Total Living Concepts

Bathroom & Kitchen - Fixtures & Accessories
464 Penetanguishene Road Barrie ON L4M6Z9
Write a Review
Write a Review
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

60%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Total Living Concepts

Average customer rating:
6.2 10 (7 reviews)

Sort by

Private User
Private User
1 review Barrie, ON
10/10

Kitchen renovation

We were thrilled with TLC's design, execution and finished project - a complete gutting of and reconfiguring of our kitchen. Glen was a delight to work with on the design and product choices and his staff and crew organized and managed the entire project as efficiently as possible. The result is the most amazing kitchen I have ever worked in (we have renovated a few). In our small space, Glen did not leave any waste space - from pot drawers to roll-outs and clever design, we have a place for everything and a terrific work space. An amazing plus is that they have a wonderful warranty. As with any major reno, there were a few glitches - but TLC diligently worked to fix them immediately, and were quick to notice and fix some that we hadn't seen. Now I enjoy doing more baking and meal prep than ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Ed from Barrie
Ed from Barrie
2 reviews Barrie, ON
10/10

Kitchen Renovation

The owner of Total Living Concepts, and his entire staff were extremely helpful and very professional from our first meeting through to completion of our kitchen renovation. We worked closely together through the design phase and once finalized, a comprehensive project plan was created clearly showing each phase and projected timelines along with a cost structure. We were kept well informed through the entire project. They ensured we were aware of what was next on the plan and/or any change in the plan / timeline. Total Living Concepts is very Customer Service oriented. All questions and/or concerns we had were addressed to our satisfaction. The attention to detail by TLC staff and all trades engaged in the kitchen renovation project clearly shows their skills, work ethic and professionalism. In closing, we love our new kitchen and are completely satisfied with the overall quality of work and workmanship that Total Living Concepts provided. We plan to use them again for our next renovation and would highly recommend them to anyone wanting a high quality renovation.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Adam S from York
Adam S from York
1 review York, ON
1/10

Kitchen Counter

A really simple task of getting a laminate counter was made into a painful ordeal. Glen started out being very nice and once the order was in he was rude and dismissive. The counter was very late and had bubbles in it in some spots. Take your business elsewhere as it is not worth the risk.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Mr. Adam S. is right it was a painful and the accusations are totally out of line and not credible. I met Adam S. only once, on a Saturday in my showroom, He was advised it would take 4 weeks min. to produce a laminate top in a custom colour. We received a phone call and plans from his builder to price the countertop on May 27th. The contract was accepted on June 4th, 2013. As per our e-mail dated June 4th 2013, we advised the builder that the measurements were not correct the he provided us and we asked for clarification, as they did not add up, with a delivery time of 3-4 weeks to produce. we received the revised drawings on June 7th. According to our records the top was ordered from our supplier on June 7th. We asked for and received 50% deposit on the countertop via wire transfer on June 4th. On the original contract the tops were to be picked up at our warehouse (same location as showroom) and paid for. The builder was advised he could pick up the countertop on July 4th. We were contacted by Adam S. and we were asked if we could deliver the tops to his cottage 1 1/2 hours away, as they could not pick them up. We agreed to deliver the tops. on July 5th and asked for a wire transfer to cover the balance on July 3rd. or a certified check on delivery. It was agreed the wire service would be paid on July 3rd. On July 5th we had not received payment. I contacted the builder who advised us he had forgot to do it. On his promise to do it right away and to not hold up our truck or reschedule the delivery, I released the truck for the delivery. The payment was made as promised and the delivery was on time with what we promised. It should be known the we have never had any prior dealings with the builder or Adam S. and were not about to grant any credit or payment terms on a custom product, this was known up front. If I was rude, it was because I was frustrated with both the builder and Adam S. for not returning phone calls placed to them, I apologize. As far as the bubbles in the countertop are concerned, we are in receipt of our delivery slip that was signed on delivery that the goods were received in good condition. Our office was contacted approx. two weeks after ( I was on holiday) by Adam S. who stated that he had bubbles in his countertop, he was asked to send pictures via e-mail and then we could approach our fabricator to comment on. at which point we were told that it to much of a bother to do and he was not happy. "Most bubbles are a result of not good adhesion with the glue and that most of these problems can be resolved by heating the area carefully and pressing into place."(should be done by a qualified person) Total Living Concepts sold and delivered on time what we promised on. We went the extra mile by delivering the said countertops and adjusting our schedules to satisfy Adam S., that was not scheduled for in the beginning. Total Living Concepts advertises a TWO YEAR warranty on all products it supplies and stands behind it.

Jeannette Fulford in Barrie
Jeannette Fulford in Barrie
1 review Barrie, ON
10/10

Kitchen renovation

Just finished a kitchen renovation and we are very pleased with the results. Glen and Total Living Concepts created a new kitchen, not just new cupboards and countertop. Must thank Glen for the numerous late nights and patience as we worked to finalize plans that would satisfy both myself and my husband. Not an easy feat but it happened. Thanks again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
michael GTA
michael GTA
1 review Aurora, ON
10/10

Kitchen and bath renovation

Glen did an excellent job throughout the renovation process. Workmanship was excellent, excellent workers, job done per spec and per budget. No surprises. Glen helped throughout the process with excellent ideas, helping choose building materials and managing the project through to completion.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Verna in Innisfil
Verna in Innisfil
1 review Innisfil, ON
0/10

new kitchen

March 4, 2005, I trusted Glen Prairie, Total Living Concepts, member of NKBA and GBHBA, to design and install our new kitchen with a promise to have the kitchen functioning by the end of May, 2005. The cabinets arrived June 7.

The first granite template person asked for more $. The cupboards weren't designed to accommodate the sinks, which had been purchased the previous fall/04. Then York Marble came in to template and managed to have the granite installed for Thanksgiving/05, after many, mess attempts. Returning Christmas/06 to fill the gouges with epoxy. The seam between two sections has always been rough and ragged but now is eroded and collecting crumbs.

The lazysusan, which arrived determined to remain closed, was emptied and torn apart on many occasions during the first year. The recycle bin was of inferior quality and replaced - with the door inside out at one time. A service person was in numerous times to repair sticking or swollen doors, which were taken off to be planed, removing the original finish then touching up the new wood with wax.

Even though the dish storage is close to the dishwasher, the 10-1/4" shelves are too narrow to accommodate dinner plates and some serving pieces. The plates are stacked on open book shelves with serving pieces stored in other inappropriate cupboards; in a 14'x17' kitchen, which didn't require a reduced sized cabinet style.

The 60-3/4" high corner pantry arrived with three shelves - built in during construction - which necessitates stacking. The top items must be removed to retieve the bottom ones.

A visiting real estate person gasped at the cooktop, being off centre, between 21" and 24" upper cabinets and at the filler strips between gaps in the cabinets, as if this wasn't a custom installation. The warming oven is set between 1-7/16" and 1-7/8" filler strips

January, 2007, Glen removed a large cupboard door for resizing - still off!

Before committing to any roject with Glen Prairie, please arrange for a visit to view this kitchen to conclude your own opinion. All documentation is copied and available for disclosure.

vcope

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Wynn fom Uxbridge
Wynn fom Uxbridge
2 reviews Toronto, ON

First Review

2.3/10

Bathrooms (2) & Bedroom gutted & rebuilt

Glen Prairie of Total Living Concepts from Barrie Ontario signed a contract to design & renovate 2 bathrooms & a bedroom. It was to be completed in approximately 1 month. His trades very seldom arrived when he said they would. Some of their work was very shoddy. He told us we would be without showers for 10 days. We were without showers for 82 days. He never did complete the renovation. After he walked out with 90% of his money, I completed the reno using a variety of trades not related To Prairie. Glen Prairie is a smooth talker who makes promises he does not keep & he cannot be beleived.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Company Response

Mr. Wynn Vassell job was 6 years ago in 2000. I find it interesting that he made a posting 6 years later. I find in life that there are always 2 sides to every story. I do not believe this is the forum to discuss this project. Total living concepts is very proud of the service and quality it gives our clients and stands behind it. I have ed a e-mail I have received from a happy client.Dear Glen,
- It has been almost seven years since you did my renovation. I still love
the kitchen design and frequently receive compliments.
- This week my Moen tap started to leak and I contacted you for advice,
knowing you would know what to do. Within 15 minutes, a plumber called to
arrange an appointment. A few hours later, they arrived to fix the tap. As
they had to order some parts, they returned the next day to finish the job.
The plumber advised me that Moen would pay for the complete call.
- In a business meeting this week, I used you and your company as an
example. Not only are your designs, products and installations terrific,
but the service you provide is truly phenomenal.
- I was completely comfortable recommending you and Total Living Concepts
before. After this experience, I can assure you, without hesitation, I will
continue to recommend you.
- Thanks again Glen, and wishing you continued success,
Barb McVeigh

The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Total Living Concepts

Total Living Concepts provides total home renovation services including kitchen and bathroom design for mid to high-end customers in Barrie, Aurora, Newmarket, Thornhill, Muskoka, Orillia, Midland, Bradford and Penetang, Ontario.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.