Maria Tomas

1015 11 Street SW Calgary AB T2R 1G2
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars  >  Furniture in Calgary  >  Maria Tomas  >  Lack of Integrity when confronted with poor service
Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Calgary, AB

Lack of Integrity when confronted with poor service

For the record, I have purchased more than $7k worth of patio furniture from MT in 2017 and earlier in 2021 returned to purchase more patio furniture and accessories to the tune of another $7k ish. I say this so the review is seen in the light of a returning customer who has had a prior good experience.

In summary,
a) we ordered fairly large patio sectional and asked for cushions and fabric to be resistant to rain and the elements similar to patio cushions we have in the front of the home. We were provided with cushions that retain rain water for a week or more with the water pooling in the bottom of the cushions. A complaint to MT was met with feedback that we were specifically offered the option of quick dry foam but we turned it down due to 'added cost'. This was a patent untruth but given its a 'he said, she said', let me offer the reader some countervailing facts a) we are talking about patio furniture for a new $200k patio with $50k of appliances b) we separately ordered custom cushions for a built in custom banquette on the patio and obtained quick dry foam and c) MT agrees we referenced our interest in mimicking the weather resistance of our front patio cushions and their quick dry nature but thinks somehow we overrode that in the specification. They are ignoring facts and creating their own truth. We have not sought redress or compensation, we merely pointed out this was not what we asked for and their response was we were provided the option and declined.

b) we ordered protective covers for the sectional and the cover we were provided is about twice the size, hangs poorly, fits poorly and looks poorly, We were told that there was not a good fitting cover by the sectional manufacturer given the mix and match nature of the sectional but never told that what was available would be a poor fit. We have now learned that the sectional manufacturer does make custom covers, we were never told about that and upon recent enquiry were told that MT decided we were unlikely to want to wait on custom covers, so never told us instead presuming we would settle for poorly fitting and looking covers.

c) the sectional was ordered in February 2021, delivered as promised but MT neglected to order the clamps which then arrived some 6-8 weeks later. (the clamps hold three sectional pieces together). A emailed question on status went unanswered and while I have the copy of the email, MT now says they know of no such email. Ignoring facts again.

Very disappointed with the quality of service but even more disappointed with their lack of professional integrity when confronted with the situation. A mark of a good organization is how it handles problems, dont expect MT to rise to a problem situation.

We have now hired a custom cushion maker in Calgary to re-make cushions and weather proof covers for us, so incurring additional costs.

The CEO was contacted but has chosen to stay silent.

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Sir, in fact, you were dealing directly with an Equal Owner of the the company. She is more than adept at dealing with any issues that arise. You are correct in your assessment that this has become a "He Said/She Said" situation...Our perceptions differ on this situation. You and your spouse were provided with professional advice, the upgradeable options and possible alternatives, before you made and confirmed your purchase(s). We have always done our best to satisfactorily resolve any issues with in reason. With-in our 20 years of operations, our exemplary and positive reputation and reviews stand heads above any dissatisfactions. It is unfortunate we are unable to meet your expectations. Regards. J. Riley, Co-Owner of Maria Tomas Corp.