Novel Care Inc.

Formerly Air Tech
Heating & Air Conditioning
155 West Beaver Creek Rd Unite 6 Richmond Hill ON L4B1E1
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

91%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Novel Care Inc.

Average customer rating:
9.4 10 (75 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Richmond Hill, ON
10/10

Whole home ductless install

I was impressed with the customer service Laura provided us with. She answered any questions we had, got back to us quickly and sorted out our install and invoice information. Alexi and Nick did an amazing job installing our Mitsubishi cold climate ductless system. My dad was finicky about how the outside unit was looking and they were happy to accommodate us. They took the time to show us how the controls work for all the units which I appreciate because they are a bit complex. Also, we have cats and parrots in two of the rooms they were working in. I was happy to see that they were both kind to our animals. Thank
you Novel Care!

Was this review helpful?
R&R in Thornton
R&R in Thornton
1 review Thornton, ON
10/10

Furnace & AC and HWT

Novel Care installed a new furnace & AC and hot water tank at my house a year ago. During the install they provided honest advise about what to install and what wasn't required. The technicians are knowledgeable and very pleasant. They have since come for annual servicing and continue to offer great service and advise. I highly recommend this company for any heating or cooling needs.

Was this review helpful?
Roger in Thornhill
Roger in Thornhill
3 reviews Markham, ON
10/10

Air-conditioning service call

On service call, Novel Care inadvertently overcharged me for a minor spare part (an A/C start capacitor.) I complained and they kindly responded in a couple of days with an offer of a refund for the part, which I accepted with thanks. They have credited my credit card with the refund amount, plus tax. Of course, I paid for the service call, as agreed. The technician was friendly, prompt and competent. I can recommend Novel Care for furnace and A/C service.... we have used them for many years and will continue to do so.
Signed: Electrical Engineer.

Was this review helpful?
Sree in Toronto
Sree in Toronto
1 review Milton, ON
9/10

Happy with the New AC installation

We had installed our AC with novel care and very happy with the AC and installation services.AC is very great in performance ... Installation guys are awesome, on the installation day it was rainy and we did not checked outside but once we called them after identifying minute pipe whole , they responded immediately and visited our place and corrected it with great attention. We are very happy with the Manager response, he understood the problem, sent his guys with greater priority. We are very happy and satisfactory with these guys service and we highly recommend these guys for AC Installation........................

Was this review helpful?
Avraham in Richmond Hill
Avraham in Richmond Hill
1 review Richmond Hill, ON
10/10

Furnace & AC

We purchased our HVAC system from Novel Care a few years ago, and are so pleased with our decision.
We always purchase the fall/spring maintenance package, and like clockwork, Fran calls us in the spring as a reminder. She is so friendly and helpful; it is always a pleasure to talk with her.
There service tech serviced our a/c, was very patient, and answered all our questions. He gave us great tips to ensure our HVAC system works at its peak performance.
Thanks so much Novel Care!

Was this review helpful?
Sid Singh in Mississauga
Sid Singh in Mississauga
2 reviews Mississauga, ON
10/10

Furnace and AC installed

The owner and the installer Alex were both amazing to work with. I had a complicated installation where my AC unit was moved from the back of the house to the side of the house. The job came out flawless and runs beautiful. They took the extra time energy and effort to make sure it was done properly and to my Satisfaction.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review Sid, glad our technicians with your installation even if it was complicated.

Private User
Private User
Private User reviews Richmond Hill, ON
10/10

Furnace and Air conditioner

My father got his Furncae and Ac replaced by Novel Care in 2006, since he was happy with there work I also have them replace mine in May, there Technicians were polit, clean after themselves and did an excellent installation.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review, glad we were able to help both you and your father.

Customer from Whitchurch-stouffville
Customer from Whitchurch-stouffville
1 review Whitchurch Stouffville, ON
0/10

PLEASE READ BEFORE hiring Novel Care - Don't want anyone to relive my experience

THIS WILL PROBABLY BE THE MOST DETAILED REVIEW EVER WRITTEN –SO I’ll apologize up front, but I offer this LEVEL OF DETAIL to avoid anyone else from being “burned” by this company. The reviews online which suckered me in – DO NOT REFLECT my experience. ThEcomplete lack of knowledge, care or concern at Novel Care is SYSTEMIC. This review illustrates that at every step.

I was using a Keeprite Ksse36GA1 - Serial # L962556779 air conditioner– installed in 1999 – never one service call – worked perfectly until in the end of July 2016, unit stopped working.

July 22, 2016 I Called NovelCare on July 22, 2016 – Female Technician (Sadie?) came out and checked everything on unit, finally determining that the compressor was gone and it would be cost prohibitive and perhaps not possible to even replace the compressor.
• NovelCare installed a York AC 3.5 Ton R410A York Air Conditioner YCD42B21S – Serial # W1A6316095 and a matching air conditioner coil. M# HE34142A170A000473 – S#7116D17488. I was originally extremely impressed that they could offer same day service/installation of a new unit.
• Technicians arrived about 8pm or so at night and left at midnight – welding with flashlights (Chris and Adam) They were extremely tired since they advised they had been working on installations since very early a.m.
• Service Order for install indicates – Drain Piping, Removal of Old A/C, and disconnect Switch

Mid August 2016 – The Unit worked/ran until mid-August 2016 –so for only about 3 weeks. At that time I went on holidays for remainder of the summer – turned unit off and didn’t need nor try it again until Mid June 20, 2017- the next season.

JUNE 2017 - When I started it up in June 2017, House wasn’t reaching requested air conditioning temperature – The Indoor Coil was completely FROZEN UP – furnace spitting water

On Sunday June 11, 2017: I Called After hours service at NovelCare on Sunday June 11th – Tech on phone said it must be my filter. I said NO, I change mine every 4-6 weeks. He said he would have someone call me by 8am the next day

June 13, 2017: No one called me back despite assurance from after hours tech, so I reached out to Novel Care – they said they would send someone on June 13th, 2017

JUNE 13, 2017: Tech (Chris – not the installer – a different tech) arrived on site around 5pm on June 13. He stepped out of truck and told me if coil was frozen up it must be my filter. I told him same thing I had advised the after hours service support team; that my filter was clean and regularly changed. He then advised it must be grass clippings (he had not even looked at outside unit and was still standing by his truck at this point.). He indicated it would cost me about $350 to have outdoor unit hosed down. I said you have not even looked at the unit or taken out a gauge or a tool and you have diagnosed that it is clippings? We walked back to outdoor unit. You could blow the little amount of grass clippings off – nothing there. I advised him that my old KEEPRITE likely therefore had 18 years of clippings/leaves etc and no problem. Chris indicated that York units only need a tiny bit of dust or clippings to make them stop working. I told him I don’t think York would be happy with him communicating that fact and found it difficult to believe. I asked him if I hose down the unit then what? He said I would still be charged for the service call. I asked him call his supervisor. He relayed his findings to his supervisor who confirmed and advised Chris that it must be clippings causing the problem and that I would be charged at minimum the price of a service call even if I decided to hose the unit myself to see if that would resolve the problem of this FROZEN COIL. After Chris’s call with his supervisor I asked him if he should not just check the unit. He proceeded to the unit with his tools and reported back to me that he had indeed found a leak! He however could not fix it because locating a leak is a specialized service that takes hours and hours! This would have to be rescheduled through the office.

June 14, 2017:I had not heard from NovelCAre office so I reached out to them twice over the next coupled of days.

June 16, 2017: Julie (OFFICE MANAGER): then sent out out Andrew ( supposedly a more senior Tech) on June 16th, who arrived but said he had not been scheduled with enough time to find a leak. And he wasn’t sure that there even was a leak. Instead he suggested he should just top it up and we’ll see what happens. I indicated that I didn’t think that was good for the environment . If there was a leak, as first tech indicated, I would prefer he identify it and fix it rather than just implement a hit and miss solution. He proceeded to test and found a leak in an elbow of pipe located right near the unit. He replaced it/rewelded and topped up the unit with refrigerant. He also advised that during the install, they had not pressurized the system properly as per the manufacturer’s instructions; nor had they taken into consideration, the long lines of piping in their pressurization. Service order indicates – leak in suction line connection. He sealed leak, tested refrigerant and indication of 125 psi. Unit worked for only a few days and then wouldn’t come on again.

July 10, 2017: Called Novel Care again. I advised them that the Indoor coil was not frozen. Andrew was sent out again on July 10, 2017. He tightened thermostat wires and got unit to start up. Refrigerant and pressure still good. I also asked him to properly insert electrical covering back into cuplar – 240V wiring had been left exposed – either from his last visit or from time of install.

July 11, 2017 Worked for less than a day and wouldn’t come on again so:
• I Called NovelCare again. Julie suggested next step was that I needed to replace all my thermostats as per Andrew. I said this is ridiculous. My thermostats worked fine with old unit, they work fine with my new furnace, and all during the heating season. Also when the air conditioner was working they were bringing house to temperature and even when outdoor unit is not coming on, Thermostats still calling for cooling and bringing on furnace fan appropriately.
• I had spoken to my furnace installer and to a senior business colleague at York/JCI. Both indicated that given the age of the old unit – installers should not have re-used existing piping. Different refrigerant can cause issues if they don’t do a 2 hour flush with special product. Also still line capacity can create issues. Even oil can cause problems with compressors. I advised NovelCare Julie of this thinking and she said she would speak to Andrew.

July 12, 2017: Andrew came out on July 12, 2017 and confirmed that thermostats are working fine after hearing my explanation and monitoring thermostat/furnace fan etc. I asked him about refrigerant issue. He informed me that they had reused existing piping and told me that BOTH UNITS (OLD AND NEW) USE THE SAME REFRIGERANT SO he said that the theory presented by other installers/techs was not based in fact and could not be causing any of these ongoing issues. He said BOTH UNITS used 410A refrigerant. He cleaned the wires of outdoor unit, capacitor and contactor relay and got unit to start up again.

July 16, 2017 Next few days were cooler no A/C needed. Thermostat called for A/C on July 16th and outdoor unit would not come on AGAIN!

July 17, 2017:
• I phoned KeepRite who confirmed that my old unit used R22 REFRIGERANT – NOT 410A. NOVEL CARE had shown their lack of knowledge or sadly their desire to deceive. KeepRite support indicated that in his opinion piping should not have been re-used by Novel Care. Oil issues, refrigerant mix can damage compressor among causing multiple issues. Used the analogy of a “cancer getting into system which then leaves you chasing your tail.”. He also confirmed that if my thermostat is calling for cooling and furnace fan kicking in this is not a “thermostat issue”. He said it could also be compressor issues, electrical issues in unit, broken wires but regardless, I need a qualified tech and service company who is able to fix permanently or just replace and reinstall from scratch properly.
• I reached out to Barbara ,Oakville, Master Group – company that wholesales all YORK and JCI products to installers/servicers. She offered her support and said she would be reaching out to the territory manager. I advised how disappointed I was that the dealer had left me in such a mess and that I should not be out of pocket to fix ongoing issue caused by either the dealer or a new unit. Barb tried to follow up. Very helpful and expressed her support and concern BUT there was nothing she could really do.

July 18, 2017:
• Phoned NovelCare when office opened. Spoke to Fran. She said Julie is out of the office and Andrew is booked for at least next two days. I told her to have Julie call me. As of 10:21 am still no call back.
• Called Novel Care again at 11:45. Fran said Julie still out, Only she can send someone given the history. She expects her back sometime this afternoon. Nothing else she can do but wait for Julie to come back in. I asked her to put this in an email to me. Nothing received as of 12:04pm
• At that point I gave up!!!

NOVEL CARE NEVER CALLED back – left me high and dry!!!!! BRAND NEW AIR CONDITIONER still not working!

In early August I managed to get the person who had installed my new furnace to come and have a look. It took him under 30 minutes to identify the issue. He changed a small relay and the unit has worked ever since. He has however advised that due to “the most shoddy installation he has ever seen” (his words), it is possible that I will not get the typical life out of this unit and I may experience problems moving forward.

I don't want anyone else to be taken advantage of by a company that is interested in making a sale, charging for service calls, and trying to milk more money out of customers unnecessarily.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Lianne in Toronto
Lianne in Toronto
7 reviews Toronto, ON
10/10

Furnace and Air Con servicing

Had an appointment to have my furnace and air con serviced for maintenance. Chose Novelcare based on other reviews on Homestars. Jake was professional and helped me navigate the trials of new home-ownership by offering advice on a number of heating and cooling issues. I will be contacting the company to look into a maintenance contract as well as options to keep our very hot top floor cool in the summer.
Thanks!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for your review Lianne, I will pass this along to Jake. Hope we can help with your cooling needs this summer too!

Mathieu
Mathieu
20 reviews Toronto, ON
9/10

Ductless heat pump 18,000 btu

We have a 4 storey house and the master bedroom is on the higher floor with big windows and skylights. The central air conditioning is not powerful enough to cool the room and we can't control the air flow so we decided to install a ductless heat pump. I contacted 3 companies for a quote and to get some information even if I knew about the system before, I like to assess how knowledgeable sales people are. Darren from Novel Care was the best. He took time to explain every single detail about the heat pump and he took time to answer to all my questions. He stayed with me more than 30 minutes and he took time to check everything. Darren is the kind of person who likes his job... If you need a quote and some explanations, ask for him! The quote was fair but to be honest I don't mind paying more if the work is well done. The price was not my top priority but you can have an idea if a company is trying to rip you off, that's why I always ask for 3 quotes minimum.

Now, about the installation, I am really picky and I look at every details.
The first technician arrived and I had not a good feeling about him, I could tell he was not happy to be here, not really courteous etc. To be honest I was a bit worried because I know by experience that people who are not happy will not do a good job...

The second technician (Nick) was the opposite, really courteous with a smile on his face.

After 1 hour, the technicians had an argument, and the bad one left without saying anything to me... really unprofessional! I was so mad...
I called right away Darren and explained the situation. he was really helpful and he tried his best to solve the situation. Again, Darren was amazing...

Nick worked alone for 6 hours and he did a great job! He is really professional, meticulous and detail oriented. I was so lucky to have him. I could not imagine the installation without him.

In the end, I would say that I recommend Novel Care if you ask for Darren and Nick, I was totally amazed by how they work. Both are hard workers and they love what they are doing.

Our installation is perfect and I am really happy with it (see attached photos).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you for your review Mathiew. Sorry to hear that one of our technicians did not leave you feeling happy but great that the rest of our team was able to complete the installation to your expectations. I will pass on your comments to Nick and Darren!

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Novel Care Inc.

We repair, install and service: Air Conditioners * Heaters * Ductless Air Conditioners * Furnaces * Hot Water Tanks * Tankless Water Heater * Hydronic Heating Systems (BOILERS) 4 Hour Emergency Service, OPEN 24/ 7 - GTA'S Fastest Service! Visit Our Main Website Here
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.