The Bedroom Shop

Furniture
16715 Yonge Street Newmarket ON L3X 3A1
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
Furniture
The Bedroom Shop
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

71%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for The Bedroom Shop

Average customer rating:
7.2 10 (88 reviews)

Sort by

Anne
Anne
13 reviews King City, ON
0/10

Decor-Rest Sofa purchase from The Bedroom Shop Newmarket

If you do not want to read the detail below, here is a summary:

• November 12, 2018 we ordered a Decor-Rest sofa and custom toss cushions. Paid 50% of the total price as deposit.
• At the point of sale we were told potentially we could get delivery before Christmas, but end of January at latest.
• Countless emails and phone calls in-between late January and end of February with assurances it will be “next week”.
• February 28, 2019 at 4:19 p.m. received a call advising our delivery time will be between 9:00 a.m. and 1:00 p.m. March 1.
• March 1 received a call at 11:10 advising us the new staff forgot to pick up our sofa the day before.
• Received assurances it would be picked up March 2, but there is no way they can deliver before March 8.

The long version:

On November 12, 2018 we ordered a sofa and toss cushions (cushions come with the couch but we upgraded the fabric at an additional cost) from The Bedroom Shop in Newmarket. We were told “hey maybe you’ll get it before Christmas”. The sales person couldn’t guarantee that but dangled that prospect. Just prior to Christmas my husband called the warehouse (once the sale is complete this is the procedure) and was told definitely not before Christmas and it is scheduled to be delivered mid January to end of January at the latest.

In the meanwhile I email our sales person to ask for the measurement of the sofa from the arm to the floor (this will determine what height of side tables to get). I had looked online and they had all the standard measurements, but not this particular measurement. I emailed her because of the fact that the sofa is in the store and I wanted to save a trip. In the subject line of my email I included the invoice number. I received a response asking for the invoice number. I advised it was in the subject line. I then received the measurements that are online which are not what I was asking for. I responded thanking our sales person but reiterating my request. I never heard back.

Mid January and still no sofa. Multiple phone calls have gone back and forth telling us “next week”. Next week comes and no delivery. February 13 we were delayed yet again and received a $100 credit for our troubles. We were advised most- likely the delivery would be February 23. On February 21 an email was sent asking for confirmation of the sofa delivery. We were told it would be the next week. This was after my husband arranged time off from work. We were then told it would be the first delivery of the day on March 1. On Thursday, February 28 we received a call at 4:19 p.m. telling us that the delivery was going to happen between 9 and 1 the following day. On March 1 we received a call at 11:10 am telling us that the sofa was not picked up yesterday as they are having staffing trouble and the new staff missed our sofa. Yet another day of us arranging to be home and no sofa delivery. We were advised the sofa will actually be picked up on March 2 but they could not delivery until March 8 despite the endless inconveniences. We were told the owner was in Costa Rica returning on March 8, and that there is no way we would get a delivery before that. My husband has rescheduled his work for this (he only gets paid when he works) and we have spent too much time following up dealing with this awful experience. We have been given every excuse from: the manufacturer being closed for two weeks at Christmas (this fact was not conveyed to us at point-of-sale), to the manufacturer gets thousands of orders a week, to their quality control won’t allow them to release the couch, to now the new delivery personnel forgetting to pick it up.

At this point we would be okay with cancelling the sofa and receiving our deposit back. We were told, this too, is not an option. It actually is. It would require that the company eat the loss, but they are unwilling to do this. Every delay, every issue is as a result of them, not us.

Without question, this is absolutely the WORST customer service experience in 35 years of our adult life. Not only would we NEVER consider purchasing from this store again, we would NEVER recommend anyone to buy from this store.

From the point of purchase, (November 12, 2018) to March 4, 2019 it will have been 16 weeks. On Tuesday March 5 we will be entering our 17th week of not having this couch. Aside from the $100 reduction on the balance outstanding, they are not willing to budge on anything else despite us having to constantly rearrange our schedules and follow up throughout this time. They are not even willing to deliver us the couch on March 2 when they claim they will be picking it up.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Paul in Newmarket
Paul in Newmarket
1 review Newmarket, ON
10/10

Bought King Bedroom and mattress

Excellent service all round.
From initial purchase including great price to customer service on the phone when asking for delivery date (if it would be on time). They beat the delivery date by 2 days .

The professional delivery service was amazing and go for the gold setup. They do all the work and take away the garbage.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the kind words. And yes the gold delivery is your best option. Sit back relax and let us do the full installation.

Cocoheart in Newmarket
Cocoheart in Newmarket
1 review Newmarket, ON
10/10

Bedroom furniture

My bedroom shop Newmarket you have amazing furniture. I would like to thank Dave Green for all his given help. He is quick in giving information and definitely knows his furniture. Someone you enjoy dealing with. I will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank your for the review

kim wile in Newmarket
kim wile in Newmarket
1 review Newmarket, ON
0/10

sectional couch

On december 2, 2017 i purchased a sectional couch and was told it would be ready in 6 to 8 weeks. I received a call 6 weeks later stating the is ready to be picked up.
I went and got the couch Jan 13, 2018 brought it home to find out this was the wrong couch. I was told by joanne they will order the correct couch and try to get it done 4-6 weeks. I contacted joanne to find out the couch is not going into production until march and on march 12 the couch will be done.
Having to wait 4 months is rediculous and now i want a full refund. I have requested to speak to the owner but no one has contacted me or will reply to my email.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Kim, I will respond the same way as I have in all our emails back-and-forth

You are correct we made an error and delivered the wrong sofa January 13, and for that I do apologize.

On January 14 we both agreed that we would re-order the correct sofa, and joanne did say we would try to have it in 4 to 6 weeks, not the normal 7 to 9 weeks lead time.
But we did not promise or guarantee this, we simply said we would try to get it quicker, and that you agreed with.

When you called and we told you it would be a March 12 delivery which would be almost 8 weeks from January 13, you were very upset and wanted a refund.
We then made some phone calls to the manufacture, and we were able to get the delivery date moved up to Friday, March 2

In my last email to you, I guaranteed you Friday, March 2 delivery or I would refund your entire purchase.
Friday, March 2 delivery will be exactly 6 weeks and four days past the original January 13 delivery.

Once again I do apologize for the original error and we will see you this Friday.

Thanks for your business and all your patience

Jeff Reynolds
Owner

Victor, Sharon ON in Barrie
Victor, Sharon ON in Barrie
3 reviews East Gwillimbury, ON
10/10

Family room reclining sectional, entry way and hall storage, and stools

We purchased furniture at The Bedroom Shop in the past and were so satisfied, we returned with our recent needs. The selection and quality of product is outstanding. Prices are totally reasonable. Staff are thoroughly knowledgeable about manufacture and care of the products they offer, and are friendly and professional. We would recommend The Bedroom Shop to anybody furniture shopping, and will definitely return with any future needs we have.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for the Business and taking the time to give us a good review.

cbastine
cbastine
1 review Barrie, ON
9/10

Kitchen, living room, bedroom

Kathleen was great to deal with as She was helpful and attentive to our needs

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

thanks for the kind words....will be sure to tell Kathleen

Vaughan Homeowner
Vaughan Homeowner
7 reviews Vaughan, ON
10/10

Sofa Loveseat & Barstools

Called in and spoke to David (Sales Rep) who did a great job putting together an accurate invoice. Paid my 25% deposit and should expect my furniture in within 2-4 weeks which is great as I'm getting reno's done at my place and wanted to ensure my order was arrived within the approximate timeframe needed. They have a 40,000 sq ft. warehouse so my order can remain as layaway until delivery is required and pay the remaining balance then. The Bedroom and Furniture Shop is a great Wholesale/Furniture distributor with added services. After reading previous reviews I believe you must understand their business model and ensure you know how to proceed right from the initial engagement. I would certainly recommend for those who know what they want and need. Thanks so much again David!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review and Business.
Jeff Reynolds
Owner

darren
darren
1 review Newmarket, ON
10/10

Product

We are Buying furniture for our renovation. Susan was very helpful. And made extra time for my wife and I.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank for the review, and your business.
Susan and all our professional staff take our time to try and find exactly what you are looking for.
We take pride in finding out our customers needs, and work in a NO pressure sales environment

Jeff Reynolds
Owner.

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about The Bedroom Shop

We specialize in Canadian Made, Solid Wood, and Mennonite Furniture in the Greater Toronto Area, Onatario The Bedroom Shop is a family-owned discount Mennonite Furniture, Living Room, Dining Room, Bedroom, Bunk Beds, Kids Furniture and Mattress store based in Newmarket, ON. Since 1989, The Bedroom Shop has served customers in ...
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for Furniture pros in Newmarket?