Beam Superstore

Water Filtration & Purification
1868 Dundas E Mississauga ON
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

35%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Beam Superstore

Average customer rating:
4.8 10 (6 reviews)

Sort by

Dee in Toronto
Dee in Toronto
1 review Toronto, ON
0/10

Central Vaccuum

I ordered a central vacuum system for my newly built custom home back in January 2016. 2 of the rough in’s of central vacuum was placed in poor positions so we had to call back company to have the central vac outlets moved. When the central vacuum itself arrived it was the wrong model (a lower end model more specifically), I had to ask the installer to return it to the store and bring the correct model back – this resulted in another 4 week delay. When the installer finally came back with the correct model, he was about to install it in a position which he knowingly knew would block the electrical panel box from opening. Luckily I came home just in time to see what he was doing. I had to insist that he move it a couple of inches over, he was insistent that he could not , until I patiently explained all it needed was one more small elbow. It was moved over and fits perfectly in its final location. This is not the end of the story, not all the things I had ordered came with the vacuum. I have had to go to the store on several occasions to get the garage kit, then back for the sleeve for the vacuum hose and 6 months on I am still waiting for the vacuum bags - all these items I had paid for in advance. I have asked the store to mail me the bags as I do not live close and the response from the female who states she is the manager is that the system will charge me so I should come in myself and pick it up (that will be 4 times that I have gone back to the store for my outstanding paid for in full orders). This is just awful customer service, I have sent several polite emails seeking an update on my outstanding products. These emails sent to Laurence whom I thought was the owner of the store and the person I ordered my central vacuum package through have not been responded to any of the emails. This is unacceptable service and I regret purchasing my central vacuum system through this company as I worry if there are any issues down the road with the system itself they will not honour the warranty.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello Dee. Sorry for the bad experience and we apologize for your inconvenience.

From our perspective:

The initial rough-in that we did for you was not supervised by your renovation contractor nor was there any consultation with our technician in regards to placement of the piping. In fact when he started the job, there was no supervisor or home owner to consult with. He accordingly installed and routed the PVC piping to the outlets and to the garage as he saw fit. Subsequently, the contractor called us back on more than one occasion as they had projects that our piping was interfering with such as in wall TV mounting installation and various electrical applications. We came back three times at no charge to change the piping. Once the rough-in was completed, we came back to installed the central vacuum system and the hose package. Yes, our technician accidently brought the wrong package and we came back a couple of days later (not four weeks as stated) with the correct equipment, installed and tested.

Dee, I had advised you on a number of occasions that the speciality vacuum bags were unfortunately back ordered (for quite some time) and I said as soon as everything was in, we would deliver them along with the garage door kit. The vacuum bags, the bag adapter kit/installation and the garage kit were gift items and we did not charge you for them. As of this response, I believe you have received all these free items.

Again, we are sorry that we did not have a pleasant experience with us. A lot of the issues were unfortunately due to poor communication or lack thereof. I agree that we should have waited until we had a consultation with you and your contractor so both parties have an understanding of how we install a central vacuum system and what was being done in the house on your end. Please note that your warranty for the Beam Alliance System and hose package is fully covered by us and we would like you to contact us should there be any issues big or small in the future. Thank you again for working with us and we appreciate your business.

angexpress
angexpress
4 reviews Toronto, ON
0/10

Central Vacuum

DO NOT BUY FROM BEAM>>> ALL THEY CARE ABOUT IS THE SALE
I purchased a Beam Special Edition with 15 year warranty from the Home Show back on October 2010 for a new home that I purchased which I moved into in February 2011 (which was installed by them). Right from the beginning the central vacuum wasn’t working properly, sometimes it would turn on and sometimes I would have to jiggle the hose that goes into the outlet to get it to work (this didn’t always work). I called Beam to explain the situation which the main oriental lady from the store yelled at me and told me that it was working fine when the technicians came in and that the issue was with the tubing and I would have to call the home developers as the issue is with their tubing installation. We gave up on it (mostly because their store location is about an hour drive away and they are never any help and don’t want to send anyone to look at the issue), so we just continued to struggle with it and used our Dyson when it didn’t work. A couple of years later I was at the home show and went to their booth, they advised me that the issue was with the outlets and told me to purchase new outlets which I did but that didn’t fix the issue. I later called to let them know and they told me to bring the hose and accessories in, so I did and they said the issue was with the powerhead switch on the hose, so they did a hack job on it to replace it. I went back to pick it up a week later and found no difference as the issue continued. I gave up on this again, until I finally saw the lady at another home show and she told me to bring it in again, I brought everything again and she said she was doing me a favour and changed the entire hose/wand and accessories to a “newer model” for free. This was a month after my 3 year warranty on the hose expired, so I thought it was great until I brought it home and found that the wand would fall off from the hose easily every time we tried to swap the accessories from the hose and eventually it stopped working. I brought the hose back requesting my old one back or a replacement that’s the same model but was told my warranty is over (he said even though they replaced the hose and wand that it doesn’t affect my warranty), he didn’t want to do anything and insisted my warranty is over and that he’s not the owner and can’t do anything for me. He proceeded to test the hose with his wand and told me it’s working, I kept telling him to test it with the wand they gave me and eventually he did and saw it wasn’t working. I had gone to another Beam location and was told the equipment they replaced it with was an inferior product to the one I got and should get mine back. I now have to go back tomorrow again because I want to talk to the person in charge of that store. I’m wasting my time, I think my next step is to spread this story and bring them to court.
DO NOT BUY FROM BEAM>>> ALL THEY CARE ABOUT IS THE SALE

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review. I had helped this customer on Sunday the 5th of March, 2015. We document every service related issue so we may benefit the customer for any warranty or non-related issues. The only service related issue we had was a problem with the hose in 2014, We exchanged his hose under warranty with the most updated hose model for his unit after an initial repair.All the hoses are the same except for an updated handle design. Another Beam dealer would not say that it was an inferior product. He came back in six months later stating that the hose has a problem. The sales person has initially left it for me to help this customer as he was concerned with the reason for the problem. The problem was not the hose but the wand, which after inspection, was "roughly" used and split in two. I exchanged the wand for the gentleman at no charge. He continued to mention that his machine was giving a problem since he purchased it in 2010. We have no record of his having a problem with the unit. We only mounted the machine and powered it up. I asked him did he bring in the central vacuum system to us or any dealer over the five years and he said no. I said I would personally look after him and make sure we would resolve his issue with the machine to which he did not seem interested us in doing. I stated that we would come and pick up his unit and have it serviced and re-installed or he could go to a more convenient location if he so wished. Either way, we always make an effort to resolve all issues and we certainly do not shout at our valued customers. Sorry you have an unpleasant experience with our company. Please contact us so we may resolve this to your satisfaction

NG from Mississauga
NG from Mississauga
1 review Mississauga, ON
0/10

Central Vacuum

In 4 years, our Beam central vacuum system (X-treme Beam Q system) has been serviced 6 times. We have had to replace 2 hoses and 2 attachment pieces and have 2 home visits because the system just shut down. The plastic portion of the carpet attachment broke and had to be replaced in the first year and again this past week the plastic piece attached to the hose snapped off. Initially we worked with the Etobicoke location but moved our business to Beam Superstore because it was much closer to us. When I took the hose and the attachment in to the store for repair - again - the owner of the store, Loida, was absolutely horrific to deal with. It was the most unprofessional and confrontational experience I have had in customer service. She raised her voice and argued with me, cut me off mid sentence, didn't stop to understand the full situation, would walk away or avert her eyes while I was speaking (I even had to ask a couple of times - it seems you are not listening to me) and then blamed me for the wear and tear calling it improper use. She told me that she knew this hose (that she replaced a year ago) would come back to bite her and that her head office was not supportive and that she would be out of costs. After being harangued for nearly 10 minutes, I told her she was being too aggressive and that it was unnecessary. She replied I am AGGRESSIVE, I am AGGRESSIVE. I WILL GET BACK TO YOU OK JUST STOP TALKING TO ME AND I WILL CALL YOU LATER. I offered to assist her in recovering costs by explaining the whole situation to head office and she said - DO WHAT YOU WANT. She still has my hose and attachments and we have not heard back from either this store or their head office with whom we filed a complaint. My intention, when I went in, was to actually upgrade my entire system because the one we purchased was useless. It was high end but made of cheap plastic and apparently she herself admitted that since there had been many issues with this system, Beam changed some of the technology. I just wanted to understand why our vacuum kept breaking and not be blamed for it. If it were an isolated case, I could see it being our issue. 6 times? Product issue. However, after being bullied in the store, I have no intention of giving her any future business and we are just waiting to get our vacuum pieces back from her clutches.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Over the last 30 years, our company has excelled in offering our customers the best in customer service and we make every effort to resolve EVERY product or service issue that may arise from time to time. We also welcome all reviews good and not so good in an effort to make our service even more outstanding. However, in this case, this review unfortunately is somewhat fabricated.and we feel a response is necessary. This customer came in with a hose purchased from a different store that was out of warranty and physically damaged as confirmed by our technician. She mentioned that she refused to deal with the other store because "she didn't like them and they wouldn't help her". Loida kindly told this customer she would help her and would call the manufacturer to replace the hose. She told her to wait while she called. While she was on hold, this customer would not stop hurling various verbal complaints and threats of bad reviews. Loida calmly and politely but repeatedly asked this customer to please refrain from any further comments while she gets a replacement authorization, which she refused to do. This customer unfortunately did not have any patience and was quite belligerent in her behaviour. In spite of her unreasonable attitude, we gladly replaced the hose at no charge, which was left to our discretion by the manufacturer to do so. We just to like add that the Beam Q is one of the best hoses on the market today. With proper use, care and maintenance, you will get many years of trouble-free cleaning. We thank you for your review.

Paul B
Paul B
5 reviews Etobicoke, ON
9/10

New Beater Bar

I think like most BEAM vacuum owners, I have a love/hate relationship. I love how they are convenient but I hate those dang beater bars. Maybe its just me, but mine is always breaking and I have to spend $100 for a new one. The Beam Superstore had a great selection, helpful, staff, and a reasonable price. Thanks guys

Was this review helpful?
Yolanda
Yolanda
2 reviews MISSISSAUGA, ON
10/10

Central Vacuum

Both my parents and my in-laws have had Beam vacuum systems in their homes for over 15 years and never had any issues with them.
Although we had researched other central vacuum systems, my husband and I also decided to purchase a Beam central vacuum system for our first home. It was reliable, powerful, convenient and very easy to clean.
When it came time to purchase a central vacuum system for our second home, we again went to the Beam Superstore where Matthew helped us in selecting the right central vacuum for our new home.

Was this review helpful?
Florence in Guildwood
Florence in Guildwood
5 reviews Toronto, ON

First Review

10/10

Solatube

We had a solatube installed in our bathroom because it was too dark without turning on the light. Now you don't even need to turn on the light during the day because the solatube lets in natural daylight, the light even goes into the hallway. It great to have daylight in a room that has always been dark.We are getting another solatube in our living/dinning room because its also a little dark in there.

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.