Terry Howald Pools

Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs
274 Courtland Ave. East Kitchener ON N2G 2V7
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

48%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Terry Howald Pools

Average customer rating:
6.6 10 (7 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
1 review Newmarket, ON
6/10

Services

Never meets time and will send bill statements for stuff that's been cover or paid for already. They don't have proper communication between them and the customer, no calls to see if everything was done proper or if needed to come back to finish minor touch up. We had to call them to come back for thing they had to finish or touch up.

Was this review helpful?
Brian from Guelph
Brian from Guelph
1 review Guelph, ON
2/10

Pool install

We had an existing pool in our yard that we were planning on renovating. The cost of renovating was comparable to that of a new pool so we decided to get a new pool and have the old one filled in. Terry Howald Pools fit the bill. They offered to fill the old one in a the same time as building the new one. Very friendly, very courteous staff. We had the pool installed in the spring and by mid summer we had wrinkles in our liner. They came out to fix the wrinkles with no issues. Later on that summer I discovered that the deep end walk in steps were not level(which were mentioned to an employee) and had a significant slope which created a water level difference of approximately 1.5' from the shallow end. Come the second summer, the wrinkles reappeared and were starting to travel. Again, they came out to fix them. Last summer the wrinkles wee there again and had spread throughout the shallow end. This time they looked for holes in the liner and found 9 holes, which they said were probably caused my kids toenails....holes were patched but the wrinkles could not be fixed. At no point did the owner offer to look at the issue although sent a quote of 600$ to reset the liner. I was forced to pursue the issue at which point he decided to come to my house to look at the issue. Upon arrival he asked for all pool records for chemical testing as he said it was caused by chemicals. I offered to provided those records and the conversation went in different direction. He offered to get a new liner which was what we wanted. But...what we didn't realize was that the liner that was put in the pool was already in the warehouse before the pool was built. Liners are to be measured and installed post pool construction. Not one measurement was taken for the original liner. 129 measurements were taken for the new liner....our liner was doomed to fail from the beginning as it was not built for the pool.

While at our home we addressed the concern about the stairs and were told the the stairs have a natural slope and the ground had settled around the stairs(although that has been no cracking of concrete or separation from the stairs). A deck, a patio, a walkway, is only as good the foundation and base it is laid on. The stairs were not properly levelled and cemented in place correctly and the base for the pool deck was not properly compacted hence the issues.

Company has great work ethic, friendly staff but attention to detail and quality of workmanship is questionable. Be mindful and question each step of the process so you can be informed.

Was this review helpful?
David Dolson from Puslinch
David Dolson from Puslinch
1 review Cambridge, ON
10/10

Terry Howald Pools

A short note as a testimonial to Terry Howald Pools. I have been a customer for 25 years and have had 2 pools installed. I have recently purchased a trampoline type winter cover on their recommendation. This cover is outstanding.It eliminates having to pump your water down in the spring, and refill your pool to the waterline. The clean up of winter debis such as leaves and pine needles is simple with a blower or brush with the skimmer handle. Removal and storage is complete in 10 minutes, savings on time and money , if you open and close your pool on your own the cost is recaptured in a little over 4 years not to mention the hydro and water costs in draining and topping up the water with the old style blanket. Time savings are outstanding. I recommend purchasing a curb side garbage can on wheels for storage of the blanket in order to rodent proof it.
Quality, Intergrity and Service is their way of doing business.
Very Best wishes to the new owner Sam Simons!

Was this review helpful?
sharon from Guelph
sharon from Guelph
1 review Guelph, ON
10/10

Pool install

After doing some serious comparisons of not only price, but also product and reputation, we chose Terry Howald pools. From start to finish, we were more than pleased with the friendly and informed service. All stages were done on time or earlier and we were enjoying our pool early last summer. Any questions or issues we had were answered right away. We highly recommend them as well as the poured concrete company they are associated with...all great work and so beautiful! Thanks Sam!
Sharon Nezny

Was this review helpful?
marla from Kitchener
marla from Kitchener
1 review Kitchener, ON
10/10

Garden landscape and pool

First and foremost, I must thank Sam for such attentive service. Secondly, I must complement Terry Howald and Sam on a job well done. I am very pleased with my pool and their design concept for my garden retreat. I told Sam I wanted an award winning pool and he took over from there. My fence was down for nine days and we were swimming in 15 days. I found Sam personable, reasonable and professional. |Congratulations and Thank-you.

Sincerely,
Marla Safa

Was this review helpful?
Jennifer in Kitchener
Jennifer in Kitchener
1 review Kitchener, ON
0/10

Pool installation from Terry Howald

Had a pool installed by Terry Howald Pools. Received many quotes from other companies and I must say I was attracted to the affordable price and his salesman pitch. We should have done more research by asking how the pool companies install their pools. Terry will promise he can install your pool right away only to have to wait for them when they get your money. It took a month longer then expected to come to our property. Once they came it took them a total of 2 days to install. This is unheard of and not recommended by other professionals. Other pool installation competitors will take from 7 days to 14 days.This allows for the cement to cure before adding water or a liner. Next time I will definitely use someone else! Our pool has cracks and issues with the liner within the first frost. Terry Howald will push the fix until you run out of your warranty. He may have been around a long time but he is not professional by any means. He is rude and very unfair. A pool is an expensive investment for your family. It is worth the time to research and please please please use someone else to install your pool or risk the biggest headache ever.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Jnnifer,

We are sorry that you have had such a unsatisfactory experience. I would like to discuss as to what has happened. We always put our customers first and have never taken two days to put a pool in. We do actually say 7-14 days? We also don't take any down payments until we have begun the installation process. I am thinking that you have confused us with another company.
I hope to hear from you soon.
Sam

Linda in Kitchener
Linda in Kitchener
2 reviews Kitchener, ON

First Review

8/10

Swimming pool

Terry Howard has been in the swimming pool business for a long time and has many repeat customers. His prices are fair and he provides good quality work. Be prepared to do some of the work yourself such as gas, etc. as he does not get involved with these things and leaves it up to the homeowner. I would definitely purchase another pool from Terry Howard based on our positive experience overall.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Terry Howald Pools

Creating Life's Affordable Luxuries! ! Catering to your needs, from complete transformations to specialty pools.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.