Grieve Home Maintenance Ltd

General Contractors
5163 Mount Nemo Crescent Milton ON L9T 2X6
Write a Review
Write a Review
HomeStars
General Contractors
Grieve Home Maintenance Ltd
Star Score
StarScore uses a complex algorithm which considers a company’s review ratings, responsiveness, reputation, and recency. Learn more.

70%

This is the average rating based on homeowner reviews.
This indicates how long it's been since the last review.
Low reputation means there has been review tampering or a company request to remove a review. This score is also impacted when we do not have enough information i.e: low number of reviews.
How well a company responds to Service Requests and Reviews.
Reviews by rating (past 12 months)

Reviews for Grieve Home Maintenance Ltd

Average customer rating:
8.8 10 (8 reviews)

Sort by

Evelyn Beale in Burlington
Evelyn Beale in Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
0/10

Front Yard project

Looks are not enough! We treated Dave and team with respect throughout the entire project and as seniors, expected the same in return. They were hired by us; it is a fair and reasonable expectation to have our comments and input welcomed, given serious consideration and worked through to our satisfaction. Instead: a) quality was sacrificed because of estimating and time inadequacies; b) we were charged full price for work that was incomplete or simply substandard; c) have unnecessary shortcomings with a job that was done by an inexperienced crew, who did not have an ongoing, suitably experienced person present to oversee and prevent costly mistakes.
Dave insists our dissatisfaction is based on minor issues that have little or no effect on overall results. Really? On our boulevard, new sod was laid over top of old; unhealthy and weed infested grass. This method was not covered by the contract and we had no prior knowledge nor had we given our consent, before this method was initiated. And by the way, the majority of sod and landscape experts consider this a "shortcut" and "cheaper method"... their words not mine. End result, we have spoken to more than one professional who has said the grass will die and need to be redone. Will that happen before or after the guarantee runs out? Then there are other issues like the grading and water sprinkling system. These examples are just the tip of our iceberg of problems and disappointments..
We have had significant emotional turmoil throughout this entire project and our feelings are Grieve Home Maintenance has taken advantage of us through quick fixes and shortcut. We are seniors who understand the demands of a business and also the difference between legitimate reasons and self-serving excuses.

Review has 1 previous version
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Dear Mrs Beale,

Thank you for the feedback.

The project was completed during the time frame promised for the amount contracted. There were no estimating or time concerns.

We are aware that removing the turf is the preferred method of sod installation. That is why we did this for the entire front lawn. As explained previously, we did not strip the boulevard (city property) due to the presence of the city's ash tree. Most of a trees root system is near the surface and ash trees are notoriously shallow rooted. We have had many very successful projects where, to preserve root systems or avoid a shallow infrastructure, we killed the top layer of turf, removed the organic material from the surface, added sufficient topsoil for rooting and installed the sod.

We have honoured our warranty on the perennials and shrubs for those that struggled during the driest summer in the last 25 years, without comment or complaint. As explained before, there is no warranty on turf past the original installation as we have no control over things like insects, disease, weather, watering, cultural practices and use. Even though new sod is not warrantied we did replace sod that was damaged by chinch bugs at no cost.

We regret you are not satisfied with your experience. We feel that the job's quality speaks for itself, the yard looks great and the stone work will stand the test of time.

Chris Gillies from Burlington
Chris Gillies from Burlington
1 review Burlington, ON
10/10

Basement Renovation & wood floor installation

If you are reading this then you are looking to have some work done at your home. Look no further, Dave and his crew are amazing. Thank you Dave, Chris and Nigel.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thank you so much for the recommendation Chris! It was great working with you on your basement.

Mike in Oakville
Mike in Oakville
3 reviews Oakville, ON
10/10

Kitchen Reno

Working with Dave and his crew was amazing! Through discussions of what we wanted, they were able to create a finished job that was not only done on time, professionally and economically, it was exactly what we wanted! Would highly recommend them for all reno jobs for your home.

Was this review helpful?
Company Response

Thanks for the nice comments Mike. Glad to hear you're enjoying your kitchen! :)

Chris Mclaughlin in Burlington
Chris Mclaughlin in Burlington
3 reviews Burlington, ON
10/10

Basement Renovation

Grieve Home Maintenance Ltd
(905) 336-0088
5163 Mount Nemo Crescent
Milton
ON
L9T 2X6
CANADA

We have used this company for numerous renovations on our home. We had a leak in our basement and needed it fixed and renovated. Mike did most of the work. He came up with design ideas and was always on time. His attention to detail was amazing. We have and would recommend this company to family and friends. They are that good.

Was this review helpful?
Doodles
Doodles
1 review Burlington, ON
10/10

Electrical, Grounds Maintenance, Carpentry

The staff at Grieve's are always on time and do the job specified. They are always ready to assist and do a great job the first time. Unlike other companies that we have dealt with in the past they follow through on requests for services.

Was this review helpful?
WaldenDrive
WaldenDrive
1 review Burlington, ON
10/10

Basement Renovation

They took an old inaccessible basement and made it wheelchair friendly. They moved a supporting block wall and installed an I-beam for support in order to move a wall back, enlarging the main rec room. They also redid a bedroom and washroom making it wheelchair accessible. They installed new lighting, flooring and much more. Overall a fantastic and rewarding job. They met all our expectations and were right on with their quote.

Was this review helpful?
rjmalda dundas
rjmalda dundas
2 reviews Dundas, ON
10/10

Rooftop Patio

We had a rooftop patio put in by Grieve Home Maintenance earlier last year. We were a little nervous as it was on top of our flat roof and we didnt want to cause any damage to our roof. The owner Dave understood our concerns and put us at ease. The install was done quick and professionally with only one minor issue which was attended to immediately and solved. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful?
Ashley from Burlington
Ashley from Burlington
1 review Milton, ON

First Review

10/10

Kitchen Remodel

We had a kitchen remodel done and Grieve Home Maintenance couldn't have been better. They were polite and professional and we were extremely happy with the result. We would recommend them to anyone!

Was this review helpful?
The reviews on this page are the subjective opinion of the Author and not of HomeStars Inc.

More about Grieve Home Maintenance Ltd

"We'll care for your home as if it were ours" Grieve Home Maintenance is a family run company satisfying homeowners in Burlington and its neighbouring communities for over 25 years.
Company profile information is not moderated by HomeStars. Ask the contractor to verify before hiring.
Looking for General Contractors pros in Burlington?