feel comfortable with. In this case, we did recommend that they also have an Anti-Microbial Disinfectant applied to the System after the cleaning had taken place and it was declined, which is definitely not a problem. We have lots of clients that choose to add on premium services that they value, but we have those that feel more comfortable sticking with the Basic Standard Packages. At the end of the day, we want to make sure that they are happy with the choices they make and feel value for the money they entrusted to our company to perform the cleaning for them.
This client contacted our office shortly after the initial crew had left her home and expressed concerns about there still being debris in her system and in the filter. Duct Cleaning is not 100% dust removal, but rather dust reduction in a system. There is currently no method on the market that allows the removal of every single dust particle from a system as there are large portions of the system that are inaccessible as they are behind the walls of a home. Duct Cleaning allows you to access components that can be accessed to remove as much debris as possible from a home or business. Also, having dust in your filter after Duct Cleaning is not uncommon; we have the following in writing on every Duct Cleaning invoice.
"It is recommended that the furnace filter be checked regularly for the first 4-6 weeks after duct cleaning. It is not uncommon to have some hard to extract dust and particles to become dislodged after the actual cleaning takes place and the furnace is engaged."

We do a have Written Guarantee though, so if a client does have any concerns, we come back as soon as possible within 14 days of the original service date to re-inspect the system and re-clean any components that may have been missed or not completed up to the client or our standards. We were able to send the crew back the same day, 2 hours later, and it turns out that the Cold Air Drop was missed. We immediately cleaned it, apologized for our error and thought that the client was happy.
The following day, the client contacted our office again expressing concerns, but this time about the photos our Technician showed her on site and whether or not they were actually taken in her home as her trust for us as a Company had been eroded. When photos are taken in a client's home, we make sure that we also have a copy of them and attach them to the client's work order. So we were able to email them to her that morning and assure her that if she looks at the properties of each photo she will see a time stamp for when the photo was taken as well as a geographic stamp showing that it was taken in her home. She then emailed us back within half an hour alluding to us editing the information for the photos to make it look like it was taken in her home. Furthermore, she now had concerns as to the vehicle that attended her home to do the work, the Technicians wearing shoes in her home for the service, and more components her son said were not cleaned properly. The vehicle that attended her home was a Truck Mounted Duct Cleaning Vehicle. We have both Truck Mounted and Portable Units at our Company as we service many different types of homes and businesses and it allows us to access all of them. It was noted on her work order that the staircase to her basement was very narrow, so we sent a Truck Mounted unit so that we would be able to still do the cleaning. In terms of the Technicians wearing shoes, they wear shoes at all Duct Cleaning Jobs for safety reasons, but they are required to have two pairs of shoes with them each day. One for outside and one for inside. We want to be respectful of clients and their homes, as it is in our best interest to make sure they are happy and taken care of so that they will want to use us again, as well as refer us to their friends and family! In terms of there being more components that weren't cleaned properly, we could not ascertain over the phone whether or not the debris they were describing was in the components that we cleaned or not. So to prevent there being any doubts in their minds or ours, we set them up with a second re-service appointment for that same day, which was the day after their original service.

We did send a different crew out for the second re-service appointment, Eric and Reid, and their report did state that there was some debris that was able to be removed from one of the client's main ducts, so this most certainly was a workmanship error. The report also noted that they did need to vacuum up some debris that was in a room upstairs. In these situations, we want to rectify the situation as soon as possible, apologize profusely, and then we also place credits on the file of these clients as we want to be respectful of their time and inconvenience. Our initial crew definitely did make some errors, and we acknowledge that and take full responsibility for that. We take client feedback very seriously at our company. Each client that has an email on file with us is contacted within 3 to 4 business days after a service is completed with us to see how everything went, how the Technicians were and if they would recommend us to their friends and family. We are intentionally proactive about seeking client feedback, as we would rather know about an error today and try to rectify it, than have a client never call us back again and we are never given the opportunity as a company to improve. Furthermore, we also set up random Quality Control Inspections as well to make sure that our cleaning is meeting and exceeding our Company Standards to ensure Client Satisfaction.

This client is seeking a full refund for the work that was done. She is claiming damages to her health for having debris that was generated in her home there for an additional 24 hours. As soon as we were made aware of her concerns, we addressed them immediately and took them seriously. We did rectify the situation and all of the components that she paid to have cleaned have now been done with excellence. We do not have a Money Back Guarantee; our Written Guarantee is that we will return once more for free within 14 business days to go over any areas of concern. All people and companies make mistakes, but whether or not they learn from them and grow from them is another thing. We pride ourselves on our desire to learn and grow from our mistakes. We do also want to make sure that we are respectful of our clients' time, and so we have offered to give this client a credit of $100.00 on her account with us. Our credits never expire and can be applied to any of our services. Our desire would be that we are given another opportunity to do work for her and change the opinion she has of our company into a positive one!

Connie Dimen in Winnipeg
Connie Dimen in Winnipeg
1 review Winnipeg, MB
1/10

Paid 3 times original quote for 10 times the headache

They called the morning of to reschedule and push back our 830am-12pm. We had a 230pm appointment at our son’s school for but they assured us they would be able to come just after 12 and be done in time for us to make our appointment. We call 130pm to and they said they told us between 1230-4pm but come closer to 4. They finally show up at 4:45pm. The work was originally quoted at $230 then my husband was blindsided by additional costs which was fine but not worth having to keep 3 kids out of the house during supper in very cold weather (90km gusting winds so couldn’t even take them to a park, had to drive them around city). After being blown off by a manager and customer service rep when we voiced our displeasure about the poor scheduling and inconvenience another manager offers a $30 credit on a future service and call us after he investigates what went wrong with scheduling to prevent this type of inconvenience again. No one calls us back so after a few weeks my husband calls to remind them someone was to get back to us and they say they talked about what went wrong with scheduling with their team and will use our experience to improve service. My husband asks if the $30 credit can be put toward our second payment for the current billed service and they decline. In the end our inconvenience was not worth it.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Connie,

This is the second review you have written about this same service. I have submitted the same response as from your previous review. I have looked into your situation and our records show that we did in fact come in the afternoon to do the duct cleaning for you, but we did speak with your husband in the morning to ask permission to come in the afternoon rather than the morning for your appointment. We are very sorry that this caused any inconvenience to you as we never want to inconvenience any client and pride ourselves on being respectful of our clients' time. We absolutely do not require clients to be out of the home during the cleaning; most people are home during the duration of the cleaning. As for the price of the service; we do email out details of every appointment that is scheduled in to let you know what is included in the package you signed up for and to let clients know that if they choose to add a premium product or additional work/service to the order on-site there will be an additional charge for it. Our records show that your husband was the one that booked the appointment, was home for the appointment and had the majority of the interaction with our company. We did extend a $30.00 credit as we want to make sure that all of clients are happy; this is a good will gesture and can be applied to any future work with our company. It never expires and will always be on your account. Our hope is that you will choose to allow us in to your home again to be of service to you and that we can earn your future business back. The price on the duct cleaning can certainly be controlled by not approving to have the premium services done next time, and just going with the basic package. Having the additional work done is always recommended and beneficial, but is not always in the budget. Our job is just to let you know all the options available and you choose which options (if any) that you'd like to go with.

If you have any further concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us to discuss.

Sincerely,

The Red River Furnace & Duct Cleaning Team

Dan from Winnipeg
Dan from Winnipeg
4 reviews Winnipeg, MB

First Review

8/10

Duct Cleaning

Our house is older and some of my family has some allergies, so we needed our ducts cleaned. A friend recommended Red River Furnace and Duct Cleaning. I was happy with their price and professionalism. We are all breathing easier after they cleaned our ducts.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Dan,

Thank you for choosing us for your duct cleaning needs and taking the time to write a review about your positive experience with us! We hope we can be of service to you in the near future!

Sincerely,
The Red River Furnace and Duct Team

Morgan Knight from Winnipeg
Morgan Knight from Winnipeg
2 reviews Winnipeg, MB
7/10

Furnace Fix

Good Service! The job was done very fast and didnt cost that much. They were early, and the follow up was just as great. I would reccomend this for a fast and affordable job!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Good Afternoon Morgan! Thank you for taking the time to provide us with positive feedback on the experience you had with our company. We are glad we could have been of service to you! We do have a Referral Program as well now, so for every new client you refer to our company, you will receive a $30.00 credit on your account. You can truly earn free services!

Sincerely,
The Red River Furnace and Duct Team

Mohammad Khan in Winnipeg
Mohammad Khan in Winnipeg
1 review WINNIPEG, MB
5/10

Cleaned my ac system

Cleaned my ac system, changed my air filter and checked to see if my thermostat is working properly. Good service but its something you can DIY. A lot cheaper if you DIY

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Mohammad, We're glad that you were happy with the work that we did for you, but are sorry you didn't find value in the money you spent on the service. We hope we can be of service to you again in the near future and show you better value for your money!

Sincerely,

The Red River Furnace and Duct Team

Tru From Winnipeg
Tru From Winnipeg
1 review Winnipeg, MB

First Review

0/10

Duct Cleaning

Used this company for my duct cleaning and I must speak out about their poor custumer service, after they where finished they didn't even offer to clean up the dust particals on the floor.

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Tru,

We're so sorry you weren't completely satisfied with the service that was done for you! We always want to make sure we leave a client's home the way we found it, and are truly sorry this was not the case for you. We encourage you to contact our office at your earliest convenience to speak with a manager or supervisor so we can have an account of your experience on file. We would love the opportunity to earn your trust and business back!

Sincerely,

The Red River Furnace and Duct Team

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Red River Furnace & Duct Cleaning

Red River Furnace and Duct Cleaning is a Winnipeg based company specializing in Furnace and Duct Cleaning since 1985. Servicing over 35, 000 residential and commercial properties in Winnipeg and its surrounding areas. Over the last 32 years many duct cleaning companies have come and gone but Red River Duct ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Heating & Air Conditioning pros in Winnipeg?