While the quality of the actual stairs that were supplied are fine, this companies performance in all other areas left something to be desired.
- Were very late in arriving onsite to take measurements, and when I finally called they apologized in that Gus had been caught in a traffic nightmare. I have no issue with the fact that traffic caused an issue, rather the point was: where is the communication?
- On the day of the agreed installation, no one showed up. I called, left a message and the call was never returned. Ever!
- The next day I called and confirmed a new installation date, and again they were late. It was only when I called did they provide an update and an alternative time.
- Upon arrival for the installation, Marcelo pointed out that there were a number of structural deficiencies with the framing, joists and headers around the existing stairwell - much appreciated!
- After the removal of the old stairs and the installation of the new stairs the deficient structure shifted significantly and may have rendered the situation unsafe. Yes, Marcelo put in a few screws to after the fact to hold it together, however should remedial action not have been taken before the removal of the stairs was initiated? I think so.
- The crew finished up and departed without any sort of review of the situation. The attached pictures is how things were left.
- I reviewed the situation with Rocio the next day and was told that the installation was "well done" and "done properly" Since this is a home and not a construction site, I had expected a finished installation, rather than one that required a final visit by a carpenter completely nail in the top riser and to install a nosing.
Yes, it's a 110 year old house that is not square, and that was not constructed to today's standards - it's not going to be be perfect. Nonetheless, all other high quality trades I have used so far have adapted, discussed, and worked around these types of issues - with a lot of communications - so that the end result was always complete, and a significant improvement over what the situation was before they started - including limitations dictated by the issues surrounding an older house.
in summary: The quality of the stairs themselves are good. Very poor communication and ability to adjust/ adapt to non-standard situations.
- Company Response
Thank you for your feedback. As I stated before a brand new squared staircase will not fit properly in an old house due to the uneven walls. There is nothing that a any stairs manufacturer can do at this point, your walls are not square, that is a fact that you have to accept. There are not adjustments to be done in this situation, unless you re-do the existing walls, and that is not a responsibility of Stair Star. That will be a decision that only you can make. Regarding the communication: I responded to your concern about the stairs installation within 24 hrs. To my knowledge, this is a very good response time. And you were very well communicated in advance of all changes regarding Gus's visit and installation date. It's unfortunate that you are reporting something else right now.