Beam Superstore

Water Filtration & Purification
1868 Dundas E Mississauga ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
Dee in Toronto
Dee in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON

Central Vaccuum

I ordered a central vacuum system for my newly built custom home back in January 2016. 2 of the rough in’s of central vacuum was placed in poor positions so we had to call back company to have the central vac outlets moved. When the central vacuum itself arrived it was the wrong model (a lower end model more specifically), I had to ask the installer to return it to the store and bring the correct model back – this resulted in another 4 week delay. When the installer finally came back with the correct model, he was about to install it in a position which he knowingly knew would block the electrical panel box from opening. Luckily I came home just in time to see what he was doing. I had to insist that he move it a couple of inches over, he was insistent that he could not , until I patiently explained all it needed was one more small elbow. It was moved over and fits perfectly in its final location. This is not the end of the story, not all the things I had ordered came with the vacuum. I have had to go to the store on several occasions to get the garage kit, then back for the sleeve for the vacuum hose and 6 months on I am still waiting for the vacuum bags - all these items I had paid for in advance. I have asked the store to mail me the bags as I do not live close and the response from the female who states she is the manager is that the system will charge me so I should come in myself and pick it up (that will be 4 times that I have gone back to the store for my outstanding paid for in full orders). This is just awful customer service, I have sent several polite emails seeking an update on my outstanding products. These emails sent to Laurence whom I thought was the owner of the store and the person I ordered my central vacuum package through have not been responded to any of the emails. This is unacceptable service and I regret purchasing my central vacuum system through this company as I worry if there are any issues down the road with the system itself they will not honour the warranty.

Approximate cost of services:
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Dee. Sorry for the bad experience and we apologize for your inconvenience.

From our perspective:

The initial rough-in that we did for you was not supervised by your renovation contractor nor was there any consultation with our technician in regards to placement of the piping. In fact when he started the job, there was no supervisor or home owner to consult with. He accordingly installed and routed the PVC piping to the outlets and to the garage as he saw fit. Subsequently, the contractor called us back on more than one occasion as they had projects that our piping was interfering with such as in wall TV mounting installation and various electrical applications. We came back three times at no charge to change the piping. Once the rough-in was completed, we came back to installed the central vacuum system and the hose package. Yes, our technician accidently brought the wrong package and we came back a couple of days later (not four weeks as stated) with the correct equipment, installed and tested.

Dee, I had advised you on a number of occasions that the speciality vacuum bags were unfortunately back ordered (for quite some time) and I said as soon as everything was in, we would deliver them along with the garage door kit. The vacuum bags, the bag adapter kit/installation and the garage kit were gift items and we did not charge you for them. As of this response, I believe you have received all these free items.

Again, we are sorry that we did not have a pleasant experience with us. A lot of the issues were unfortunately due to poor communication or lack thereof. I agree that we should have waited until we had a consultation with you and your contractor so both parties have an understanding of how we install a central vacuum system and what was being done in the house on your end. Please note that your warranty for the Beam Alliance System and hose package is fully covered by us and we would like you to contact us should there be any issues big or small in the future. Thank you again for working with us and we appreciate your business.