Reliance Holmes Heating And Cooling Ottawa

Heating & Air Conditioning
5-1050 Baxter Road Ottawa ON K2C 3P1
Write a Review
Write a Review

HomeStars
Heating & Air Conditioning
Reliance Holmes Heating And Cooling Ottawa
Star Score
Learn more about how StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company's review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency.

91%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Indicates how well a pro reacts to reviews and review-related interactions with Homeowners.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
Verified by HomeStars
Best of 2019 winner 5 timesBest of 2019winner 5 times

Reviews for Reliance Holmes Heating And Cooling Ottawa

Average customer rating:
9.2 10 (774 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Bathroom fan

Serge provided quick and professional service.
He also did another job for us while he was here that was a last minute request. Definitely recommend these guys.

Approximate cost of services:
$350.00
Was this review helpful?
Maitham
Maitham
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
0/10

Very bad experience

Furnace repair

I had them diagnose my furnace on May 31, 2022. Their technician said the furnace fuse is blown and replace it. The furnace started working.

Then he said the condensation pump is dead and I can replace it for $320. This pump sits outside the furnace and just needs the simple hand connection of the condensation pipe and, of course, to be plugged. He said if I buy the pump, he will waive the diagnosis fee of $99+tax. I agreed and paid $320+tax=$361.60. After he left, I wondered how much the pump is elsewhere and was surprised to see is $85 at the big home improvement stores.

Effectively, they have charged me 3x the price of the pump. I am very upset and disappointed, and will never deal with this company anymore. I have my water boiler rented from them too that I will switch to another company.

Approximate cost of services:
$361.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback. You are welcome to email me at gwillson@reliancecomfort.com with your account details or full address and I will be happy to follow up on your concerns. - Gemma

Michael.pritchard
Michael.pritchard
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

Thermostat

Call reliance emergence office on Sat night my furnace was acting up they said they would have a tech at my house between 8.00_4.00 Mon tech arrived at my house 8.00 wore a mask and rubber boots over his work boots thank you. Andrew was the Teck found problem was thermostat replace explain T'stat to me very polite thank you

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Michael, thank you for choosing Reliance Home Comfort and thank you for your support! I am glad to hear of your experience. Thank you! - Karen

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
0/10

Not Impressed

Their HVAC tech showed up, did a quick look, stated that he couldn't find any information on the model or serial number and that it would be impossible to find a replacement part for the old furnace. Then he contacted a sales rep who then showed up and gave me a absurdly high verbal quote to replace the furnace. This "service" cost me $100. So.... I check the furnace panel and found the model and serial number and then the motor part number myself (the ones their Tech couldn't find) and contacted another HVAC company in Ottawa who replaced the part not the entire furnace the very next day.

Approximate cost of services:
$100.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your feedback. If there is anything I can assist you with please email me at gwillson@reliancecomfort.com - Gemma

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Electrical and Plumbing repairs

I was considering cancelling my maintenance contract with Reliance but first called them to fix a faucet and a pot light fixture.

The service was so excellent that I decided to continue with the contract. Both services were booked in the same time window. The trades persons were on time, friendly and helpful. They seem to love their jobs, which tells me they are being well treated by their employer. I like to support this kind of business.

I don't have to go through BBB ratings to find a service provider I can trust. I'll stick with what works.

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for choosing Reliance Home Comfort! We are grateful for your support. - Gemma

René
René
1 review Wendover, ON
0/10

Central ac

Do not use this company. I always made my payments on time and they put a lien on my property for no reason without telling us. DO NOT USE THERE SERVICES.

Approximate cost of services:
$6,000.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I’m sorry to hear about your disappointment. Please email me with your account details at gwillson@reliancecomfort.com and I will be happy to follow up on your experience. - Gemma

Chris
Chris
0 reviews Ottawa, ON
0/10

Water heater repair

I rent my water heater and it quit Tuesday. I called for a repair and they told me “maybe Saturday”. Why do I pay a rental if I can not even get service? Almost five days without hot water and I have two young kids!! Terrible service.
I asked for service tips so I could trouble shoot myself and they refused to give me any advice. So now I have no hot water and I am expected to just sit and wait for an 8am - 5pm Saturday appointment?? TERRIBLE

Approximate cost of services:
$100.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

I’m sorry to hear about your disappointment. Please email me with your account details at gwillson@reliancecomfort.com and I will be happy to follow up on your experience. - Gemma

Sharon from Nepean
Sharon from Nepean
5 reviews Ottawa, ON
2/10

Incorrect equipment

Our written contract with Reliance specified a Rhem cased evaporator coil to be installed with our new Rhem air conditioner. Instead Reliance installed a third party uncased coil. Multiple calls and emails to them to rectify the situation have gone unanswered.
Service: AC installation

Approximate cost of services:
$5,000.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Sharon thank you for your valued feedback. We have been in touch regarding the coil. - Gemma

JGDavidson
JGDavidson
2 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Tricky Diagnosis

We called Reliance to deal with a failed gas based tankless water heater. It turned out to be a tricky bit of diagnostic collaboration between many members of the Reliance team to get to the bottom of the issue. The people we interacted with at Reliance were all very professional, courteous, and genuinely had our best interests in mind. They were unwilling to move ahead until they were confident they had identified the most likely cause. We are extremely happy with their efforts and want to send a special shout out to Andrew, Tyson, Ryan and Jake for a job well done.

Approximate cost of services:
$200.00
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for sharing your review. ~Nicole

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Vancouver, BC
0/10

Fixing a Lennox furnace/water heater

The combination Lennox furnace/water heater at my tenant's apartment stopped working, and I called Reliance and set up a service call. After arriving the technician started disparaging Lennox products to my tenant, saying they had cheap parts. He then called me and told me that service parts for Lennox combination furnaces/water heaters were hard to get, and he would call his manager to see if he should walk away from it. I started to ask if the parts could be obtained from a Lennox dealer, but he just hung up. A short while later he called me to tell me that his manager said I should call a Lennox dealer. When I asked him if he knew one in the Ottawa area, he said "We don't give recommendations" and hung up.
When my furnace and water heater need replacement, I will NOT get them from Reliance since, ironically, I found them to be unreliable (not to mention rude).

Approximate cost of services:
$0.00
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello, I am sorry to hear of your experience, if you would like to speak further, please email your account details, and a further description of your situation, I would be happy to help. Thank you, Summer – smckay@reliancecomfort.com

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Reliance Holmes Heating And Cooling Ottawa

At Reliance Holmes Heating & Air Conditioning, the safety and well-being of both our Customers and our Team Members is always our top priority. We are actively monitoring the Coronavirus (COVID-19) situation and are taking precautionary measures to aid in keeping our communities safe. We have implemented strict safety protocols to provide both our Customers and Team members with peace of mind during this challenging time. We continue to provide the exceptional customer experiences we are so well known for and want you to know that we are here for you when you need us.

To help with prevention, we are taking the following precautionary measures to protect our Customers.
888-837-1451 is a TOLL FREE No., please feel free to contact!!

Our Team Members have been equipped with an ample supply of:

* Hand sanitizers
* Disinfectant wipes
* Masks
* Single-use gloves
* Boot covers

We know that this is a difficult time for all and we want you to know that we will be there for you and are taking all the necessary precautions to keep you and your family comfortable and safe.

Reliance Holmes Heating and Air Conditioning is one of the largest and best known HVAC sales and service providers for many reasons, including:

We've been in business for over 45 years since
We're one of the largest HVAC contractors in Ottawa,
Many of our products are eligible for an assortment of government and manufacturer rebates
We sell and install only the highest standard of heating, cooling and air quality products and services.
We offer comprehensive repair services and protection plans to keep our customers comfortable year-round.
Our HVAC technicians are some of the best-trained professionals in the industry.
We genuinely care about your well-being and will work hard every day to earn your business and trust.

Furnace Repair and maintenance,
Air conditioner repair and maintenance,
Boiler & Water Heater repair and maintenance,
Fireplace and pool heater repairs,
Duct Cleaning,
Protection plans,
Furnaces,
Air Conditioners,
Water Heaters,
Tankless Water Heaters,
Boilers,
Hydronic Heating,
HEPA Ventilation Systems,
HEPA Filtration Systems,
Epurair Media Filter,
Humidifiers,
Heat Recovery Ventilators (HRV's)

CATEGORIES
Heating & Air Conditioning, Solar Panels, Solar Water Heating, Water Filtration & Purification, and Plumbing
PRODUCTS
Furnaces, Air Conditioners, Water Heaters, Tankless Water Heaters, Boilers, Hydronic Heating, HEPA Ventilation Systems, HEPA Filtration Systems, Epurair Media Filter, Humidifiers, Heat Recovery Ventilators (HRV's)
SERVICES
Furnace Repair and maintenance, Air conditioner repair and maintenance, Boiler & Water Heater repair and maintenance, Fireplace and pool heater repairs, Duct Cleaning, Protection plans,
BRANDS
SmartAir, Carrier, Rinnai, Buderus, HEPA, Epurair, Honeywell, GeneralAire, vanEE,
WEBSITE
http://www.holmesheating.com/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1962
MEMBERSHIPS
Better Business Bureau (A+ Rating),Heating Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Institute of Canada,
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.