HomeStars  >  Drywall Contractors in Ottawa  >  Handyman Connection - Ottawa
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.
84%
This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Quote Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)
6
0
0

Reviews for Handyman Connection - Ottawa

Average customer rating:
7.6 10 (14 reviews)

Sort by

Lynne in Scarborough
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

" The electrician, Yiftach, was on time, very courteous and solved a minor snag in hanging one of the fixtures (builder installed). I would definitely recommend your company and especially Yiftach. Lynne "

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you, Lynne, for taking the time to write a review open HomeStars.Yiftach takes great pride in his work.

Private User
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

" We were very happy with the services provided and professionalism of the Handyman Connection representative who handled our work last Saturday. We would be more than happy to use Handyman Connection again, when there is work to be done, and we would also be very pleased to have Don return to do the work. He was excellent. "

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the great review. We have passed on your comments to Don.
Troy

sicklestick in
2 reviews Ottawa, ON
10/10

Had some birds nest in my 2nd story vent last year, needed help closing off the vent - enter Handyman Connection. They came over to give me a quote, and were so reasonably priced I had the person go ahead and do it then. They cleared out the vent (no residents), put in a wire cover, wiped down the outer slats, and cleaned a good portion of siding below the vent which had been stained with droppings - couldn't even tell birds had nested there before when he was finished, fantastic job - highly recommend them.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi sicklestick. Thanks for the great review. We passed your comments to the craftsman who helped you out.

Private User
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

I had water damage to my ceiling in the entrance way. Called Handyman Connection and got a quick call back to my request for a quote. Tradesman visited shortly after and gave thorough assessment of the work to be done and the cost.
Ceiling was repaired, sanded and painted. Quality of work was high and work done in a very professional manner.

Don

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Don, Glad to hear about your experience with our team.
Troy

Eric in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

We called Handyman Connection to take care of a variety of repair jobs on a rental property (door handle replacements, lock adjustments, running toilet, window repairs, etc). Troy was able to handle all of these jobs easily with no fuss! Polite and professional. Got the job done.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks Eric! It was great working with you. I am glad I was able to help out.

David C in Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
10/10

I have used the service a few times and all have been great experiences. They ask questions and seek answers so as to understand what the customer is looking for. Excellent Service!

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks David! We look forward to working with you again soon.

ZAINEB VIQAS from Ottawa
1 review Kanata, ON
4/10

Leftover material stil in my backyard.However the painting job and a door were fixed very well .The roof hopefully is still well in my old home.The workers were not rowdy.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Zainab
We can't seem to find you, your work order, nor any work order with that combination of work, especially since we don't work on roofs. Is it possible that you hired another company with the word 'Handyman' in it? There are many poor quality, poor service workmen out there trying to compete with us. If it was in fact Handyman Connection, I'd like the opportunity to win you back, and if it wasn't us, I'd like the opportunity to win you over to our professional, high standards work and "by the job" pricing. If you call in, ask for me, Jeff.

Michael from Gloucester
3 reviews Gloucester, ON
8/10

flooring was quoted and provided service in a timely fashion. We were very impressed in their care to make sure that dust from cutting was limited since my children have allegies. Professionalism is very important.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the thumbs up Michael!

Julie L in Kanata
6 reviews Kanata, ON
6/10

Handyman Connection is VERY hit and miss. They are generally great for smaller jobs (for example, the cost to install a toilet was 1/2 that of plumbing companies), but we had them add some stairs to our deck, and the guy who came out (Kelly?) was unprofessional and totally botched the job. We complained, and they sent another handyman (Don) to fix it up, which he did, though it still wasn't quite what we were looking for, and there was some additional cost incurred. Would not recommend them for anything that requires specialized skills or is more than 1-2 hours' work.

Job Price
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Julie,
I know this response is very, very late, but I'd like to apologize for the frustration you met with our Craftsmen. Without making excuses I'd like to say that obviously we botched our chance with you to show you how some of our "heavy hitters" could do bigger renovations for you. Our Craftsmen have been reminded of the standards they need to meet or exceed and I can only hope that you'll give us the opportunity now that Handyman Connection is under new management. Please feel free to ask for me, Jeff, if you call in.

mel6014 from Ottawa
1 review Ottawa, ON
3/10

Hi everyone, I decided to go with Handyman Connections over other companies based on the low estimated cost and the contractor they sent seemed very nice ... even offered to take a look at a few things for me at no extra charge. What a MISTAKE that was. He told me this job would only take about 5 days ... it took him 6 weeks to complete. He completely ripped out the old bathroom then disappeared for two weeks saying he was waiting for the bathroom to arrive (Like if moving the toilet, installing drywall in the rest of the basement would have anything to so with requiring the shower !?!?!?!?!?!). He never worked more then 5-6 hrs a day and never more then 3 days a week. He would show up for 2 hrs then disappear for the rest of the day saying he needed to go shopping. Put drywall mud on a painted ceiling (Which cause some yellow spots to show through the mud) and didnt even bother to remove the ceiling fan or light fixture until i told him I would pay until it was fixed, would arrange a time to meet and discuss the reno but would never be around at that time (Would turn off his phone so you couldnt reach him) ... I could literally go on but I'll just skip to the end where he gave me the bill and tried to overcharge me by OVER $300. (Even had a pack of gum on the receipts as well as parts that had nothing to do with my bathroom).

I read these reviews before hiring him and actually thought it was a pretty good company so here's my advice ... Maybe they just sent me a bad contractor (Every profession has some) so if you do decide to go with Handyman Connection and they tell you the contractor they're sending you is called Richard ... Tell them thanks but no thanks you want a different contractor!!

Job Price
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi mel6014,
This was one of the first "unhappy customer" jobs I worked on after purchasing this business. It was well out of the warranty period on our contract together, but I sent out the craftsman to correct all the issues you had with the work - some of which was damage from your basement tenants, some of which was our fault. You seemed quite satisfied with the follow up work.

I'm responding to this review to show that we strive to make good on our word that we stand behind our work. I have also instituted stricter controls on our Craftsmen's timing. Thanks!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Handyman Connection - Ottawa

When it comes to your home improvement projects our craftsmen have the expertise to get the job done and done right. Each one of our craftsmen has over ten years of experience and have all gone through a thorough background check. Handyman Connection of Ottawa's team of professionals is passionate about taking your home improvement dreams and making them a reality.

CATEGORIES
Drywall Contractors, Handyman Services, and General Contractors
WEBSITE
http://ottawa.handymanconnection.com/
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1998
PAYMENT METHOD
Cheque, Visa, Mastercard, American Express
MEMBERSHIPS
BBB
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
WARRANTY TERMS
1 Year Written Warranty
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.