Sunrise Windows & Door Depot Ltd

Windows & Doors Installation & Service
6724-50 st Edmonton AB T6B 3M9
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Windows & Doors Installation & Service
Sunrise Windows & Door Depot Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

58%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Sunrise Windows & Door Depot Ltd

Average customer rating:
7.7 10 (83 reviews)

Sort by

Cassandra Lafonde in Edmonton
Cassandra Lafonde in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
9/10

Installation of windows

Sunrise Windows & Door Depot Ltd
780-413-0542
6724-50 st
Edmonton
AB
T6B 3M9
CANADA

Everything about our experience with Sunrise Windows has been great starting with the purchase and ending with the installation. We've used them before as well. I would definitely recommend them.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank-you Cassandra for your positive review!

Dan in Edmonton
Dan in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
0/10

Quality issues and terrible customer service

Sunrise Windows & Door Depot Ltd
780-413-0542
6724-50 st
Edmonton
AB
T6B 3M9
CANADA

Be forewarned - the installers will make a disaster out of your house. I have had to contact Sunrise several times about deficiencies about a window (that won't open) and doors (that are difficult to close); it seems this company has a pervasive quality control problem.

I have had ongoing issues with the quality of the windows and doors I purchased. Besides the two to three weeks it takes for any type of reply from the service department, they want close to $200 just to send someone to come take a look. The project was done JUST over two years ago - the doors and window hardware should not be failing already!

Please note, I have given Sunrise many opportunities to communicate with me on these issues. Their responses have not been adequate and take weeks to receive anything. I say inadequate because they dismiss the problems with my window, they dismiss my door latching problems as a necessity for weather-sealing (we have to slam the doors or yank on the hardware to get it to latch properly - this is NOT a weather sealing issue), and they fail to understand why I am frustrated about a $200 service call that takes ages to coordinate for issues that are clearly installation/manufacturer hardware related.

Edit: "Coincidentally" I was contacted within moments of submitting this review. The response I received from Sunrise (without seeing the issue first-hand in any way) was that all my troubles were almost certainly due to Winter/Summer cooling/warming cycles. My question is (like several other reviews on this site) why aren't windows designed for the weather here? If they cannot withstand shifts due to temperature shifts, they should not be sold in cold climates. Also - if windows cannot be relied on to open in an emergency, that becomes a safety hazard. What if there is a fire - would you want to risk someone burning because of Sunrise's negligence?

Edit 2: Rating changed to 0. I cannot imagine a world in which I would ever recommend Sunrise to someone I like.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Customers service request was for a awning window that did not close without some trouble. Window hardware will work for many years without issues but some will require periodic adjustment to keep them working smoothly, as noted in our customer maintenance.
Adjustments can be done by either the homeowner(directions on web site)or have a Sunrise Windows Tech do the adjustment instead.
Windows installed over 2 1/2 years ago have exceeded the warranty for adjustments by Sunrise Windows and are a chargeable service and also when we send a Service Tech to a the site for service, we fix the problem not just look at it.
Bedroom windows are the only windows with fire code requirements, this customers window that needs adjustments is NOT a bedroom window, all other statements are complete nonsense and are result of charging the customer for this service call request......This now would be the 2nd review from this customer and published getting worse from the other one

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Edmonton, AB
10/10

Replaced all windows and doors in home

Excellent pre service, Ray was polite and professional doing the free quote. Very informative about windows and asked what we wanted and gave suggestions based on his knowledge. Had a tour of the assembly facility and detailed information review of each window etc. Installers were polite and professional and cleaned up after themselves. Work was done in a timely manner.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Sunrise Windows thanks you for your review.

Bill S. in
Bill S. in
1 review Edmonton, AB
0/10

READ YOUR PAPERWORK! HORRIBLE SERVICE!

We had a front door and 2 sidelights installed in December 2014. The door and jamb are both warped, but as per the warranty, they allow a warping of 5/16 on the door, and the jamb is NOT covered at all.
I had to pay a $189 "service fee" for their service agent to come to my house and advisee that there is absolutely NOTHING they can do for me, because it is all excluded in the warranty.
This company will sweet talk you to get tour $$, but they willNOT stand behind their product at all.
Horrible shop and I will never deal with them again. I stress for you to not buy doors with windows and skylights, as there are deficiencies in these (that the company knows about), and they will still do nothing about it.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Customers Service Request(first request) was for a door lock adjustment because his door was not closing correctly and he also stated that he was never given his key for his punch-code door lock, in 2014. Sunrise Windows never sold punch-code locks in 2014 nor did we install his door lock.....Therefore his Service Request was declined. Customer Service Request(second request)was now that the door was bowed and that was the problem according to the customer.......Service Technician went to site, removed the lock and reinstalled the lock, problem solved the door is now operating correctly and the door was never bowed....non-warranty service, customer was charged.......customer is not happy, all other statements are complete nonsense and a result of charging the customer for this service call request.

Rae in Edmonton
Rae in Edmonton
1 review Simcoe County, ON
4/10

New Window Installation

Sunrise was recommended to us by friends, so we used them to replace our windows in December 2016. Installers were great, quality of the windows is great except the Hopper style. We have contacted them about how drafty the hopper windows are, about a defective hinge and a few other minor items. For months Harland Wilkes (owner) has argued that the hinge isn't covered under warranty as it is working fine, while it isn't. They sent a service guy who adjusted the hinge although I asked for it to be replaced, weeks later I'm notified the adjustment voided the warranty. The drafty hopper windows are said to be drafty because my basement is unfinished, while my basement is finished.

We also had many other questions about some issues we were experiencing that could have been avoided if the company had of provided us with information about what to expect aftrer installing new windows. We were treated like we should have known what is probably common sense if you work in that industry.

Overall, the quality of the other windows is really great but the customer service after the installation has been nothing short of unprofessional. I would not recommend Sunrise strictly due to the difficulties with warranty and service after installation. After trying to resolve this on my own, I have contacted the Better Business Bureau in hopes of a resolution.

Reading other reviews, you can see how unprofessional Harland is in his responses.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Michelle in Edmonton
Michelle in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
1/10

Shattered window at cold temps

I had windows installed oct 2015.
Last winter was mild, the windows were great! This winter at -24C my kitchen window shattered on the inside pane, no one in the room, just broke. I called x3 and emailed x2 and was given this answer " due to temp stress" the temp differential outside and inside its a manufacturer defect. sorry no warrantee, we can offer a replacement at a "discount" but no price until after January 4. also the other 3 windows I had replaced have a lot of water pooling, old windows are not just frosted, 2 previous windows replaced by Sunrise 4 years ago...no water. Just the ones oct 2015. Why would I buy windows not made for a Canadian winter, why sell them? I can't wait until -40. How many will break? why spend over $5200 on 4 windows that are garbage? DO NOT buy these windows. This is not a fraudulent review! I want my 1979 windows back that don't break or water pool! Can't wait to see what my "discount" will be next year. In the mean time we sit with a broken window due to cold weather, in the heart of winter, no service, no warrantee. No one will look at it, no one will return your call. Only the salesman to sell you the window in the first place. Terrible company.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

The customers windows were installed early 2015(1 1/2 years ago) she had never complained about her windows in the past until December this year when her kitchen window over her sink when washing her dishes had condensation as well as a glass crack on the inside pane of the unit.....She put in a Service Request assuming it was under warranty just before are winter(Xmas Holidays)closing and was informed by Sunrise Windows when we were back from the holidays that she no longer had any warranty for the broken unit....the breakage is caused by temp stress which is NOT a manufactures defect.....Michelle service request was addressed but because her service was not under warranty......she is now unhappy with her windows due to the glass unit not being under warranty and writes a bad review.

Karen  in Saint Albert
Karen in Saint Albert
1 review St. Albert, AB
9/10

Windows and Doors for new homes

We purchased the windows and doors from Sunrise for two new homes – pricing was below other quotes we received. Sales person was helpful and knowledgeable.

We had the doors and windows installed by a third party – not Sunrise.

Nevertheless – Sunrise did come and do repairs required/caused by the third party installation. There was a fee for that - but it was more than reasonable.

The repair team was patient and helpful.

Really appreciate Sunrise stepping up to help us – even though we didn’t use them for installation.

Recommend using Sunrise for supply AND install to save a lot of problems.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank-you Karen very-much for your positive reviews of Sunrise Windows

10/10

complete home renovations

Big thanks to Everybody at Sunrise Windows for helping me with windows and doors on two recent home renovations. Ray in sales, your advise and knowledge was invaluable and to Nathan and crew, good on you mate for doing great work on the install. Sunrise windows you have a great product, great price and a great team. All the best
Jurgen Constantinos
President Moreland Building and Carpentry Inc.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank-you for your review of Sunrise Windows and our team!

meccano in Edmonton
meccano in Edmonton
1 review Edmonton, AB
9/10

New Patio Doors & Kitchen Window

Sunrise Windows & Door Depot Ltd
780-413-0542
6724-50 st
Edmonton
AB
T6B 3M9
CANADA

We contracted with Sunrise to install two new sliding patio doors
and a new kitchen window.

Overall, things went well. Everything appears to be installed well,
and remain frost free now that the cold winter weather has arrived.
The patio door to the backyard is opened/closed regularly
and continues to function great.

The installers did a good job and didn't leave a mess.
I was annoyed only when they unnecessarily cut one
of my $30 lengths of oak casing but to my surprise
Home Depot allowed me to return the cut pieces.

Our main complaint was with their poor installation scheduling.
We were heading out of town so I wished to schedule the install
but got the run around. We appealed to the salesman and
he got us a date before our trip. Even so, the installers
arrived later than expected but did complete the job that day.

This allowed us to repaint the room and reinstall our
roll shutters before our trip.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank-you for your review and also for your positive suggestion on how we can improve our services......the part you were not happy with are best suggestions for us to improve ourselves...........thank-you from the President of Sunrise Windows.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Sunrise Windows & Door Depot Ltd

Sunrise Windows has been making quality windows and doors since 1996. Located in Edmonton, Canada our modern 35, 000-square foot manufacturing plant produces a full range of competitively priced custom vinyl windows and entrance doors that are available from us direct(1-877-413-1234) or from our authorized dealers. A family owned business, ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Windows & Doors Installation & Service pros in Edmonton?