Bud's Spas & Pools

Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs
Write a Review
Write a Review
Website
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

60%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Bud's Spas & Pools

Average customer rating:
5.8 10 (32 reviews)

Sort by

Jojo & Hamilton
Jojo & Hamilton
2 reviews Hamilton, ON
0/10

worst experience ever

Worst of the worst experience ever!!! Be cautious when you are looking to hire someone to service your hot tub/pool. Bud's quoted to get my hot tub leakage fixed for $1000, which could possibly be a result that they didn't closed the tub properly for me in the winter. They sent people in, worked on it, made a mess, then says they couldn't find the problem. They left with a mess, and charged me on my credit card that's on file for almost $1000!!!! This is not acceptable, I will report to BBB.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello, This has been a poor experience for both parties. The damage done to the hot tub was not due to winterization but due to not properly covering the spa for winter. When contracted to close your spa, we advised to install a tarp or cover cap over the hot tub when winterized. This was not done. The tarp would have prevented rain and melting snow from seeping through the cover and into the hot tub. When we were contracted to open the tub in the spring, it was apparent that water had been in the tub and the antifreeze was no longer present. When filling the tub, a leak was noticed which would explain the lack of antifreeze and caused most likely by water in the tub freezing. In the process of getting authorization for repair and the steps to complete the job, we have spoken to three different representatives for you as you are not in the country: a tenant, a contractor and a friend. This has made it very difficult to get authorization and keep you apprised of costs when we needed to proceed to the next step. As we were not receiving any response from yourself or representatives with authorization to proceed for a period of almost 30 days, we closed out the service and completed the invoice to date hoping to resume when contact was made from you. Leaks in full foam tubs take significant excavation time removing foam to find the source of the leak. We would like to finish the job provided both parties are in agreement on the costs to do so. Please contact me at your earliest convenience to discuss. Thank you, Ken

Daffodil C.
Daffodil C.
1 review Hamilton, ON
10/10

New pool Liner

Bud's did the original installation of our inground pool 24 years ago. We have dealt with them for all things pool related since that time because of the people that work there and the good service that they have provided over the years. We had our original liner changed this year. Bud's people were very professional when doing the change (in 4 hours they had the old liner out and the new one in). The new liner looks great. We have never had a problem over the years that they weren't able to resolve to our satisfaction. We would recommend Bud's to anyone who wants a pool installed or for pool service.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your kind words! We are happy to be able to provide you with quality service and enjoy seeing you in store. It is a pleasure to work with you.
Sincerely, Stacey

alinska
alinska
1 review Hamilton, ON
8/10

Opening and closing the pool. Installed heater and filter.

Everything was done good , except couple of things I would like to mentioned.
Opening the pool, the pump basket wasn’t cleaned and I wasn’t notified about that, almost burn the pump doing backwash.
Another thing, my porch was a bit ruined while changing the equipment.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello, I'm sorry that you experienced these things. I'm glad we were able to discuss everything on the phone and that the pool is running to your satisfaction. See you at your pool closing!
Sincerely, Stacey

Kevin Jones from Dundas
Kevin Jones from Dundas
6 reviews Hamilton, ON
10/10

FAST AND COURTEOUS SERVICE

We purchased a pump from Bud's at the start of the pool season and were extremely satisfied with how it had been working. After trying to vacuum the pool today, I noticed not everything was being sucked up the hose. I checked the pump's basket and saw that it was REALLY full. After emptying the basket I closed the lid and tried to get a prime. Nothing worked! I called Carol at the Service Department and she gave a number of possible solutions. I tried them all but still nothing. I called back and Carol said to shut the pump off and she would put in a Service request labelled "ASAP - Pool Down". About 15-20 minutes later I hear a voice at the gate "hello". It was 2 men from Bud's Service Department. They worked their magic to get the pump up and working. After giving the pool a good backwash, the jets were shooting out water better than they have since we got the pool opened 5 weeks ago. A BIG "THANK YOU" to Carol for her continuous fabulous service. I've only dealt with her with any pool issues since she sold us the pump in early May. She sure knows her stuff!! Also a BIG "THANK YOU" to Kevin Brooks and Andre for their prompt & efficient service. they did a thorough job and Kevin gave me a number of pointers to avoid the same problem again. I'm extremely pleased with the Service Department at Bud's Spas & Pools. We have switched over from another pool company and are now officially only using Bud's for ALL of our pool needs!! Thank you!!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Kevin, Thank you for your kind words! We are very proud of our staff in store and out on the road. They put the customer first every time. I'm glad we were in the area and could get you going so quickly. Please call anytime with any question. Sincerely, Bill

MJ in Hamilton
MJ in Hamilton
1 review Hamilton, ON
0/10

Worst Customer Service Ever

Budds rip you off and they send people who ruin something and then recommend that you fix it on your expense each time. They are the worse in customer service I have ever experienced and very arrogant in their attitude, I have no trust for them and I would never recommend them to anyone!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hello MJ, I'm sorry that you have had this experience. I would like to discuss the situation with you and see what I can do to find a solution. Please give me a call at the Ancaster store location. I am available Monday to Friday 8am until 5pm.

Thank you,
Stacey Holditch
Controller

Lisa K in Hamilton
Lisa K in Hamilton
1 review Hamilton, ON
10/10

Awesome backyard pool.

Nick was fantastic. He was honest, helpful and accomodating. The team was professional, hard working and ultimately did a fantastic job. I couldn't be happier and I enjoyed working with everyone at Bud's.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Lisa. It was a pleasure to work with you! Please do not hesitate to call should you have any questions this spring. Bill

MatthewB
MatthewB
8 reviews Hamilton, ON
2/10

When you deal with Buds, you're rolling the dice. They are capable of good service, but you don't always get it - and they don't care if you do. Buyer beware.

When you deal with Buds, you're rolling the dice. They are capable of good service, but you don't always get it - and they don't care if you do or not. Buyer beware.

I had some good experiences with this company last summer - spending several thousand to upgrade to a saltwater pool and install a new filter system. These jobs were fine, I even wrote a good review to recommend them. This summer was a completely different story.

I had Buds open my pool again this year and it was lacking. The unprofessional crew swore constantly, left their equipment piled inside my flower gardens (ruining new plants), and didn't do half of what they were paid to do. Leaves were thrown onto the patio or stuffed down behind my retaining wall - even though leaf bags were provided less than 10 feet away. They used chemicals that were over and above the typical service, without asking me if I wanted them. They improperly installed jets/plugs on the pool. The list goes on.

I wrote a detailed email to the service manager citing my concerns, including photos of the equipment left on top of my flowers and leaves scattered everywhere. The response I got was "Sorry, we use university students to keep costs down, and that their training is lacking because it's seasonal work and they were just getting started." When I asked about the extra chemicals added and charged for, they told me it was my fault and that I should have said something to stop the crew from doing it - because I had previously talked to them to point out where my container was. It wasn't brought up by the crew, it's just apparently my responsibility to stop them from doing EXTRA that results in more fees.

No adjustment was made to my bill, not even for the extra chemicals that weren't part of the agreed service that their crew mistakenly added.

Long story short, you might get good service... and you might not. They'll still charge you a ton of money either way. I didn't mind paying it when it was a job well done, but I most certainly do mind when it's for the second rate service and response I received this summer. Buyer beware when you deal with Buds.

Review has 1 previous version
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you Matthew. It is this kind of experience we want all first time pool owners to have. Enjoy your pool and do not regret the purchase or maintenance of it. It may seem overwhelming at first but, We are here to help every step of the way. Bill

Pete in Dundas
Pete in Dundas
3 reviews Hamilton, ON
1/10

Pool Heater installation & follow-up

UNETHICAL AND UNTRUSTWORTHY. Improper installation, attempted gross overcharge on parts, and failure to stand behind their work.

Pool heater installed in 2014. Since that time, we have observed a deterioration in the health of a row of cedar trees, the closest to the heater being effected the worst. Three years later, we have now lost three trees.

Their serviceman attended and determined the cause of the leak was a missing gasket between the heater and the rest of the system, replaced it and left. We were disappointed that the installation had been done improperly but satisfied the matter was closed. Approximately 10 days later, we received an invoice for $120 for the repair!! Thinking this was an administrative error, we called and were put through to the Service Manager. We explained the situation, with no mention of the loss of trees. Only that a bill to properly install a missing gasket to stop a leak should not be our cost. He refused responsibility stating that the leak would have become apparent before now. I explained that we did suffer effects of it and offered to send a photo of the trees that show death or deterioration, increasing in their proximity to the heater. He then suggested that it was the fault of the pool opener/closers. I pointed out that we did our own opening and closing and that those connections were not touched; that the lines were blown out from the filter side. He stated that trees die all the time, and that he has a tree that died that is nowhere near a pool.

I explained that all I was asking for was that the gasket be replaced without charge as this was caused by their faulty installation. He refused to credit this cost. I advised that this would result in my having to pursue the matter legally.

My next step will be to attempt to resolve the matter through the Better Business Bureau. If that fails, then I will consider a civil suit. Given the effort and costs involved in going that route, I will include all such costs, including replacement of the losses to the garden in my claim.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Hi Pete, Thank you for your feedback. I feel a response to state the facts will clarify the charges incurred. On July 11, 2014, we installed a new H250ED2 Hayward heater to replace an existing heater and replaced some plumbing connections at the pump intake. Upon completion, the work order was signed as complete.

On July 14, 2014, we followed up with a phone call to your residence and were told all was working well.

Three years later on June 14, 2017, you called and requested a service call to repair leaks on your pool plumbing. As is our normal practice, you were informed of the service call charge and provided your credit card to secure payment and book the call. On June 27, 2017, the service tech visited your residence and found that a heater o-ring was missing as well as a filter o-ring which was also missing. The tech informed you, we replaced the heater o-ring and you declined to have us replace the filter o-ring.

The design of the unions on the heater is to allow for disconnecting the plumbing for winterization. The plumbing in and out of the heater will not seal without the supplied o-rings. It is impossible to prevent leaking without these o-rings. If the plumbing had been leaking for 3 years, you would have experienced substantial water loss in the pool on a daily basis for the past 3 years. Based on your equipment location and installation, you would have noticed this immediately upon the heater installation in 2014.

As Ken, the Service Manager, explained, this is a chargeable call and I support this decision.

As for the condition of your trees, I am not a qualified aborist so I cannot offer an opinion of the health of the trees. We have only provided onsite service to your house on these 2 occasions.

I trust this clarifies the charges incurred.
Sincerely,
Bill

Cat in Hamilton
Cat in Hamilton
3 reviews Hamilton, ON
10/10

Pool Installation

We went to Bud's Spas & Pools after researching Pool companies and felt comfort in knowing this is a family run business with many decades of experience since 1967! Nick explained the whole process to us and was honest with us from the beginning. He explained the costs, process, and answered all our many questions. He made us feel like we made the right choice and honestly he was the reason we went with Buds in the first place. We felt his sincere honest personality is what convinced us in the end that what we came through those doors to inquire about was worth the purchase. The entire process was amazing to watch. So many individuals working hard to complete our dream pool and we love it! Thank you guys! From the digging/setting up the pool walls/laying of the beautiful stamped concrete/electrical/gas/ installing the vinyl and completing the pool ...I must say that is one elaborate set up. We were impressed. A shout out to John that guided us through this as well. Great guy. Worth every penny! I would definitely recommend Buds Spas & Pool!

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your comments! We are happy you were so pleased with your project! Call us anytime with any questions.
Stacey

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Bud's Spas & Pools

Bud’s Spas and Pools is a second generation family run business. We’re involved in every aspect of the day-to-day operation and always available to answer your questions or resolve your concerns.

From the initial purchase and installation to maintenance requirements, Bud’s makes sure you have the best possible experience with your pool or hot tub.

Our staff of full-time and seasonal employee’s continues this experience year in and year out, building long standing relationships with you the customer.

Our ongoing customer satisfaction commitment continues today in two convenient retail store locations; Ancaster and Dundas.

CATEGORIES
Swimming Pools, Spas & Hot Tubs
PRODUCTS
Swimming Pools, Hot tubs & Swim Spas
SERVICES
Repairs & Renovation to all makes of pools and hot tubs
BRANDS
Hydropool, Serenity, Hayward, Zodiac, Highbury Pools, Latham
WEBSITE
http://www.budsspas.com
YEAR ESTABLISHED
1967
NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES
20
PAYMENT METHOD
visa, mastercard, debit
LIABILITY INSURANCE
Yes
WORKERS COMPENSATION
Yes
BONDED
Yes
WRITTEN CONTRACT
Yes
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.