This review has been flagged for verification.
This review has been flagged for verification.
Our home is a typical 3 bedroom 1978 bungalow located in NW Calgary. When purchased, we already had two existing window shutters—one in the master bedroom, and one in the spare bedroom. These shutters were installed by a different company, and are approximately 20 years old. After using the shutters for three years, and turning the third bedroom into a nursery, we wished for another shutter to be installed.
At this point, we contacted a few shutter companies, and in the end we decided on Rolco Rollshutters. This was due to timing, price, and the 45 years of experience. We had the owner out to our home within a week, and we agreed on their quote, with a deposit of half the total. After about another week, the installer came and put up the shutter. So to review, initial phone call, in home quote, and installation all done within two weeks. The remaining amount was paid, and we were happy with our new shutter.
Two months later…
The interior upper guide for the tape falls out of the wall, and now hangs off the tape. This left an unsavory hole in the drywall. Now being uncovered, we were able to see the “handiwork” of the technicians. The exterior port was drilled crooked for the tape, and there were four holes drilled in for the guide, despite the mount requiring only two screws. It looked like extra holes affected the structural integrity of the area. It appeared to be a simple fix.
We contacted Rolco and spoke to Jeannie on May 12, 2017 and Grace on May 19. Pictures were also taken and sent in on May 12. We were expecting an expedient resolution of the issue as it was a small repair, only 2 months after installation, and because of the warranty found on the Rolco website.
Rolco Rollshutters Inc. warrants this product against defects in material and workmanship for 10 years and agrees to repair or replace any items found to be defective due to faulty workmanship or manufacturing error with the following limitations:
1. All moving parts are warranted for one year from the date of install. Electric operators and electronic equipment are guaranteed for 3 years with the exception of damages caused by faulty or improper wiring by owners or other forces.
Clearly, faulty workmanship was the issue at hand. Too many holes in the drywall weakened it, and thus the guide did not hold. Unfortunately, the initial conversation did not go as expected. Rolco was adamant about having a meeting between the owner and the technicians to determine “their side of the story” and how to repair it. As it was our 14 month old’s room and further use would continually damage the drywall, we were frustrated, and did not understand why this meeting of the minds was required. An installation was done, a guide fell off, and repair was required. Surely, with 45 years of experience, fixing a bit of drywall, reinforcing the area, and reinstalling a guide was within Rolco’s capacity.
It has now been two months, and not once has Rolco contacted us with a follow up or an update. We have contacted Rolco on four separate occasions between May 12 and June 12, asking for an update on when a technician can be sent. Frustration would be the best description of all the conversations. They can be highlighted by the following bullets.
• We need to set up a meeting with the owner, the installation technicians, and the admin staff to hear the other side of the story.
• “We didn’t forget you, your invoice is on the top of the pile on my desk…we will call you.”
• “Your house is old, and the drywall is crumbly.” Insinuating that the home is the reason the guide fell out.
• “Did you guys pull on the tape too hard to rip out the guide? We have never had a guide fall out before.”
• “You can call every day, I will have the same answer for you! Nothing can be done until this meeting takes place.”
• “You are not our only customer.”
• “I don’t go to sleep every night thinking of the Nguyens.”
As a customer, I was shocked to hear some of the comments uttered by Grace. Rather than ease a frustrated customer, she managed to always escalate the call, and upset both my wife and I on separate occasions. It is appalling to us how Grace’s lack of customer service let a basic repair job turn into a frustrated customer willing to document a terrible experience to warn others of Rolco Rollshutters. Despite claiming they will call us, we have not heard from them in 2 months. At this point I am losing hope that anything will be done, and I wanted to warn others to steer clear of Rollco.
We do understand your frustration, however, it is my understanding that we did attempt to speak with you, but unfortunately you appeared not to be willing to hear that although you felt this situation required immediate attention, it was imperative that all information in regard to your home be addressed. With reference to the holes in the wall, Mrs. Nguyen was apparently advised by our service techs after one hole was drilled that the drywall in your home around your window was crumbling, (it appeared to have no backing / framing as per normal) and was asked if she wanted them to continue, and her response to the service techs was yes, for them to complete the install. As I am not sure of the dynamics between you and your spouse it appears that this may not have been shared with you. The office did not tell you that your house was old and drywall crumbly, the only thing at the time that they would have had was the message for a service call conversation that was left by your spouse. These notes were documented for the service work order along with your pictures.
We have not heard from you since you called May 19th and had assumed that you had rectified this issue on your own. The person you spoke of in your review is NOT an employee with Rolco and was merely answering the phone while the office assistant was out of the office. It is our understanding that during your conversations with our office staff and with her; that your tone was both intense and combative and you clearly were not able to hear that decisions in regard to your home, could not be made by either of them, but rather by management after investigation into your install and service. Do you not believe that it is in your best interest to have these discussions? Escalation in the tone of these conversations, as depicted in your review was not one sided and making defamatory remarks about their personalities and or characters, professional or not, was, and is not necessary and merely addresses the mood that was present towards the persons on the receiving end of the conversation. Publically writing their names on any website without their express permission, along with your comments, will be reviewed.
With regards to the comment of how you personally operated your shutter, please note that we always ask our customers routine questions so that we can get a better understanding of how a situation occurred. I am sure that you can appreciate that this information would be important.
Because each and every install and service call is unique, with some being more complex, we prefer to investigate and resolve each situation privately. Mr. Nguyen, reviews both good and bad are part of what appears to be the norm in our current society, however, we are not in the business of using the web to find resolution. We invite you to contact the office so that we can discuss your situation.
Mr. Weigel, Rolco Rollshutters
We had rollshutters in Germany where I lived and loved them. Came to Calgary and was pleased to see there was a company here that installs them. Rolco Rollshutters! I called them, and they came out and provided a really fair estimate!!! I had them do their work and we are really pleased!!!! They have saved us money in heating bills in the winter and saved money on the A/C in the summer. As well as high security when we are away on holidays. We couldn't live without shutters!!! Do yourself a favour and check out Rolco!!!! Nothing but praise for them!!!!
I recently had Rolco come out to fix one of my shutters. We've had the shutters for over 12 years and have never had a problem until now. One of the pull cords was frayed and needed to be replaced. Rolco had someone come out within a couple days of us requesting the service to have it repaired. The installer was very friendly and completed the job quickly. Super impressed as it had been awile since they were originally installed.
We have had nothing but good things to say about Rolco. We had shutters installed 12 years ago, and needed servicing. We knew they might not be under warranty anymore and Rolco serviced them right away! We also just had 2 more shutters added on our home as well. We learned they have been around for like 50 years and a family owned business, I don't understand these negative reviews we've only had positive experiences, do your research!
So incredibly happy with this product. Service was prompt , shutters look and operate wonderfully. We are so pleased we went with this company. Thank you Rolco for keeping us safe.
Do not do Business with this company, we paid a deposit for a project, we had to cancel the project as ROLCO could not comply with safety Codes. We have bee trying to get our deposit of $8,194.20 back for 4 months.
Word on the street is they are going BANKRUPT.
Do not give them money upfront!
Excellent service and product well worth purchasing. We can sleep in the middle of the day in complete darkness. Also keeps the south sun exposure from overheating the house during the summer months. Can't live without them.
Rolco installed 3 roll shutters in our home in Edmonton about 4 years ago. Recently two of the shutter often get stuck at the top and as of Sept the cord used to raise one of them has torn leaving the shutter at the bottom. We have been unable to open the window since the first week of Sept. We contacted Rolco by email around the start of Sept. and did not get an answer. We called Rolco and were told a repair would be arranged. Hearing nothing we called again and were told that an installer was going to be in the Edmonton area in the next week. After still no contact we called again we were told that the "boss" was coming to Edmonton and we would get our repair. We called again On Sept 28 and spoke to a very unsympathetic employee. On Sept. 30 this same individual called us and indicated someone would come maybe in a month maybe more. She also suggested we find someone else. This person was rude and I hope does not represent the entire company and certainly should not be dealing with customers. The funny thing is that we were used as a reference for ROLCO and had received calls in the past from people wanting our opinion of the product.